Interpretation Policy

An interpretation policy is an overarching document that outlines the commitments, practices, and tools to be applied by a department or agency when providing Canadians and businesses with information and guidance on regulatory obligations to be met. It also identifies the conditions under which written responses to questions will be provided.

Agency Context

The Parks Canada Agency (the Agency) is the federal body reporting to the Minister of Environment and Climate Change. Parks Canada manages national parks, national historic sites, and national marine conservation areas on behalf of Canadians, and fosters public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these heritage places for present and future generations.

The Agency administers over 30 regulations that prescribe the types of activities that can be carried out in these protected heritage places. It has developed this Regulatory Interpretation Policy to facilitate awareness and clear understanding of its regulatory requirements. The policy outlines the Agency's commitments in the areas of:

Predictability

Plain Language Commitment

The Agency is committed to using clear and plain language in developing its regulations, any regulatory guidance material, and for responses to regulatory inquiries. It has developed responses to Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) and will develop FAQs for new and amended regulations with an impact on Canadians and business. In addition, the Agency will develop FAQs as required in areas identified by stakeholders.

Providing Guidance and Building Awareness

Parks Canada will, as necessary, prepare additional information for stakeholders to help foster awareness and understanding of its regulatory compliance requirements. The Agency will provide clear information during the regulatory development phase through various methods described in the Stakeholder Engagement Practices section of this policy.

Information about what visitors and businesses must do to comply with regulations is available on the individual websites for most of Parks Canada's heritage places, and through Parks Canada field unit offices and visitor centres. Electronic information is usually located under the "Park/Site Management" tab located in the left menu of the individual websites. Electronic versions of visitor guides and information packages and links to documents and web pages provide details about the types of activities that are permitted and the authorizations that are required. This information is either available for direct download or a contact email and/or phone number is provided.

Responding to Questions

Parks Canada is committed to providing timely, accurate, and helpful answers to Canadians and businesses who seek information or clarification on regulatory requirements. Written responses to written inquiries concerning the application of Agency regulations will be provided upon request. Note that the Agency's responses do not constitute or replace legal advice about how a regulation may apply in a specific circumstance.

Service

Service Commitment

Parks Canada is committed to providing courteous, respectful and professional service in all aspects of its interactions with Canadians and businesses, including implementation of its regulations. Parks Canada has developed the Quality Service Standards, which formalize the service level Agency employees provide and reflect the Agency's values and Canadian's expectations. These standards ensure that service quality is implemented in a consistent manner and allow the Agency to:

  • Provide professional service to Canadians and businesses in providing information on the interpretation of Parks Canada regulations;
  • Ensure exceptional service for all Canadians and visitors when taking actions to fulfill regulatory requirements; and;
  • Develop recruitment, training and assessment tools for staff who interact with visitors so that their actions are consistent with providing the highest level of service while meeting regulatory requirements.

The Agency has established regulatory Service Standards for high-volume regulatory authorizations. These outline what businesses and others can expect in terms of timeliness in issuing some licenses and permits.

Service Accountability

Parks Canada offers several methods to receive and respond to questions or complaints raised by Canadians and businesses regarding issues that may be linked to regulations:

  • The regulatory Service Standards provide contact information regarding how permits and licences are provided. Specifically feedback can be provided by telephone or email. Using these mechanisms, Canadians can obtain more information or make a complaint about how licenses or permits were provided;
  • The Forward Regulatory Plan provides telephone and email contacts on planned regulatory initiatives;
  • Other ways of providing feedback on regulations and implementation include:
    • Contacting a Parks Canada place by clicking on the "Contact" found on the Parks Canada website.
    • The Agency maintains a General Inquiries email address at information@pc.gc.ca.

Staff Training

Parks Canada will ensure that staff who respond to inquiries regarding activities related to Agency regulations have the necessary skills, technical knowledge and training to provide quality service.

Stakeholder Engagement

Commitment to Stakeholder Engagement

Parks Canada will engage stakeholders and Indigenous peoples, as appropriate, when developing practices and materials that foster understanding, awareness and compliance with the Agency's regulations.

Stakeholder Engagement Practices

Parks Canada uses feedback received during the regulatory development and consultation process to determine the need for additional material to promote regulatory compliance. The Agency also actively engages with stakeholders and Indigenous peoples through a variety of mechanisms, including advisory committees, co-management boards, electronic communiqués, newsletters, community meetings, website and newspaper notices, as well as information bulletins posted at heritage places and nearby communities. Stakeholders are able to provide feedback to the Agency on regulatory interpretation through the Agency's General Inquiries email address at information@pc.gc.ca.

Improvement

Parks Canada fosters continuous improvement in its regulatory interpretation. Specifically:

  • In 2014-2015, the Agency consulted stakeholders and Indigenous peoples to determine areas for improvement in the information provided to Canadians and businesses regarding the interpretation of Agency regulations;
  • By March 31, 2015, the Agency identified areas for improvement in providing regulatory information, as well as putting in place procedures for ongoing improvements; and
  • By March 31, 2017, the Agency updated Canadians on the progress made in implementing such improvements.
  • In January 2018, the Agency reviewed the information provided to Canadians and businesses regarding the interpretation of its regulations to ensure relevancy. All items were determined to be up-to-date at the time of the review. 

March 31, 2017 Update to Canadians on Improvements Made to Three Areas Identified in 2014-2015

  1. Regulatory Amendments

    Parks Canada received feedback on the need to update the regulations governing land use management which are perceived to be outdated, difficult to interpret and cumbersome. These are included in Parks Canada Agency’s Forward Regulatory Plan.

    Regulatory amendments focus on the consolidation and streamlining of existing regulations (National Parks Building Regulations, National Parks of Canada Cottages Regulations, National Parks Signs Regulations, and Town of Jasper Zoning Regulations) to decrease administrative burden and promote harmonization of regulatory practices.

    The Agency also received recommendations from the Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations that would improve the consistency and readability of certain regulations. Based on these, in 2015, Parks Canada amended the Historic Canals Regulations, to improve the legal clarity of certain provisions. More recently, the Agency advanced a package of miscellaneous regulatory amendments proposed by the Committee that addressed inconsistencies, errors and ambiguities in the regulations. In total, fourteen amendments to the National Parks General Regulations, the Historic Canals Regulations, the Wood Buffalo National Park Game Regulations, and the National Parks of Canada Fishing Regulations were approved in February 2017.

    Following on the recommendations of stakeholders, the Saguenay St. Lawrence Marine Park Regulations were updated and came into force on January 1, 2017. The revised regulations take into account how standards, practices and conditions surrounding marine mammal observation activities have evolved.

  2. Guidance material on the Parks Canada Agency’s public website

    Parks Canada Agency continues to provide guidance on the interpretation and impacts of regulations on activities in national parks, national marine conservation areas and historic sites with respect to Indigenous partners, stakeholders and the general public. Guidance documents are available on the Agency’s public website.

    Guidance material for visitors and businesses on recent regulatory amendments continue to be posted on the Agency’s website. For example:

    Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park posted guidance material on recent amendments to the Marine Activities in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park Regulations including:

  3. Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

    Parks Canada Agency committed to updating FAQs to reflect suggestions received from stakeholders, Indigenous partners, members of the public and Agency staff.
  4. Updates were completed to the existing FAQs: Regulations to reflect recent regulatory amendments and correct inaccuracies.

    In addition, FAQs on the Marine Activities in the Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park Regulations were developed and included in the FAQs: Regulations section of the website to assist in the implementation of recent amendments, which came into force on January 1, 2017.

    A link to the FAQs on Regulations was also included on the general FAQs page of the Parks Canada Agency website. This link was added to promote ease of reference to information on regulations and to make the site more user friendly.

Politique d'interprétation

Une politique d'interprétation est un document général qui définit les engagements, les pratiques et les outils dont doivent se servir les ministères et les organismes gouvernementaux pour fournir au public et aux entreprises des renseignements et une orientation sur les obligations réglementaires qui doivent être respectées. Ce type de document énonce également les conditions régissant les réponses écrites aux questions posées.

Contexte de l'Agence

L'Agence Parcs Canada (l'Agence) est un organisme fédéral qui relève du ministère de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique. Parcs Canada gère les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation au nom des Canadiens, et favorise chez le public la connaissance, l'appréciation et la jouissance de ces lieux patrimoniaux, de manière à en assurer l'intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d'aujourd'hui et de demain.

L'Agence applique plus de 30 règlements qui régissent les types d'activités pouvant être menées dans ces lieux patrimoniaux protégés. Elle a élaboré la présente Politique sur l'interprétation des règlements afin de faire connaître ses exigences réglementaires et de s'assurer qu'elles sont bien comprises. La Politique décrit les engagements de l'Agence dans les domaines suivants :

Prévisibilité

S'engager à employer un langage clair

L'Agence s'engage à employer un langage clair et simple dans l'élaboration de ses règlements, de tout matériel ayant trait aux directives sur les règlements et de réponses aux demandes de renseignements sur les règlements. Elle a déjà préparé des réponses aux questions fréquemment posées (Foire aux questions - FAQ) et préparera des FAQ pour les nouveaux règlements et les règlements modifiés qui auront une incidence sur les activités. De plus, selon les besoins, l'Agence élaborera des FAQ pour des questions soulevées par les intervenants.

Fournir une orientation et accroître la sensibilisation

Au besoin, Parcs Canada préparera, d'autres renseignements pour les intervenants afin de faire connaître et comprendre les exigences réglementaires auxquelles elle doit se conformer. L'Agence fournira des renseignements clairs durant l'étape de l'élaboration des règlements en employant les différentes méthodes décrites à la section Pratiques de mobilisation des intervenants de la présente politique.

Les renseignements informant les visiteurs et les entreprises de ce qu'ils doivent faire pour respecter les règlements sont disponibles sur le site Web de la plupart des lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada. Ils sont également accessibles dans les bureaux des unités de gestion et se trouve habituellement sous l'onglet « Gestion du parc », situé dans le menu de gauche, de chaque site Web. Les versions électroniques des guides du visiteur et des trousses d'information ainsi que les liens menant vers les documents et les pages Web permettent de se renseigner sur les types d'activités permises et les autorisations requises. Cette information peut être téléchargée directement ou peut être obtenue en en faisant la demande par courriel ou par téléphone.

Répondre aux questions

Parcs Canada s'engage à donner des réponses exactes et utiles, en temps opportun, aux Canadiens qui demandent des renseignements ou des précisions au sujet des exigences réglementaires. Des réponses écrites aux demandes de renseignements écrites portant sur l'application des règlements de l'Agence seront fournies sur demande. Prenez note que les réponses de l'Agence ne constituent pas des conseils juridiques sur la façon dont les règlements pourraient s'appliquer à des situations données.

Service

Engagement en matière de service

Parcs Canada s'engage à fournir un service courtois, respectueux et professionnel dans tous les aspects de ses interactions avec les Canadiens, y compris lorsqu'il s'agit de l'application de ses règlements. Parcs Canada a élaboré les Normes de service de qualité, qui officialisent le niveau de service offert par les employés de l'Agence et qui reflètent les valeurs de l'Agence et les attentes des Canadiens. Ces normes permettent d'assurer un service dont la qualité est uniforme. Ainsi, l'Agence peut :

  • Fournir un service professionnel au public et aux entreprises dans la transmission de manièrerenseignements sur l’interprétation de ses règlements;
  • Assurer la prestation d’un service exceptionnel à toute la population canadienne et aux visiteurs dans la prise de mesures visant à satisfaire aux exigences réglementaires;
  • Élaborer des outils de recrutement, de formation et d'évaluation à l'intention du personnel qui interagit avec les visiteurs afin que ses actions cadrent avec un service de niveau supérieur tout en respectant les exigences réglementaires.

L’Agence a établi des normes de service en matière de réglementation pour les autorisations réglementaires à demande élevée. Ces normes précisent ce à quoi les entreprises et les autres demandeurs peuvent s’attendre en ce qui a trait aux délais de délivrance de certains permis.

Responsabilité à l'égard des services

Parcs Canada offer au public et aux entreprises plusieurs moyens de soumettre des demandes de renseignements ou des plaintes sur des questions liées à la réglementation, et il a recours à plusieurs méthodes pour y répondre :

  • Les normes de service en matière de réglementation précisent les coordonnées des personnes-ressources avec qui communiquer au sujet du mode de délivrance des permis. En particulier, le public et les entreprises peuvent fournir une rétroaction par téléphone ou par courriel. À l’aide de ces mécanismes, il est possible d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou de déposer une plainte sur le mode de délivrance d’un permis;
  • Le plan prévisionnel de réglementation fournit les coordonnées (numéro de téléphone et adresse de courriel) des personnes-ressources avec qui communiquer au sujet d’initiatives réglementaires prévues;
  • Voici les autres moyens par lesquels le public et les entreprises peuvent formuler des commentaires sur les règlements et leur mise en œuvre : - Il est possible d’entrer en contact avec un lieu patrimonial de Parcs Canada en cliquant sur « Comment nous joindre » dans le site Web de Parcs Canada.
  • L'Agence administer une adresse de courriel pour les demandes : information@pc.gc.ca.

Formation du personnel

Parcs Canada s'assurera que le personnel qui répond aux demandes de renseignements sur les activités liées à ses règlements possède les compétences, les connaissances techniques et la formation nécessaires pour fournir un service de qualité.

Mobilisation des intervenants

Engagement à l'égard de la mobilisation des intervenants

Parcs Canada mobilisera les intervenants et les peuples autochtones, s'il y a lieu, durant l'élaboration de pratiques et de documents qui visent à faire connaître, comprendre et respecter les règlements de l'Agence.

Pratiques de mobilisation des intervenants

Parcs Canada utilise les commentaires reçus durant l'élaboration des règlements et la tenue des consultations pour déterminer s'il y a lieu de préparer d'autres documents pour promouvoir le respect de la réglementation. L'Agence mobilise aussi activement les intervenants et les peuples autochtones de différentes façons, comme les comités consultatifs, les conseils de cogestion, les communiqués électroniques, les bulletins, les réunions communautaires, son site Web et les avis dans les journaux, ainsi que les bulletins d'information affichés dans les lieux patrimoniaux et les collectivités avoisinantes. Les intervenants peuvent transmettre à l'Agence leurs commentaires au sujet de l'interprétation des règlements en utilisant l'adresse courriel pour les demandes de renseignements : information@pc.gc.ca.

Améliorations

Parcs Canada s'engage à améliorer ses services d'interprétation des règlements, au besoin, en procédant de la façon suivante :

  • En 2014-2015, l'Agence consultera les intervenants et les peuples autochtones afin de déterminer les points à améliorer, s'il y a lieu, en ce qui concerne l'information fournie aux Canadiens et aux entreprises au sujet de l'interprétation des règlements de l'Agence;
  • D'ici le 31 mars 2015, elle cernera les points à améliorer en ce qui concerne la communication des renseignements sur la réglementation et établira les mesures qui permettent d'évaluer la mise en œuvre de ces améliorations;
  • D'ici le 31 mars 2017, elle informera les Canadiens des progrès accomplis dans la mise en œuvre de ces améliorations.
  • En janvier 2018, l'Agence a examiné l'information fournie aux Canadiens et aux entreprises relativement à l'interprétation de ses règlements afin d'assurer leur pertinence.  Tous les articles étaient à jour au moment de l'examen.

Bilan du 31 mars 2017 sur les améliorations apportées aux trois points cernés en 2014-2015

Modifications à la réglementation

  1. Parcs Canada a reçu des commentaires sur la nécessité de mettre à jour les règlements régissant l’aménagement du territoire, lesquels sont perçus comme désuets, difficiles à interpréter et encombrants. Ces règlements ont été ajoutés au Plan prévisionnel de réglementation de l’Agence Parcs Canada.

    Les modifications réglementaires portent principalement sur le groupement et la rationalisation de règlements existants (Règlement sur les bâtiments des parcs nationaux, Règlement sur les chalets construits dans les parcs nationaux, Règlement sur les enseignes dans les parcs nationaux et Règlement sur le zonage du périmètre urbain de Jasper) afin de réduire le fardeau administratif et de promouvoir l’harmonisation des pratiques de réglementation.

    L’Agence a également reçu du Comité mixte permanent d’examen de la réglementation des recommandations destinées à accroître la cohérence et la lisibilité de certains règlements. À la lumière de ces recommandations, Parcs Canada a modifié le Règlement sur les canaux historiques en 2015 afin d’en clarifier certaines dispositions. Plus récemment, il a mis en avant un ensemble de modifications réglementaires proposées par le Comité pour remédier à des incohérences, à des erreurs et à des ambigüités. Au total, 14 modifications au Règlement général sur les parcs nationaux, au Règlement sur les canaux historiques, au Règlement concernant le gibier du parc de Wood-Buffalo et au Règlement sur la pêche dans les parcs nationaux ont été approuvées en février 2017.

    Comme suite aux recommandations des intervenants, la réglementation du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent a été actualisée, et les modifications sont entrées en vigueur le 1er janvier 2017. Les révisions tiennent compte de l’évolution des normes, des pratiques et des conditions entourant les activités d’observation des mammifères marins.

  2. Documents d’orientation sur le site Web public de l’Agence Parcs Canada

    L’Agence Parcs Canada continue de fournir des documents d’orientation sur l’interprétation des règlements et sur leurs effets sur les activités dans les parcs nationaux, les aires marines nationales de conservation et les lieux historiques nationaux, pour les partenaires autochtones, les intervenants et le grand public. Les documents d’orientation sont disponibles sur le site Web public de l’Agence.

    L’Agence continue d’afficher sur son site Web des documents d’orientation sur les récentes modifications apportés à sa réglementation à l’intention des visiteurs et des entreprises. Par exemple :

    Le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent a versé des documents d’orientation sur les récentes modifications apportées au Règlement sur les activités en mer dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, à savoir :
  3. Foire aux questions (FAQ)

    L’Agence Parcs Canada s’est engagée à metre à jour ses FAQ afin de tenir compte suggestions reçus des intervenants, des partenaires autochtones, des membres du grand public et de son proper personnel.

    La mise à jour des FAQ sur la réglementation a été effectuée pour tenir compte des récentes modifications réglementaires et pour corriger certaines inexactitudes.

    De plus, des FAQ au sujet du Règlement sur les activités en mer dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent ont été rédigées et intégrées aux FAQ sur la réglementation afin de faciliter la mise en œuvre des récentes modifications, qui sont entrées en vigueur le 1er janvier 2017.

    Un lien vers les FAQ sur la réglementation a également été ajouté à la page générale des FAQ du site Web de l’Agence Parcs Canada. Ce lien vise à faciliter la recherche de renseignements sur les règlements et à accroître la convivialité du site Web.