Evaluation Objective and Scope

Consistent with the requirements of the Treasury Board Policy on Evaluation (2009) and Treasury Board Policy on Results (2016), the evaluation addressed the Townsite Management sub-program’s:

Relevance:
continued need and alignment with government priorities and federal roles and responsibilities.
Performance:
achievement of outcomes for provision of municipal services and infrastructure; effectiveness and efficiency of townsite service delivery; and effectiveness and clarity of roles, responsibilities and accountabilities.

This evaluation covered the period from 2009-10 to 2014-15. Details on specific evaluation questions, expectations, methods and limitations are found in the full report.

Program Description

  • There are seven townsites located in Canada’s national parks. Five of these townsites are directly managed by Parks Canada, i.e., Lake Louise (Banff NP), Field (Yoho NP), Wasagaming (Riding Mountain NP), Waskesiu (Prince Albert NP), and Waterton (Waterton Lakes NP).
  • The townsites of Banff (Banff NP) and Jasper (Jasper NP) are are incorporated, self-governed municipalities. The Townsite Management sub-program involves community planning and management of commercial growth in all seven townsites, and provision of municipal services and related infrastructure (e.g., water, sewage, garbage, and roads) in the five townsites directly managed by Parks Canada.

What We Found

Relevance

  • The Townsite Management sub-program is relevant and consistent with the priorities, roles and responsibilities of both the Parks Canada Agency and the Government of Canada.
  • While municipal services are not core to Parks Canada’s mandate, townsites require basic municipal services to be provided to support the health and safety of both townsite residents and visitors.

Effectiveness

  • Community plans have been developed and are consistent with legislated requirements. However, the extent to which they remain relevant is difficult to determine. The Agency has recognized a need to reassess its process for reviewing community plans but has yet to take related actions.
  • The Agency needs to clarify its expectations for ‘no net negative environmental impact’ (NNNEI). While Parks Canada’s townsites regularly undertake numerous activities in support of this principle, a lack of consolidated monitoring data makes it unclear how townsites are able to assess its application.
  • Management of commercial growth is effectively controlled. No townsites currently exceed their legislated commercial footprint.
  • Data suggests the overall condition of townsite assets has been maintained or improved since 2010. This is the result of numerous infrastructure projects undertaken in the period. However, about 30% of contemporary townsite assets and at least 12% of relevant cultural assets are reported in poor condition. It is too soon to determine the extent to which the Agency is on track to address all deferred infrastructure work by March 2020.
  • Municipal services are effectively designed to service the needs of residents and visitors. Parks Canada has consistently met drinking water quality standards. While sewage effluent from townsites’ wastewater systems also generally complies with required limits, specific targeted thresholds are not always clear.

Efficiency and Economy

  • Parks Canada may not be consistently achieving its targets for cost-recovery of municipal services. A lack of clarity surrounding cost-recovery targets and weaknesses in accounting practices prevented the evaluation from estimating the extent of the gap. While there are some barriers to cost-recovery that are outside the direct control of the Agency (e.g., amendments to fee structures), there may be opportunities to make greater use of available management flexibilities to increase efficiency of the Townsite Management sub-program.

Roles and Responsibilities

  • The Townsite Management sub-program lacks identity and central direction. The nature of townsites, their various roles and obligations, and their potential value to the Agency are not clearly understood or appreciated. The result has been a lack of coordination that would ensure consistency in the delivery and costing of townsite services. In some cases, this has also created friction with residents.

Recommendations and Management Response

Recommendation 1.

The Vice-President, Strategic Policy and Investment should assess its process to review community plans to ensure that it is efficient and meets the needs of Parks Canada’s townsites and the national parks in which they are located.

Management Response 1.

Agreed. A discussion regarding vision and objectives for townsites including the processes for reviewing and updating community plans to align with the vision and with the Directive on Management planning will be completed by March 31, 2018.

Recommendation 2.

The Vice-President, Protected Area Establishment and Conservation should review and update its direction on the no net negative environmental impact principle, including for the development and implementation of townsites’ no net negative environmental impact frameworks.

Management Response 2.

Agreed. The Protected Areas Establishment and Conservation Directorate will work with townsites to clarify the no net negative environmental impact principle and develop a pragmatic approach to implementation, monitoring and reporting. Target: 2019-2020.

Recommendation 3.

The Vice-President, Strategic Policy and Investment should review corporate performance targets with respect to wastewater systems to ensure that they are clear and measurable for each townsite. Revised metrics should be integrated as relevant into the development of Parks Canada’s new Agency Results Framework (expected to be approved by November 2017).

Management Response 3.

Agreed. Corporate performance targets with respect to wastewater systems will be clarified and integrated into the new Agency Results Framework, where appropriate, by November 1, 2017.

Recommendation 4.

The Senior Vice-President, Operations should review and formalize the governance and accountability structure for the Townsite Management sub-program to ensure consistency in the delivery of townsite services across the Agency.

Management Response 4.

Agreed. The new Agency governance structure places responsibility for the sub-program with the Senior Vice-President, Operations. The Townsites Executive Board terms of reference will be approved by March 31, 2018.

Recommendation 5.

The Senior Vice-President, Operations should review existing accounting practices for cost allocation and recovery and develop a clear and consistent approach to costing of municipal services delivered by Parks Canada to enable the Agency to better quantify expected cost-recovery related to municipal services in townsites.

Management Response 5.

Agreed. In consultation with the Chief Financial Officer, the Senior Vice-President will engage a consultant to develop a costing framework. The costing framework will be developed by December 31, 2018.

Objectif et portée de l’évaluation

Conformément aux exigences de la Politique d’évaluation du Conseil du Trésor (2009) et de la Politique sur les résultats du Conseil du Trésor (2016), l’évaluation portait sur les aspects suivants du sous-programme Gestion des lotissements :

Pertinence :
Nécessité de poursuivre le programme et harmonisation avec les priorités du gouvernement et avec les responsabilités et rôles fédéraux.
Résultats :
Résultats liés à la prestation de services municipaux et aux infrastructures; efficacité et efficience de la prestation de services aux lotissements urbains, et efficacité et clarté des rôles et des responsabilités

L’évaluation portait sur la période 2009-2010 – 2014-2015. La version intégrale renferme des précisions sur les questions, les attentes, les méthodes et les limites de l’évaluation.

Description du programme

  • Sept lotissements urbains se trouvent dans les limites de parcs nationaux du Canada. Cinq sont gérés directement par Parcs Canada, à savoir Lake Louise (PN Banff), Field (PN Yoho), Wasagaming (PN du Mont Riding), Waskesiu (PN de Prince Albert) et Waterton (PN des Lacs Waterton). Les lotissements de Banff (PN Banff) et de Jasper (PN Jasper) sont constitués en municipalités autogérées.
  • Le sous programme Gestion des lotissements urbains englobe la planification communautaire et la gestion de la croissance commerciale dans les sept lotissements, et la prestation des services municipaux et des infrastructures connexes (eau, égout, gestion des déchets et réseau routier) dans les cinq lotissements gérés directement par Parcs Canada.

Nos constatations

Pertinence

  • Le Sous-programme Gestion des lotissements urbains est pertinent et compatible avec les priorités, les rôles et les responsabilités de l’Agence Parcs Canada et du gouvernement du Canada.
  • Bien que les services municipaux ne fassent pas partie intégrante du mandat de Parcs Canada, les lotissements urbains ont besoin des services municipaux de base pour assurer la santé et la sécurité de leurs résidents et visiteurs.

Efficacité

  • Des plans communautaires ont été élaborés. Ils sont conformes aux exigences législatives. Il est toutefois difficile d’établir dans quelle mesure ils demeurent pertinents. L’Agence a reconnu qu’elle devait réévaluer son processus d’examen des plans communautaires mais elle n’a pas encore pris de mesures en ce sens.
  • La gestion de la croissance commerciale est efficace. Aucun lotissement ne dépasse actuellement son empreinte commerciale telle qu’elle est prévue par la loi.
  • L’Agence doit préciser ses attentes en ce qui a trait au principe d’« absence d’effet nuisible sur l’environnement ». Bien que les lotissements urbains de Parcs Canada entreprennent régulièrement de nombreuses activités pour appuyer ce principe, on n’a pas de données suffisantes pour savoir dans quelle mesure les lotissements peuvent en évaluer la mise en pratique.
  • Selon les données, l’état général des biens des lotissements urbains s’est maintenu ou amélioré depuis 2010. Ceci est le résultat des nombreux projets d’infrastructure entrepris dans la période visée. Toutefois, environ 30 % des biens contemporains des lotissements et au moins 12 % des bien culturels pertinents sont déclarés en mauvais état. Il est trop tôt pour savoir dans quelle mesure l’Agence pourra terminer tous les travaux d’infrastructure différés d’ici mars 2020.
  • Les services municipaux sont bien conçus pour répondre aux besoins des résidents et des visiteurs. Parcs Canada a toujours respecté les normes de qualité de l’eau potable. Les effluents des systèmes d’égout des lotissements respectent généralement les limites imposées, toutefois, les seuils fixés ne sont pas toujours indiqués clairement.

Rentabilité et aspect économique

  • Parcs Canada n’atteint peut-être pas toujours ses cibles en ce qui a trait au recouvrement des coûts des services municipaux. En raison d’un manque de clarté entourant les cibles de recouvrement des coûts, et de faiblesses dans les pratiques comptables, l’évaluation n’a pas permis d’estimer l’importance des écarts. Il y a des obstacles au recouvrement des coûts qui échappent à la maîtrise de l’Agence (modification du barème tarifaire p. ex.), mais il se peut qu’on puisse recourir plus largement aux marges de manœuvre dont dispose la direction pour accroître l’efficience du sous-programme Gestion des lotissements urbains.

Rôles et responsabilités

  • Le sous-programme Gestion des lotissements urbains manque d’affirmation et de gestion centralisée. La nature des lotissements urbains, leurs divers rôles et obligations et leur valeur potentielle pour l’Agence ne sont pas bien compris ni appréciés. En conséquence, la coordination qui garantirait l’uniformité dans la prestation et le coût des services aux lotissements fait cruellement défaut. Dans certains cas, ce manque de coordination a même entraîné des frictions avec les résidents.

Recommandations et Réponse de la direction

Recommandation 1.

Le vice-président, Politiques stratégiques et Investissement, devrait évaluer les processus d’examen des plans communautaires pour s’assurer qu’ils sont efficaces et qu’ils répondent aux besoins des lotissements urbains de Parcs Canada et des parcs nationaux qui les entourent.

Réponse de la direction 1.

Acceptée. Une discussion portant sur la vision et les objectifs des lotissements urbains, y compris le processus de révision et de mise à jour des plans communautaires pour s’aligner avec cette vision et la Directive sur la planification de gestion sera complétée d’ici le 31 mars 2018.

Recommandation 2.

Le vice-président, Établissement et de la Conservation des aires protégées, devrait examiner et actualiser l’orientation adoptée pour l’application du principe de l’absence d’effet nuisible sur l’environnement, notamment pour l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre des cadres de surveillance connexes par les lotissements urbains.

Réponse de la direction 2.

Acceptée. La direction de l’Établissement et de la Conservation des aires protégées va travailler avec les lotissements urbains pour clarifier le principe de l’absence d’effet nuisible sur l’environnement et développera une approche pragmatique pour la mise en œuvre, la surveillance et la reddition de compte. Cible : 2019-2020.

Recommendation 3.

Le vice-président, Politiques stratégiques et Investissement, devrait revoir les cibles de rendement organisationnelles rattachées aux systèmes d’épuration des eaux usées de chaque lotissement urbain afin de s’assurer qu’elles sont claires et mesurables. Le cas échéant, les paramètres de mesure devraient être intégrés à l’élaboration du nouveau Cadre des résultats de Parcs Canada (qui devrait être approuvé d’ici novembre 2017).

Réponse de la direction 3.

Acceptée. Les cibles de performance liées aux systèmes d’épuration des eaux usées seront clarifiées et incorporés, le cas échéant, dans le nouveau cadre de performance de l’Agence d’ici le 1 novembre 2017.

Recommendation 4.

Le vice-président principal, Opérations, devrait examiner et officialiser la structure de gouvernance et de reddition de comptes du sous-programme Gestion des lotissements urbains afin d’assurer l’uniformité des services fournis par l’Agence aux lotissements urbains.

Réponse de la direction 4.

Acceptée. La nouvelle structure de gouvernance de l’Agence attribue la responsabilité du sous-programme au vice-président principal, Opérations. Le mandat du conseil d’administration des lotissements urbains sera approuvé d’ici le 31 mars 2018.

Recommendation 5.

Le vice-président principal, Opérations, devrait examiner les pratiques comptables actuelles pour l’affectation et le recouvrement des coûts et élaborer une démarche claire et uniforme pour l’établissement des coûts rattachés à la prestation de services municipaux, afin que l’Agence soit mieux à même de quantifier les coûts qu’elle peut s’attendre à recouvrer pour les services municipaux fournis aux lotissements urbains.

Réponse de la direction 5.

Acceptée. En consultation avec le dirigeant principal des finances, le vice-président principal, Opérations engagera un consultant pour élaborer un cadre d'établissement des coûts. Le cadre d'établissement des coûts sera élaboré d'ici le 31 décembre 2018.