Our Government is committed to expanding Canada’s system of protected areas and protecting its biodiversity, by conserving at least 17 per cent of our land and freshwater through a network of parks, protected and conserved areas, and other conservation measures by 2020, an objective known as Pathway to Target 1. We are also working to conserve at least 10 per cent of marine and coastal areas by 2020.

In 2017, I initiated Let’s Talk Parks, Canada! – the largest public consultation ever undertaken by a Minister responsible for Parks Canada. This was an opportunity to engage with Canadians on Canada’s system of protected natural and cultural places. Recently, I put forward several priorities: to protect and restore our national parks and historic sites; to enable people to further discover and connect with our national parks and heritage; and to sustain for generations to come the incredible value – both ecological and economic – that our national parks and historic sites provide for communities.

Parks Canada’s places represent the very best that Canada has to offer and tell the stories of who we are. They also protect biodiversity, preserve our clean air and water, and play an important role in mitigating the impacts of climate change. However, the ecological integrity of national parks and marine conservation areas can be threatened by a wide variety of stresses, such as threats from invasive species and problems caused by public infrastructure. If we want to conserve these special places, now and for future generations, we must restore critical ecosystems and contribute to the recovery of species-at-risk.

The Conservation and Restoration (CoRe) projects highlighted in A natural priority – A report on Parks Canada’s Conservation and Restoration Program demonstrate how Parks Canada is working to protect ecological integrity as a first priority. The CoRe Program also illustrates the Government’s commitment to science and Indigenous knowledge as the foundation for conservation action. Many CoRe projects also contribute to reconciliation and renewed relationships with Indigenous peoples. Parks Canada places provide a backdrop to Indigenous history, cultures and traditions, and remind us that we have a collective responsibility to protect the natural world.

CoRe projects are benefitting ecosystems across our country, from restoring the boreal forest in Terra Nova National Park to reconnecting the lakes and rivers of La Mauricie National Park and helping species-at-risk recover in Gulf Islands National Park Reserve. But CoRe projects do more than restore ecosystems – they also engage and benefit Canadians. Events like the Ahtahkakoop Cree Nation Camp in Prince Albert National Park help Indigenous elders and youth reconnect with their traditional lands and waters. Visitors experience nature first-hand and make lasting memories through programs such as Swim with Salmon in Fundy National Park. Children learn about the environment through interactive exhibits like Sharing Space with Wildlife at Science World in Vancouver.

Through Budget 2018, our Government committed $1.3 billion to protect Canada’s nature, parks and wildlife. This historic investment will help Parks Canada renew and enhance its efforts to protect species-at-risk, support biodiversity and conserve ecosystems.

CoRe projects are fundamental to the mandate of Parks Canada and demonstrate what can be accomplished when we are committed to protecting these national treasures. I would like to thank all of the Parks Canada team members, along with Indigenous communities, partners, volunteers and all others involved in CoRe projects. The work you do is creating a true legacy for our children and grandchildren.



The Honourable Catherine McKenna
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister Responsible for Parks Canada

Notre gouvernement s’est engagé à élargir le réseau d’aires protégées du Canada et à protéger sa biodiversité en conservant au moins 17 pour cent de nos terres et de nos eaux douces au moyen d’un réseau de parcs, d’aires protégées et conservées et d’autres mesures de conservation d’ici 2020, un objectif appelé En route vers l’objectif 1. Nous travaillons également à la conservation d’au moins 10 pour cent des aires marines et côtières d’ici 2020.

En 2017, j’ai lancé Parlons de Parcs Canada!, la plus vaste consultation publique jamais entreprise par un ou une ministre responsable de Parcs Canada. Il s’agissait d’une occasion unique de discuter avec les Canadiens et Canadiennes au sujet du réseau d’endroits naturels et culturels protégés. Récemment, j’ai présenté plusieurs priorités : protéger et restaurer nos parcs et lieux historiques nationaux; permettre aux gens de découvrir et de nouer des liens avec nos parcs nationaux et notre patrimoine; maintenir pour les générations à venir, la valeur, tant écologique qu’économique, que procurent nos parcs et lieux historiques nationaux aux collectivités.

Les sites de Parcs Canada représentent ce que le Canada a de mieux à offrir et racontent qui nous sommes. Ils protègent également la biodiversité, préservent notre air et nos eaux propres, et jouent un rôle important pour ce qui est d’atténuer les répercussions du changement climatique. Toutefois, l’intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux et des aires marines de conservation peut être menacée par divers facteurs de stress, comme les menaces posées par les espèces envahissantes et les problèmes causées par l’infrastructure publique. Si nous voulons conserver ces endroits spéciaux, aujourd’hui et pour les générations futures, nous devons restaurer les écosystèmes critiques et contribuer au rétablissement des espèces en péril.

Les projets de conservation et de restauration (CoRe) mentionnés dans Naturellement une priorité – Un rapport sur le Programme de conservation et de restauration de Parcs Canada démontrent comment Parcs Canada œuvre à protéger l’intégrité écologique à titre de priorité absolue. Le Programme CoRe illustre également l’engagement du gouvernement à l’égard de la science et du savoir autochtone, en tant que fondement des mesures de conservation. Un grand nombre de projets de CoRe contribuent également à la réconciliation et au renouvellement des relations avec les peuples autochtones. Les endroits de Parcs Canada fournissent une toile de fond à l’histoire, aux cultures et aux traditions autochtones, et nous rappellent que nous avons une responsabilité collective de protéger le monde naturel.

Les projets de CoRe bénéficient aux écosystèmes partout au pays, allant de la restauration de la forêt boréale dans le parc national Terra‑Nova, au raccordement des lacs et rivières du parc national de la Mauricie, et à l’aide au rétablissement des espèces en péril dans la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf. Mais les projets de CoRe font plus que restaurer les écosystèmes, ils engagent également les Canadiens et Canadiennes et leur bénéficient. Dans le cadre d’événements comme le Camp de la nation crie Ahtahkakoop dans le parc national de Prince Albert, les aînés et les jeunes autochtones reprennent contact avec les terres et les eaux traditionnelles. Les visiteurs font concrètement l’expérience de la nature et créent des souvenirs inoubliables grâce à des programmes comme Nager avec les saumons, dans le parc national Fundy. Les enfants apprennent au sujet de l’environnement dans le cadre d’expositions interactives comme Sharing Space with Wildlife (partager l’espace avec la faune), au Science World, à Vancouver.

Dans le budget de 2018, le gouvernement s’est engagé à verser 1,3 milliard de dollars pour protéger la nature, les parcs ainsi que la faune et la flore du Canada. Cet investissement historique aidera Parcs Canada à redoubler ses efforts visant à protéger les espèces en péril, à appuyer la biodiversité et à conserver les écosystèmes.

Les projets de CoRe sont fondamentaux pour le mandat de Parcs Canada et démontrent ce qui peut être accompli lorsque nous nous engageons à protéger ces trésors nationaux. J’aimerais remercier tous les membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada, ainsi que les communautés autochtones, les partenaires, les bénévoles et tous les autres participants aux projets de CoRe. Le travail que vous faites crée un véritable legs pour nos enfants et nos petits‑enfants.



L’honorable Catherine McKenna
Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada