Canadian Heritage Rivers System

The Canadian Heritage Rivers System (CHRS) was established in 1984 to give national recognition to the important rivers of Canada. It is a co-operative program between the federal and provincial / territorial governments to conserve the features and heritage values of significant rivers.

River bend
River bend
© Parks Canada / J.W.Borcoman

Each government participates on the Canadian Heritage Rivers Board to review nominations and oversee the system. For a river to be included in the system it must be of outstanding significance in one or more areas: human history, natural history, or recreational value. The river must also be managed to protect and enhance its heritage resources for the benefit and enjoyment of future Canadians.

The total length of the rivers included in the system is more than 10000 km. Since its creation in 1984, the program has become the fastest growing river conservation program in the world.

The South Nahanni River was designated a Heritage River in 1987.

Here is more about the Canadian Heritage Rivers System .