Annual Report - Access to Information Act

Table of contents

Access to Information Act

Annual Report
(April 1, 2017 to March 31, 2018)

Introduction

The Access to Information Act provides a right of access to information in records under the control of a government institution in accordance with the principles that government information should be available to the public, that necessary exceptions to the right of access should be limited and specific and that decisions on the disclosure of government information should be reviewed independently of government.

This report has been prepared and will be tabled in Parliament in accordance with Section 72 of the Access to Information Act.  The information contained in this report pertains to the administration of the Access to Information Act within the Parks Canada Agency. 

The Parks Canada Agency’s mandate is to protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage and to foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure their ecological and commemorative integrity for present and future generations.  The Agency is responsible for 46 national parks, 171 national historic sites, 4 national marine conservation areas and one national urban park.  The Agency is highly decentralized with team members located across the country and often in remote areas.

Parks Canada’s Access to Information and Privacy Office coordinates all activities related to the legislation for the Agency.  It is comprised of six (6) full-time employees.  The Parks Canada Access to Information and Privacy Office has developed and continues to improve internal policies and procedures in order to meet its obligations in compliance with the Access to Information Act, regulations and Treasury Board policies.

As a result of improvements made to the review and processing of the Agency's access to information requests initiated in 2016-2017, Parks Canada has responded to all requests within prescribed timelines during the reporting period. Moreover, following the implementation of a mandatory training program, increased awareness across the Agency of the policies and procedures for access to information has been achieved. Parks Canada is committed to transparency, service to Canadians and the expeditious processing of access to information requests and has put in place the systems and processes necessary to meet this commitment.

The following report represents an overview of activities carried out within the Agency during the reporting period of April 1, 2017 to March 31, 2018.

Statistical report - Access to Information Act requests

The appended report (Appendix A) contains detailed statistics on the information requests processed under the Access to Information Act.

Interpretation of the Statistical Report
Access to Information Act Requests

Between April 1, 2017 and March 31, 2018, the Agency received three hundred and thirty-six (336) formal information requests under the Access to Information Act.  One hundred and three (103) requests were carried forward from the previous reporting period.  Four hundred and thirty-nine (439) requests were completed before the end of March.  Thirty-five (35) requests were carried forward to the next reporting period for the following reasons: eleven (11) requests required additional time to allow for consultations with third parties and twenty-four (24) requests were received at the end of the reporting period.

During fiscal year 2017-2018, the Agency has experienced a 9 percent increase in formal information requests.  Additionally, Parks Canada continues to process one very large request received in 2017 which encompasses approximately 1,000,000 pages related to one subject matter.

The following is a percentage breakdown by source of information requests received during 2017-2018:

  • 52.1%                         public
    30.7%                         media
    11.0%                         business
     0.9%                          academia
     5.3%                          other organizations

In most cases, the information that was exempted from disclosure from records that were “disclosed in part” was personal information pertaining to other individuals, third party financial and/or commercial information, advice or recommendations developed by the Agency or accounts of internal discussions.

The fourteen (14) requests that were abandoned were received from individuals who, after being informed of the provisions of the Act, either withdrew their requests or did not respond to our correspondence.

The thirty-nine (39) requests included in the “no records exist” category were received from applicants who requested access to records that either did not exist or were not described clearly enough to allow for their identification.  When appropriate, an information note is provided to the requester to explain the reason that no records exist and efforts are made to assist the requester in obtaining the information they require, wherever possible.

Fees

As a result of the government’s decision in 2016 to waive all fees beyond the initial $5 application fee, no waiver is granted for the initial fee.  It is however, reimbursed when the request is for information that is available under the Privacy Act.

Time limitations

During fiscal year 2017-2018, 48 percent of completed requests (192 cases) were processed within the initial 30-day period.  In 14 percent of completed requests (55 cases), a 30-day time extension was required in order to conduct consultations with either third parties and/or other government departments.  In 25 percent of completed requests (103 cases), an extension of over 30 days was required because of the number of records requested and to enable the Agency to conduct necessary consultations.  In 13 percent of completed requests (54 cases), additional time was required due to the complexity of the requests.

Costs

The costs reported in the statistical report are only those costs incurred for the processing of requests.

Formal / Informal Interface

Agency officials continue to respond to informal requests from the public.  Program officers are aware of the importance of the legislation and promptly refer formal information requests to the ATIP Office.  Program officers also contact the Office for guidance on the disclosure of information through informal processes.

Between April 1, 2017 to March 31, 2018, one hundred and eighty-two (182) informal requests were processed under the Access to Information Act, which represent an 8 percent increase from the previous reporting period. These requests concerned documents that were previously disclosed in response to information requests.

The ATIP Office also reviews responses to parliamentary questions and audit and evaluation reports for publishing on the Agency’s internet site, in addition to providing strategic advice dealing with Agency programs.

Complaints / Investigations

During the reporting period under review, one hundred and forty-five (145) complaints were filed with the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada.

In 2017-2018, the Agency experienced an extraordinary number of requests related to three (3) subject matters.  A large number of complaints have been filed relating to these requests.  The complaints largely concern the extensions taken in order to process the requests and on the non-disclosure of the information.  Parks Canada has worked closely and collaboratively with the Office of the Commissioner to resolve these complaints. 

Federal Court of Canada

The one (1) appeal that was carried forward from the previous reporting period has been resolved at the end of the reporting period under review.

Consultations Received from Other Institutions and Organizations

Between April 1, 2017 to March 31, 2018, the Agency received eighty-seven (87) consultations under the Access to Information Act.  Seven (7) consultations were carried forward from the previous reporting period.  Eighty-nine (89) consultations were completed before the end of March.  Five (5) consultations were carried forward to the next reporting period as they were received at the end of the reporting period under review.

Administrative practices

Delegation of authority

In 2017-2018, decision-making responsibility for the application of the various provisions of the Access to Information Act is fully delegated to the Vice-President, External Relations and Visitor Experience Directorate and the Agency’s Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator. The Agency continues to ensure that only those with the properly delegated authorities have an ability to have an impact on the disclosure process.

Procedures

The ATIP Office acts as a central coordinating point for the processing of information requests received under the Access to Information.  As such, it maintains data banks and keeps statistical records on requests processed.  Requests are received by the ATIP Office and forwarded to the appropriate Program for retrieval of the requested records.  Program officials retrieve the records and prepare preliminary recommendations concerning their disclosure.  These recommendations are reviewed by the Office.  The ATIP Office assesses the application of the Act, conducts all necessary consultations with and/or notifications of third parties, and prepares final recommendations for review by the appropriate delegated authority.  When the final recommendations have been approved by the appropriate delegated authority, the Office prepares the records for disclosure.

The Agency monitors the time required to process access to information requests.  When the need for improvements to the management of requests are identified, internal processes are adjusted.

In addition, weekly meetings are held between the ATIP Office and senior officials in order to monitor the effectiveness and efficiency of the Agency’s access to information processes and procedures, including compliance with legislative obligations.

 

Training sessions

Facilitating efficient and transparent access to information and privacy for Canadians is a priority for Parks Canada.  The Agency implemented a two-phased mandatory training program consisting of an online course on access to information and privacy given by the School of the Public Service and a 1.5 day formal, classroom-based and instructor-led course for employees that are regularly involved in access requests. 

Since the delivery of the mandatory training, the School has reported that 1,886 employees have taken the online course. As part of the second phase of the training program, forty-one (41) sessions were given to Agency employees across Canada in 2017-2018. In total, eight hundred and thirty-two (832) employees attended these sessions. 

To ensure that all employees of the Agency are aware of the legislation and their obligations, general awareness sessions are also given periodically to provide basic information on the provisions of the Access to Information Act.

Publications et rapports

Rapport annuel - Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Table des matières

Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Rapport annuel
(1er avril 2017 au 31 mars 2018)

Introduction

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information fournit l’accès aux documents de l’administration fédérale en consacrant le principe du droit du public à leur communication, les exceptions indispensables à ce droit étant précises et limitées et les décisions quant à la communication étant susceptibles de recours indépendants du pouvoir exécutif.

Ce rapport a été préparé et sera déposé au Parlement en vertu de l’article 72 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.  Les renseignements contenus dans ce rapport reflètent l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information au sein de l’Agence Parcs Canada.

Le mandat de l’Agence Parcs Canada consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada ainsi qu’à favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance de ce patrimoine de telle manière que leur intégrité écologique ou commémorative demeure intacte pour les générations à venir.  L’Agence est responsable pour 46 parcs nationaux, 171 lieux historiques nationaux, 4 aires marines nationales de conservation et un parc national urbain.  L'Agence est fortement décentralisée avec les membres de l'équipe situés à travers le pays et souvent dans des zones éloignées.

Le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de Parcs Canada coordonne toutes les activités reliées à l’application de la Loi pour l’Agence.  Il est composé de six (6) employées à temps plein.  Le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de Parcs Canada a développé et continue d’améliorer les politiques et les procédures internes afin de rencontrer ses obligations en conformité avec la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, les règlements et les politiques du Conseil du Trésor.

À la suite des améliorations apportées à la revue et au traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information de l’Agence initiées en 2016-2017, Parcs Canada a répondu à toutes les demandes  dans les délais prescrits durant la période visée.  De plus, suite à l’instauration d’un programme de formation obligatoire, la sensibilisation accrue à travers de l’Agence sur les politiques et les procédures sur l’accès à l’information a été atteint.  Parcs Canada est engagé à la transparence, au service aux Canadiens et au processus rapide des demandes d’accès à l’information et a mis sur place des systèmes et des procédures afin de respecter cet engagement.

Le présent rapport présente un bilan des activités de l’Agence entre le 1er avril 2017 et le 31 mars 2018.

Rapport de statistiques sur les demandes d'accès à l'information

Le rapport de statistiques en annexe (Annexe A) contient des données détaillées sur les demandes reçues en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Interprétation du rapport de statistiques sur les demandes d'accès à l'information

Entre le 1er avril 2017 et le 31 mars 2018, l’Agence a reçu trois cent trente-six (336) demandes formelles de renseignements en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.  Cent-trois (103) demandes ont été reportées de l’exercice précédent.  Quatre cent trente-neuf (439) demandes ont été complétées au 31 mars.  Trente-cinq (35) demandes ont dû être reportées au prochain exercice pour les raisons suivantes: onze (11) demandes exigeaient une prolongation pour permettre la consultation de tiers et de d’autres institutions gouvernementales et vingt-quatre (24) demandes ont été reçues à la fin de la période visée.

Durant l’exercice 2017-2018, l’Agence a éprouvé une augmentation de 9 pour cent de demandes d’information formelles.  De plus, Parcs Canada continue à traiter une demande très large, reçue en 2017, comprenant approximativement 1 000 000 de pages sur un sujet en particulier.

Voici la ventilation en pourcentage des demandes reçues en 2017-2018 selon la provenance:

  • 52,1%                         public
    30,7%                         médias
    11,0%                         entreprises
     0,9%                          secteur universitaire
     5,3%                          autres organismes

Dans la plupart des cas, l’information exemptée dans les cas de communication partielle était constituée des renseignements personnels reliés à d’autres individus, des renseignements financiers et/ou commerciaux de tiers, des avis ou recommandations élaborés pour l’Agence ou des comptes-rendus de consultation interne.

Les quatorze (14) demandes abandonnées provenaient de personnes qui ont retiré leur demande ou n’ont simplement pas répondu, une fois informées des dispositions de la Loi.

Les trente-neuf (39) demandes incluses dans la catégorie “Aucun document n’existe” portaient sur des documents inexistants ou sur des renseignements qui n’étaient pas assez bien définis pour les identifier.  Le cas échéant, une note d’information est fournie au requérant afin d’expliquer pourquoi il n’y a aucun renseignement et tous les efforts sont faits afin d’assister le requérant dans l’obtention des renseignements demandés, dans la mesure possible.

Frais

Suite à la décision du gouvernement en 2016 de renoncer tous les frais au-delà des frais initiaux de demande de 5 $, aucune demande n’est exemptée des frais de base.  Ce montant est toutefois remboursé lorsqu’il est possible d’avoir accès aux renseignements en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Délais

Durant l’exercice 2017-2018, 48 pour cent des demandes traitées (192 cas) ont été complétées dans un délai initial de 30 jours.  Dans 14 pour cent des demandes traitées (55 cas), un délai supplémentaire de 30 jours a été requis afin de consulter des tiers et/ou d’autres ministères concernés.  Dans 25 pour cent des demandes traitées (103 cas), un délai supplémentaire de plus de 30 jours a été requis à cause du nombre de documents demandés et à cause des consultations nécessaires.  Dans 13 pour cent des demandes traitées (54 cas), du temps supplémentaire a été requis à cause de la complexité des demandes.

Coûts

Les coûts figurant au rapport statistique ne comprennent que ceux qui se rapportent au traitement des demandes de renseignements.

Communications formelles et informelles

Les employés(es) de l’Agence continuent de répondre aux demandes informelles reçues du public. Les employés(es) connaissent l’importance de la Loi et transmettent au Bureau de l’AIPRP toutes demandes formelles.  Le Bureau est également consulté pour des directives lors de la communication des renseignements de façon informelle.

Entre le 1er avril 2017 et le 31 mars 2018, cent quatre-vingt deux (182) demandes informelles ont été traitées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, ce qui représente une augmentation de 8 pour cent de l’exercice précédente.  Ces demandes concernent des documents qui ont été communiqués antérieurement en réponse à des demandes d’information.

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP fait aussi la révision des réponses aux questions parlementaires et aux rapports sur les évaluations et les vérifications pour publication sur le site internet de l’Agence, et fournit aussi des avis stratégiques concernant les programmes de l’Agence.

Plaintes/enquêtes

Pendant la période visée, cent quarante-cinq (145) plaintes ont été déposées auprès du Bureau de la Commissaire à l’information du Canada.

En 2017-2018, l’Agence a connu un nombre extraordinaire de demandes reliées sur trois (3) dossiers en particulier.  Un grand nombre de plaintes ont été déposées concernant ces demandes.  Ces plaintes visaient la prolongation prise afin de traiter les demandes et sur la non-divulgation des renseignements.  Parcs Canada a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec le Bureau de la Commissaire pour résoudre ces plaintes. 

Cour fédérale du Canada

L’appel à la Cour fédérale du Canada qui a été reporté de l’exercice précédent a été résolu à la fin de l’exercice courant.

Demandes de consultation reçues d'autres institutions et organismes

Entre le 1er avril 2017 et le 31 mars 2018, l’Agence a reçu quatre-vingt sept (87) demandes de consultation en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.  Sept (7) demandes de consultation ont été reportées de l’exercice précédent.  Quatre-vingt neuf (89) demandes de consultation ont été complétées au 31 mars.  Cinq (5) demandes de consultation ont dû être reportées au prochain exercice car elles ont été reçues à la fin de la période visée.

Pratiques administratives

Délégation des pouvoirs

En 2017-2018, la responsabilité en matière des décisions relatives à l’application des diverses dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est déléguée au Vice-président, Direction générale des relations externes et de l’expérience du visiteur et à la Coordonnatrice de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de l’Agence.  Parcs Canada continue à veiller à ce que seuls ceux qui ont été délégués auront une capacité d’avoir un impact sur le processus de communication.

Procédures

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP est le point de coordination du traitement des demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. À ce titre, il conserve des banques de données sur l’accès à l’information et tient des dossiers statistiques sur le traitement des demandes.  Les demandes reçues par le Bureau de l’AIPRP sont acheminées au service concerné pour qu’il extraie les documents demandés.  Une fois les documents extraits, le service fait des recommandations préliminaires concernant leur communication.  Le Bureau de l’AIPRP examine ces recommandations, étudie ensuite la demande en fonction des lois, consulte les tiers s’il y a lieu ou les informe des dispositions prises, puis fait des recommandations à l’autorité déléguée concernée.  Une fois que ces recommandations ont été acceptées par l’autorité responsable, il prépare les documents en vue de leur communication.

L’Agence fait des suivis sur le temps requis pour le traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information.  Lorsque le besoin pour des améliorations à la gestion des demandes est identifié, les processus à l’interne sont ajustés.

De plus, des rencontres hebdomadaires sont tenues entre le Bureau de l’AIPRP et la haute gestion afin de surveiller l’efficacité et l’efficience des processus et des procédures de l’Agence sur l’accès à l’information, incluant la conformité aux obligations législatives.

Séances de formation

L’efficacité et la transparence sur l’accès à l’information et sur la protection de la vie privée pour les Canadiens est une priorité pour Parcs Canada.  L’Agence a instauré une formation obligatoire de deux étapes comprenant une formation gratuite en ligne sur l’accès à l’information et sur la protection des renseignements personnels de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada et d’une formation formelle en classe d’une journée et demie donnée par un instructeur pour les employés qui sont impliqués régulièrement dans des demandes d’accès à l’information. 

Depuis la livraison de la formation obligatoire, l’École a rapporté que 1,886 employés ont suivi la formation en ligne.  Faisant partie de la deuxième étape du programme de formation, quarante et une (41) séances ont été données aux employés de l’Agence à travers du Canada en 2017-2018.  En tout, huit-cent-trente-deux (832) employés ont assistés ces séances. 

Afin que tous les employés de l’Agence soient au courant de la Loi et de leurs obligations, des séances de sensibilisation sont aussi tenues périodiquement afin de fournir des renseignements de base sur les prévisions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.