Parks Canada Financial Statements

Future-oriented Statement of Operations for the Year Ending March 31 (Unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)
Planned
Results
2015-16
Estimated
Results
2014-15
Expenses
Parks Canada Programs
Heritage places establishment 27,787 26,631
Heritage places conservation 168,820 158,696
Heritage places promotion and pubilc support 40,351 45,525
Visitor experience 238,900 245,236
Heritage canals, highways and townsites management 56,139 80,344
Internal services 116,734 90,663
648,731 647,095
Amortization of tangible capital assets 87,496 81,549
Total expenses 736,227 728,644
Revenues
Entrance fees 61,195 60,403
Recreational fees 25,399 25,071
Rentals and concessions 23,095 22,796
Other operating revenues 6,159 6,080
Townsites revenues 3,132 3,092
Staff housing 3,198 3,156
Revenues earned on behalf of Government (52) (51)
122,126 120,547
Net cost of operations 614,101 608,097

The accompanying notes form an integral part of the future-oriented statement of operations.

Notes to Future-Oriented Statements of Operations for the Year Ending March 31, 2016 (Unaudited)

1. Methodology and Significant assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of the Agency as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the estimated results for fiscal year 2014-2015 is based on actual results as at October 31, 2014 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Estimated year-end information for 2014-2015 is used as the opening position for the 2015-2016 planned results and forecasts have been made for the planned results for 2015-2016.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

  • The Agency's core activities will remain substantially the same as for the previous year.
  • Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
  • Amortization expenses of tangible capital assets are estimated based on the expected capital asset closing balances.

These assumptions are adopted as at October 31, 2014.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2014-2015 and for 2015-2016, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing the future-oriented statement of operations, the Agency has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include the following:

  • The timing and amounts of acquisitions and disposals of tangible capital assets may affect gains/losses and amortization expense.
  • Implementation of new collective agreements.
  • Economic conditions may affect the amount of revenue earned.
  • Further changes to the operating budget through additional new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year.
  • Changes within Government of Canada policies and direction or accounting standards.
  • Weather or other natural adversities or disasters.

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the Agency will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing Supplementary Estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

This future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared in accordance with the Government's accounting policies stated below, which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards. The future-oriented statement of operations was prepared using the accounting standards in effect at the time of preparation. The estimated results for the current fiscal year and the planned results for the future year may have to be restated when presented as planned information in the historical financial statement for that year.

a) Parliamentary authorities:

The Agency is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the Agency do not parallel financial reporting according to Canadian generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Consequently, items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations are not necessarily the same as those provided through authorities from Parliament. Note 4 provides a reconciliation between the bases of reporting.

b) Expenses:

Expenses are recorded on the accrual basis.

  • Transfer payments:
    Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when authorization for the payment exists and the recipient has met the eligibility criteria or the entitlements established for the transfer payment program. In situations where payments do not form part of an existing program, transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the Government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statements. Transfer payments that become repayable as a result of conditions specified in the contribution agreement that have come into being are recorded as a reduction to transfer payment expense and as a receivable.
  • Services received without charge:
    Services received without charge from other Government departments are recorded as operating expenses at their estimated cost.
  • Vacation pay and compensatory leave:
    Vacation pay and compensatory leave are accrued as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.
c) Revenue recognition:

Entrance fees, recreational fees, rentals and concessions, other operating, townsites and staff housing revenues are recognized in the year in which the goods or services are provided by the Agency. Funds received for future services are recorded as deferred revenue.

Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge the Agency's liabilities. While the Agency is expected to maintain accounting control, it has no authority regarding the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented in reduction of the Agency's gross revenues.

d) Measurement uncertainty:

The preparation of the future-oriented statement of operations in accordance with Canadian Generally Accepted Accounting Principles requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets and liabilities at the date of the future-oriented statement of operations and the reported amounts of revenues and expenses for the year. The most significant items where estimates are used are employee-related liabilities, estimated useful lives of tangible capital assets, lease obligation for tangible capital assets and environment-related liabilities. Actual results could differ significantly from those estimated. Management's estimates are reviewed periodically and, as adjustments become necessary, they are recorded in the future-oriented statement of operations in the year they become known.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

The Department is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the Department do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles because authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. The Agency receives most of its funding through annual Parliamentary authorities. Items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations in one year may be funded through Parliamentary authorities in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the Agency has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities:
(In thousands of dollars)
Planned
2015-16
Estimated
2014-15
Net cost of operations 614,101 608,097
Revenue received pursuant to section 20 of the
Parks Canada Agency Act
122,126 120,547
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Amortization of tangible capital assets (87,496) (81,549)
Net loss on disposal of tangible capital assets including adjustments (617) (617)
Services provided without charge by other government departments (44,994) (44,723)
Variation in vacation pay and compensatory leave (179) 714
Variation in employee future benefits 983 3,730
Variation in environmental liability - 668
Variation in accrued liabilities not charged to authorities (4,184) 5,588
Bad debt expense 16 16
Refund of prior years' expenditures 922 922
(135,549) (115,251)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisitions and improvements to tangible capital assets 517,898 130,543
Proceeds from disposal of tangible capital assets (539) (539)
Variation in lease obligation for tangible capital assets 333 312
Variation in inventory of consumable supplies 435 435
Variation in prepaid expenses 438 438
Variation in New parks and historic sites account (1,620) 2,626
  516,945 133,815
Requested authorities 1,117,623 747,208


b) Authorities requested:
(In thousands of dollars)
Planned
2015-16
Estimated
2014-15
Authorities requested:
Vote 1 - Program expenditures 946,862 608,954
Vote 5 - New parks and historic sites account 500 3,500
Statutory amounts:
Revenue received pursuant to section 20 of the Parks Canada Agency Act 118,000 118,000
Contributions to employee benefits plan 52,261 46,754
Less:
Forecasted lapse - -
Authorities available for future years - 30,000
Requested authorities 1,117,623 747,208

États financiers de Parcs Canada

État des résultats prospectif pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars (non audité)

(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats
prévus
2015-16
Résultats
estimatifs
2014-15
Charges
Programmes de Parcs Canada
Création de lieux patrimoniaux 27 787 26 631
Conservation des lieux patrimoniaux 168 820 158 696
Promotion des lieux patrimoniaux et soutien du public 40 351 45 525
Expérience du visiteur 238 900 245 236
Gestion des canaux patrimoniaux, des routes et des lotissements urbains 56 139 80 344
Services internes 116 734 90 663
648 731 647 095
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles 87 496 81 549
Total des charges 736 227 728 644
Revenus
Droits d'entrée 61 195 60 403
Droits récréatifs 25 399 25 071
Locations et concessions 23 095 22 796
Autres revenus d'exploitation 6 159 6 080
Revenus de lotissements urbains 3 132 3 092
Logement du personnel 3 198 3 156
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement (52) (51)
122 126 120 547
Coût de fonctionnement net 614 101 608 097

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l'état des résultats prospectif.

Notes afférentes à l'état des résultats prospectif pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2016 (non audité)

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L'état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans de l'Agence qui sont décrits dans le rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats estimatifs de fin d'exercice pour 2014-2015 sont fondés sur des résultats réels en date du 31 octobre 2014 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l'exercice. L'information estimative de fin d'exercice pour 2014-2015 représente la situation financière d'ouverture pour établir les résultats prévus de 2015-2016, et des prévisions ont été réalisées pour les résultats prévus de l'exercice 2015-2016.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

  • Les activités de l'Agence resteront, pour l'essentiel, pareilles à celle de l'an dernier.
  • Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont basés sur l'expérience acquise. L'évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.
  • La charge d'amortissement est estimée sur la base du solde de clôture prévu des immobilisations corporelles.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 31 octobre 2014.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2014-2015 et pour 2015-2016, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l'écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultats prospectif, l'Agence a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Elles sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l'expérience acquise et d'autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectif et les états financiers historiques sont entre autres :

  • Le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations d'immobilisations peuvent influer sur les gains/pertes et les charges d'amortissement.
  • L'entrée en vigueur d'une nouvelle convention collective.
  • La conjoncture économique peut avoir un effet sur le montant du revenu gagné.
  • Des modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement, grâce à de nouvelles initiatives ou ajustements techniques mis en œuvre plus tard au courant de l'exercice.
  • Changements dans les politiques ou les directions du gouvernement du Canada, ou encore dans les normes comptables.
  • La météo ou autre adversités naturelles ou catastrophiques.

Une fois que le rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, l'Agence ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé conformément aux conventions comptables du gouvernement énoncées ci-après, lesquelles s'appuient sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé selon les normes comptables en vigueur au moment de la préparation. Les résultats estimatifs de l'exercice en cours et les résultats prévus du prochain exercice pourraient avoir à être redressés lorsqu'ils seront présentés à titre de résultats prévus dans les états financiers historiques de cet exercice.

a) Autorisations parlementaires :

L'Agence est financée par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires. La présentation des autorisations consenties à l'Agence ne correspond pas à la présentation des rapports financiers selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Par conséquent, les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectif ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux qui sont prévus par les autorisations parlementaires. La note 4 présente un rapprochement entre les deux méthodes de présentation des rapports financiers.

b) Charges :

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice.

  • Contributions :
    Les paiements de transfert sont comptabilisés à titre de charges lorsque les autorisations de paiement existent et que le bénéficiaire a satisfait aux critères d'admissibilité ou a rempli les conditions d'admissibilité établies dans le cadre du programme. En ce qui concerne les paiements de transfert ne faisant pas partie d'un programme existant, la charge est constatée lorsque le gouvernement annonce la décision d'effectuer un transfert ponctuel, dans la mesure où le Parlement a approuvé la loi habilitante ou l'autorisation de paiement avant que les états financiers ne soient achevés. Les paiements de transfert, qui deviennent remboursables lorsque les conditions spécifiées entrent en vigueur, sont comptabilisés en réduction des charges de transfert et comme montant à recevoir.
  • Services fournis gratuitement :
    Les services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif.
  • Indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires :
    Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent les droits en vertu de leurs conditions d'emploi.
c) Constatation des revenus :

Les droits d'entrée, droits récréatifs, locations et concessions, autres revenus d'exploitation, revenus de lotissements urbains et du logement du personnel sont constatés dans l'exercice où les biens ou services sont fournis par l'Agence. Les fonds reçus pour des services futurs sont comptabilisés comme revenus reportés.

Les revenus qui ne sont pas disponibles à être dépensés à nouveau ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs de l'Agence. Bien que l'on s'attende à ce que l'Agence maintienne le contrôle comptable, elle n'a pas l'autorité sur la disposition des revenus non disponibles à dépenser à nouveau. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles à dépenser à nouveau sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont donc présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l'Agence.

d) Incertitude relative à la mesure :

La préparation de l'état des résultats prospectif conformément aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada exige que la direction fasse des estimations et formule des hypothèses qui influent sur les montants déclarés de l'actif et du passif à la date de l'état des résultats prospectif et sur les revenus et les charges déclarés pendant l'exercice visé. Les principaux éléments pour lesquels des estimations sont faites sont le passif relié aux employés, la durée de vie utile estimative des immobilisations corporelles, l'obligation au titre d'immobilisations corporelles louées et les passifs reliés à l'environnement. Les estimations de la direction sont examinées périodiquement et, à mesure que les rajustements deviennent nécessaires, ils sont constatés dans l'état des résultats prospectif de l'exercice où ils sont connus.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

Le ministère est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au ministère ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires approuvées au cours de l’exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. L'Agence reçoit la plus grande partie de son financement au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires annuelles. Les éléments comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectif dans un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires qui ont été approuvées au cours d'un exercice précédent, pendant l'exercice en cours ou qui le seront dans un exercice futur. Par conséquent, les résultats des activités de fonctionnement nets de l'Agence pour l'exercice diffèrent selon qu'ils sont présentés selon le financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées :
(En milliers de dollars)
Prévus
2015-16
Estimatifs
2014-15
Coût de fonctionnement net 614 101 608 097
Revenus reçus en vertu de l'article 20 de la
Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada
122 126 120 547
Ajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur les autorisations :
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (87 496) (81 549)
Perte nette sur l'aliénation d'immobilisations corporelles (617) (617)
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères (44 994) (44 723)
Variation des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires (179) 714
Variation des avantages sociaux futurs 983 3 730
Variation du passif environnemental - 668
Variation des charges à payer non imputées aux autorisations (4 184) 5 588
Charge de mauvaises créances 16 16
Remboursement de charges d'exercices antérieurs 922 922
(135 549) (115 251)
Ajustements pour les éléments sans incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisitions et améliorations d'immobilisations corporelles 517 898 130 543
Produit de l'aliénation d'immobilisations corporelles (539) (539)
Variation des obligations au titre des immobilisations corporelles louées 333 312
Variation des stocks de fournitures renouvelables 435 435
Variation des charges payés d'avance 438 438
Variation du compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques (1 620) 2 626
  516 945 133 815
Autorisations demandées 1 117 623 747 208


Autorisations demandées :
(En milliers de dollars)
Prévus
2015-16
Estimatifs
2014-15
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 1 - Dépenses du programme 946 862 608 954
Crédit 5 - Compte des nouveaux parcs et lieux historiques 500 3 500
Montants législatifs :
Revenus reçus en vertu de l'article 20 de la Loi sur l'Agence Parcs Canada 118 000 118 000
Cotisations aux régimes d'avantages sociaux 52 261 46 754
Moins:
Périmés - -
Montant disponible pour les exercices ultérieurs - 30 000
Autorisations demandées 1 117 623 747 208