As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Events Expenditures, this report provides information on travel, hospitality and conference expenditures for the Parks Canada Agency for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2018, except for information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Travel, hospitality and conference expenditures incurred by a federal department or agency relate to activities that support the department or agency’s mandate and the government’s priorities.

Parks Canada Agency’s travel, hospitality and conference expenditures support the delivery of core programs and services to Canadians. In particular, this includes managing national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas on behalf of Canadians. Parks Canada is a proud steward of these heritage places and protects and presents them for the benefit and enjoyment of present and future generations of Canadians.

Parks Canada’s mandate and programs

Parks Canada has the mandate to protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

The programs that support Parks Canada’s mandate include:

  • Heritage places establishment;
  • Heritage places conservation;
  • Heritage places promotion and public support;
  • Visitor experience; and,
  • Heritage canals, highways and townsites management.

Canada’s national urban park, national parks, national historic sites, heritage canals and national marine conservation areas, of which Parks Canada is the proud steward, offer Canadians opportunities to visit, experience and personally connect with these heritage places.

Further information on Parks Canada's mandate and programs can be found in the Departmental Plan (DP) and in the Departmental Results Report (DRR).

Annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences of Parks Canada

(Year ended March 31, 2018)
Expenditure category Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018 ($ thousands) Expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017 ($ thousands) Variance ($ thousands)
Travel      
Operational activities $11,906 Not Applicable Not Applicable
Key stakeholders $1,156 Not Applicable Not Applicable
Internal governance $769 Not Applicable Not Applicable
Training $1,799 Not Applicable Not Applicable
Other $656 Not Applicable Not Applicable
A. Total travel $16,286 $12,775 $3,511
B. Hospitality $399 $254 $145
C. Conference fees $287 $343 $(56)
Total [A+B+C] $16,972 $13,372 $3,600
International travel by minister and minister’s staff (included in travel) $0 $0 $0
Totals may differ due to rounding

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year

Travel

For fiscal year 2017-18, the Agency's expenditures for travel increased by $3.5 million or 27 percent. The increase is primarily related to the Agency's responsibility as the federal government's lead on the Pathway to Canada Target 1 initiative, a series of record-breaking wildfires in British Columbia and Alberta requiring the relocation of fire crews, and travel related to additional temporary funding initiatives.

Hospitality

For fiscal year 2017-18, the Agency's expenditures for hospitality increased by $145,000 or 57 percent. The increase is primarily due to activities related to the Agency's responsibility as the federal government's lead on the Pathway to Canada Target 1 initiative, the addition of new national parks, national marine conservation areas and national historic sites that have recently been established/designated or are in the process of being established/designated, and hospitality related to additional temporary funding initiatives.

Conference fees

For fiscal year 2017-2018, the Agency's conferences fees expenditures have decreased by $56,000 or 16 percent.

Comme l’exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d’évènements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de l’Agence Parcs Canada pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018, sauf l’information non divulguée en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par un ministère ou un organisme fédéral sont liées à des activités qui appuient le mandat du ministère ou de l’organisme et les priorités gouvernementales.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de l’Agence Parcs Canada soutiennent l’exécution des programmes et la prestation des services fondamentaux pour les Canadiens. En particulier, ceci inclut la gestion des parcs nationaux, des lieux historiques nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation pour le compte des Canadiens et Canadiennes. Parcs Canada a pour mission de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces lieux patrimoniaux afin que les citoyens canadiens et les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain puissent les apprécier et en jouir.

Mandat et activités de Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et d'en favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l'appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d'aujourd’hui et de demain.

Les programmes qui soutiennent le mandat de Parcs Canada comprennent :

  • Création des lieux patrimoniaux;
  • Conservation des lieux patrimoniaux;
  • Promotion des lieux patrimoniaux et soutien du public;
  • Expérience du visiteur; et
  • Gestion des canaux patrimoniaux, des routes et des lotissements urbains.

Le parc urbain national, les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux, les canaux patrimoniaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation, dont Parcs Canada est le fier intendant, offrent aux Canadiens et Canadiennes des occasions de visiter, de découvrir et de développer un sentiment d’attachement personnel à l’égard de ces lieux patrimoniaux.

De plus amples renseignements au sujet des programmes et du mandat de Parcs Canada peuvent être trouvés dans le Plan ministériel (PM) et dans le Rapport sur les résultats ministériels (RRM).

Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de Parcs Canada

(Exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018)
Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 (en milliers de dollars) Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 (en milliers de dollars) Écart (en milliers de dollars)
Voyages      
Activités opérationnelles 11 906 $ Sans objet Sans objet
Principaux intervenants 1 156 $ Sans objet Sans objet
Gouvernance interne 769 $ Sans objet Sans objet
Formation 1 799 $ Sans objet Sans objet
Autre 656 $ Sans objet Sans objet
A. Total des dépenses de voyages 16 286 $ 12 775 $ 3 511 $
B. Accueil 399 $ 254 $ 145 $
C. Frais de conférence 287 $ 343 $ (56) $
Total [A+B+C] 16 972 $ 13 372 $ 3 600 $
Voyages internationaux du ministre et le personnel du ministre (compris dans Voyages) 0 $ 0 $ 0 $
Les totaux peuvent différer en raison de l'arrondissement

Écarts importants par rapport à l'exercice précédent

Voyages

Au cours de l’exercice 2017-2018, les dépenses de voyage de l’Agence ont augmenté de 3,5 millions de dollars, soit 27 pour cent par rapport à 2016-2017. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuable aux responsabilités de l’Agence à diriger l’initiative En route vers l’objectif 1 du Canada, aux feux de forêt sans précédent en Colombie-Britannique et en Alberta qui ont requis la relocalisation des équipes dédiées à combattre les feux, et à des déplacements liés à des initiatives financées de façon temporaire.

Accueil

Au cours de l'exercice 2017-2018, les dépenses d'accueil de l'Agence ont augmenté de 145,000 dollars ou 57 pour cent. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuable aux responsabilités de l'Agence à diriger l'initiative En route vers l'objectif 1 du Canada, à l'établissement et la désignation de nouveaux parcs nationaux, d'aires marines nationales de conservation et de lieux historiques nationaux ou de ceux qui sont en voie d'être établis ou désignés, et aux frais d'accueil liés à des initiatives financées de façon temporaire.

Frais de conférence

Au cours de l'exercice 2017-2018, les frais de participation aux conférences de l'Agence ont diminué de 56,000 dollars ou 16 pour cent.