Reports

Minister's Round Table on Parks Canada

CEO BOARDROOM, PARKS CANADA
25 EDDY ST, 7TH FLOOR
GATINEAU, QUEBEC
MONDAY, FEBRUARY 4, 2008



12:00 - Arrivals

12:05 - Welcome and Introduction of the Minister
Alan Latourelle, CEO, Parks Canada

12:10 - Minister’s Remarks
Hon. John Baird, Minister of the Environment

12:20 - Buffet Luncheon

13:15 - Review of Agenda
Céline Gaulin, Chief Administrative Officer, Parks Canada

13:20 - CEO Performance Highlights
Alan Latourelle, CEO, Parks Canada

13:35 - Questions and Answers
All

14:05 - Presentation on Changing Social Values and Demographic Trends in Canada, Parks Canada
Brenda Jones, Chief Social Scientist

14:15 - Roundtable Discussion - From your perspective, what are the key priorities that Parks Canada should be pursuing?
All

15:30 - Coffee/Refreshments - Health Break

15:45 - Highlights from Roundtable Discussion
All

16:20 - Concluding Remarks
Alan Latourelle, CEO, Parks Canada

16:30 - End of MRT


Response of the Minister of the Environment to comments received at the Minster's Round Table on Parks Canada held on February 4th, 2008

Printable Version (PDF, 22 KB)

The Minister responsible for Parks Canada is required by the Parks Canada Agency Act (December 1998) to convene a round table of persons interested in matters for which the Agency is responsible once every two years. This round table is a primary mechanism whereby Canadians can advise the Minister on the performance of the Agency and its responsibilities. The Minister is required to respond to recommendations made at the round table within 180 days.

The most recent Minister’s Round Table on Parks Canada was held on February 4, 2008 at Parks Canada’s headquarters in Gatineau, Quebec. The participants had the opportunity to make comments directly to the Honourable John Baird, Minister of the Environment, and Alan Latourelle, the Chief Executive Officer of the Parks Canada Agency.

The Minister’s Round Table on Parks Canada together with ongoing public management plan consultations and other public engagement activities carried out by Parks Canada with Canadians on issues relating to national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas constitute key mechanisms by which Canadians can contribute to the management of Canada’s system of national heritage places.

Public participation in consultative activities enables Parks Canada to better reflect the values and wishes of Canadians in executing its mandate. The comments made at the 2008 Minister’s Round Table will influence the Agency’s strategic direction and will be considered as part of Parks Canada’s 2009/10 corporate planning.

The Minister of the Environment has responded directly to the participants of the Minister’s Round Table and his response is published here to ensure public access to the results of this important consultative event.


RESPONSE OF THE MINISTER OF THE ENVIRONMENT TO COMMENTS RECEIVED AT THE MINISTER’S ROUND TABLE ON PARKS CANADA HELD ON FEBRUARY 4, 2008

Parks Canada manages 42 national parks, 3 national marine conservation areas and 158 national historic sites on behalf of Canadians. Parks Canada is proud of being the steward of these heritage places and protecting and presenting them for the benefit and enjoyment of Canadians while ensuring that they remain unspoiled for present and future generations.

There are approximately 22 million visits annually to the heritage places administered by Parks Canada. The Agency supports 38,000 direct jobs for Canadians, in more than 460 communities.

Parks Canada also encourages and supports the protection of the commemorative integrity of the 777 national historic sites owned and managed by third parties.

  1. Heritage Places Establishment
    • As Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I am personally committed to protecting and presenting the natural and historic heritage of our country.
    • This commitment has been demonstrated through a number of initiatives our Government has undertaken, including:
      • The massive expansion of Nahanni National Park Reserve
      • The withdrawal of land in the Sahtu region of the Northwest Territories, a major step towards creating Nááts’ihch’oh National Park Reserve
      • The withdrawal of 33,500 km2 of land near the East Arm of Great Slave Lake, for the establishment of Thaydene Nene National Park
      • A $5 million fund to ensure the long-term protection of the Sahoyúé - ?ehdacho National Historic Site on Great Bear Lake
      • The creation of the Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area
      • $3 million for the restoration of Stanley Park in Vancouver and Point Pleasant Park in Halifax
      • The withdrawal of 15,000 km2 of land for the Ramparts River and Wetlands
      • The protection of the Great Bear Rainforest
      • $225 million to protect lands through the Nature Conservancy of Canada
    • Parks Canada will remain focused on the long-term goals of completing the systems of national parks and national marine conservation areas.
    • Parks Canada is committed to streamlining and accelerating the park establishment process wherever possible by providing a clear timeline to partners and the public for the conduct of feasibility studies and by aiming to negotiate agreement(s) over a two-year period.
    • Parks Canada will update its establishment process to focus more strategically on milestones such as feasibility studies and negotiating agreements to achieve results.
    • Parks Canada will take an integrated approach to developing an understanding of the study area's ecological, social and cultural context.
    • Parks Canada will continue to strengthen relationships with other governments, Aboriginal groups, communities, stakeholders and the Canadian public.
    • Parks Canada will evaluate public support for each new national park and national marine conservation area proposal, and build positive, enduring relationships to achieve a successful outcome to the feasibility studies and establishment agreement negotiations.
    • In the establishment and management of national parks and national marine conservation areas, Parks Canada will continue to take a broad ecosystem‑based approach that includes consideration of connectivity; in particular, migratory corridors linking protected areas. The Agency will work in partnership with conservation organizations, provincial/territorial parks agencies and other federal departments to promote connectivity and corridors between protected areas.
    • In the marine environment in particular, Parks Canada will work under the Federal Marine Protected Areas Strategy to promote marine networks.
    • Parks Canada will enhance its current efforts to consider the role of traditional knowledge in decision making as well as the potential economic benefits, including a representative workforce for Aboriginal people at the regional level of a new national park or national marine conservation area.
  2. Heritage Resources Conservation
    • Parks Canada will continue to work towards federal legislation to protect all federally owned national historic sites of Canada.
    • Parks Canada will look at options for a program to conserve historic places, and will assess the need for and feasibility of further fiscal incentives for built heritage.
  3. Public Appreciation and Understanding
    • Parks Canada will promote the role that heritage places can play in the community. By collaborating with heritage and environmental organizations, the arts and culture community, and other stakeholders, Parks Canada will provide opportunities for Canadians to learn and develop a sense of connection with respect to their natural and historical heritage places.
    • In addition, Parks Canada will reach out to new Canadians as part of citizenship and settlement processes, and will engage ethnocultural communities and stakeholders in new commemorations for national historic persons, places or events.
    • Parks Canada will develop a framework that enables Aboriginal traditional knowledge to meaningfully inform all aspects of park planning and management and that encourages Aboriginal peoples to reconnect with traditional cultural landscapes.
    • As part of this framework, Parks Canada will engage Aboriginal peoples by establishing, within five years from now, Aboriginal advisory relationships for each national park. These advisory relationships will span the spectrum of possible collaborative structures guided by the unique legal and cultural contexts of each Aboriginal group.
  4. Visitor Experience
    • National parks and national historic sites belong to all Canadians. Parks Canada facilitates opportunities for Canadians to have meaningful experiences at truly remarkable places, in a way that ensures ecological and commemorative integrity is maintained.
    • Parks Canada will increase awareness of Canada’s national heritage places through the definition of a clear brand positioning, and the implementation of a broad national communications plan and national marketing plan.
    • Parks Canada will develop and implement a comprehensive suite of tools to provide the best opportunities possible for visitors to learn, enjoy and connect to Parks Canada places. These opportunities will be developed to meet visitors’ social values, desires, expectations and needs.
    • Parks Canada will improve existing and develop new visitor products, services and facilities. This will include, in collaboration with a broad range of partners, improving and diversifying the accommodation offer, investing in frontcountry trails and increasing the number of relevant interpretive products available for visitors.
    • Parks Canada will foster Aboriginal economic and tourism opportunities related to authentic Aboriginal cultural experiences.
    • In order to support the implementation of the visitor experience concept, Parks Canada will provide staff with targeted training. Hiring and organizational tools will also be improved to better support the visitor experience.
  5. Townsite and Throughway Infrastructure
    • It is recognized that Parks Canada’s infrastructure is aging, just as other municipal, provincial and federal assets do. Parks Canada will continue to incorporate a broad range of factors including health and safety, visitor experience, and ecological and commemorative integrity when making investment decisions in support of the Parks Canada mandate.
    • The Agency’s capital planning process includes project screening criteria based on risk assessment such as health and safety, financial and legal liability and investment urgency as well as an impact assessment that ensures a proper balance between these screening criteria and visitor experience.
    • Parks Canada will continue to solicit infrastructure funds from all available sources to maintain and improve the throughway infrastructure.
    • Parks Canada is committed to managing its operations in an exemplary manner to promote clean air, clean water and sustainable land use. This commitment also extends to our partners and operators within protected heritage area boundaries. Lease agreements with third‑party operators now require that operators adhere to the same level of compliance with federal environmental laws, policies, directives and procedures as Parks Canada. Parks Canada will continue to work with partners and stakeholders to improve environmental performance and to implement sustainable tourism approaches.

International

  • Parks Canada is currently developing an Agency-wide strategic plan to guide its international activities. It is also in the process of establishing a small international programs secretariat to co‑ordinate and facilitate these activities.
  • The strategy and the secretariat will result in a strategic and focused level of international engagement that meets the needs of Parks Canada and contributes to the federal government’s international agenda.
  • Parks Canada is renewing its 1998/2003 Memorandum of Understanding with the U.S. National Park Service related to “Cooperation in Management, Research, Protection, Conservation, and Presentation of National Parks and National Historic Sites” and will continue to pursue opportunities for collaboration in this context.

Rapports

Table ronde du ministre sur Parcs Canada 2008

Salle De Conférence du DGA, Parcs Canada
25, rue Eddy, 7e étage
Gatineau (QC)
Le lundi 4 février 2008



12 h 00 - Arrivée

12 h 05 - Mot de bienvenue et Présentation du Ministre
Alan Latourelle, directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada

12 h 10 - Mot du Ministre
John Baird, ministre de l’Environnement

12 h 20 - Repas buffet

13 h 15 - Examen de l’ordre du jour
Céline Gaulin, dirigeant principal administratif, Parcs Canada

13 h 20 - Points saillants sur le rendement
Alan Latourelle, directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada

13 h 35 - Foire aux questions
Tous

14 h 05 - Exposé sur les valeurs sociales et les tendances démographiques au Canada
Brenda Jones, chef, Sciences sociales, Parcs Canada

14 h 15 - Tour de table - Selon vous, quelles devraient être les priorités clés de Parcs Canada?
Tous

15 h 30 - Café et rafraichissements - Pause

15 h 45 - Faits saillants de la discussion du Tour de Table
Tous

16 h 20 - Conclusion
Alan Latourelle, directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada

16 h 30 - Fin de la TRM


Réponse du Minstre de l'Environment aux commentaires reçus lors de la Table Ronde du Minstre sur Parcs Canada tenue le 4 février 2008

Table ronde du ministre sur Parcs Canada 2008

Version Imprimable (PDF, 22 Ko)

Le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada est tenu de convoquer à une table ronde, tous les deux ans, des personnes intéressées par les questions dont l'Agence est responsable, aux termes de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada (décembre 1998). Cette Table ronde est un mécanisme de base pour les Canadiens qui veulent conseiller le ministre sur le rendement de l'Agence et les responsabilités de celle-ci. Le ministre est tenu de donner suite aux recommandations formulées à la table ronde dans les 180 jours.

La plus récente Table ronde du ministre sur Parcs Canada a eu lieu le 4 février 2008 au Bureau national de Parcs Canada à Gatineau (Québec). Les participants ont eu la possibilité de formuler des commentaires directement au ministre de l’Environnement, l’honorable John Baird, et au directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, Alan Latourelle.

La Table ronde du ministre sur Parcs Canada, les consultations publiques continues sur les plans directeurs ainsi que les autres activités de mobilisation du public portant sur les enjeux liés aux lieux historiques nationaux, aux parcs nationaux et aux aires marines nationales de conservation constituent des mécanismes clés grâce auxquels la population canadienne peut contribuer à la gestion des lieux patrimoniaux du Canada.

La participation du public aux activités de consultation permet à Parcs Canada de mieux refléter les valeurs et les souhaits des Canadiens dans l’exécution de son mandat. Les commentaires entendus lors de la Table ronde du ministre 2008 seront pris en considération dans la planification stratégique de 2009-2010.

Le ministre de l’Environnement a répondu directement aux participants à la Table ronde du ministre et sa réponse est publiée ici afin que le public ait accès aux résultats de cette importante activité de consultation.


Réponse du ministre de l'environnement aux commentaires reçus lors de la table ronde du ministre sur parcs canada tenue le 4 février 2008

Au nom de la population canadienne, Parcs Canada administre 42 parcs nationaux, 3 aires marines nationales de conservation et 158 lieux historiques nationaux. L'Agence est fière d'être responsable de ces lieux patrimoniaux, de les protéger et de les mettre en valeur pour l'appréciation et le bénéfice des Canadiens, tout en veillant à ce que ces endroits remarquables demeurent intacts pour les générations d'aujourd'hui et de demain.

Les lieux patrimoniaux administrés par Parcs Canada enregistrent chaque année quelque 22 millions de visites. L'Agence soutient 38 000 emplois directs au sein de la population canadienne, dans plus de 460 communautés.

De plus, Parcs Canada encourage et appuie la protection de l'intégrité commémorative de 777 lieux historiques nationaux qui appartiennent à des tiers et sont gérés par eux.

  1. Création de lieux patrimoniaux
    • À titre de ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, je me suis personnellement engagé envers la protection et la mise en valeur du patrimoine naturel et historique de notre pays.
    • Cet engagement s'est exprimé par diverses initiatives de notre gouvernement, notamment :
      • L'agrandissement massif de la réserve de parc national Nahanni
      • La mise à part de terres dans la région du Sahtu dans les Territoires du Nord‑Ouest, une étape importante vers la création de la réserve de parc national Nááts’ihch’oh
      • La mise à part de 33 500 km2 de terres à proximité du bras Est du Grand lac des Esclaves, en vue de la création du parc national Thaydene Nene
      • Un fonds de 5 millions de dollars pour voir à la protection à long terme du lieu historique national Sahoyúé -?ehdacho, au Grand lac de l'Ours.
      • La création de l'aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac‑Supérieur
      • 3 millions de dollars pour la restauration du parc Stanley, à Vancouver, et du parc Point Pleasant, à Halifax
      • La mise à part de 15 000 km2 de terres dans la zone de la rivière Ramparts et ses zones humides
      • La protection de la forêt pluviale Great Bear
      • 225 millions de dollars pour protéger des terres par l'entremise de Conservation de la nature Canada
    • Parcs Canada continuera de concentrer ses efforts sur son but à long terme de parachever ses réseaux des parcs nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation.
    • Parcs Canada s'engage à simplifier et à accélérer le processus d'établissement de parc, là où c'est possible, en fournissant à ses partenaires et au public un échéancier clair quant à la tenue des études de faisabilité et en cherchant à négocier les ententes sur une période de deux ans.
    • Parcs Canada actualisera son processus d'établissement de parcs de façon stratégique afin qu'il soit davantage axé sur les étapes clés, telles les études de faisabilité et la négociation des ententes, en vue d'obtenir des résultats.
    • Parcs Canada adoptera une approche intégrée pour mieux arriver à comprendre le contexte écologique, social et culturel de la zone à l'étude.
    • Parcs Canada continuera de renforcer ses liens avec les autres gouvernements, les groupes autochtones, les collectivités, les intervenants concernés et le public canadien.
    • Parcs Canada évaluera l'appui du public pour chaque nouveau projet de parc national ou d'aire marine nationale de conservation et nouera des liens positifs et durables afin de permettre le succès des études de faisabilité et des négociations des ententes d'établissement.
    • En matière d'établissement et de gestion des parcs nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation, Parcs Canada continuera d'utiliser une approche axée sur les grands écosystèmes en tenant compte de la connectivité, et plus particulièrement des couloirs de migration reliant les aires protégées. L'Agence conclura des partenariats avec des organismes de conservation, des organismes provinciaux et territoriaux voués aux parcs et d'autres ministères fédéraux en vue de promouvoir la connectivité et les couloirs de migration entre les aires protégées.
    • En ce qui concerne plus particulièrement le milieu marin, Parcs Canada travaillera dans le cadre de la Stratégie fédérale sur les aires marines protégées pour faire la promotion des réseaux d'aires marines.
    • Parcs Canada accroîtra ses efforts pour s'appuyer davantage sur le savoir traditionnel dans la prise de décisions et pour tenir compte des retombées économiques éventuelles, notamment en mettant en place un effectif représentatif de la population autochtone régionale dans les nouveaux parcs ou les nouvelles aires marines nationales de conservation.
  2. Conservation des ressources patrimoniales
    • Parcs Canada continuera de participer à l'élaboration de lois fédérales visant à protéger tous les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada appartenant au gouvernement fédéral.
    • Parcs Canada examinera les options pour la mise sur pied d'un programme visant à conserver les lieux patrimoniaux et évaluera les besoins pour d'autres incitatifs fiscaux en matière de patrimoine bâti ainsi que la faisabilité d'une telle mesure.
  3. Appréciation et compréhension du public
    • Parcs Canada fera la promotion du rôle que les lieux patrimoniaux peuvent jouer au sein de la communauté. En collaborant avec des organismes voués au patrimoine et à l'environnement, avec le milieu artistique et culturel et avec d'autres intervenants, Parcs Canada offrira l'occasion aux Canadiens d'en apprendre davantage sur les lieux patrimoniaux naturels et culturels du Canada et de tisser des lieux personnels avec ceux‑ci.
    • De plus, Parcs Canada communiquera avec les nouveaux Canadiens dans le cadre du processus de citoyenneté et d'installation au pays et encouragera la participation des communautés et des intervenants ethnoculturels aux nouvelles désignations de personnages, de lieux ou d'événements d'importance historique nationale.
    • Parcs Canada élaborera un cadre qui permettra au savoir traditionnel autochtone de contribuer de façon significative à tous les aspects de la planification et de la gestion des parcs et qui encouragera les peuples autochtones à rétablir un lien avec des paysages culturels traditionnels.
    • Dans ce cadre, Parcs Canada cherchera à susciter l'engagement des peuples autochtones en établissant, dans un délai de cinq ans, des relations consultatives avec ceux‑ci pour chaque parc national. Grâce à ces relations, il sera possible de déterminer l'étendue des structures de collaboration possibles, selon les contextes juridiques et culturels propres à chaque groupe autochtone.
  4. Expérience du visiteur
    • Les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux appartiennent à toute la population canadienne. Parcs Canada facilite pour les Canadiens les occasions de connaître des expériences significatives dans des endroits vraiment remarquables, tout en veillant à en conserver l'intégrité écologique et commémorative.
    • Parcs Canada fera mieux connaître les lieux patrimoniaux nationaux du Canada en précisant clairement le positionnement de son image de marque et en mettant en œuvre, à l'échelle du pays, des plans nationaux de communication et de marketing.
    • Parcs Canada élaborera et mettra en œuvre une série complète d'outils visant à offrir aux visiteurs les meilleures occasions possibles de découvrir ses lieux patrimoniaux, d'en profiter et de tisser des liens personnels avec ceux‑ci. Ces occasions seront élaborées en tenant compte des valeurs sociales des visiteurs, de leurs désirs, de leurs attentes et de leurs besoins.
    • Parcs Canada améliorera ses installations, ses produits et ses services actuels pour les visiteurs et en concevra de nouveaux. En collaboration avec divers partenaires, l'Agence améliorera et diversifiera l'offre d'hébergement, investira dans les sentiers d'avant-pays et augmentera le nombre de produits d'interprétation pertinents offerts aux visiteurs.
    • Parcs canada favorisera les possibilités économiques et touristiques autochtones en lien avec des expériences culturelles autochtones authentiques.
    • En vue d'appuyer la mise en œuvre du concept d'expérience du visiteur, Parcs Canada offrira à son personnel une formation ciblée. L'embauche et les outils organisationnels seront aussi améliorés afin de mieux soutenir les expériences offertes aux visiteurs.
  5. Infrastructure des lotissements urbains et des routes de transit
    • Nous savons que les infrastructures de Parcs Canada vieillissent, à l'instar d'autres biens municipaux, provinciaux et fédéraux. Parcs Canada continuera de tenir compte d'un large éventail de facteurs, comme la santé et la sécurité, les expériences offertes aux visiteurs et l'intégrité écologique et commémorative, au moment de prendre des décisions sur les investissements à l'appui de son mandat.
    • Le processus de planification des immobilisations de l'Agence comprend des critères de sélection de projets fondés sur l'évaluation du risque, y compris en matière de santé et sécurité, de responsabilité financière et juridique et d'urgence des investissements, ainsi qu'une évaluation des incidences qui permet d'assurer un équilibre adéquat entre ces critères de sélection et l'expérience du visiteur.
    • Afin de maintenir et d'améliorer les routes de transit, Parcs Canada continuera de solliciter des fonds auprès de toutes les sources possibles de financement d'infrastructure.
    • Parcs Canada s'engage à gérer ses activités de façon exemplaire afin de protéger la qualité de l'air et de l'eau et de promouvoir une utilisation durable des terres. Cet engagement s'applique aussi à nos partenaires et aux exploitants dans les aires patrimoniales protégées. Les baux avec des tiers exploitants exigent désormais le même niveau de conformité aux lois, politiques, directives et procédures fédérales environnementales que celui dont on s'attend de la part de Parcs Canada. L'Agence continuera de collaborer avec les partenaires et les intervenants en vue d'améliorer son rendement environnemental et de mettre en œuvre des approches axées sur le tourisme durable

    International

    • L'Agence élabore actuellement un plan stratégique pour l'ensemble de son organisation afin d'orienter ses activités internationales. De plus, elle est à mettre sur pied un petit Secrétariat des programmes internationaux qui aura comme mission de coordonner et d'appuyer ces activités.
    • La mise en œuvre du plan stratégique et du Secrétariat permettra à Parcs Canada d'atteindre un niveau stratégique et ciblé d'engagement international qui répondra à ses besoins tout en contribuant aux priorités du gouvernement fédéral.
    • Parcs Canada est à renouveler son protocole d'entente 1998‑2003 avec le U.S. National Park Service sur « La coopération en matière de gestion, de recherche, de protection, de conservation et de mise en valeur des parcs nationaux et des lieux historiques nationaux », et continuera d'examiner les possibilités de collaboration dans ce contexte.