Endnotes

i Parks Canada Agency website

ii Action on the Ground is an Agency initiative which consists of a variety of active management and restoration projects aimed at addressing priority ecological integrity issues in targeted national parks. Examples of ecosystem restoration projects currently underway include enhancements to watershed connectivity, control of invasive species, restoration of habitat for species at risk and improvement to water quality in aquatic ecosystems, all of which contribute to improving ecological integrity.

iii Information on Government of Canada outcomes

iv 2013-14 Main Estimates publication

v More information on the Agency’s activities to support sustainable development

vi Environment Canada’s website

vii 2011-12 Parks Canada Agency Performance Report

viii State of Canada’s Natural and Historic Places

ix Library section of the Parks Canada Agency website

x More information on the Xplorers’ program

xi More information on the Learn to Camp program

xii Townsite communities include Field in Yoho National Park of Canada, British Columbia; Lake Louise in Banff National Park of Canada, Alberta; Wasagaming in Riding Mountain National Park of Canada, Manitoba; Waskesiu in Prince Albert National Park of Canada, Saskatchewan; and Waterton in Waterton Lakes National Park of Canada, Alberta. Two other townsites, Banff and Jasper, are self-governed since 1990 and 2002, respectively. Parks Canada retains authority for community plans and by-laws in Banff, and for community plans, land-use planning and development in Jasper.

xiii Highways managed by Parks Canada consist of 1,150 two-lane kilometres of highways including 360 two-lane kilometres of the Trans-Canada Highway through Banff, Yoho, Glacier, Mount Revelstoke and Terra Nova National Parks, 790 two-lane kilometres of highways through 8 provinces and one territory including the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton Island, and 224 highway bridges.

xiv Waterways, which support commercial and recreational boating as well as other recreational activities, include the Trent-Severn Waterway, the Rideau and Sault Ste. Marie canals in Ontario; the Carillon, Chambly, Lachine, Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue and Saint-Ours canals in Quebec; and the St. Peters canal in Nova Scotia.

xv Agency’s Future-Oriented Financial Statements

xvi Supplementary Tables

xvii Department of Finance’s Tax Expenditures and Evaluations publication

Notes en fin d’ouvrage

i Site internet de Parcs Canada

ii Action sur le Terrain est une initiative de l'Agence qui comprend une variété de projets de restauration et de gestion active, visant les enjeux prioritaires en matière d'intégrité écologique dans les Parcs visés. Des exemples de restauration écologique actuellement en cours incluent l'amélioration de la connectivité des bassins versants, le contrôle des espèces envahissantes, la restauration des habitats pour les espèces en péril ainsi que l'amélioration de la qualité de l'eau dans les écosystèmes aquatiques qui contribuent tous à l'amélioration de l'intégrité écologique.

iii Information sur les résultats du gouvernement du Canada

iv Budget principal des dépenses 2013-2014

v Renseignements supplémentaires sur les activités de l’Agence pour soutenir le développement durable

vi Site internet d’Environnement Canada

vii Rapport sur le rendement de l’Agence Parcs Canada 2011-2012

viii État des lieux naturels et historiques du Canada

ix Section de la Bibliothèque du site internet de Parcs Canada

x Renseignements sur le programme Xplorateurs

xi Renseignements sur le programme Initiation au camping

xii Ces lotissements urbains sont ceux de Field, dans le parc national du Canada Yoho, en Colombie-Britannique; de Lake Louise, dans le parc national du Canada Banff, en Alberta; de Wasagaming, dans le parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding, au Manitoba; de Waskesiu, dans le parc national du Canada de Prince Albert, en Saskatchewan; et de Waterton, dans le parc national du Canada des Lacs-Waterton, en Alberta. Deux autres lotissements urbains, soit ceux de Banff et Jasper, jouissent de l’autonomie gouvernementale depuis 1990 et 2002, respectivement. Parcs Canada conserve toutefois le pouvoir d’approbation des plans et de la réglementation communautaires de Banff, de même que des plans communautaires et de la planification et de l’aménagement du territoire de Jasper.

xiii Les autoroutes gérées par Parcs Canada se composent de 1 150 kilomètres d’autoroute à deux voies, dont 360 kilomètres à travers l’autoroute Transcanadienne dans les parcs nationaux de Banff, Yoho, des Glaciers, du Mont-Revelstoke, et de Terra Nova; et 790 kilomètres de routes à deux voies à travers 8 provinces et un territoire incluant le Cabot Trail sur l’île du Cap-Breton, et 224 ponts d’autoroute.

xiv Les voies navigables, qui soutiennent la navigation commerciale et de plaisance, ainsi que d’autres activités récréatives, comprennent la voie navigable Trent-Severn, le canal Rideau et le canal de Sault Ste. Marie en Ontario, le canal de Carillon, le canal de Chambly, le canal de Lachine, le canal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue et le canal de Saint-Ours au Québec, et le canal de St. Peters en Nouvelle-écosse.

xv États financiers prospectifs de l’Agence

xvi Tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires

xvii Rapport Dépenses fiscales et évaluations publié par le ministère des Finances