Quarterly financial report for the quarter ended December 31, 2015

Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates, the Supplementary Estimates and the previous Quarterly Financial Reports.

A summary description of the Parks Canada Agency's programs can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates, and a detailed description in Part III – Report on Plans and Priorities.

This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit. However, it has been reviewed by the Agency Audit Committee.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared using an expenditure basis of accounting (modified cash accounting). The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Parks Canada Agency’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Agency consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2015-2016 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Agency uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the department performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

Budgetary Authorities and Expenditures for the third quarter of 2015-16 and 2014-15 ending December 31

The above chart outlines the total authorities available within the Agency as of December 31 of each year, the expenditures during the third quarter as well as the year to date expenditures. Significant changes to authorities and to expenditure patterns are outlined in the following sections.

Statement of Authorities (Table 1)

Authorities available for use
This quarterly report reflects the funding available for use from the 2015-2016 Main Estimates, the 2014-2015 unused spending authorityi and the 2015-2016 Supplementary Estimates A. The authorities at the same time last year consisted of the 2014-2015 Main Estimates, the 2013-2014 unused spending authority, the 2014-2015 Supplementary Estimates B and additional compensation adjustments.

As per Table 1 (Statement of Authorities), at December 31, 2015, Parks Canada’s authorities “total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016” are $357.6 million or 45-percent higher when compared to the same quarter of the previous year (from $800.1M to $1,157.7M). This net increase is attributable mainly to the following:

  • $350.4 million increase in new funding under the Federal Infrastructure Initiative;
  • $62.9 million increase in year over year funding for improvements to highways, bridges and dams located in national parks and along historic canals (Economic Action Plan 2014);
  • $17.7 million increase in Budgetary statutory authorities related to expenditures equivalent to revenues;
  • $6.5 million increase related to the establishment of new national parks and national marine conservation areas;
  • $69.5 million decrease for the 2014-2015 unused spending authority; and
  • $10.4 million net decrease from a number of small adjustments.

Authorities used during the quarter
In the third quarter of 2015-2016, total net budgetary expenditures were $284.1 million compared to $179.7 million reported for the same period in 2014-2015, resulting in an increase of $104.4 million or 58-percent. The increase is mainly due to expenditures under the Agency’s Asset Investment Program as a result of significant new funding to rehabilitate the Agency's built assets.

Year to date used
The year to date total budgetary expenditures were $686.5 million compared to $501.8 million reported at the same time last year, indicating an $184.7 million (37%) increase. The increase is mainly due to expenditures in support of the Asset Investment Program. This is partially offset by the one-time transition accounting treatment of $10 million for implementing salary payment in arrears by the Government of Canada made in the first quarter of 2014-2015.

Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (Table 2)

Planned by Standard Object
Total planned expenditures in the third quarter of 2015-2016 are $357.6 million higher compared to the previous year. This variance is due to the increase in planned spending for Acquisition of land, buildings and worksii ($243.1 million), Repair and Maintenance ($35.9 million), Professional and special services ($17.0 million) and Personnel ($44.9 million). These increases are consistent with the additional funding received under the Agency’s Asset Investment Program

Expended by Standard Object
As per Table 2 (Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object), the total expended in the third quarter ending December 31, 2015 is $104.4 million (58%) higher, compared to the previous year, and the year to date expenditures have increased by $184.7 million (37%). The overall increase can be explained by the following:

Professional and special services expenditures have increased in the third quarter by $28.3 million, compared to the previous year, and the year to date expenditures have increased by $47.2 million. The increases are primarily in areas such as engineering and architectural consulting services associated with the Asset Investment Program.

Acquisition of land, buildings and works expenditures have increased in the third quarter by $72.4 million, compared to the previous year, and the year to date expenditures have increased by $132.8 million. The majority of the increases reflect investments in highways, bridges and canals under the Asset Investment Program.

All other expenditures are consistent with prior year spending trends.

Risks and Uncertainties

Parks Canada’s objectives and Strategic Outcome are influenced by various internal and external factors. The Agency undertakes a risk assessment every year to support priority setting and resource allocation decisions. The risk assessment identifies key risks that have the greatest impact on the Agency’s ability to achieve its Strategic Outcome and expected results. The Agency has identified Asset Condition, Competitive Position, Natural Disasters and External Development Forces as its key corporate risks for 2015-2016iii. The following are examples of some of the mitigation strategies that Parks Canada is undertaking in order to address these risks:

  • investing funding to address the backlog of deferred work and restore the condition of built heritage, visitor experience and townsite assets, as well as highway and canal infrastructure;
  • targeting investments in demand-driven opportunities for visitors (e.g. diversified accommodations, recreational activities and new media technologies in support of on-site learning); and
  • continuing to undertake priority natural resource conservation and restoration actions, including recovery of priority species at risk and their habitat, in order to strengthen ecosystem resilience.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

On November 4th, 2015, the Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, announced that Parks Canada will be reporting to the Honourable Catherine McKenna, the new Minister of the Environment and Climate Change.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Original Signed by
Daniel Watson
Chief Executive Officer, Parks Canada
Original Signed by
Sylvain Michaud
Chief Financial Officer, Parks Canada

Gatineau, Canada
February 16, 2016


Parks Canada Agency
For the quarter ended December 31, 2015
Statement of Authorities – Table 1
(Unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal Year 2015-2016
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2015 Year to date used at quarter end
- Vote 1 - Program expenditures 976,161 240,731 532,129
- Vote 5 - Payments to the New Parks and Historic Sites Account 500 0 0
Budgetary statutory authorities
- Contributions to employee benefit plans 52,318 11,909 35,728
- Expenditures equivalent to revenues resulting from the conduct of operations pursuant to section 20 of the Parks Canada Agency Act 128,678 31,431 118,635
Total Budgetary authorities 1,157,657 284,071 686,492


(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal Year 2014-2015
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2014 Year to date used at quarter end
- Vote 1 - Program expenditures 638,853 135,452 359,574
- Vote 5 - Payments to the New Parks and Historic Sites Account 3,500 0 0
Budgetary statutory authorities
- Contributions to employee benefit plans 46,754 11,646 34,938
- Expenditures equivalent to revenues resulting from the conduct of operations pursuant to section 20 of the Parks Canada Agency Act 111,000 32,610 107,287
Total Budgetary authorities 800,107 179,708 501,799
* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end

Parks Canada Agency
For the quarter ended December 31, 2015
Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object – Table 2
(Unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal Year 2015-2016
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016* Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2015 Year to date used at quarter end
Expenditures:
Personnel 374,973 86,262 283,740
Transportation and communications 18,655 4,665 11,516
Information 10,341 1,267 4,217
Professional and special services 155,764 49,877 95,117
Rentals 23,134 6,093 18,492
Repair and maintenance 102,420 7,156 18,943
Utilities, materials and supplies 57,393 11,545 30,001
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 337,931 108,328 192,002
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 41,178 6,330 14,692
Transfer payments 19,058 881 5,087
Other subsidies and payments 16,810 1,667 12,685
Total budgetary expenditures 1,157,657 284,071 686,492

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal Year 2014-2015
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015* Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2014 Year to date used at quarter end
Expenditures:
Personnel 330,104 79,022 263,727
Transportation and communications 19,227 3,582 10,636
Information 14,047 1,659 4,526
Professional and special services 138,795 21,599 47,966
Rentals 21,422 3,660 14,600
Repair and maintenance 66,567 13,989 29,846
Utilities, materials and supplies 49,352 11,231 29,104
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 94,829 35,978 59,180
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 25,423 4,886 12,608
Transfer payments 20,733 5,214 7,077
Other subsidies and payments 19,609 -1,112 22,528
Total budgetary expenditures 800,107 179,708 501,799
* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end

i The Parks Canada Agency operates on the basis of a two-year appropriation, whereby any surplus amount reported at the end of a fiscal year is carried forward and is available to be used the following year. However, any portion of the unspent funds not spent at the end of the two years is lost. This process differs from that of other government departments as they can only claim five percent of their operating vote and twenty percent of their capital vote through the carry forward process each year.

ii As per the Government wide Chart of Accounts, Acquisition of land buildings and works includes improvements involving additions or changes of a structural nature and reconstructions of physical assets.

iii The complete list of Corporate risks identified by Parks Canada Agency can be found in Part III – Report on Plans and Priorities.

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre qui s’est terminé le 31 décembre 2015

Introduction

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction comme l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Le présent rapport doit être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses, les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses, et les rapports financiers trimestriels précédents.

Une description sommaire des programmes de l'Agence Parcs Canada se trouve dans la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses. Une présentation détaillée est disponible dans la Partie III – Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Ce rapport trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe. Toutefois, il a été examiné par le Comité de vérification de l'Agence.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses (comptabilité de caisse modifiée). L'état des autorisations joint au présent rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de l'Agence Parcs Canada accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par cette dernière, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l'exercice financier 2015-2016. Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un cadre spécifique conçu afin de répondre aux besoins d'information financière concernant l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de Lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, l'Agence utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels dans le cadre du processus d'élaboration de rapports ministériels sur le rendement. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore préparés en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Autorisations budgétaires et dépenses pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre de 2015-2016 et 2014-2015

Le tableau ci-dessus indique les autorisations totales disponibles au sein de l’Agence en date du 31 décembre de chaque exercice financier, les dépenses cumulées depuis le début de l’exercice financier ainsi que les dépenses engagées au cours du troisième trimestre. Les sections suivantes décrivent les principaux changements apportés aux autorisations et à la structure des dépenses.

État des autorisations (Tableau 1)

Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice
Le présent rapport trimestriel tient compte des crédits totaux disponibles de l’année en cours provenant du Budget principal des dépenses 2015-2016, des autorisations de dépenser non utilisées en 2014-2015i et du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) 2015-2016. Les crédits disponibles au même moment l’année dernière comprenaient le Budget principal des dépenses 2014-2015, les autorisations de dépenser non utilisées en 2013-2014, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B) 2014-2015 et des rajustements à la rémunération.

Tel qu'indiqué dans le tableau 1 (État des autorisations), au 31 décembre 2015, le total des autorisations budgétaires disponibles de Parcs Canada “pour l’exercice financier se terminant le 31 mars 2016” a augmenté de 357,6 millions de dollars, soit 45 pourcent, par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice financier précédent (passant de 800,1M$ à 1 157,7M$). Cette augmentation nette est attribuable aux facteurs suivants :

  • une augmentation de 350,4 millions de dollars qui provient de l’initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales;
  • une augmentation de 62,9 millions de dollars par rapport au financement de l’année précédente pour l’amélioration des routes, des ponts et des barrages situés dans les parcs nationaux et le long des canaux historiques (Plan d’action économique du Canada 2014);
  • une augmentation de 17,7 millions de dollars dans l’autorité législative des dépenses qui équivalent aux revenus;
  • une augmentation de 6,5 millions de dollars pour poursuivre l’implémentation de nouveaux parcs nationaux et des nouvelles aires marines de conservation;
  • une diminution de 69,5 millions de dollars liée au report des crédits non utilisés en 2014-2015 par rapport à l’exercice précédent; et
  • une diminution nette de 10,4 millions de dollars provenant d’autres petits ajustements.

Autorisations utilisées durant le trimestre
Au cours du troisième trimestre de 2015-2016, les dépenses budgétaires totales se sont élevées à 284,1 millions de dollars comparativement à 179,7 millions de dollars pour la même période en 2014-2015, ce qui représente une augmentation de 104,4 millions de dollars, soit 58 pourcent. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuée aux dépenses du programme d’investissement en immobilisations de l’Agence, à la suite de l’important nouveau financement alloué à la réhabilitation des infrastructures de l’Agence.

Cumul des crédits utilisés
Le cumul annuel des dépenses budgétaires totales était de 686,5 millions de dollars, comparativement à 501,8 millions de dollars enregistrés à la même période l’an dernier, ce qui représente une augmentation de 184,7 millions de dollars, soit 37 pourcent. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuée aux dépenses engagées pour le programme d’investissement en immobilisations. L’augmentation est partiellement compensée par la comptabilisation d’un paiement de transition unique de 10 millions de dollars pour la mise en œuvre du régime de paye en arrérages par le Gouvernement du Canada réalisée au cours du premier trimestre de 2014-2015.

Dépenses budgétaires par article courant (Tableau 2)

Dépenses prévues par article courant
Le total des dépenses prévues au troisième trimestre de 2015-2016 a augmenté de 357,6  millions de dollars par rapport à l’exercice financier précédent. Cet écart est surtout dû aux dépenses prévues à la fois en acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvragesii (243,1M$), en services de réparation et d’entretien (35,9M$), Services professionnels et spéciaux (17,0M$)  et en personnel (44,9M$). Ces augmentations sont conformes au financement additionnel alloué relativement au programme d’investissement en immobilisations de l’Agence.

Dépenses engagées par article courant
Comme indiqué dans le tableau 2 (Dépenses budgétaires par article courant), le total des dépenses engagées au cours du troisième trimestre, qui s’est terminé le 31 décembre 2015, a augmenté de 104,4 millions de dollars, soit de 58 pourcent, en comparaison avec l’exercice financier précédent et le cumul annuel des dépenses à ce jour a augmenté de 184,7 millions de dollars, soit de 37 pourcent. L’augmentation globale peut être expliquée comme suit :

Les dépenses relatives aux services professionnels ont augmenté au troisième trimestre de 28,3 millions de dollars par rapport à la même période de l’exercice précédent, et le cumul annuel des dépenses a augmenté de 47,2  millions de dollars. Cette augmentation est surtout dans les domaines des services-conseils en génie et en architecture associés au programme d’investissement en immobilisations de l’Agence.

Les dépenses en acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages ont augmenté au troisième trimestre de 72,4 millions de dollars par rapport à l’année précédente, et le cumul annuel des dépenses a augmenté de 132,8 millions de dollars. La majeure partie de l’augmentation reflète des investissements dans les autoroutes, les ponts et les canaux en lien avec le programme d’investissement en immobilisations de l’Agence.

Toutes les autres dépenses sont conformes aux tendances des dépenses des exercices financiers précédents.

Risques et incertitudes

Divers facteurs internes et externes influencent les objectifs et le résultat stratégique de Parcs Canada. Chaque année l’Agence entreprend une évaluation des risques afin d’appuyer la prise de décisions concernant l’établissement des priorités et l’affectation des ressources. L’évaluation des risques permet de déterminer les principaux enjeux qui auraient d’importantes répercussions sur la capacité de l’Agence à atteindre son résultat stratégique et ses résultats attendus. Les principaux risques identifiés par l’Agence pour l’exercice 2015-2016 sont l’état des biens, la position concurrentielle, les catastrophes naturelles et les pressions externes exercées par le développementiii. Voici quelques exemples des stratégies d'atténuation que Parcs Canada met en place afin de répondre aux risques identifiés :

  • investissement des fonds afin de s'attaquer à l'arriéré lié aux travaux reportés et restaurer l'état général des biens bâtis du patrimoine, de l'expérience du visiteur et des lotissements urbains ainsi que l'infrastructure des routes et des canaux;
  • investissements ciblés dans des débouchés déterminés par la demande des visiteurs (par exemple, davantage de choix d'hébergement, des activités récréatives et les nouvelles technologies médiatiques à l'appui de l'apprentissage sur place); et
  • continuer d'entreprendre des mesures prioritaires visant à la conservation et au rétablissement des ressources naturelles, y compris le rétablissement des espèces en péril prioritaires et de leur habitat, afin de renforcer la résilience des écosystèmes.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Le  4 novembre 2015, le très honorable Justin Trudeau, premier ministre du Canada,  a  annoncé  que  Parcs  Canada  relèverait dorénavant de l’honorable Catherine McKenna, la nouvelle ministre de l’Environnement et des Changements climatiques.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Original signé par
Daniel Watson
Directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada
Original signé par
Sylvain Michaud
Dirigeant principal des finances de l'Agence Parcs Canada

Gatineau (Québec)
16 février 2016


Agence Parcs Canada
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015
État des autorisations – Tableau 1
(non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2015-2016
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
- Crédit 1 - Dépenses du Programme 976 161 240 731 532 129
- Crédit 5 - Paiements au Compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques 500 0 0
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
- Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 52 318 11 909 35 728
- Dépenses qui équivalent aux revenus résultant de la poursuite des opérations en vertu de l'article 20 de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada 128 678 31 431 118 635
Autorisations budgétaires totales 1 157 657 284 071 686 492


(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2014-2015
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses:
- Crédit 1 - Dépenses du Programme 638 853 135 452 359 574
- Crédit 5 - Paiements au Compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques 3 500 0 0
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
- Contribution aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 46 754 11 646 34 938
- Dépenses qui équivalent aux revenus résultant de la poursuite des opérations en vertu de l'article 20 de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada 111 000 32 610 107 287
Autorisations budgétaires totales 800 107 179 708 501 799
* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre

Agence Parcs Canada
Pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015
Dépenses budgétaires par article courant – Tableau 2
(non-vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2015-2016
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016* Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 374 973 82 262 283 740
Transports et communications 18 655 4 665 11 516
Information 10 341 1 267 4 217
Services professionnels et spéciaux 155 764 49 877 95 117
Location 23 134 6 093 18 492
Services de réparation et d'entretien 102 420 7 156 18 943
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 57 393 11 545 30 001
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages 337 931 108 328 192 002
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 41 178 6 330 14 692
Paiements de transfert 19 058 881 5 087
Autres subventions et paiements 16 810 1 667 12 685
Dépenses budgétaires totales 1 157 657 284 071 686 492


(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2014-2015
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015* Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 330 104 79 022 263 727
Transports et communications 19 227 3 582 10 636
Information 14 047 1 659 4 526
Services professionnels et spéciaux 138 795 21 599 47 966
Location 21 422 3 660 14 600
Services de réparation et d'entretien 66 567 13 989 29 846
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 49 352 11 231 29 104
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d'ouvrages 94 829 35 978 59 180
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 25 423 4 886 12 608
Paiements de transfert 20 733 5 214 7 077
Autres subventions et paiements 19 609 -1 112 22 528
Dépenses budgétaires totales 800 107 179 708 501 799
* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre

i L'Agence Parcs Canada fonctionne selon le principe d'un crédit de deux ans par lequel les crédits non utilisés à la fin de l'année financière sont disponibles pour être utilisés l'année suivante. Toutefois, toute portion de l'autorisation des dépenses qui n'a pas été utilisée à la fin des deux ans est échue. Ce processus diffère de celui d'autres ministères, étant donné qu'ils peuvent réclamer seulement cinq pourcent de leur crédit de fonctionnement et vingt pourcent de leur crédit pour les dépenses en capital au moyen du processus de report chaque année.

ii Conformément au plan comptable de l'ensemble de l'administration fédérale, la catégorie des dépenses d'acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages comprend des améliorations comportant des rajouts ou des modifications de structure, ainsi que des travaux de reconstruction de bien matériels.

iii Une liste et une description plus exhaustive des risques identifiés par l'Agence Parcs Canada est disponible dans la Partie III – Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.