By working at Parks Canada, students have an opportunity to learn about Parks Canada and gain valuable work experience within the federal government by working on projects, research and other activities while developing and improving their employability. Many students find jobs in their area of study.

Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP)

The Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP) provides full-time secondary or post-secondary students in a recognized academic institution with the opportunity to work in their field of study and develop their skills. To be eligible, students must be:

  • currently recognized as having full-time student status by the academic institution in which they are presently enrolled;
  • returning to full-time studies in the next academic term; and
  • of the minimum age to work in the province where the job exists.

For more information about this program, visit the FSWEP Webpage.

Young Canada Works (YCW) program

Young Canada Works (YCW) is a unique initiative funded as part of the federal Youth Employment Strategy. YCW is a paid summer employment program. At Parks Canada, the emphasis of the YCW program is on developing students’ skills in various occupations and activities carried out at Parks Canada so that they acquire a range of skills and greater employability. The program is intended for students between the ages of 16 and 30.

For more information about this program, visit the YCW Webpage.

Co-operative Education Programs (CO-OP programs)

Parks Canada offers co-operative work terms for students in post-secondary co-op programs. Under these programs, students are offered paid internships while continuing their education and they must be registered in a CO-OP program offered at their accredited educational institution.

This program is designed to provide you with a student work term that:

  • uses your academic knowledge in an actual work setting;
  • offers insights into future career opportunities; and
  • Develops skills leading to employment after graduation.

For more information about this program, visit the CO-OP programs Webpage.

En travaillant pour Parcs Canada, les étudiants ont l’occasion d’apprendre à connaître Parcs Canada et d’acquérir une expérience de travail précieuse au sein du gouvernement fédéral en travaillant sur des projets, recherche et autres activités, tout en améliorant leurs employabilités. Bien des étudiants trouvent un emploi dans leur domaine d’études.

Programme fédéral d’expérience de travail étudiant (PFETE)

Le Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant (PFETE) offre aux étudiants à temps plein des études secondaires ou postsecondaires dans un établissement d'enseignement reconnu et ayant la possibilité de travailler dans leur domaine d'études et de développer leurs compétences.

Pour être admissible, les étudiants doivent être:

  • Avoir le statut d’étudiant à temps plein dans l’institution académique dans laquelle ils sont inscrits;
  • Retourner aux études à temps plein au semestre suivant;
  • Avoir l’âge minimum pour travailler dans la province où se trouve l’emploi.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet du programme, consultez la page Web PFETE.

Programme Jeunesse Canada au travail (JCT)

Le programme Jeunesse Canada au Travail (JCT) est une initiative unique financée dans le cadre de la Stratégie fédérale emploi jeunesse. JCT est un programme d’emploi d’été rémunéré. À Parcs Canada, le programme JCT met l’accent sur le développement des compétences dans différents métiers et fonctions pratiqués à Parcs Canada pour développer un éventail d’habiletés qui favorisent l’employabilité des étudiants. Le programme est destiné aux étudiants âgés de 16 à 30 ans.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet du programme, consultez la page Web JCT.

Programmes d’enseignement coopératif (COOP)

Parcs Canada offre des stages coopératifs aux étudiants de programmes postsecondaires Coop. Ce sont des programmes qui permettent aux étudiants de faire des stages rémunérés tout en continuant leurs études. Les étudiants doivent être inscrits à un programme Coop au sein de leur établissement d'enseignement reconnu.

Ce programme offre un emploi étudiant qui :

  • Permet de mettre vos connaissances en pratique dans un milieu de travail;
  • Donne un aperçu des possibilités de carrière;
  • Permet d'acquérir des compétences débouchant sur un emploi après l'obtention du diplôme.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet du programme, consultez la page Web COOP.