Publications and Reports

Annual Report - Privacy Act

Table of contents

Privacy Act

Annual report
(April 1, 2017 to March 31, 2018)

Introduction

The Privacy Act protects the privacy of individuals with respect to personal information about themselves held by a government institution and provides individuals with a right of access to that information.

This report has been prepared and will be tabled in Parliament in accordance with Section 72 of the Privacy Act.  The information contained in this report pertains to the administration of the Privacy Act within the Parks Canada Agency. 

The Parks Canada Agency’s mandate is to protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage and to foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure their ecological and commemorative integrity for present and future generations.  The Agency is responsible for 46 national parks, 171 national historic sites, 4 national marine conservation areas and one national urban park. The Agency is highly decentralized with team members located across the country and often in remote areas.

Parks Canada’s Access to Information and Privacy Office coordinates all activities related to the legislation for the Agency.  It is comprised of six (6) full-time employees.  The Parks Canada Access to Information and Privacy Office has developed and continues to improve internal policies and procedures in order to meet its obligations in compliance with the Privacy Act, regulations and Treasury Board policies.

The following report presents an overview of activities carried out within the Agency during the reporting period of April 1, 2017 to March 31, 2018.

Statistical report - Privacy Act requests

The appended report (Appendix A) contains detailed statistics on the information requests processed under the Privacy Act.

Interpretation of the Statistical Report Privacy Act Requests

Between April 1, 2017 and March 31, 2018, twelve (12) formal information requests were received under the Privacy Act.  All requests were completed during the reporting period under review.

Seven (7) requests that were completed resulted in the partial disclosure of the records.  The information that was exempted from disclosure was personal information pertaining to other individuals. 

The one (1) request included in the “no records exist” category concerned records that did not exist.

The three (3) requests included in the “abandoned” category were received from individuals who did not respond to our correspondence.

Time limitations

During fiscal year 2017-2018, all requests were processed within the initial 30-day period.  

Costs

The costs reported in the statistical report are only those costs incurred for the processing of requests as the Privacy Act does not authorize the assessment of fees for the processing of requests for personal information.

Formal / Informal Interface

The Agency continues to provide the public with information on an informal basis.  Information is provided only when the Agency is satisfied that the information requested concerns the individual making the request or where at least one of the conditions outlined in subsection 8(2) of the Act is met.

In addition to the above, Parks Canada’s ATIP Office also reviews human resources investigation reports and provides strategic advice on human resource issues.

Complaints / Investigations

No complaints were filed with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada during the reporting period under review.

Consultations Received from Other Institutions and Organizations

Between April 1, 2017 to March 31, 2018, the Agency did not receive any consultations under the Privacy Act.  No consultations were carried forward from the previous reporting period.  No consultations were carried forward to the next reporting period.

Exempt Banks

The Agency maintains no exempts banks.

Administrative Practices

Delegation of Authority

In 2017-2018, decision-making responsibility for the application of the various provisions of the Privacy Act is fully delegated to the Vice-President, External Relations and Visitor Experience Directorate and the Agency’s Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator. The Agency continues to ensure that only those with the properly delegated authorities have an ability to have an impact on the disclosure process.

Procedures

Parks Canada’s ATIP Office acts as a central coordinating point for the processing of information requests received under the Privacy Act.  As such, it maintains data banks and keeps statistical records on requests processed.  Requests are received by the ATIP Office and forwarded to the appropriate Program for retrieval of the requested records. Program officials retrieve the records and prepare preliminary recommendations concerning their disclosure.  These recommendations are reviewed by the ATIP Office.  It assesses the application of the Act and prepares the records for disclosure.

The ATIP Office does not presently monitor the time required to process privacy requests.  Additional reporting mechanisms will be implemented if required.

Training sessions

Facilitating efficient and transparent access to information and privacy for Canadians is a priority for Parks Canada.  The Agency implemented a two-phased mandatory training program consisting of an online course on access to information and privacy given by the School of the Public Service and a 1.5 day formal, classroom-based and instructor-led course for employees that are regularly involved in access requests. 

Since the delivery of the mandatory training, the School has reported that 1,886 employees have taken the online course. As part of the second phase of the training program, forty-one (41) sessions were given to Agency employees across Canada in 2017-2018. In total, eight hundred and thirty-two (832) employees attended these sessions. 

To ensure that all employees of the Agency are aware of the legislation and their obligations, general awareness sessions are also given periodically to provide basic information on the provisions of the Privacy Act.

Privacy Impact Assessments

Between April 1, 2017 and March 31, 2018, seven (7) privacy impact assessments were still ongoing.  These assessments are still underway.

Privacy Breaches

There were no material privacy breaches reported during the period under review.

Disclosure of personal information pursuant to 8(2)(e) of the Privacy Act

There were no disclosures of personal information made during the reporting period under review.

Disclosure of personal information pursuant to 8(2)(m) of the Privacy Act

There were no disclosures of personal information made during the reporting period under review.

Data Matching Activities

The Agency is not involved in data matching activities.

Privacy Gap Assessment

The Agency continues to assess all personal information holdings within the Agency as a result of the 2016-2017 Privacy Gap Assessment.  The Assessment will assist in establishing a common approach in the collection and retention of personal information across the Agency to ensure compliance with the Privacy Act.  Results of the Assessment will help determine the necessity for privacy impact assessments and personal information banks in accordance with federal government policies and directives.

Publications et rapports

Rapport annuel - Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Table des matières

Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Rapport annuel
(1er avril 2017 au 31 mars 2018)

Introduction

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels protège les renseignements personnels relevant des institutions fédérales et donne le droit d’accès des individus aux renseignements personnels qui les concernent.

Ce rapport a été préparé et sera déposé au Parlement en vertu de l’article 72 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.  Les renseignements contenus dans ce rapport reflètent l’administration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels au sein de l’Agence Parcs Canada.

Le mandat de l’Agence Parcs Canada consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada ainsi qu’à favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance de ce patrimoine de telle manière que leur intégrité écologique ou commémorative demeure intacte pour les générations à venir.  L’Agence est responsable pour 46 parcs nationaux, 171 lieux historiques nationaux, 4 aires marines nationales de conservation et un parc national urbain.  L'Agence est fortement décentralisée avec les membres de l'équipe situés à travers le pays et souvent dans des zones éloignées.

Le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de Parcs Canada coordonne toutes les activités reliées à l’application de la Loi pour l’Agence.  Il est composé de six (6) employées à temps plein.  Le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de Parcs Canada a développé et continue d’améliorer les politiques et les procédures internes afin de rencontrer ses obligations en conformité avec la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, les règlements et les politiques du Conseil du Trésor.

Le présent rapport présente un bilan des activités de l’Agence entre le 1er avril 2017 et le  31 mars 2018.

Rapport de statistiques sur les demandes de renseignements personnels

Le rapport de statistiques en annexe (Annexe A) contient des données détaillées sur les demandes reçues en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Interprétation du rapport de statistiques sur les demandes de renseignements personnels

Entre le 1er avril 2017 et le 31 mars 2018, l’Agence a reçu douze (12) demandes formelles de renseignements en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.  Toutes les demandes ont été traitées au cours de la période visée par le rapport.

Les sept (7) demandes qui ont fait l’objet d’une communication partielle.  L’information exemptée concernait des renseignements personnels concernant d’autres personnes.

La demande incluse dans la catégorie « aucun document n’existe » portaient sur des documents inexistants.

Les trois (3) demandes incluses dans la catégorie « abandonné » provenaient des individus qui n’ont simplement pas répondu à notre correspondance.

Délais

Durant l’exercice 2017-2018, toutes les demandes ont été complétées dans un délai initial de 30 jours. 

Coûts

Les coûts figurant au rapport statistique comprennent que ceux qui se rapportent au traitement des demandes de renseignements puisque la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels n’autorise pas l’imposition des frais aux requérants.

Communications formelles et informelles

L’Agence continue de fournir au public des renseignements de façon informelle.  Les renseignements ne sont fournis qu’après que l’Agence s’est assurée qu’ils concernent la personne qui les demande ou en vertu de l’application de l’une ou plusieurs des dispositions du paragraphe 8(2) de la Loi.

De plus, le Bureau de l’AIPRP de Parcs Canada fait aussi la révision de rapports d’enquête en matière de ressources humaines et fournit des avis stratégiques touchant des questions en matière de ressources humaines.

Plaintes/enquêtes

Aucune plainte n’a été déposée auprès du Bureau du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada durant la période visée. 

Demandes de consultation reçues d'autres institutions et organismes

Entre le 1er avril 2017 et le 31 mars 2018, l’Agence n’a pas reçu de demande de consultation en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.  Aucune demande de consultation n’a été reportée de l’exercice précédent.  Aucune demande de consultation n’a été reportée au prochain exercice.

Fichiers non consultables

L’Agence ne détient aucun fichier non consultable.

Pratiques administratives

Délégation des pouvoirs

En 2017-2018, la responsabilité en matière des décisions relatives à l’application des diverses dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels est déléguée au Vice-président, Direction générale des relations externes et de l’expérience du visiteur et à la Coordonnatrice de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de l’Agence.  Parcs Canada continue à veiller à ce que seuls ceux qui ont été délégués auront une capacité d’avoir un impact sur le processus de communication.

Procédures

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP de Parcs Canada est le point de coordination du traitement des demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. À ce titre, il conserve des banques de données sur la protection des renseignements personnels et tient des dossiers statistiques sur le traitement des demandes.  Les demandes reçues par le Bureau de l’AIPRP sont acheminées au service concerné pour qu’il extraie les documents demandés.  Une fois les documents extraits, le service fait des recommandations préliminaires concernant leur communication.  Le Bureau de l’AIPRP examine ces recommandations et étudie ensuite la demande en fonction de la loi.  Il prépare les documents en vue de leur communication.

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP ne fait pas présentement des suivis du temps requis pour le traitement des demandes de vie privée.  Des mécanismes d’établissement de rapports supplémentaires seront entrepris si nécessaire.

Séances de formation

L’efficacité et la transparence sur l’accès à l’information et sur la protection de la vie privée pour les Canadiens est une priorité pour Parcs Canada.  L’Agence a instauré une formation obligatoire de deux étapes comprenant une formation gratuite en ligne sur l’accès à l’information et sur la protection des renseignements personnels de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada et d’une formation formelle en classe d’une journée et demie donnée par un instructeur pour les employés qui sont impliqués régulièrement dans des demandes d’accès à l’information. 

Depuis la livraison de la formation obligatoire, l’École a rapporté que 1,886 employés ont suivi la formation en ligne.  Faisant partie de la deuxième étape du programme de formation, quarante et une (41) séances ont été données aux employés de l’Agence à travers du Canada en 2017-2018.  En tout, huit-cent-trente-deux (832) employés ont assistés ces séances. 

Afin que tous les employés de l’Agence soient au courant de la Loi et de leurs obligations, des séances de sensibilisation sont aussi tenues périodiquement afin de fournir des renseignements de base sur les prévisions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Entre le 1er avril 2017 et le 31 mars 2018, sept (7) évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée n’étaient pas terminées. Ces évaluations sont toujours en cours.

Atteintes à la vie privée

Aucun cas d’atteinte substantielle n’a été reporté durant la période visée.

Divulgations de renseignements personnels en vertu du paragraphe 8(2)(e) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Aucune divulgation de renseignements personnels n’a été faite durant la période visée.

Divulgations de renseignements personnels en vertu du paragraphe 8(2)(m) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Aucune divulgation de renseignements personnels n’a été faite durant la période visée.

Activités de couplage

L’Agence n’est pas impliquée dans les activités de couplage.

Analyse de l’écart de la vie privée

L’Agence continue d’analyser toutes les banques de renseignements personnels au sein de l’Agence suite à l’analyse de l’écart de la vie privée de 2016-2017.  L’analyse assistera dans l’établissement d’une approche commune dans la collecte et dans la rétention des renseignements personnels à travers de l’Agence en conformité avec la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.  Les résultats de l’analyse détermineront la nécessité d’évaluations relatifs à la vie privée et de banques de renseignements personnels en vertu des politiques et directives du gouvernement fédéral.