The path to reconciliation begins with strong engagement and relationship building between Indigenous peoples, the Government of Canada and all Canadians.

In 2015, Parks Canada adopted the following “PARKS” guiding principles, as outlined in Promising Pathways, to provide a consistent approach for Indigenous engagement and relationship building across the heritage places administered by Parks Canada:

A visitor and Parks Canada interpreter with a local guide at camp site in Tuktut Nogait National Park.
  • Partnership: Working collaboratively in heritage place planning, management, and operations
  • Accessible: Encouraging access to traditional lands and traditional activities
  • Respectful: Building mutual respect, trust and understanding
  • Knowledge-based: Honouring and incorporating traditional knowledge
  • Supportive: Supporting Indigenous partners’ community interests

This approach is founded in the belief that Indigenous people must have access to places where they can continue to practice traditional activities and transmit their knowledge to the younger generation. The Agency is confident that stronger relationships will lead to better heritage place management and to healthier Indigenous communities.

Request a copy of Promising Pathways

More information, including examples from Parks Canada projects, can be found in Promising Pathways, a resource guide for Parks Canada team members and those building and managing relationships with Indigenous peoples.

To receive a PDF copy of the document, email information@pc.gc.ca.

Le chemin de la réconciliation commence par un engagement fort et l’établissement de relations entre les peuples autochtones, le Gouvernement du Canada et la population canadienne.

En 2015, Parcs Canada a adopté les principes directeurs suivants, énoncés dans le document « Des parcours à découvrir », afin de suivre une approche cohérente pour l’engagement des Autochtones et l’établissement de relations avec eux dans tous les lieux patrimoniaux gérés par Parcs Canada :

Un visiteur et une guide interprète de Parcs Canada avec un guide local au camp de base dans le parc national Tuktut Nogait.
  • Partenariat : travailler en collaboration pour la planification, la gestion et l’opération des aires patrimoniales.
  • Accessible : encourager l'accès aux terres traditionnelles et aux activités traditionnelles.
  • Respect : forger des liens de respect mutuel, de confiance et de compréhension.
  • Connaissance : honorer et intégrer le savoir traditionnel.
  • Soutien : soutenir les intérêts communautaires des partenaires autochtones.

Cette approche est fondée sur la croyance dont les Autochtones doivent avoir accès aux lieux dans lesquels ils peuvent continuer de pratiquer leurs activités traditionnelles et transmettre leurs connaissances aux jeunes générations. À l’Agence, nous sommes convaincus que des liens plus forts mèneront à de meilleures gestions des lieux patrimoniaux et des communautés autochtones plus saines.

Demandez une copie de Des parcours à découvrir

Des renseignements additionnels, ainsi que des exemples de projets de Parcs Canada, peuvent être trouvés dans le document intitulé « Des parcours à découvrir ». Ce dernier est un guide destiné aux membres de l’équipe de Parcs Canada et à toutes les personnes qui établissent et qui entretiennent les relations avec les peuples autochtones.

Si vous désirez recevoir une copie PDF du document, s’il vous plait, communiquez avec information@pc.gc.ca.