Facilities and services
Parking at Fort Anne accommodates single vehicles and a limited number of buses. Alternate parking is also available near the Farmer's Market on Lower St. George Street and on St. George Street itself.
Accessible public washrooms are available near the Officers' Quarters museum.
The museum and washrooms are accessible. The perimeter walking trail, constructed of packed crushed slate is designed to accommodate wheelchairs.
Officers' Quarters Museum
The 1797 Officers' Quarters was extensively renovated in the 1930s. It is now a museum featuring the Fort Anne Heritage Tapestry, a unique 8ft x 18ft (2.4m x 5.5m) work of needlepoint crafted by over 100 volunteers, which tell the last 400 years of the area's history.
Learn about the guided and self-guided tours available at Fort Anne on our "Things to Do" page.
Perimeter Walking Trail
The fortifications at Fort Anne are based on a raised earthen wall in the shape of a star. A short trail following this wall affords an excellent view of the fortifications, as well as the Annapolis River and Basin. This accessible walking trail is approximately ½ kilometre long.
The perimeter trail provides easy access to an excellent view of the Annapolis River and basin. On a clear day it is possible to see to Digby, 30 km down river.