As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Events Expenditures, this report provides information on travel, hospitality and conference expenditures for the Parks Canada Agency for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2019, except for information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Travel, hospitality and conference expenditures incurred by a federal department or agency relate to activities that support the department or agency’s mandate and the government’s priorities.

Parks Canada Agency’s travel, hospitality and conference expenditures support the delivery of core programs and services to Canadians. In particular, this includes managing national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas on behalf of Canadians. Parks Canada is a proud steward of these heritage places and protects and presents them for the benefit and enjoyment of present and future generations of Canadians.

Parks Canada’s mandate and programs

Parks Canada has the mandate to protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

The programs that support Parks Canada’s mandate include:

  • Heritage places establishment;
  • Heritage places conservation;
  • Heritage places promotion and public support;
  • Visitor experience; and,
  • Heritage canals, highways and townsites management.

Canada’s national urban park, national parks, national historic sites, heritage canals and national marine conservation areas, of which Parks Canada is the proud steward, offer Canadians opportunities to visit, experience and personally connect with these heritage places.

Further information on Parks Canada's mandate and programs can be found in the Departmental Plan (DP) and in the Departmental Results Report (DRR).

Annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences of Parks Canada

(Year ended March 31, 2019)
Expenditure category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2019 ($ thousands) Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018 ($ thousands) Variance ($ thousands)
Travel      
Operational activities $10,446 $11,906 $(1,460)
Key stakeholders $1,851 $1,156 $694
Internal governance $1,096 $769 $327
Training $2,551 $1,799 $752
Other $832 $656 $176
A. Total travel $16,776 $16,286 $490
B. Hospitality $526 $399 $127
C. Conference fees $221 $287 $(66)
Total [A+B+C] $17,523 $16,972 $551
International travel by minister and minister’s staff (included in travel) $0 $0 $0
Totals may differ due to rounding

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year

Travel

For fiscal year 2018-19, the Agency’s expenditures for travel increased by $490,000 or 3 percent. The increase in travel is primarily related to initiatives contributing to reconciliation with Indigenous peoples and advancing conservation targets, as well as performing protection and recovery actions for species at risk.

Hospitality

For fiscal year 2018-19, the Agency’s expenditures for hospitality increased by $127,000 or 32 percent. This increase is primarily related to stakeholder engagement and outreach activities in line with the Agency’s mandate, including engagement with Indigenous peoples as partners in conservation of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage and to share the stories of these treasured places.

Conference fees

For fiscal year 2018-2019, the Agency’s conferences fees expenditures have decreased by $66,000 or 23 percent due to non-cyclical nature and timing of the Parks Canada’s conference activities.

Comme l’exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d’évènements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de l’Agence Parcs Canada pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019, sauf l’information non divulguée en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par un ministère ou un organisme fédéral sont liées à des activités qui appuient le mandat du ministère ou de l’organisme et les priorités gouvernementales.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de l’Agence Parcs Canada soutiennent l’exécution des programmes et la prestation des services fondamentaux pour les Canadiens et Canadiennes. En particulier, ceci inclut la gestion des parcs nationaux, des lieux historiques nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation pour le compte des Canadiens et Canadiennes. Parcs Canada a pour mission de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces lieux patrimoniaux afin que les citoyens canadiens et les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain puissent les apprécier et en jouir.

Mandat et activités de Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et d'en favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l'appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d'aujourd’hui et de demain.

Les programmes qui soutiennent le mandat de Parcs Canada comprennent :

  • Création des lieux patrimoniaux;
  • Conservation des lieux patrimoniaux;
  • Promotion des lieux patrimoniaux et soutien du public;
  • Expérience du visiteur; et
  • Gestion des canaux patrimoniaux, des routes et des lotissements urbains.

Le parc urbain national, les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux, les canaux patrimoniaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation, dont Parcs Canada est le fier intendant, offrent aux Canadiens et Canadiennes des occasions de visiter, de découvrir et de développer un sentiment d’attachement personnel à l’égard de ces lieux patrimoniaux.

De plus amples renseignements au sujet des programmes et du mandat de Parcs Canada peuvent être trouvés dans le Plan ministériel (PM) et dans le Rapport sur les résultats ministériels (RRM).

Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de Parcs Canada

(Exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019)
Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019 (en milliers de dollars) Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 (en milliers de dollars) Écart (en milliers de dollars)
Voyages      
Activités opérationnelles 10 446 $ 11 906 $ (1 460) $
Principaux intervenants 1 851 $ 1 156 $ 694 $
Gouvernance interne 1 096 $ 769 $ 327 $
Formation 2 551 $ 1 799 $ 752 $
Autre 832 $ 656 $ 176 $
A. Total des dépenses de voyages 16 776 $ 16 286 $ 490 $
B. Accueil 526 $ 399 $ 127 $
C. Frais de conférence 221 $ 287 $ (66) $
Total [A+B+C] 17 523 $ 16 972 $ 551 $
Voyages internationaux effectués par la ministre et le personnel du ministre (compris dans Voyages) 0 $ 0 $ 0 $
Les totaux peuvent différer en raison de l'arrondissement

Écarts importants par rapport à l'exercice précédent

Voyages

Pour l’exercice 2018-2019, les dépenses de voyage de l’Agence ont augmenté de 490 000 dollars, soit 3 pour cent par rapport à 2017-2018. L'augmentation des voyages est principalement attribuable aux initiatives contribuant à la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones et à l'avancement des objectifs de conservation, ainsi qu’à la prise de mesures en matière de protection et de rétablissement des espèces en péril.

Accueil

Pour l’exercice 2018-2019, les dépenses d’accueil de l’Agence ont augmenté de 127 000 dollars ou 32 pour cent. Cette augmentation est principalement liée à la participation des parties prenantes aux activités de mobilisation et de sensibilisation conformément au mandat de l'Agence, y compris la participation des peuples autochtones en tant que partenaires dans la conservation du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada et de faire connaitre les histoires de ces endroits précieux.

Frais de conférence

Pour l’exercice 2018-2019, les frais de participation aux conférences de l’Agence ont diminué de 66 000 dollars ou 23 pour cent en raison de la nature non cyclique du calendrier des activités de conférence de Parcs Canada.