Key domestic and international events

Signing a Memorandum of Understanding to Conclude a Feasibility Assessment for a Proposed National Park Reserve in the Hog Island – Sandhills Area of Prince Edward Island

Description
  • Ministerial signing event for a Memorandum of Understanding between L’nuey (formerly the Mi’kmaq Confederacy of PEI) and the PCA that confirms that the establishment of a national park reserve called Pituamkek (pronounced Bee doo um Gek and meaning “At the Long Sand Dune”) is feasible, as well as the launch of negotiations towards a formal national park reserve establishment agreement.
  • While the Government of Prince Edward Island is not a signatory to the MOU, it has fully participated in the feasibility assessment and is fully supportive of the proposal.
Ministerial Action
  • It is recommended that the Minister attend this event to sign and celebrate the signing of the MOU.
  • This will be an important opportunity to highlight the continuing collaboration between the Government of Canada and Mi’kmaq of Prince Edward Island.
  • It will also highlight the growing level of collaboration between PCA and the Mi’kmaq with respect to the management and presentation of the existing Prince Edward Island National Park.
Timeline
  • November 2021 on Prince Edward Island

Signing a Memorandum of Understanding to Guide a Feasibility Assessment to Establish an Indigenous Protected Area Under the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act in the Area Adjacent to the Torngat Mountains National Park

Description
  • Ministerial signing event for a Memorandum of Understanding between the Nunatsiavut Government and PCA to collaborate on completing a feasibility assessment that was previously announced on September 9, 2019. The proposed study area is approximately 15,000 square kilometres.
  • This area will protect the currently unrepresented Labrador Shelf marine region as part of PCA’s system of national marine conservation areas. It will result in the protection of fiords that extend but are not part of the Torngat Mountains National Park as well as the marine waters adjacent to the national park.
Ministerial Action
  • It is recommended that the Minister attend this event to sign and celebrate the signing of the MOU.
  • It is expected the Minister will receive an invitation directly from the President of the Nunatsiavut Government following their Executive Council consideration and possible approval of the MOU in late September 2021.
  • This will be an important opportunity to highlight the continuing collaboration between the Government of Canada and the Labrador Inuit to achieve the conservation and economic development of this region.
Timeline
  • Expect November 2021 in Nain, Labrador

Tourism Industry Association of Canada Congress 2021 in Ottawa

Description
  • The Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) holds an annual national congress for tourism industry leaders. As one of Canada’s largest providers of tourism experiences, PCA participates in the congress each year.
  • The annual congress attracts a broad cross-section of Canada’s tourism industry leadership, including representatives of business, advocacy, and government. For 2021, the congress will focus significantly on the recovery of Canada’s tourism sector from the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.
Ministerial Action
  • As Minister Responsible for the PCA, the Minister should anticipate receiving an invitation to attend the congress. One opportunity for participation will be the Canadian Tourism Awards gala from 19:00 to 21:00 on December 1, 2021 at the Westin Hotel in Ottawa. The event will offer an opportunity for the Minister to meet with tourism industry stakeholders from across Canada.
Timeline
  • December 1, 2021 from 19:00 to 21:00 in Ottawa, Ontario
    Ottawa Westin Hotel

Recommended meetings or phone calls

Reaching out to key built heritage stakeholders

Description
The following individuals are suggested:
  • Dr. Richard Alway, Chair of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, appointed by GIC to be the Minister’s advisor on subjects related to the commemoration of Canada’s history.
  • Ms. Natalie Bull, Executive Director of the National Trust, Canada’s national charitable non-profit for heritage preservation.
Timeline
  • Dr. Alway should be contacted before the end of November 2021.
  • Ms. Bull can be contacted as time permits.

Kathy Abusow, President & CEO, Sustainable Forestry Initiative

Description
  • The Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI) delivers conservation action, standards, and education for forest restoration and sustainable forest management across Canada. The SFI has also been a primary partner in the delivery of youth employment in conservation in forest restoration and management as well as in conservation activities in provincial and territorial parks systems.
  • Ms. Abusow is anticipated to request a meeting in November to discuss youth employment and youth participation in forest restoration and management as well as in conservation among provincial and territorial parks systems. The SFI has been a partner in youth employment in conservation since 2018 and has achieved significant results. It is recommended that the Minister accept the meeting.
Timeline
  • The Minister will likely receive a request to meet with Ms. Abusow in Ottawa in November 2021 at a time of mutual convenience. The head offices of the Sustainable Forestry Initiative are located in Ottawa.

Mike Roma, President, Canadian Parks and Recreation Association
CJ Noble, CEO, Canadian Parks and Recreation Association

Description
  • The Canadian Parks and Recreation Association (CPRA) is the representative organization for municipal parks systems across Canada. The Association has been a partner in the delivery of initiatives for the employment of youth in conservation and has also expressed a strong interest in the advancement of urban conservation and the establishment of national urban parks.
  • PCA has worked collaboratively with the CPRA for several years in a number of areas. Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, PCA worked closely with the CPRA to facilitate safe access to outdoors spaces for Canadians within and outside of their communities. The Agency has also partnered with the CPRA to advance youth employment and youth engagement in conservation.
  • Given the importance of access to nature for individual and community wellbeing and the importance of urban conservation and urban parks for responding to climate change and declining biodiversity, it is recommended that the Minister accept a meeting with the CPRA.
Timeline
  • The Minister will likely receive a request to meet with Mr. Roma in Ottawa in November 2021 at a time of mutual convenience. The head offices of the CPRA are located in Ottawa. Ms Noble is located in Ottawa and Mr. Roma is located in Alberta.

Eleanor McMahon, President and CEO, Trans Canada Trail

Description
  • The Trans-Canada Trail is the world’s largest network of multi-use trails and connects over 400 community trail systems. The Trail began as an initiative celebrating the 125th anniversary of Canadian confederation and is funded by individuals, corporations, foundations, and all levels of government.
  • The Government of Canada is an important funding partner of the Trans-Canada Trail and federal investments in the Trail are delivered by PCA. The current funding profile for the Trans-Canada Trail will expire on March 31, 2022.
  • It is anticipated that Eleanor McMahon, President & CEO of the Trans-Canada Trail, will seek a meeting with the Minister to discuss renewal of federal funding to the Trail as well as partnership opportunities. It is recommended that this request be accepted to help determine next steps for possible funding to the Trail.
Timeline
  • The Minister will likely receive a request to meet in early November 2021 in Ottawa. It is recommended that the meeting occur before mid-November, as this timing would allow for necessary preparations should there be a decision to seek possible funding renewal for the Trans-Canada Trail.

Minister’s response to Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation’s July 12 letter regarding Wood Buffalo National Park apology and reconciliation

Description
  • The Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation has requested a meeting with the Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations and ECCC to discuss historic wrongs related to the exclusion of First Nation members from the park, and from a failure to implement Treaty 8.
Timeline
  • November/December 2021

David McKenna, Chair, Tourism Industry Association of Canada and President, Banff-Jasper Collection by Pursuit

Description
  • David McKenna, Chair of the Canadian Tourism Industry Association will likely request a meeting with the Minister.
  • The issues to be raised include the recovery of the Canadian tourism sector from the impacts of COVID-19 and the importance of nature and culture based tourism to the recovery.
  • Given the importance of national parks, historic sites, and marine conservation areas to regional tourism in Canada, it is recommended that the Minister accept the request to meet.
Timeline
  • The Minister will likely receive a request to meet at the annual Tourism Industry Association of Canada congress in Ottawa on December 1, 2021 or at a mutually convenient time during the week of the congress.

Liza Frulla, Chairperson, Destination Canada

Description
  • The Honourable Liza Frulla became Chair of Destination Canada, the national tourism marketing organization for Canada, on August 6, 2021. It is expected that Ms. Frulla will seek an opportunity to meet with the Minister to discuss the importance of nature and culture based tourism for the recovery of Canada’s tourism sector from the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Destination Canada is a long-time partner of PCA in international promotion of Canadian destinations. It is recommended that the Minister accept the request to meet in order to discuss ways that PCA and Destination Canada can work together to advance the recovery of Canada’s tourism industry.
Timeline
  • The Minister will likely receive a request to meet at the annual Tourism Industry Association of Canada congress in Ottawa on December 1, 2021 or at a mutually convenient time during the week of the congress.

Brenda Holder, Chair or Keith Henry, President & CEO, Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada

Description
  • Brenda Holder is a Métis entrepreneur from the Jasper / Grande Cache region of Alberta. She became Chair of the Board of the Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada in 2019. Keith Henry has been President & CEO of the Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada since 2016. Ms. Holder or Mr. Henry will likely seek a meeting with the Minister to discuss the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic on Indigenous tourism and the role that nature and culture based tourism can play in recovery.
  • PCA has worked in partnership with the Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada to develop Indigenous tourism offers at national parks, historic sites, and marine conservation areas across the country. The Agency recently renewed its MOU with the Association and continues to invest in joint initiatives. It is recommended that the Minister accept the request for a meeting given the importance of Indigenous tourism relationships to PCA.
Timeline
  • The Minister will likely receive a request to meet at the annual Tourism Industry Association of Canada congress in Ottawa on December 1, 2021 or at a mutually convenient time during the week of the congress.

Principaux événements nationaux et internationaux

Signature d’un protocole d’entente (PE) pour la réalisation d’une étude de faisabilité d’un projet de réserve de parc national dans la région de l’île Hog et des dunes, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Description
  • Cérémonie ministérielle de signature d’un PE entre L’nuey (anciennement la Confédération des Mi’kmaq de l’Î. -P.-E.) et l’APC confirmant la possibilité de créer une réserve de parc national appelée Pituamkek (prononcée « bi-dou-ehm-gèk », ce qui signifie « à la longue dune de sable »), ainsi que le lancement des négociations en vue de conclure un accord officiel pour la création de cette réserve de parc national.
  • Même si le gouvernement de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard n’est pas signataire du PE, il a pleinement participé à l’étude de faisabilité et appuie entièrement la proposition.
Plan d’action du Ministère
  • Il est recommandé que le ministre assiste à cet événement afin de signer le PE et d’en célébrer la signature.
  • Il s’agira d’une occasion importante pour souligner la collaboration continue entre le gouvernement du Canada et les Mi’kmaq de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.
  • De plus, l’événement permettra de souligner le niveau croissant de collaboration entre l’APC et les Mi’kmaq en ce qui concerne la gestion et la mise en valeur du parc national existant de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.
Échéance
  • Novembre 2021, Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Signature d’un protocole d’entente (PE) en vue d’orienter une étude de faisabilité visant à établir une aire protégée autochtone par application de la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada dans la région adjacente au parc national des Monts-Torngat

Description
  • Cérémonie ministérielle de signature d’un PE entre le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut et l’APC en vue de la collaboration à une étude de faisabilité qui a été annoncée précédemment le 9 septembre 2019. L’aire d’étude proposée s’étend sur environ 15 000 kilomètres carrés.
  • Cette aire permettra de protéger la région marine du plateau continental du Labrador, qui ne fait pas partie à l’heure actuelle du réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation de l’APC. Il sera ainsi possible d’assurer la protection des fjords qui entourent le parc national des Monts-Torngat sans en faire partie et également des eaux marines adjacentes au parc national.
Plan d’action du Ministère
  • Il est recommandé que le ministre assiste à cet événement afin de signer le PE et d’en célébrer la signature.
  • Le ministre devrait recevoir une invitation directement du président du gouvernement du Nunatsiavut suivant l’examen et l’approbation potentielle du PE par le Conseil exécutif de ce dernier à la fin de septembre 2021.
  • Il s’agira d’une occasion importante pour souligner la collaboration continue entre le gouvernement du Canada et les Inuits du Labrador en vue d’assurer la conservation et le développement économique de cette région.
Échéance
  • Événement prévu pour novembre 2021 à Nain, au Labrador.

Congrès de 2021 de l’Association de l’industrie touristique du Canada à Ottawa

Description
  • Chaque année, l’Association de l’industrie touristique du Canada (AITC) organise un congrès national à l’intention des dirigeants de l’industrie du tourisme. En tant que l’un des plus grands fournisseurs d’expériences touristiques au Canada, l’APC y participe tous les ans.
  • Le Congrès annuel attire un large éventail de dirigeants de l’industrie touristique du Canada, y compris des représentants d’entreprises, de lobbys et de gouvernements. Le Congrès de 2021 mettra principalement l’accent sur la reprise du secteur canadien du tourisme après le passage de la pandémie.
Plan d’action du Ministère
  • En sa qualité de ministre responsable de l’APC, le ministre devrait s’attendre à recevoir une invitation à participer au Congrès. Il pourrait notamment participer au gala des Grands Prix du tourisme canadien, qui aura lieu le 1er décembre 2021 à l’hôtel Westin d’Ottawa, de 19 h à 21 h. Cet événement permettra au ministre de rencontrer des intervenants de l’industrie touristique de partout au Canada.
Échéance
  • 1er décembre 2021, de 19 h à 21 h, à Ottawa, en Ontario.
    Hôtel Westin d’Ottawa.

Réunions ou appels téléphoniques recommandés

Communiquer avec les principaux intervenants en matière de patrimoine bâti

Description

Il est suggéré de communiquer avec les personnes suivantes :

  • Le Dr Richard Alway, président de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, qui a été nommé par le gouverneur en conseil au poste de conseiller du ministre sur les sujets liés à la commémoration de l’histoire du Canada.
  • Mme Natalie Bull, directrice générale de la Fiducie nationale du Canada, organisme de bienfaisance national à but non lucratif qui se consacre à la préservation du patrimoine.
  • Échéance
    • Il faudrait communiquer avec le Dr Alway avant la fin de novembre 2021.
    • Il pourra communiquer avec Mme Bull en fonction du temps dont il dispose.

    Kathy Abusow, présidente-directrice générale, Sustainable Forestry Initiative

    Description
    • La Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI) propose des mesures de conservation, des normes et une formation aux fins de la restauration et de la gestion durable des forêts du Canada. La SFI agit aussi à titre de partenaire principale dans la création d’emplois pour les jeunes dans le domaine de la conservation, de la restauration et de la gestion des forêts, ainsi que dans le cadre des activités de conservation des réseaux de parcs provinciaux et territoriaux.
    • Mme Abusow devrait convoquer une réunion en novembre afin de discuter de l’emploi chez les jeunes et de leur participation à la restauration et à la gestion des forêts ainsi qu’à la conservation des réseaux de parcs provinciaux et territoriaux. La SFI est une partenaire de l’emploi des jeunes dans le domaine de la conservation depuis 2018 et a obtenu des résultats significatifs. Il est recommandé que le ministre accepte de participer à la réunion.
    Échéance
    • Le ministre recevra probablement une demande visant la tenue d’une réunion avec Mme Abusow à Ottawa en novembre 2021, à une date mutuellement convenue. Les bureaux principaux de la Sustainable Forestry Initiative sont situés à Ottawa.

    Mike Roma, président, Association canadienne des parcs et loisirs
    CJ Noble, Directrice générale, Association canadienne des parcs et loisirs

    Description
    • L’Association canadienne des parcs et loisirs (ACPL) est l’organisme qui représente les réseaux de parcs municipaux du Canada. L’Association agit à titre de partenaire dans la mise en œuvre d’initiatives pour l’emploi des jeunes dans le domaine de la conservation, et elle a également exprimé un vif intérêt à l’égard de la promotion de la conservation en milieu urbain et de la création de parcs urbains nationaux.
    • L’APC collabore avec l’ACPL depuis plusieurs années dans un certain nombre de domaines. Tout au long de la pandémie de COVID-19, l’APC a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec l’ACPL en vue de faciliter l’accès sécuritaire aux espaces extérieurs pour les Canadiens, à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur de leur collectivité. En outre, l’Agence s’est associée à l’ACPL pour accroître les possibilités d’emploi chez les jeunes et leur participation à la conservation.
    • Compte tenu de l’importance de l’accès à la nature pour le bien-être des collectivités et de leurs membres et du rôle important que jouent la conservation en milieu urbain et les parcs urbains dans la lutte contre le changement climatique et le déclin de la biodiversité, il est recommandé que le ministre accepte de participer à une réunion avec l’ACPL.
    Échéance
    • Le ministre recevra probablement en novembre 2021 une demande en vue de la tenue d’une réunion avec M. Roma à Ottawa à une date mutuellement convenue. Les bureaux principaux de l’ACPL sont situés à Ottawa. Mme Noble habite à Ottawa et M. Roma habite en Alberta.

    Eleanor McMahon, présidente-directrice générale, Sentier transcanadien

    Description
    • Le Sentier transcanadien est le plus grand réseau de sentiers polyvalents au monde et relie plus de 400 réseaux de sentiers communautaires. Le Sentier, qui est né d’une initiative visant à célébrer le 125e anniversaire de la fédération canadienne, est financé par des particuliers, des entreprises, des fondations et tous les ordres de gouvernement.
    • Le gouvernement du Canada est un important partenaire financier du Sentier transcanadien, et l’APC se charge d’effectuer les investissements fédéraux dans le Sentier. Le profil de financement actuel du Sentier transcanadien prendra fin le 31 mars 2022.
    • Eleanor McMahon, présidente-directrice générale du Sentier transcanadien, devrait demander la tenue d’une réunion avec le ministre responsable de l’APC en vue de discuter du renouvellement du financement fédéral destiné au Sentier ainsi que des possibilités de partenariat. Il est recommandé d’accepter cette demande pour faciliter la détermination des prochaines étapes concernant le financement éventuel du Sentier.
    Échéance
    • Le ministre recevra probablement une demande en vue de la tenue d’une réunion au début de novembre 2021 à Ottawa. Il est recommandé de tenir la réunion avant la mi-novembre, de manière à pouvoir effectuer les préparatifs nécessaires si l’on décide de demander le renouvellement du financement du Sentier transcanadien.

    Réponse du ministre à la lettre du 12 juillet de la Première Nation des Chipewyans d’Athabasca concernant les excuses du parc national Wood Buffalo et la réconciliation à cet égard

    Description
    • La Première Nation des Chipewyans d’Athabasca a demandé la tenue d’une réunion avec la ministre de Relations Couronne-Autochtones et le ministre d’ECCC pour discuter des torts historiques causés par l’exclusion du parc des membres des Premières Nations et par la non-application du Traité no 8.
    Échéance
    • Novembre/décembre 2021

    David McKenna, président, Association de l’industrie touristique du Canada, et président, Banff-Jasper Collection by Pursuit

    Description
    • David McKenna, président de l’Association de l’industrie touristique du Canada, demandera probablement la tenue d’une réunion avec le ministre.
    • Parmi les questions qui seront soulevées figurent la relance du secteur canadien du tourisme après le passage de la COVID-19 et l’importance du tourisme axé sur la nature et la culture à cette fin.
    • Compte tenu du rôle important que jouent les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques et les aires marines de conservation dans le tourisme régional au Canada, il est recommandé que le ministre accepte la demande de réunion.
    Échéance
    • Le ministre recevra probablement une demande en vue de la tenue d’une réunion dans le cadre du Congrès annuel de l’Association de l’industrie touristique du Canada à Ottawa le 1er décembre 2021 ou à une date mutuellement convenue au cours de la semaine du Congrès.

    Liza Frulla, présidente, Destination Canada

    Description
    • Depuis le 6 août 2021, l’honorable Liza Frulla est présidente de Destination Canada, l’organisme responsable de la promotion du tourisme au Canada. Elle devrait demander la tenue d’une réunion avec le ministre afin de discuter de l’importance du tourisme axé sur la nature et la culture aux fins du relancement du secteur canadien du tourisme après le passage de la COVID 19.
    • Destination Canada est un partenaire de longue date de l’APC dans le domaine de la promotion des destinations canadiennes à l’échelle internationale. Il est recommandé que le ministre accepte la demande de réunion pour discuter de possibilités de collaboration entre l’APC et Destination Canada en vue de faire progresser la relance de l’industrie touristique du Canada.
    Échéance
    • Le ministre recevra probablement une demande en vue de la tenue d’une réunion dans le cadre du Congrès annuel de l’Association de l’industrie touristique du Canada à Ottawa le 1er décembre 2021 ou à une date mutuellement convenue au cours de la semaine du Congrès.

    Brenda Holder, présidente, ou
    Keith Henry, président-directeur général, Association touristique autochtone du Canada

    Description
    • Brenda Holder est une entrepreneure métisse de la région de Jasper et de Grande Cache, en Alberta. Elle est devenue présidente du conseil d’administration de l’Association touristique autochtone du Canada en 2019. Keith Henry est président-directeur général de l’Association touristique autochtone du Canada depuis 2016. Mme Holder ou M. Henry demandera probablement la tenue d’une réunion avec le ministre pour discuter des répercussions de la pandémie de COVID-19 sur le tourisme autochtone et du rôle que le tourisme axé sur la nature et la culture peut jouer dans la relance du secteur.
    • L’APC a travaillé en partenariat avec l’Association touristique autochtone du Canada afin d’élaborer des offres de tourisme autochtone dans les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques et les aires marines de conservation de l’ensemble du pays. L’Agence a récemment renouvelé son protocole d’entente avec l’Association et continue d’investir dans des initiatives conjointes. Il est recommandé que le ministre accepte la demande de réunion, compte tenu de l’importance des relations touristiques autochtones pour l’APC.
    Échéance
    • Le ministre recevra probablement une demande en vue de la tenue d’une réunion dans le cadre du Congrès annuel de l’Association de l’industrie touristique du Canada à Ottawa le 1er décembre 2021 ou à une date mutuellement convenue au cours de la semaine du Congrès.