Helping humans and wildlife coexist in and around Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

What’s the issue?

Black and white image of a wolf beside a tree at night.
A wolf rubs up against a tree equipped with a hair trap, which will be sent later for genetic analysis. Photo: © Rob Buchanan

In the 1990s, wolves began to recolonize the west coast of Vancouver Island, where Pacific Rim National Park Reserve is located. This was a positive development for the Nuu-chah-nulth peoples, whose traditional territories include this area and who consider wolves a sacred animal. However, because wolves had been absent since the 1960s, they returned to a significantly changed environment. Now, wolves are sharing spaces such as beaches and trails with humans more frequently – and, problematically, some humans seek out close interactions with the wolves. These factors have created the conditions for conflict between wolves, humans and other wildlife. Recently, some local wolves have lost their natural wariness of people. Others have learned to associate people with food. Domestic dogs, particularly when off leash, have contributed to the conflict. Dogs tend to attract wolves because wolves can perceive them as prey or as an invading canine from another territory.

What’s our approach?

  • Collaborate with Indigenous partners, neighbouring jurisdictions and stakeholders to develop and implement a common vision for human-wildlife coexistence in this region.
  • Develop new understanding of human perspectives and the behaviour of visitors and residents; use this information to build a campaign for changing awareness and behaviour, improving compliance with regulations and reducing conflict with wolves and other wildlife.
  • Measure results using before-and-after comparisons of human awareness, behaviour and frequency of conflict with wolves and other wildlife.
  • Improve ecological understanding of coastal wolves, their behaviour and habitat use; use the information to promote healthy, wary wolf and human behaviour choices, reduce unnatural food opportunities, and prevent conflicts with people.

What’s been accomplished?

  • Convened a Nuu-chah-nulth First Nations elders group to provide Indigenous perspectives on wolves and coexistence.
  • Established a regional working group for wildlife coexistence to share, coordinate and implement a common vision for the coexistence of people, wolves and other wildlife.
  • Piloted field methods to study wolves; collected their DNA (non-invasively, from hair) to identify individual wolves and kinship, and to estimate home ranges and population sizes.
  • Developed new wildlife messages for the public – to be used in new signage and communication materials – that explain best practices for keeping wildlife safe and wild; informed Canadians with the help of media coverage.

Pour une cohabitation harmonieuse de l’homme et de la faune dans la région de la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

L’enjeu

Photo en noir et blanc d’un loup près d’un arbre la nuit.
Un loup se frotte contre un arbre muni d’un piège à fourrure. Les poils qu’il y dépose serviront à l’analyse de son ADN. Photo : © Rob Buchanan

Dans les années 1990, le loup a commencé à recoloniser la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver, notamment la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim, après trente ans d’absence. Les peuples Nuu-chah-nulth, dont les terres ancestrales englobent cette région, se réjouissent du retour de cet animal sacré. Son habitat s’est toutefois radicalement transformé depuis sa disparition dans les années 1960. Il croise désormais sur les plages et dans les sentiers des humains qui cherchent parfois à s’en approcher. Ce concours de facteurs est propice à l’éclosion de conflits entre le loup, l’humain et les autres espèces fauniques. On a même constaté que certains loups avaient perdu leur méfiance instinctive à l’égard de l’homme, tandis que d’autres l’ont associé à une source de nourriture. Les chiens, particulièrement sans laisse, aggravent la situation : ils attirent les loups, qui les voient soit comme des proies, soit comme d’autres canidés envahissant leur territoire.

L’approche

  • Élaborer et appliquer avec les peuples autochtones, les autorités locales et les autres parties prenantes un train de mesures traduisant une vision commune de la cohabitation de l’homme et du loup dans cette région.
  • Analyser le point de vue humain et les comportements des visiteurs de la réserve et des habitants de la région; à la lumière des constatations, concevoir une campagne de sensibilisation afin de changer les comportements, de faire respecter les règlements et de résorber les conflits avec les loups et autres espèces fauniques.
  • Évaluer les résultats en comparant le degré de sensibilisation, les comportements et la fréquence des conflits avant et après la campagne.
  • Étudier de plus près les comportements des loups et leur utilisation de l’habitat; à la lumière des constatations, créer des conditions favorisant la santé du loup et renforçant sa méfiance, notamment par l’interdiction de le nourrir, et orienter les comportements humains pour prévenir les conflits.

Les réalisations

  • Rencontre avec un groupe d’aînés Nuu-chah-nulth pour recueillir leur vision d’une cohabitation harmonieuse avec le loup.
  • Formation d’un groupe de travail régional chargé d’appliquer les éléments d’une vision commune de la cohabitation de l’homme avec le loup et les autres espèces fauniques.
  • Études pilotes sur le terrain : échantillonnage de l’ADN des loups à partir de la collecte de poils afin d’identifier les individus et d’établir des liens de consanguinité, de délimiter leurs territoires et d’estimer leur population totale.
  • Création de nouveaux messages d’intérêt public pour les panneaux d’affichage et le matériel de communication expliquant les comportements respectueux de la faune à adopter; sollicitation de médias (disponible en anglais seulement) dans cet esprit.