As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Events Expenditures, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Parks Canada Agency for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2015. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conference fees incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to activities that support a departmental or agency mandate and the government's priorities.

In particular for Parks Canada, this includes managing national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas on behalf of Canadians. Parks Canada is a proud steward of these heritage places and protects and presents them for the benefit and enjoyment of present and future generations of Canadians.

Parks Canada's Mandate and Programs

Parks Canada has the mandate to protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada's natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

The programs that support Parks Canada's mandate include:

  • Heritage Places Establishment;
  • Heritage Places Conservation;
  • Heritage Places Promotion and Public Support;
  • Visitor Experience; and,
  • Heritage Canals, Highways and Townsites Management.

National parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas, of which Park's Canada is the proud steward, offer Canadians a variety of recreational activities and learning experiences as well as a unique opportunity to personally connect with these heritage places. There are more than 21 million person-visits annually to the heritage places administered by Parks Canada.

Further information on Parks Canada's mandate and programs can be found in the Reports on Plans and Priorities (RPP) and in the Departmental Performance Report (DPR).


Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of Parks Canada

(in thousands of dollars)
Expenditure CategoryExpenditures for the
year ending
March 31, 2015 (a)
Expenditures for the
year ending
March 31, 2014 (b)
Variance
(a - b)
Travel – Public Servants $9,650 $8,557 $1,093
Travel – Non-Public Servants $839 $663 $176
Total Travel $10,489 $9,220 $1,269
Hospitality $185 $199 ($14)
Conference Fees $197 $164 $33
TOTAL $10,871 $9,583 $1,288
International Travel by Minister and Minister's Staff (also included in Non-Public Servant Travel) 0$ 0$ 0$
Totals may differ due to rounding

Significant Variances Compared to the Previous Fiscal Year

This section provides a brief explanation of significant variances from the previous year's annual expenditures for each category.

Travel

At the end of fiscal year 2014-2015, the Agency's expenditures for travel increased by 14 percent compared to 2013-2014. This is mainly due to an increase in wildfires in National Parks requiring the relocation of fire crews as well as travel related to initiatives in support of the Agency's priorities. Since 2009-2010, the Agency has decreased its travel expenditures by 34 percent.

  1. Public Servants: Compared with fiscal year 2013-2014, travel expenditures by public servants have increased by $1.1 million or 13 percent.
  2. Non-Public Servants: Compared with fiscal year 2013-2014, travel expenditures by non‑public servants have increased by $176 thousand or 27 percent.
  3. Minister and Minister's Staff: Expenditures by the Minister and her staff do not apply for Parks Canada as these expenditures are covered by Environment Canada's budget.

Hospitality

Compared with fiscal year 2013-2014, the Agency's hospitality expenditures have decreased by $14 thousand or 7 percent. This reduction is explained by efforts to increase efficiency in support of Government-wide cost saving initiatives.

Conference Fees

Compared with fiscal year 2013-2014, the Agency's conferences fees expenditures have increased by $33 thousand or 20 percent. Since 2013-2014, Parks Canada has been increasing its participation at conferences in support of its mandate.

Trend of the Last 5 Fiscal Years

In line with the Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, Parks Canada adopted a plan to manage these expenditures with prudence and probity. Enhanced controls and procedures were put into place to ensure that travel, hospitality and conference related expenses were reasonable, appropriate and supported the Agency objectives and priorities.

The Agency has reduced its travel, hospitality and conference expenditures by 34 percent since 2009-2010 as a result of pro-active management of travel, hospitality and conference expenditures. Parks Canada continues to monitor the rate of spending as part of its regular internal reporting process and, where deemed appropriate, will continue to introduce internal policy instruments and management structures aimed at reducing spending.

Comme l'exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'évènements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l'information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de l'Agence Parcs Canada pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l'exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas de renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et agences fédéraux appuient directement le mandat ministériel et les priorités gouvernementales.

En particulier dans le cas de Parcs Canada, ceci inclut la gestion des parcs nationaux, des lieux historiques nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation pour le compte des Canadiens et Canadiennes. Parcs Canada a pour mission de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces lieux patrimoniaux afin que les citoyens canadiens et les générations d'aujourd'hui et de demain puissent les apprécier et en jouir.

Mandat et activités de Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et d'en favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l'appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l'intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d'aujourd'hui et de demain.

Les programmes qui soutiennent le mandat de Parcs Canada comprennent :

  • Création des lieux patrimoniaux;
  • Conservation des lieux patrimoniaux;
  • Promotion des lieux patrimoniaux et soutien du public;
  • Expérience du visiteur;
  • Gestion des canaux patrimoniaux, des routes et des lotissements urbains.

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation, dont Parcs Canada est le fier intendant, offrent à la population canadienne une variété d'activités récréatives et d'apprentissage, sans compter l'occasion unique de tisser un lien personnel avec ces lieux patrimoniaux. Chaque année, les lieux patrimoniaux administrés par Parcs Canada enregistrent plus de 21 millions de personnes-visites.

De plus amples renseignements au sujet des programmes et du mandat de Parcs Canada peuvent être trouvés dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) et dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement (RMR).

Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de Parcs Canada

(en milliers de dollars)
Catégorie de dépenseDépenses pour l'exercice
se terminant le
31 mars 2015 (a)
Dépenses pour l'exercice
se terminant le
31 mars 2014 (b)
Écart
(a - b)
Voyages – Fonctionnaires 9 650 $ 8 557 $ 1 093 $
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 839 $ 663 $ 176 $
Total des dépenses de voyages 10 489 $ 9 220 $ 1 269 $
Accueil 185 $ 199 $ ( 14 $)
Frais de participation aux conférences 197 $ 164 $ 33 $
TOTAL 10 871 $ 9 583 $ 1 288 $
Voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre (également inclus dans les voyages des non-fonctionnaires) 0 $ 0 $ 0 $
Les totaux peuvent différer en raison de l'arrondissement

Écarts importants par rapport à l'exercice précédent

La présente section explique brièvement les écarts importants dans les dépenses annuelles de chaque catégorie par rapport à l'exercice précédent.

Voyages

Dans l'exercice 2014-2015, les dépenses de voyages de l'Agence ont augmenté de 14 pour cent par rapport à 2013-2014. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuable aux nombreux feux de forêt dans les parcs nationaux exigeant la relocalisation des équipes de pompiers ainsi qu'aux voyages effectués pour soutenir la réalisation des priorités de l'Agence. En outre, depuis 2009-2010 les dépenses de voyages de l'Agence ont diminué de 34 pour cent.

  1. Fonctionnaires : Comparées à l'exercice 2013-2014, les dépenses de voyages de l'Agence par des fonctionnaires ont augmenté de 1.1 million de dollars, soit 13 pour cent.
  2. Non-fonctionnaires : Comparées à l'exercice 2013-2014, les dépenses de voyages de l'Agence par de non-fonctionnaires ont augmenté de 176 000 $, soit 27 pour cent.
  3. Ministre et personnel de la ministre : Les dépenses effectuées par la ministre et son personnel ne s'appliquent pas à Parcs canada, car elles sont couvertes par le budget d'Environnement Canada.

Accueil

Comparées à l'exercice 2013-2014, les dépenses d'accueil de l'Agence ont diminué de 14 000 $, soit 7 pour cent. Cette diminution est attribuable aux stratégies de réduction des dépenses en soutien des initiatives à l'échelle de l'administration fédérale.

Conférences

Comparées à l'exercice de 2013-2014, les frais de participation aux conférences de l'Agence ont augmenté de 33 000 $, soit 20 pour cent. Depuis l'exercice précédent (2013-2014) on observe une augmentation de la participation de Parcs Canada à des conférences lui permettant d'appuyer son mandat.

Tendances des 5 dernières années

Conformément à la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'évènements, Parcs Canada a adopté un plan pour gérer avec prudence et probité les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences. Des mesures de contrôle et des procédures améliorées ont été mises en place pour s'assurer que ces dépenses sont raisonnables, appropriées et conformes aux objectifs et aux priorités de l'Agence.

Depuis l'exercice 2009-2010, les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de l'Agence ont diminué de 34 pour cent en raison d'une gestion proactive de ces dépenses. Parcs Canada continuera à surveiller la progression des dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences dans le cadre de son processus interne régulier de production de rapports. Parcs Canada suit de près le taux de dépenses à travers ses procédures de contrôle interne et continuera à introduire d'autres instruments de politique interne ainsi que de gestion afin de s'assurer de la réduction des dépenses lorsque cela est approprié.