The lighthouse keeper’s house

A red and white house near Pointe-au-Père lighthouse

Built in 1956, the lighthouse keeper’s house was home to both the keeper and his family until 1988.

It is a square-shaped, two-storey wooden house topped with a wood-shingled hip roof.

It evokes a more recent phase in the history of the lighthouse station. Today, the building houses exhibits.

The engineer’s house

White and red house with a white fence

This house was built in 1905 for the fog alarm engineer but later became the home of the lighthouse keeper and then of the keeper’s assistant (1956 to 1980).

It is a two-storey wooden house, topped with a gambrel roof with drip mouldings on the downslope, wood shingle cladding, and three gabled dormer windows. Its gambrel roof makes it unique among other lighthouse buildings in Canada. In Quebec, it is the only remaining house of its kind.

It is one of the very rare examples of lightkeepers’ houses built in the early 20th century.

Fog alarm shed

White and red building

Built in 1903, the fog alarm shed is the lighthouse station’s oldest extant structure. It recalls the role that the station played in testing various sound signals prior to their implementation at other stations in Canada.

In this building, visitors may view an impressive portion of the period diaphone as well as an exhibit explaining how various former and current sound signals function.