Annual Report - Access to Information Act

Table of contents

Access to Information Act

Annual Report
(April 1, 2016 to March 31, 2017)

Introduction

The Access to Information Act provides a right of access to information in records under the control of a government institution in accordance with the principles that government information should be available to the public, that necessary exceptions to the right of access should be limited and specific and that decisions on the disclosure of government information should be reviewed independently of government.

This report has been prepared and will be tabled in Parliament in accordance with Section 72 of the Access to Information Act.  The information contained in this report pertains to the administration of the Access to Information Act within the Parks Canada Agency. 

The Parks Canada Agency’s mandate is to protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage and to foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure their ecological and commemorative integrity for present and future generations.  The Agency is responsible for 47 national parks, 171 national historic sites and 4 national marine conservation areas.  The Agency is highly decentralized with team members located across the country and often in remote areas.

Parks Canada’s Access to Information and Privacy Office coordinates all activities related to the legislation for the Agency.  It is comprised of six (6) full-time employees.  The Parks Canada Access to Information and Privacy Office has developed and continues to improve internal policies and procedures in order to meet its obligations in compliance with the Access to Information Act, regulations and Treasury Board policies.

In fiscal year 2016-2017, Parks Canada made a number of improvements to the processing of the Agency's access to information requests.  These improvements led to the rapid elimination of an accumulated backlog of access to information requests and the processing of all new requests within legislative timelines.  Moreover, the Agency is implementing a training program to strengthen awareness across the Agency of the policies and procedures for access to information.  Parks Canada is committed to transparency and the expeditious processing of access to information requests and has put in place the systems and processes necessary to meet this commitment.

The following report represents an overview of activities carried out within the Agency during the reporting period of April 1, 2016 to March 31, 2017.

Statistical report - Access to Information Act requests

The appended report (Appendix A) contains detailed statistics on the information requests processed under the Access to Information Act.

Interpretation of the Statistical Report
Access to Information Act Requests

Between April 1, 2016 and March 31, 2017, the Agency received two hundred and eighty-eight (288) formal information requests under the Access to Information Act.  Eighty-three (83) requests were carried forward from the previous reporting period.  Two hundred and sixty-five (265) requests were completed before the end of March.  One hundred and six (106) requests were carried forward to the next reporting period for the following reasons: sixty-five (65) requests required additional time to allow for consultations with third parties and forty-one (41) requests were received at the end of the reporting period.

During fiscal year 2016-2017, the Agency has experienced a 61% increase in formal information requests.  The Agency continues to receive requests for information related to one (1) high-profile issue from the previous reporting period.

The following is a percentage breakdown by source of information requests received during 2016-2017:

  • 18.1%                         public
    33.7%                         media
    36.5%                         business
     3.8%                          academia
     7.9%                          other organizations

In most cases, the information that was exempted from disclosure from records that were “disclosed in part” was personal information pertaining to other individuals, third party financial and/or commercial information, advice or recommendations developed by the Agency or accounts of internal discussions.

In one (1) case, all of the requested information was exempted from disclosure pursuant to Section 23 of the Act.

In two (2) cases, all of the requested information was excluded from disclosure pursuant to Section 69 of the Act.

The twelve (12) requests that were abandoned were received from individuals who, after being informed of the provisions of the Act, either withdrew their requests or did not respond to our correspondence.

The twenty-two (22) requests included in the “no records exist” category were received from applicants who requested access to records that either did not exist or were not described clearly enough to allow for their identification.

Fees

As a result of the government’s decision in 2016 to waive all fees beyond the initial $5 application fee, no waiver is granted for the initial fee.  It is however, reimbursed when the request is for information that is available under the Privacy Act.

Time limitations

During fiscal year 2016-2017, 59% of completed requests (155 cases) were processed within the initial 30-day period.  In 8 % of completed requests (22 cases), a 30-day time extension was required in order to conduct consultations with either third parties and/or other government departments.  In 11% of completed requests (30 cases), an extension of over 30 days was required because of the number of records requested and to enable the Agency to conduct necessary consultations.  In 22 % of completed requests (58 cases), additional time was required due to the complexity of the requests.

Costs

The costs reported in the statistical report are only those costs incurred for the processing of requests.

Formal / Informal Interface

Agency officials continue to respond to informal requests from the public.  Program officers are aware of the importance of the legislation and promptly refer formal information requests to the ATIP Office.  Program officers also contact the Office for guidance on the disclosure of information through informal processes.

Between April 1, 2016 to March 31, 2017, one hundred and thirty-five (135) informal requests were processed under the Access to Information Act, which represent a 38% increase from the previous reporting period. These requests concerned documents that were previously disclosed in response to information requests.

The ATIP Office also reviews responses to parliamentary questions and audit and evaluation reports for publishing on the Agency’s internet site, in addition to providing strategic advice dealing with Agency programs.

Complaints / Investigations

During the reporting period under review, five (5) complaints were filed with the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada.

Two (2) complaints concerned the extension taken in order to process the requests and three (3) complaints concerned the non-disclosure of information. Two (2) complaints were resolved at the end of the reporting period.

In 2015-2016, the Information Commissioner of Canada investigated Parks Canada with regard to a systemic complaint against the Agency.  Parks Canada has implemented a number of measures in response to the Information Commissioner's Report that have significantly improved the processing of access to information requests and strengthened awareness across the Agency of the policies and procedures for access to information.  Since responding to the Commissioner's Report, Parks Canada has eliminated an accumulated backlog of access to information requests and has processed all new requests within legislative timelines.  Parks Canada continues to maintain an open dialogue with the Office of the Commissioner to share information and learn from best practices that are, in turn, applied to the Agency's work.  Since the implementation of improvements to Parks Canada’s access to information function, fewer complaints about the Agency's responses to access to information requests have been received by the Office of the Commissioner.

Federal Court of Canada

One (1) appeal was carried forward from the previous reporting period. This appeal has +not been resolved.

Consultations Received from Other
Institutions and Organizations

Between April 1, 2016 to March 31, 2017, the Agency received eighty (80) consultations under the Access to Information Act.  Three (3) consultations were carried forward from the previous reporting period.  Seventy-nine (79) consultations were completed before the end of March.  Four (4) consultations were carried forward to the next reporting period as they were received at the end of the reporting period under review.

Administrative practices

Delegation of authority

In 2016-2017, decision-making responsibility for the application of the various provisions of the Access to Information Act is fully delegated to the Vice-President, External Relations and Visitor Experience Directorate and the Agency’s Access to Information Coordinator. The Agency continues to ensure that only those with the properly delegated authorities have an ability to have an impact on the disclosure process.

Procedures

The ATIP Office acts as a central coordinating point for the processing of information requests received under the Access to Information.  As such, it maintains data banks and keeps statistical records on requests processed.  Requests are received by the ATIP Office and forwarded to the appropriate Program for retrieval of the requested records.  Program officials retrieve the records and prepare preliminary recommendations concerning their disclosure.  These recommendations are reviewed by the Office.  The ATIP Office assesses the application of the Act, conducts all necessary consultations with and/or notifications of third parties, and prepares final recommendations for review by the appropriate delegated authority.  When the final recommendations have been approved by the appropriate delegated authority, the Office prepares the records for disclosure.

The Agency monitors the time required to process access to information requests.  When the need for improvements to the management of requests are identified, internal processes are revisited and new measures are implemented.

In addition, weekly meetings are held between the ATIP Office and senior officials in order to monitor the effectiveness and efficiency of the Agency’s access to information processes and procedures, including compliance with legislative obligations.

 

Training sessions

In order to support access to information as an Agency priority and further to the Agency’s commitment to the Information Commissioner of Canada in this area, the Agency has developed a mandatory training program consisting of a two-phased approach.  The first phase requires that Agency employees take the free online course on Access to Information from the School of the Public Service. The School has reported that over 1,300 employees have taken the online course in 2016-2017.  The second phase consists of a one and half day formal instructor-led course for employees that are regularly involved in access to information requests.  In 2016-2017, eight (8) sessions were given to Agency employees.  In total, ninety-seven (97) employees attended these sessions.  The Agency officials who have not completed the second phase of the program will be required to do so in the next reporting period. 

To ensure that all employees of the Agency are aware of the legislation and their obligations, general awareness sessions are also given periodically to provide basic information on the provisions of the Access to Information Act.

Publications et rapports

Rapport annuel - Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Table des matières

Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Rapport annuel
(1er avril 2016 au 31 mars 2017)

Introduction

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information fournit l’accès aux documents de l’administration fédérale en consacrant le principe du droit du public à leur communication, les exceptions indispensables à ce droit étant précises et limitées et les décisions quant à la communication étant susceptibles de recours indépendants du pouvoir exécutif.

            Ce rapport a été préparé et sera déposé au Parlement en vertu de l’article 72 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.  Les renseignements contenus dans ce rapport reflètent l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information au sein de l’Agence Parcs Canada.

Le mandat de l’Agence Parcs Canada consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada ainsi qu’à favoriser chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance de ce patrimoine de telle manière que leur intégrité écologique ou commémorative demeure intacte pour les générations à venir.  L’Agence est responsable pour 47 parcs nationaux, 171 lieux historiques nationaux et 4 aires marines nationales de conservation.  L'Agence est fortement décentralisée avec les membres de l'équipe situés à travers le pays et souvent dans des zones éloignées.

Le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de Parcs Canada coordonne toutes les activités reliées à l’application de la Loi pour l’Agence.  Il est composé de six (6) employées à temps plein.  Le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de Parcs Canada a développé et continue d’améliorer les politiques et les procédures internes afin de rencontrer ses obligations en conformité avec la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, les règlements et les politiques du Conseil du Trésor.

Durant l’année financière 2016-2017, Parcs Canada a fait plusieurs améliorations aux processus des demandes d’accès à l’information de l’Agence.  Ces améliorations ont amené à l’élimination rapide de l’arriéré des demandes d’accès à l’information et au traitement de toutes les nouvelles demandes dans les délais prescrits par la Loi.  De plus, l’Agence a instauré un programme de formation afin de renforcir la sensibilisation à travers de l’Agence sur les politiques et les procédures sur l’accès à l’information.  Parcs Canada est engagé à la transparence et au processus rapide des demandes d’accès à l’information et à mis sur place des systèmes et des procédures afin de respecter cet engagement.

Le présent rapport présente un bilan des activités de l’Agence entre le 1er avril 2016 et le  31 mars 2017.

Rapport de statistiques sur les demandes d'accès à l'information

Le rapport de statistiques en annexe (Annexe A) contient des données détaillées sur les demandes reçues en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Interprétation du rapport de statistiques sur les demandes d'accès à l'information

Entre le 1er avril 2016 et le 31 mars 2017, l’Agence a reçu deux cent quatre-vingt-huit (288) demandes formelles de renseignements en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.  Quatre-vingt-trois (83) demandes ont été reportées de l’exercice précédent.  Deux cent soixante-cinq (265) demandes ont été complétées au 31 mars.  Cent-six (106) demandes ont dû être reportées au prochain exercice pour les raisons suivantes: soixante-cinq (65) demandes exigeaient une prolongation pour permettre la consultation de tiers et de d’autres institutions gouvernementales et quarante et une (41) demandes ont été reçues à la fin de la période visée.

Durant l’exercice 2016-2017, l’Agence a éprouvé une augmentation de 61 p. 100 de demandes d’information formelles.  L’Agence continue à recevoir des demandes d’information sur un (1) sujet d’intérêt de l’exercice précédent.

Voici la ventilation en pourcentage des demandes reçues en 2016-2017 selon la provenance:

  • 18,1%                         public
    33,7%                         médias
    36,5%                         entreprises
     3,8%                          secteur universitaire
     7,9%                          autres organismes

Dans la plupart des cas, l’information exemptée dans les cas de communication partielle était constituée des renseignements personnels reliés à d’autres individus, des renseignements financiers et/ou commerciaux de tiers, des avis ou recommandations élaborés pour l’Agence ou des comptes-rendus de consultation interne.

Dans un (1) cas, l’information demandée a été exemptée en vertu de l’article 23 de la Loi.

Dans deux (2) cas, l’information demandée a été exclue en vertu de l’article 69 de la Loi.

Les douze (12) demandes abandonnées provenaient de personnes qui ont retiré leur demande ou n’ont simplement pas répondu, une fois informées des dispositions de la Loi.

Les vingt-deux (22) demandes incluses dans la catégorie “Aucun document n’existe” portaient sur des documents inexistants ou sur des renseignements qui n’étaient pas assez bien définis pour les identifier.

Frais

Suite à la décision du gouvernement en 2016 de renoncer tous les frais au-delà des frais initiaux de demande de 5 $, aucune demande n’est exemptée des frais de base.  Ce montant est toutefois remboursé lorsqu’il est possible d’avoir accès aux renseignements en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Délais

Durant l’exercice 2016-2017, 59 p. 100 des demandes traitées (155 cas) ont été complétées dans un délai initial de 30 jours.  Dans 8 p. 100 des demandes traitées (22 cas), un délai supplémentaire de 30 jours a été requis afin de consulter des tiers et/ou d’autres ministères concernés.  Dans 11 p. 100 des demandes traitées (30 cas), un délai supplémentaire de plus de 30 jours a été requis à cause du nombre de documents demandés et à cause des consultations nécessaires.  Dans 22 p. 100 des demandes traitées (58 cas), du temps supplémentaire a été requis à cause de la complexité des demandes.

Coûts

Les coûts figurant au rapport statistique ne comprennent que ceux qui se rapportent au traitement des demandes de renseignements.

Communications formelles et informelles

Les employés(es) de l’Agence continuent de répondre aux demandes informelles reçues du public.  Les employés(es) connaissent l’importance de la Loi et transmettent au Bureau de l’AIPRP toutes demandes formelles.  Le Bureau est également consulté pour des directives lors de la communication des renseignements de façon informelle.

Entre le 1er avril 2016 et le 31 mars 2017, cent trente-cinq (135) demandes informelles ont été traitées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, ce qui représente une augmentation de 38 p. 100 de l’exercice précédente.  Ces demandes concernent des documents qui ont été communiqués antérieurement en réponse à des demandes d’information.

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP fait aussi la révision des réponses aux questions parlementaires et aux rapports sur les évaluations et les vérifications pour publication sur le site internet de l’Agence, et fournit aussi des avis stratégiques concernant les programmes de l’Agence.

Plaintes/enquêtes

Pendant la période visée, cinq (5) plaintes ont été déposées auprès du Commissaire à l’information du Canada.

Deux (2) plaintes visaient la prolongation prise afin de traiter les demandes et trois (3) plaintes visaient la non-divulgation de renseignements.  Deux (2) plaintes ont été résolues à la fin de la période visée.

En 2015-2016, la Commissaire à l’information du Canada a enquêté Parcs Canada avec une plainte systémique contre l’Agence.  Parcs Canada a instauré plusieurs mesures en réponse au Rapport de la Commissaire à l’information ce qui a amélioré significativement le traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information et a renforcé la sensibilisation des politiques et des procédures sur l’accès à l’information à travers l’Agence.  Depuis que l’Agence a répondu au rapport de la Commissaire, Parcs Canada a éliminé l’arriéré des demandes d’accès à l’information et traite depuis toutes les nouvelles demandes dans les délais prescrits par la Loi.  Parcs Canada continue d’avoir un dialogue ouvert avec le Bureau de la Commissaire dans le partage de l’information et d’apprendre sur les meilleures pratiques qui, en retour, sont appliqués au travail de l’Agence.  Depuis l’instauration de ces améliorations à la fonction de l’accès à l’information à Parcs Canada, moins de plaintes ont été déposés auprès du Bureau de la Commissaire à l’information sur les dossiers de l’Agence.

Cour fédérale du Canada

Un appel à la Cour fédérale du Canada a été reporté de l’exercice précédent. Cet appel est toujours en cours.

Demandes de consultation reçues d'autres institutions et organismes

Entre le 1er avril 2016 et le 31 mars 2017, l’Agence a reçu quatre-vingt (80) demandes de consultation en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.  Trois (3) demandes de consultation ont été reportées de l’exercice précédent.  Soixante-dix-neuf (79) demandes de consultation ont été complétées au 31 mars.  Quatre (4) demandes de consultation ont dû être reportées au prochain exercice car elles ont été reçues à la fin de la période visée.

Pratiques administratives

Délégation des pouvoirs

En 2016-2017, la responsabilité en matière des décisions relatives à l’application des diverses dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est déléguée au Vice-président, Direction générale des relations externes et de l’expérience du visiteur et à la Coordonnatrice de l’accès à l’information de l’Agence.  Parcs Canada continue à veiller à ce que seuls ceux qui ont été délégués auront une capacité d’avoir un impact sur le processus de communication.

Procédures

Le Bureau de l’AIPRP est le point de coordination du traitement des demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. À ce titre, il conserve des banques de données sur l’accès à l’information et tient des dossiers statistiques sur le traitement des demandes.  Les demandes reçues par le Bureau de l’AIPRP sont acheminées au service concerné pour qu’il extraie les documents demandés.  Une fois les documents extraits, le service fait des recommandations préliminaires concernant leur communication.  Le Bureau de l’AIPRP examine ces recommandations, étudie ensuite la demande en fonction des lois, consulte les tiers s’il y a lieu ou les informe des dispositions prises, puis fait des recommandations à l’autorité déléguée concernée.  Une fois que ces recommandations ont été acceptées par l’autorité responsable, il prépare les documents en vue de leur communication.

L’Agence fait des suivis sur le temps requis pour le traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information.  Lorsque le besoin pour des améliorations à la gestion des demandes sont identifiées, les processus à l’interne sont revus et des nouvelles mesures seront mises en œuvre.

De plus, des rencontres hebdomadaires sont tenues entre le Bureau de l’AIPRP et la haute gestion afin de surveiller l’efficacité et l’efficience des processus et des procédures de l’Agence sur l’accès à l’information, incluant la conformité aux obligations législatives.

Séances d'information

Pour soutenir l’accès à l’information en tant que priorité de l’Agence et suite à l’engagement de l’Agence envers la Commissaire à l’information du Canada dans ce domaine, l’Agence a développé un programme de formation obligatoire consistant en une approche en deux étapes.  En tant que première étape, les employés de l’Agence doivent suivre la formation gratuite en ligne sur l’accès à l’information de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada.  L’École a rapporté qu’au-delà de 1 300 employés ont suivi la formation en ligne en 2016-2017.  La deuxième étape est une formation d’une journée et demie donnée par un instructeur pour les employés qui sont impliqués régulièrement dans des demandes d’accès à l’information.  En 2016-2017, huit (8) séances ont été données aux employés de l’Agence.  En tout, quatre-vingt-dix-sept (97) employés ont assistés ces séances.  Les employés de l’Agence qui n’ont pas terminé la deuxième étape du programme seront requis de la terminer au prochain exercice.

Afin que tous les employés de l’Agence soient au courant de la Loi et de leurs obligations, des séances de sensibilisation sont aussi tenues périodiquement afin de fournir des renseignements de base sur les prévisions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.