The Rouge National Urban Park Outreach and Education team is out and about in the communities surrounding the park! We promote the Rouge and Parks Canada places, provide education on various environmental themes, and foster the connection between the public and the environment.

The Outreach and Education team will be attending events in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) in 2019. Be sure to check back to see when we will be in your neighbourhood!

Pop-ups

You can find the Rouge outreach booth at various events and locations in the GTA. The booth and material may vary depending on the location, including features such as Parks Canada information and brochures, green screen photos, and interactive activities and exhibits.

 


April

Saturday, April 27 - Take Pride in Pickering , Earth Day Celebration (1565 Winville Road, Pickering), 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Sunday, April 28 - 10,000 Trees for the Rouge, Annual Spring Planting (GOOGLE MAP), 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM     **Register here

June

Saturday, June 1 - Unionville Festival 50th Anniversary

Sunday, June 2 - Unionville Festival 50th Anniversary

Friday, June 7 – World Oceans day, Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday, June 12 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday, June 13 -Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday, June 19 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday, June 20 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday, June 26 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday, June 27 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

July

Wednesday, July 3 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday, July 4 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday, July 10 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday, July 11 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday, July 17 – CBC Kids Day, CBC Toronto (250 Front Street West, Toronto) 10:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Thursday, July 18 – CBC Kids Day, CBC Toronto (250 Front Street West, Toronto) 10:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Tuesday, July 23 – Pickering Farmers’ Market (1355 Kingston Rd, Pickering), 9:00 AM – 4:30 PM

Wednesday, July 24 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday, July 25 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto) 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday, July 27 – Guild Alive With Culture and Arts Festival (201 Guildwood Parkway, Toronto) 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday, July 28 – Guild Alive With Culture and Arts Festival (201 Guildwood Parkway, Toronto) 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday, July 31 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

August

Thursday, August 1 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday August 1 - Toronto Zoo (2000 Meadowvale Rd, Toronto), 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Saturday August 3 - Withrow’s Farmer’s Market (725 Logan Ave, Toronto), 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM

Wednesday, August 7 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday, August 8 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday August 9 - Stouffville Country Ribfest, Memorial Park (2 Park Dr, Whitchurch-Stouffville), 12:00 Pm – 10:00 PM

Saturday August 10 - Stouffville Country Ribfest, Memorial Park (2 Park Dr, Whitchurch-Stouffville), 11:00 AM – 10:00 PM

Sunday, August 11 - Stouffville Country Ribfest, Memorial Park (2 Park Dr, Whitchurch-Stouffville), 11:00 AM – 7:00 PM

Wednesday, August 14 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday, August 15 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday, August 21 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday, August 22 - Ripley’s Aquarium (288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday August 24 - Tamilfest (South of Markham Rd and Steeles Ave E, Toronto), 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Sunday August 25 - Tamilfest (South of Markham Rd and Steeles Ave E, Toronto), 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday August 29 - Dufferin Grove’s Farmers Market (875 Dufferin St, Toronto), 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

October

Sunday October 6 - Highland Creek Salmon Festival (Morningside Park, Scarborough), 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

December

Sunday December 1 - Christmas in the Village (Pickering Museum Village, 2365 Concession Rd 6, Greenwood, Pickering), 11:30 AM – 4:00 PM



*Event admission fees may apply

 

Programming and Presentations

 height=
Our free programming includes 1 hour presentations that help participants learn about Parks Canada and Rouge National Urban Park. These presentations cover a variety of topics such as Parks Canada sites across Canada, species at risk, resource conservation, and activities you can do while enjoying our sites! The programming and presentations take place in many public libraries and community centres across the GTA, and are suitable for all ages.

Available topics:

Creation of Canada’s First National Urban Park
Canada’s first national urban park is located right in our backyard in the GTA! Learn how Rouge National Urban Park is a unique model for environmental protection in an urban setting and how Parks Canada protects and conserves the natural, cultural, and agricultural heritage of the Rouge.

Importance of Canada’s National Parks
There are 46 national parks to discover across Canada. Each national park plays an important role in protecting and conserving the environment in Canada and our planet. Learn about current efforts that Parks Canada is doing to protect species at risk, habitats, and ecosystems.

March

Rouge National Urban Park’s Detective Workshop: Animal Clues

Tuesday, March 12 - Angus Glen Library (3990 Major Mackenzie Drive, Markham), 10:00-11:00 AM

Tuesday, March 12 - Milliken Mills Library (7600 Kennedy Road, Unit 1, Markham), 1:00-2:00 PM

Thursday, March 14 - Markham Village Library (6031 Highway 7 East, Markham), 10:30–11:30 AM

Thursday, March 14 - Aaniin Library (5665 14th Avenue, Markham), 1:00–2:00 PM

April

The Creation of Canada's First National Urban Park

Tuesday, April 9 - Gladstone Hotel (1214 Queen Street West, Toronto) 6:30-8:30 PM (REGISTER HERE)

July

Rouge National Urban Park’s Detective Workshop: Animal Clues

Wednesday July 24 –Aaniin Public Library (5665 14th Ave, Markham) 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Wetland Connections Workshop

Wednesday, July 24 –Markham Village Public Library (5665 14th Ave, Markham) 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM

August

Invasive Species: Friend or Foe?

Tuesday August 6 – Cornell Public Library (3201 Bur Oak Ave, Markham), 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM

Reptiles or Amphibians Workshop

Tuesday August 6 – Unionville Public Library (15 Library Ln, Unionville), 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Rouge National Urban Park’s Detective Workshop: Animal Clues

Tuesday, August 20 – Fort York Toronto Public Library (190 Fort York Blvd, Toronto), 10:00 AM – 11:00 PM



For more information about the Outreach and Education program or if you would like to request a presentation, workshop, or event booth, please contact our Public Outreach and Education Officer at mandy.huynh@canada.ca.