Table of contents


Parks Canada Agency

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on travel, hospitality and conference expenditures for the Parks Canada Agency for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2020, except for information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Travel, hospitality and conference expenditures incurred by a federal department or agency relate to activities that support the department or agency’s mandate and the government’s priorities.

Parks Canada Agency’s travel, hospitality and conference expenditures support the delivery of core programs and services to Canadians. In particular, this includes managing national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas on behalf of Canadians. Parks Canada is a proud steward of these heritage places and protects and presents them for the benefit and enjoyment of present and future generations.


Parks Canada’s mandate and programs

Parks Canada has the mandate to protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

The programs that support Parks Canada’s mandate include:

  • Heritage Places Establishment;
  • Heritage Places Conservation;
  • Heritage Places Promotion and Public Support;
  • Visitor Experience; and
  • Heritage Canals, Highways and Townsites Management.

Canada’s national urban park, national parks, national historic sites, heritage canals and national marine conservation areas, of which Parks Canada is the proud steward, offer Canadians opportunities to visit, experience and personally connect with these heritage places.

Further information on Parks Canada’s mandate and programs can be found in the Departmental Plan (DP) and in the Departmental Results Report (DRR).


Annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences of Parks Canada

Year ended March 31, 2020
Expenditure category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2020 ($ thousands) Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2019 ($ thousands) Variance ($ thousands)
Travel
Operational activities $10,102 $10,446 $(344)
Key stakeholders $1,542 $1,851 $(309)
Internal governance $1,266 $1,096 $170
Training $2,542 $2,551 $(9)
Other $946 $832 $115
A. Total travel $16,399 $16,776 $(377)
B. Hospitality $494 $526 $(31)
C. Conference fees $212 $221 $(10)
Total [A+B+C] $17,105 $17,523 $(418)
International travel by minister and minister’s staff (included in travel) $0 $0 $0
Totals may differ due to rounding.

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year

Travel

For fiscal year 2019-20, the Agency’s expenditures for travel decreased by $377,000 or 2 percent. The decrease in travel is primarily related to the Fire Program which required less travel due to a reduction in the number of fires as well as a decrease in travel for Nunavut staff. Also, the COVID-19 pandemic began at the end of fiscal year 2019-20. In March 2020, travel restrictions were put in place to stem the spread of COVID-19. This initiated a decrease in travel expenditures.


Hospitality

For fiscal year 2019-20, the Agency’s expenditures for hospitality decreased by $31,000 or 6 percent. The COVID-19 pandemic began at the end of fiscal year 2019-20. In March 2020, public health measures were put in place to stem the spread of COVID-19. This initiated a decrease in hospitality expenditures.


Conference fees

For fiscal year 2019-20, the Agency’s conferences fees expenditures have decreased by $10,000 or 5 percent. The COVID-19 pandemic began at the end of fiscal year 2019-20. In March 2020, public health measures were put in place to stem the spread of COVID-19. This initiated a decrease in conference fees.

Table des matières


Agence Parcs Canada

Comme l’exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de l’Agence Parcs Canada pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2020, sauf l’information non divulguée en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par un ministère ou un organisme fédéral sont liées à des activités qui appuient le mandat du ministère ou de l’organisme et les priorités gouvernementales.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de l’Agence Parcs Canada soutiennent l’exécution des programmes et la prestation des services fondamentaux pour les Canadiens et Canadiennes. En particulier, ceci inclut la gestion des parcs nationaux, des lieux historiques nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation pour le compte des Canadiens et Canadiennes. Parcs Canada a pour mission de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces lieux patrimoniaux afin que les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain puissent les apprécier et en jouir.


Mandat et activités de Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et d'en favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l'appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d'aujourd’hui et de demain.

Les programmes qui soutiennent le mandat de Parcs Canada comprennent :

  • Création des lieux patrimoniaux;
  • Conservation des lieux patrimoniaux;
  • Promotion des lieux patrimoniaux et soutien du public;
  • Expérience du visiteur; et
  • Gestion des canaux patrimoniaux, des routes et des lotissements urbains.

Le parc urbain national, les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux, les canaux patrimoniaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation, dont Parcs Canada est le fier intendant, offrent aux Canadiens et Canadiennes des occasions de visiter, de découvrir et de développer un sentiment d’attachement personnel à l’égard de ces lieux patrimoniaux.

De plus amples renseignements au sujet des programmes et du mandat de Parcs Canada peuvent être trouvés dans le Plan ministériel (PM) et dans le Rapport sur les résultats ministériels (RRM).


Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de Parcs Canada

Exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2020
Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2020 (en milliers de dollars) Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019 (en milliers de dollars) Écart (en milliers de dollars)
Voyages
Activités opérationnelles 10 102 $ 10 446 $ (344)  $
Principaux intervenants 1 542 $ 1 851 $ (309)  $
Governance Interne 1 266 $ 1 096 $ 170 $
Formation 2 542 $ 2 551 $ (9)  $
Autre 946 $ 832 $ 115 $
A. Total des dépenses de voyages 16 399 $ 16 776 $ (377) $
B. Accueil 494 $ 526 $ (31) $
C. Frais de conférence 212 $ 221 $ (10) $
Total [A+B+C] 17 105 $ 17 523 $ (418) $
Voyages internationaux effectués par la ministre et le personnel du ministre (compris dans Voyages) 0 $ 0 $ 0 $
Les totaux peuvent différer en raison de l'arrondissement.

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

Voyages

Pour l’exercice 2019-2020, les dépenses de voyage de l’Agence ont diminué de 377 000 $, soit 2 pour cent par rapport à 2018-2019. La diminution des voyages est principalement liée au programme de lutte contre les incendies qui a nécessité moins de déplacements en raison d’une réduction du nombre d’incendies et à une diminution des voyages pour le personnel du Nunavut. Aussi, la pandémie COVID-19 a débuté à la fin de l’année financière 2019-2020. En mars 2020, des restrictions de voyage ont été mises en place pour endiguer la propagation de la COVID-19. Ce qui a initié la baisse des dépenses de voyages.


Accueil

Pour l’exercice 2019-2020, les dépenses d’accueil de l’Agence ont diminué de 31 000 $, soit 6 pour cent par rapport à 2018-2019. La pandémie COVID-19 a débuté à la fin de l’année financière 2019-2020. En mars 2020, des mesures de santé publique a été mises en place pour endiguer la propagation de la COVID-19. Ce qui a initié la baisse des dépenses d’accueil.


Frais de conférence

Pour l’exercice 2019-2020, les frais de participation aux conférences de l’Agence ont diminué de 10 000 $ ou 5 pour cent par rapport à 2018-2019. La pandémie COVID-19 a débuté à la fin de l’année financière 2019-2020. En mars 2020, des mesures de santé publique ont été mises en place pour endiguer la propagation de la COVID-19. Ce qui a initié la baisse des frais de participation aux conférences.