Minister McKenna’s response to the 2017 Minister’s Round Table, Let’s Talk Parks, Canada called for the creation of a short-term independent working group with expertise in governance, policy development, ecological science, and heritage conservation.

Purpose and responsibilities

The working group is reviewing decision-making at Parks Canada, including Parks Canada practices, policies, planning, monitoring programs, and approval processes to ensure that maintaining ecological and commemorative integrity are priority considerations in decision making at Parks Canada. The working group will develop a report and make recommendations to the Minister.

Structure and composition

The working group is comprised of a Chair and six members chosen by the Minister. The Chair is responsible for establishing the work plan, facilitating the working group’s discussions, and guiding the preparation of the final report.

The members have expertise or backgrounds in the following areas:

  • ecology and ecological integrity
  • commemoration and commemorative integrity
  • policy and planning, with specific knowledge of decision-making processes in organizations
  • organizational management and transitions
  • tourism or recreation business in a heritage environment
  • an Indigenous representative who can ensure the working group’s efforts include an Indigenous perspectives

Members of the Minister’s Independent Working Group

Peter Robinson (Chair)

Peter Robinson began his career as a park ranger working in wilderness areas across British Columbia, where he was decorated for bravery by the Governor General of Canada. After his park career, he became the CEO at BC Housing, and later the CEO of Mountain Equipment Co-op. Most recently he led the David Suzuki Foundation through a decade of work on climate change, marine and terrestrial conservation, and public education. Since 2016, he and his wife have owned Hedgerow Farm on Mayne Island, where they are actively combining sustainable agriculture and restorative land stewardship in their vision for the property.

Peter has a long history of humanitarian work, including monitoring prisons with the International Red Cross in Rwanda. He has served as the Chair of the Board of Governors and the Chancellor of Royal Roads University and with the Board of Directors of the Canadian Red Cross Society. Peter holds a Doctorate of Social Sciences, a Master of Arts in Conflict Analysis and Management, a Bachelor of Arts in Geography, and other diplomas.

Dr. Catherine Potvin

Dr. Potvin holds the Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) on Climate Change Mitigation and Tropical Forests and is a member of the Royal Society of Canada’s Academy of Science. She has been working on the link between biodiversity and climate change since her Ph.D. research, at Duke University in the mid-1980s. Her expertize ranges from plant physiological ecology to plant community responses to elevated CO2 concentration, biodiversity, and ecosystem functions, and biodiversity conservation in the context of land use change. Her work on tropical rainforest conservation focusses on reducing uncertainties around estimates of forest carbon stocks relying on participatory methods.

Since 2014, Professor Catherine Potvin is leading Sustainable Canada Dialogues, a network of over 80 scholars from all ten provinces of Canada dedicated to providing solutions to advance climate actions. In 2017 Dr. Potvin and Sustainable Canada Dialogues were commissioned by Natural Resources Canada to take the lead of a report examining how Canada could transition to a low carbon economy while remaining globally competitive. Dr. Potvin’s research also seeks to foster cross-cultural learning on climate change with the goal of ensuring that Indigenous peoples of Canada become full partners in the country’s transition to a low-carbon economy and a sustainable society.

Dr. Christina Cameron

Dr. Christina Cameron holds the Canada Research Chair in Built Heritage at the University of Montreal where she directs a research program on heritage conservation in the School of Architecture. She previously served as a heritage executive with Parks Canada for more than thirty-five years providing national direction for Canada’s historic places with a focus on heritage conservation and education. She has written extensively since the 1970s on Canadian architecture, heritage management, and world heritage issues. She has been actively involved in UNESCO’s World Heritage Convention as Head of the Canadian delegation (1990-2008) and as Chairperson (1990, 2008).

She currently chairs Canada’s Advisory Committee on Official Residences. She received the Outstanding Achievement Award of the Public Service of Canada (2007), the country’s highest recognition for public service, and the Gabrielle Léger Medal for Lifetime Achievement in the cause of heritage conservation (2014). Christina Cameron was appointed to the Order of Canada (2014) and awarded the Prix Gérard-Morisset (2018).

Steven Nitah

Steven Nitah’s career has thus far been dedicated to the advancement of Indigenous nations and the resurgence of Indigenous knowledge and governance as key features of ecological, cultural and economic sustainability. He is Chief of the Lutsel K’e Dene First Nation, President and CEO of Densoline Corporation and an MLA in the General Assembly of the North West Territories. Through his consultancy, he is acting as Chief Negotiator for the Lutsel K’e Dene First Nation on the establishment of Thaidene Nene National Park and Reserve resulting in the protection of 26,380 km2 of traditional territory. He is also advisor to the Indigenous Leadership Initiative (ILI) and Ducks Unlimited Canada and has worked with the NWT Treaty 8 Tribal Corporation as they negotiate their lands, resources and governance relationships with both federal and territorial governments. He has played a number of other leadership roles, ranging from CBC North TV Associate Producer to liaison in the mining industry and recently as a core member of the Indigenous Circle of Experts to support Pathway to Canada Target 1. Through these positions, he has developed significant expertise in Treaty and Aboriginal Rights, nation-to-nation negotiations and relationship building and cultivated a strong ability to work across disciplines with a variety of individuals to promote synergistic relationships between First Nations, industry, and crown governments.

He brings a holistic understanding of conservation and sustainable economic development for and with Indigenous communities, along with a strong ability to lead groups, communities, and projects in a positive direction, and to collaborate and work with diverse actors from industry and ENGOs to local and national governments. His work and life support the restoration of Indigenous relationships to land through traditional practices and governance, and the creation of meaningful and respectful relationships with others working collaboratively and respectfully with Indigenous partners to support Indigenous nationhood, and forward decolonization and reconciliation efforts both personally and nationally.

Dr. Elizabeth Halpenny

Dr. Elizabeth Halpenny has a Ph.D. in Recreation and Leisure Studies from the University of Waterloo (2006), a Master’s in Environmental Studies from York University (2000), and a Bachelor of Arts in Geography from Wilfrid Laurier University (1992). Prior to her work as an academic, Dr. Halpenny worked with an international NGO, the International Ecotourism Society (2000-2005) as Research and Workshop Coordinator. Dr. Halpenny conducts research in the areas of tourism, marketing, environmental psychology, and protected areas management. Some of her current research projects include examining the use, acceptance, and impact of mobile digital technologies among tourists (i.e. festival patrons and protected area visitors); investigating the impact of world heritage designation and other park-related brands on travel decision-making; exploring individuals’ attitudes towards and stewardship of natural areas.

Munir Sheikh

Munir Sheikh served the Government of Canada for over 35 years, rising to the senior-most civil service position of a Deputy Minister. He advised many Canadian Prime Ministers and Ministers of Finance on economic, fiscal and tax matters. His last position with the Government was as the Chief Statistician of Canada.

After his retirement, he was appointed a Research Professor at Carleton University where he teaches public policy to graduate students.

He has been invited as a guest speaker by many universities and organizations, including Harvard and Princeton. He has received many awards and honours including Queen Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee Medal, induction into the Hall of Heroes by the Community Indicators Consortium, Chicago and an Award of Distinction by the Premier of Ontario.

He holds a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Western Ontario and has published extensively in both academic journals and the media. His academic work has been widely quoted and reproduced in textbooks and included in books of collected readings. He also taught at Queens University and the University of Ottawa for many years.

Yaprak Baltacioglu

Yaprak Baltacioglu is an accomplished public sector leader with over 25 years of progressive Federal Government experience shaping strategic policy, overseeing programs, contributing on many senior committees, and impacting government affairs at the highest levels of decision-making. Ms. Baltacioglu has served as the trusted advisor to four Prime Ministers and numerous ministers, Cabinets and departmental officials on programs, issues, legislation and policy in areas including the economy, treasury, transportation, infrastructure, security, agriculture, healthcare, and the environment. She is an expert in legislative/regulatory issues, policy development, international/government relations, and the workings of government, including its principles for sound governance and government-wide policy.

Ms. Baltacioglu was recently appointed Chancellor of Carleton University and is a professor at the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy. She also sits on various boards including Hydro Ottawa and the Institute of Corporate Directors. The Women’s Executive Network twice recognized Ms. Baltacioglu as one of Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women and recipient of several honours for significant contributions to the public sector. She holds a Master of Arts from Carleton University School of Public Administration as well as a Bachelor of Laws and an Institute of Corporate Directors designation from the Rotman School of Management.

Term

October 2018 to March 2019

Outcomes

The working group will produce a report reviewing how decision-making at Parks Canada incorporates ecological and commemorative integrity and providing recommendations on how to ensure that maintaining ecological and commemorative integrity are priority considerations in decision making at Parks Canada.

La réponse de la ministre McKenna à la table ronde ministérielle de 2017, Parlons de Parcs Canada!, recommandait la création d’un groupe de travail autonome disposant d’une expertise dans les domaines liés à la gouvernance, l’élaboration de politiques, l’écologie et la conservation patrimoniale.

Raison d'être et responsabilités

Le groupe de travail étudie la prise de décision à Parcs Canada, y compris les pratiques, les politiques, la planification, les programmes de surveillance et les processus d’approbation afin de s’assurer que le maintien de l’intégrité écologique et commémorative est une considération prioritaire dans les processus décisionnels. Le groupe de travail produira un rapport et formulera des recommandations à la ministre.

Structure et composition

Le groupe de travail est composé d’un président et de six membres choisis par la ministre. Le président est responsable d’établir le plan de travail, de faciliter les discussions du groupe et d’orienter l’élaboration du rapport final.

Les membres ont des compétences et de l’expérience dans les domaines suivants :

  • écologie et intégrité écologique
  • commémoration et intégrité commémorative
  • politiques et planification, avec des connaissances spécifiques en matière de processus décisionnels dans les organisations
  • gestion et transitions organisationnelles
  • activités de loisirs ou touristiques dans un environnement patrimonial
  • un représentant autochtone qui peut s’assurer que les efforts du groupe de travail incluent une perspective autochtone

Durée

Octobre 2018 à mars 2019

Membres du groupe de travail autonome de la ministre

Peter Robinson (président)

Peter Robinson a commencé sa carrière comme garde forestier dans les régions sauvages de la Colombie-Britannique, où il a été décoré pour bravoure par le gouverneur général du Canada. Il a assumé ensuite la direction générale de BC Housing, puis celle de Mountain Equipment Co-op. Plus récemment, il a dirigé la Fondation David Suzuki au travers d’une décennie de travaux sur le changement climatique, la conservation marine et terrestre et la sensibilisation du public. Depuis 2016, il est propriétaire, avec son épouse, de la ferme Hedgerow sur l’île Mayne; dans sa gestion de cette propriété, le couple intègre activement l’agriculture durable et la restauration des terres.

Peter se consacre de longue date au travail humanitaire, y compris la surveillance des prisons avec la Croix-Rouge internationale au Rwanda. Il a été président du conseil des gouverneurs et chancelier de la Royal Roads University et membre du conseil d’administration de la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge. Peter est titulaire de plusieurs diplômes, notamment d’un doctorat en sciences sociales, d’une maîtrise ès arts en analyse et gestion des conflits et d’un baccalauréat ès arts en géographie.

Catherine Potvin, Ph. D.

Membre de l’Académie des sciences de la Société royale du Canada, la professeure Potvin occupe la chaire de recherche du Canada (niveau 1) sur l’atténuation des changements climatiques et les forêts tropicales. Elle étudie le lien entre biodiversité et changement climatique depuis qu’elle a entrepris ses recherches doctorales à l’Université Duke au milieu des années 1980. Ses connaissances portent à la fois sur l’écologie physiologique des plantes, les réactions des peuplements végétaux aux concentrations élevées de CO2, la biodiversité et les fonctions des écosystèmes, ainsi que la conservation de la biodiversité dans le contexte des changements dans l’utilisation du territoire. Ses travaux sur la conservation de la forêt tropicale humide sont axés sur l’obtention de données plus fiables sur les stocks de carbone des forêts grâce à des méthodes participatives.

Catherine Potvin dirige depuis 2014 Dialogues pour un Canada vert, un réseau de plus de 80 universitaires issus des dix provinces du Canada, qui se consacre à trouver des solutions sur le plan climatique. En 2017, Ressources naturelles Canada lui a demandé, ainsi qu’à ce réseau, de produire un rapport examinant la manière dont le Canada pourrait passer à une économie sobre en carbone tout en restant compétitif sur les marchés mondiaux. Par ses travaux, la professeure Potvin cherche également à favoriser l’apprentissage interculturel sur le changement climatique afin que les peuples autochtones du Canada deviennent des partenaires à part entière dans la transition du pays vers une économie durable produisant peu de carbone.

Christina Cameron, Ph. D.

Christina Cameron est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en patrimoine bâti de l’Université de Montréal, où elle dirige un programme de recherche sur la conservation du patrimoine à l’École d’architecture. Elle a occupé auparavant pendant plus de trente-cinq ans le poste de cadre supérieure chargée du patrimoine auprès de Parcs Canada. Dans le cadre de ces fonctions, elle aura orienté la gestion des lieux historiques du Canada axée sur la conservation du patrimoine et l’éducation. Elle a publié de nombreux articles depuis les années 1970 sur l’architecture canadienne, la gestion du patrimoine et les enjeux du patrimoine mondial. Elle a participé étroitement aux activités de la Convention du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO à titre de chef de la délégation canadienne (1990-2008) et de présidente (1990, 2008).

Elle préside actuellement le Comité consultatif sur les résidences officielles du Canada. On lui a décerné en 2007 le Prix pour services insignes de la fonction publique du Canada, considéré comme le plus prestigieux prix en son genre, ainsi que la Médaille Gabrielle-Léger pour l’ensemble des réalisations en conservation du patrimoine en 2014. Christina Cameron a été nommée à l’Ordre du Canada en 2014 et elle a reçu le prix Gérard-Morisset en 2018.

Steven Nitah

La carrière de Steven Nitah a jusqu’à présent été consacrée à promouvoir les nations autochtones et à rétablir la place du savoir et de la gouvernance autochtones au cœur de la durabilité écologique, culturelle et économique. Il est chef de la Première nation Lutsel K'e Dene, président et chef de la direction de Densoline Corporation et député à l’Assemblée générale des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Il agit à titre de négociateur en chef pour la Première nation Lutsel K'e Dene dans le cadre de la création du parc national et de la réserve Thaidene Nene, ce qui a permis de protéger un territoire ancestral de 26 380 km2. Il est également été conseiller auprès de l’Indigenous Leadership Initiative (ILI) et de Canards Illimités Canada et a travaillé avec la Société tribale du Traité no 8 des Territoires du Nord-Ouest dans le cadre des négociations avec le gouvernement fédéral et les administrations territoriales concernant les terres, les ressources et la gouvernance. Il a occupé plusieurs autres postes clés, dont celui de producteur associé à CBC North TV, de chargé de liaison dans l'industrie minière et, plus récemment, de membre principal du Cercle d'experts autochtones pour appuyer le programme appelé « En route vers l’objectif 1 du Canada ». Grâce à ces responsabilités, il a acquis une grande expérience en matière de droits ancestraux et issus de traités, de négociations de nation à nation et d’établissement de relations, en plus de développer une forte capacité à travailler dans différentes disciplines avec diverses personnes afin de promouvoir des relations synergiques entre les Premières Nations, l’industrie et les gouvernements.

Il apporte une compréhension globale de la conservation et du développement économique durable pour et avec les communautés autochtones, ainsi qu’une forte capacité à diriger des groupes, des communautés et des projets dans une direction positive, et à collaborer et à travailler avec divers acteurs de l’industrie, des ONGE, des administrations locales et du gouvernement national. Par son travail et sa vie, il soutient le rétablissement du rapport des Autochtones à la terre par le biais des pratiques et de la gouvernance traditionnelles et la création de relations enrichissantes et respectueuses avec les autres, en collaboration et dans le respect des partenaires autochtones pour appuyer la nation autochtone et faire progresser la décolonisation et la réconciliation tant personnellement que nationalement.

Elizabeth Halpenny, Ph. D.

Elizabeth Halpenny est titulaire d’un doctorat en sciences du loisir de l’Université de Waterloo (2006), d’une maîtrise en études environnementales de l’université York (2000) et d’un baccalauréat ès arts en géographie de l’université Wilfrid Laurier (1992). Avant de lancer sa carrière universitaire, la professeure Halpenny a œuvré au sein d’une ONG, l’International Ecotourism Society, de 2000 à 2005 à titre de coordonnatrice de la recherche et des ateliers. Elle mène des recherches dans les domaines du tourisme, du marketing, de la psychologie de l’environnement et de la gestion des zones protégées. Ses projets de recherche actuels portent notamment sur l’utilisation, l’acceptation et les répercussions des technologies numériques mobiles parmi les touristes (par exemple, les festivaliers et les visiteurs des zones protégées), l’influence de la désignation du patrimoine mondial et d’autres distinctions liées aux parcs sur la prise de décision en matière de voyage, les attitudes des individus vis-à-vis des zones naturelles et de leur gestion.

Munir Sheikh

Munir Sheikh a œuvré au sein du gouvernement du Canada pendant plus de 35 ans, devenant sous-ministre, le poste le plus élevé de la fonction publique. Il a conseillé de nombreux premiers ministres et ministres des finances canadiens sur des questions économiques et fiscales. Son dernier poste au gouvernement était celui de statisticien en chef du Canada.

Après sa retraite, il a été nommé professeur-chercheur à l’Université Carleton, où il donne des cours de politiques publiques aux cycles supérieurs.

Il a été invité en tant que conférencier par nombre d’universités et d’organisations, notamment Harvard et Princeton. Il a reçu de nombreux prix et distinctions, notamment la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth et un prix de distinction du premier ministre de l’Ontario, en plus d’avoir été intronisé au « temple des héros » du Community Indicators Consortium de Chicago.

Yaprak Baltacioglu

Yaprak Baltacioglu est une dirigeante accomplie du secteur public comptant plus de 25 ans d’expérience du gouvernement fédéral en matière d’élaboration de politiques stratégiques, de gestion de programmes, de participation à de nombreux comités de direction et d’orientation des affaires gouvernementales aux plus hauts niveaux de décision. Mme Baltacioglu a agi en tant que conseillère de confiance auprès de quatre premiers ministres, de nombreux ministres et de responsables ministériels pour des programmes, des questions, des lois et des politiques dans des domaines tels que l’économie, la trésorerie, les transports, les infrastructures, la sécurité, l’agriculture, les soins de santé et l’environnement. Elle est experte en matière de législation et de réglementation, d’élaboration de politiques et de relations internationales et intergouvernementales. Elle connaît à fond les rouages du gouvernement, y compris les principes de bonne gouvernance et de politiques s’appliquant à l’ensemble du gouvernement.

Récemment nommée chancelière de l’université Carleton, elle est aussi professeure à la Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy en plus de siéger à divers conseils, dont ceux d’Hydro Ottawa et de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés. À deux reprises, le Réseau des femmes exécutives a reconnu Mme Baltacioglu comme l’une des 100 femmes les plus influentes du Canada et lui a décerné plusieurs distinctions pour ses contributions importantes au secteur public. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise ès arts de la School of Public Administration de l’université Carleton ainsi que d’un baccalauréat en droit et d’un agrément de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés de la Rotman School of Management.

Résultats

Le groupe de travail rédigera un rapport qui étudiera comment la prise de décision à Parcs Canada incorpore l’intégrité écologique et commémorative et formulera des recommandations sur la façon de s’assurer que le maintien de l’intégrité écologique et commémorative est une considération prioritaire dans les processus décisionnels à Parcs Canada.