1. Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, the Supplementary Estimates and the previous Quarterly Financial Reports.

A summary description of the Parks Canada Agency’s programs can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates, and a detailed description in Part III – Departmental Plans.

This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit. However, it has been reviewed by the Agency’s Audit Committee.

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared using an expenditure basis of accounting (modified cash accounting). The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Parks Canada Agency’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Agency consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2017-18 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Agency uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the department performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date results

Budgetary Auhorities and Expenditures for the third quater of 2017-2018 and 2016-2017 ending December 31

The above chart outlines the total authorities available within the Agency as of December 31 of each year, the expenditures during the third quarter as well as the year to date expenditures. Significant changes to authorities and to expenditure patterns are outlined in the following sections.

2.1 Statement of Authorities (Table 1)

Authorities available for use

This quarterly report reflects the funding available for use from the 2017-18 Main Estimates, the 2016-17 unused spending authorityFootnote 1, the 2017-18 Supplementary Estimates A and 2017-18 Supplementary Estimates B. The authorities at the same time last year consisted of 2016-17 Main Estimates, the 2015-16 unused spending authority, the 2016-17 Supplementary Estimates A and the 2016-17 Supplementary Estimates B.

As per Table 1 (Statement of Authorities), at December 31, 2017, Parks Canada’s total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2018, are $194.7 million or 14 percent higher when compared to the same quarter of the previous year (from $1,435.5M to $1,630.2M). The increase in authorities is primarily due to the following factors:

  • Increase in unused spending authority in 2016-17 as compared to 2015-16 - $112.2 million;
  • Investments in federal infrastructure assets across the country to address the backlog of deferred work for heritage, tourism, highway and waterway built assets, announced in Budget 2015 - $100.8 million;
  • Developing programs and connecting Canadians to Canada’s heritage places in celebration of Canada 150 - $48.6 million;
  • Funding received for a settlement in regards to a payment in lieu of taxes related to the Halifax Citadel National Historic Site - $20.0 million;
  • Expansion of Parks Canada’s Young Canada Works program as part of the renewed youth employment strategy - $9.0 million; and
  • New funding to expand the national park and national marine conservation area systems - $7.6 million.

These increases are offset by the following decreases in the Agency’s spending authorities:

  • A reduction in authorities for improvements to highways, bridges and dams located in national parks and along historic canals, announced in Budget 2014 - $46.6 million;
  • A reduction in the Agency’s statutory authority of expenditures equivalent to revenues as a result of free entry to all visitors to national parks, national marine conservation areas and national historic sites in celebration of Canada 150 (this reduction is offset by an increase in voted authorities mentioned above) - $42.0 million;
  • A reduction in authorities related to funding for investments in trails and highways in national parks, announced in Budget 2016, which will not be used in 2017-18 but made available in future years - $19.1 million; and
  • The sunsetting of funding to support the Trans Canada Trail Foundation’s Fundraising Campaign - $6.3 million.

Apart from these changes, a $25.0M transfer in authorities was made from Vote 1 Operating Expenditures to the Vote 5 New Parks and Historic Sites Account for the development of Rouge National Urban Park.

Authorities used during the quarter

In the third quarter of 2017-18, total net budgetary expenditures were $338.4 million compared to $285.6 million reported for the same period in 2016-17, resulting in an increase of $52.8 million or 18 percent. The increase in authorities used during the quarter is primarily related to the uptake of the Agency’s infrastructure investment program, and expenditures in the fire management program as a result of a series of record-breaking wildfires in British Columbia and Alberta.

2.2 Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (Table 2)

Planned by Standard Object

Total planned expenditures in the third quarter of 2017-18 are $194.7 million or 14 percent higher compared to the previous year. This variance is primarily due to increases in Professional and special services ($72.2M) and in Acquisition of land, buildings and works ($43.9M) which are both consistent with the ramp up of authorities in the Agency’s infrastructure investment program, as well as an increase from unused spending authority from the previous fiscal year.

Other subsidies and payments ($44.8M) have increased primarily due to funding received for a settlement in regards to a payment in lieu of taxes related to the Halifax Citadel National Historic Site, as well as an increase due to a vote transfer to the New Parks and Historic Sites Account for the development of Rouge National Urban Park.

Expended by Standard Object

As per Table 2 (Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object), the total expended in the third quarter ending December 31, 2017, is $52.8 million or 18 percent higher compared to the same period of the previous year, and the year to date expenditures have increased by $130.8 million.

Compared to the same period of the previous year, Acquisition of land, buildings and works expenditures have increased by $33.6 million and Professional and special services expenditures have increased by $7.6 million. The increase in expenditures is consistent with the increase in funding in the Agency’s infrastructure investment program.

Rental expenditures have increased by $9.3 million compared to the same quarter last year. This increase is primarily due to an increase in expenditures in the fire management program due to a series of record-breaking wildfires in British Columbia and Alberta.

All other expenditures are consistent with prior year spending trends.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

Parks Canada's objectives and Strategic Outcome are influenced by various internal and external factors. The Agency undertakes a risk assessment every year to support decision making related to priority setting and resource allocation. The risk assessment identifies key risks that have the greatest impact on the Agency's ability to achieve its Strategic Outcome and expected results. The Agency has identified the following key corporate risks for 2017-18:

  • Environmental forces adaptation and response;
  • Built asset condition and long-term sustainability;
  • Connecting with Canadians;
  • External development pressures; and
  • Indigenous peoples’ reconciliation.

4. Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

The following significant changes occurred to operations, personnel and programs over the third quarter of 2017-18:

  • Thao Pham, Senior Vice-President, Operations, left the Agency on November 17th, 2017; and
  • Mitch Bloom, Vice-President, Strategic Policy and Investment, left the Agency on October 27th, 2017.

These positions are being filled on an acting basis.

5. Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Original signed by

Daniel Watson
Chief Executive Officer, Parks Canada
Gatineau, Canada
February 27, 2018

Original signed by

Sylvain Michaud
Chief Financial Officer, Parks Canada
Gatineau, Canada
February 27, 2018

Parks Canada Agency
For the quarter ended December 31, 2017
Statement of Authorities - Table 1
(Unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2017-18
(in thousands of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2018Footnote * Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2017 Year to date used at quarter end
Vote 1 - Program expenditures 1,455,814 304,485 808,214
Vote 5 - Payments to the New Parks and Historic Sites Account 25,546 0 0
Statutory - Contributions to employee benefit plans 49,599 12,328 36,984
Statutory - Expenditures equivalent to revenues resulting from the conduct of operations pursuant to section 20 of the Parks Canada Agency Act 99,232 21,564 67,446
Total budgetary authorities 1,630,191 338,377 912,644
 
Fiscal Year 2016-17
(in thousands of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017Footnote * Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2016 Year to date used at quarter end
Vote 1 - Program expenditures 1,242,720 241,609 617,708
Vote 5 - Payments to the New Parks and Historic Sites Account 500 0 0
Statutory - Contributions to employee benefit plans 53,645 13,209 39,627
Statutory - Expenditures equivalent to revenues resulting from the conduct of operations pursuant to section 20 of the Parks Canada Agency Act 138,591 30,770 124,532
Total budgetary authorities 1,435,456 285,588 781,867
 

Parks Canada Agency
For the quarter ended December 31, 2017
Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object - Table 2
(Unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2017-18
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018Footnote * Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2017 Year to date used at quarter end
Expenditures:
Personnel 379,186 91,625 319,212
Transportation and communications 38,050 6,003 17,182
Information 19,417 1,593 5,009
Professional and special services 336,646 58,895 144,275
Rentals 34,075 13,990 29,289
Repair and maintenance 42,698 4,983 22,024
Utilities, materials and supplies 90,452 14,306 36,079
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 540,054 135,912 301,626
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 61,407 5,394 15,148
Transfer payments 23,594 3,899 5,752
Other subsidies and payments 64,612 1,777 17,048
Total budgetary expenditures 1,630,191 338,377 912,644
 
Fiscal Year 2016-17
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017Footnote * Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2016 Year to date used at quarter end
Expenditures:
Personnel 376,491 87,301 299,377
Transportation and communications 26,179 4,462 12,765
Information 13,476 1,081 3,969
Professional and special services 264,452 51,299 120,975
Rentals 39,724 4,670 14,466
Repair and maintenance 29,131 13,802 23,478
Utilities, materials and supplies 83,964 12,886 32,578
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 496,201 102,300 235,464
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 61,941 5,182 16,914
Transfer payments 24,037 2,016 4,642
Other subsidies and payments 19,860 589 17,239
Total budgetary expenditures 1,435,456 285,588 781,867

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction conformément à l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport doit être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses, les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses, et les rapports financiers trimestriels précédents.

Une description sommaire des programmes de l’Agence Parcs Canada se trouve dans la Partie II du Budget principal des dépenses. Une présentation détaillée est disponible dans la Partie III – Plans ministériels.

Ce rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe. Toutefois, il a été examiné par le Comité de vérification de l’Agence.

1.1 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses (comptabilité de caisse modifiée). L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de l’Agence Parcs Canada accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par l’Agence, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l’exercice financier 2017-2018. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un cadre spécifique conçu afin de répondre aux besoins d’information financière concernant l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

L’Agence utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels dans le cadre du processus d’élaboration de rapports ministériels sur le rendement. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore préparés en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Autorisations budgétaires et dépenses pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre de 2017-2018 et 2016-2017

Le tableau ci-dessus indique les autorisations totales disponibles au sein de l’Agence en date du 31 décembre de chaque exercice financier, les dépenses engagées au cours du troisième trimestre ainsi que les dépenses engagées à ce jour. Les sections suivantes décrivent les principaux changements apportés aux autorisations et à la structure des dépenses.

2.1 État des autorisations (Tableau 1)

Autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice

Ce rapport trimestriel tient compte des crédits totaux disponibles de l’année en cours provenant du Budget principal des dépenses 2017-2018, des autorisations de dépenser non utilisées en 2016-2017Note de bas de page 1, du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) 2017-2018, et du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B) 2017-2018. Les crédits disponibles au même moment l’année dernière comprenaient le Budget principal des dépenses 2016-2017, les autorisations de dépenser non utilisées en 2015-2016, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) 2016-2017, et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B) 2016-2017.

Tel qu’indiqué au tableau 1 (État des autorisations), au 31 décembre 2017, le total des autorisations budgétaires disponibles de Parcs Canada pour l’exercice financier se terminant le 31 mars 2018 a augmenté de 194,7 millions de dollars ou 14 pourcent comparativement au même trimestre de l’année précédente (passant de 1 435,5M$ à 1 630,2M$). Cette augmentation est causée principalement par les éléments suivants:

  • Augmentation du report des crédits non utilisés en 2016-2017 comparativement à 2015-2016 – 112,2 millions de dollars;
  • Investissements dans les infrastructures fédérales à travers le pays afin de réduire l’arriéré des travaux reportés à effectuer sur ses biens bâtis associés au patrimoine, au tourisme, aux routes et aux voies navigables, tels qu’annoncés dans le budget de 2015 – 100,8 millions de dollars;
  • Financement pour élaborer des programmes et établir des liens entre les Canadiens et les lieux patrimoniaux du Canada dans le cadre des célébrations du 150e anniversaire du Canada– 48,6 millions de dollars;
  • Financement pour un règlement visant le remplacement d’impôts relié au Lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d'Halifax – 20,0 millions de dollars;
  • Financement pour élargir le programme de Jeunesse Canada au travail dans le cadre de la Stratégie emploi jeunesse – 9,0 millions de dollars; et
  • Financement visant à élargir les réseaux de parcs nationaux et d’aires marines nationales de conservation – 7,6 millions de dollars.

Ces augmentations sont diminuées par :

  • Réduction des autorisations pour l'amélioration des routes, des ponts et des barrages situés dans les parcs nationaux et le long des canaux historiques, telle qu’annoncée dans le budget de 2014– 46,6 millions de dollars;
  • Réduction de l’autorité législative des dépenses qui équivalent aux revenus reliés à l’entrée gratuite pour tous les visiteurs des parcs nationaux, d’aires marines nationales de conservation et des lieux historiques nationaux dans le cadre des célébrations du 150e anniversaire du Canada (cette diminution est compensée par une augmentation des autorisations votées mentionnée ci-dessus)– 42,0 millions de dollars;
  • Réduction des autorisations pour le financement pour les sentiers et routes qui traversent les parcs nationaux, tel qu’annoncé dans le budget de 2016. Ce financement ne sera pas utilisé en 2017-2018 mais sera disponible dans les prochaines années– 19,1 millions de dollars; et
  • Fin du financement à l’appui de la campagne de financement de la Fondation du sentier transcanadien – 6,3 millions de dollars.

De plus, un transfert de 25,0 millions de dollars a été effectué du crédit 1 Dépenses du programme au crédit 5 Compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques, afin d’appuyer la mise en valeur du parc urbain national de la Rouge.

Autorisations utilisées durant le trimestre

Au cours du troisième trimestre de 2017-2018, les dépenses budgétaires totales se sont élevées à 338,4 millions de dollars comparativement à 285,6 millions de dollars pour la même période en 2016-2017, ce qui représente une augmentation de 52,8 millions de dollars, soit 18 pourcent. L’augmentation d’autorisations utilisées durant le trimestre est principalement attribuée à une augmentation de dépenses reliées au Programme d’investissement pour les infrastructures de l’Agence, et des dépenses dans le programme de gestion du feu en raison d’une série d’incendies de forêt record en Colombie-Britannique et en Alberta.

2.2 Dépenses budgétaires par article courant (Tableau 2)

Dépenses prévues par article courant

Le total des dépenses prévues au troisième trimestre de 2017-2018 a augmenté de 194,7 millions de dollars, soit 14 pourcent, comparativement au même trimestre de l’année précédente. Cet écart est surtout dû aux dépenses prévues en services professionnels et spéciaux (72,2 M$) et en acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d’ouvrages (43,9 M$), qui sont conformes aux augmentations d’autorisations disponibles attribuables au Programme d’investissement pour les infrastructures de l’Agence et au report des crédits non utilisés de l’année précédente.

Les dépenses prévues en autres subventions et paiements (44,8 M$) ont augmenté principalement par le financement pour un règlement visant le remplacement d’impôts relié au Lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d'Halifax, et une augmentation due à un transfert de crédits pour effectuer des versements au Compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques, afin d’appuyer la mise en valeur du parc urbain national de la Rouge.

Dépenses par article courant

Comme indiqué au tableau 2 (Dépenses budgétaires par article courant), le total des dépenses au cours du troisième trimestre qui s’est terminé le 31 décembre 2017 a augmenté de 52,8 millions de dollars, soit 18 pourcent, comparativement au même trimestre de l’année précédente, et le total des dépenses à ce jour ont augmenté de 130,8 millions de dollars.

Comparativement au même trimestre de l’année précédente, les dépenses liées à l’acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d’ouvrages ont augmenté de 33,6 millions de dollars, et les services professionnels et spéciaux ont augmenté de 7,6 millions de dollars. Ces augmentations des dépenses sont conformes aux augmentations du financement lié au Programme d’investissement pour les infrastructures de l’Agence.

Les dépenses liées à la location ont augmenté de 9,3 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de l’année précédente. Cette augmentation est liée principalement à une augmentation des dépenses dans le programme de gestion du feu en raison d’une série d’incendies de forêt record en Colombie-Britannique et en Alberta.

Toutes les autres dépenses sont conformes aux tendances des dépenses des exercices financiers précédents.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Divers facteurs internes et externes influencent les objectifs et le résultat stratégique de Parcs Canada. Chaque année, l’Agence entreprend une évaluation des risques afin d’appuyer la prise de décisions concernant l’établissement des priorités et l’affectation des ressources. L’évaluation des risques permet de déterminer les principaux enjeux qui auraient d’importantes répercussions sur la capacité de l’Agence à atteindre son résultat stratégique et ses résultats attendus. Les principaux risques identifiés par l’Agence pour l’exercice 2017-2018 sont :

  • L’adaptation et réponse aux forces environnementales;
  • L’état et la durabilité à long terme des biens bâtis;
  • La création des liens avec la population canadienne;
  • Les pressions externes exercées par le développement; et
  • La réconciliation avec les peuples Autochtones.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Les changements importants suivants ont été apportés au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes durant le troisième trimestre de 2017-2018 :

  • Thao Pham, Vice-présidente principale des Opérations a quitté l’Agence le 17 novembre 2017; et
  • Mitch Bloom, Vice-président, Politique stratégique et investissements a quitté l’Agence le 27 octobre 2017.

Ces positions ont été comblés par intérim.

5. Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Original signé par

Daniel Watson
Directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada
Gatineau, Canada
27 février 2018

Original signé par

Sylvain Michaud
Dirigeant principal des finances de l’Agence Parcs Canada
Gatineau, Canada
27 février 2018

Agence Parcs Canada
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2017
État des autorisations - Tableau 1
(non-vérifié)

Exercice 2017-2018
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses du Programme 1 455 814 304 485 808 214
Crédit 5 - Paiements au compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques 25 546 0 0
Autorisations législatives - Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 49 599 12 328 36 984
Autorisations législatives - Dépenses qui équivalent aux revenus résultant de la poursuite des opérations en vertu de l'article 20 de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada 99 232 21 564 67 446
Autorisations budgétaires totales 1 630 191 338 377 912 644
 
Exercice 2016-2017
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Note de bas de page * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 - Dépenses du Programme 1 242 720 241 609 617 708
Crédit 5 - Paiements au compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques 500 0 0
Autorisations législatives - Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 53 645 13 209 39 627
Autorisations législatives - Dépenses qui équivalent aux revenus résultant de la poursuite des opérations en vertu de l'article 20 de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada 138 591 30 770 124 532
Autorisations budgétaires totales 1 435 456 285 588 781 867
 

Agence Parcs Canada
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2017
Dépenses budgétaires par article courant - Tableau 2
(non-vérifié)

Exercice 2017-2018
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018Note de bas de page * Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 379 186 91 625 319 212
Transports et communications 38 050 6 003 17 182
Information 19 417 1 593 5 009
Services professionnels et spéciaux 336 646 58 895 144 275
Location 34 075 13 990 29 289
Services de réparation et d'entretien 42 698 4 983 22 024
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 90 452 14 306 36 079
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages 540 054 135 912 301 626
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 61 407 5 394 15 148
Paiements de transfert 23 594 3 899 5 752
Autres subventions et paiements 64 612 1 777 17 048
Dépenses budgétaires totales 1 630 191 338 377 912 644
 
Exercice 2016-2017
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Note de bas de page * Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 376 491 87 301 299 377
Transports et communications 26 179 4 462 12 765
Information 13 476 1 081 3 969
Services professionnels et spéciaux 264 452 51 299 120 975
Location 39 724 4 670 14 466
Services de réparation et d'entretien 29 131 13 802 23 478
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 83 964 12 886 32 578
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages 496 201 102 300 235 464
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 61 941 5 182 16 914
Paiements de transfert 24 037 2 016 4 642
Autres subventions et paiements 19 860 589 17 239
Dépenses budgétaires totales 1 435 456 285 588 781 867