Dairy Technology Annex #57
Recognized Federal Heritage Building
Ottawa, Ontario
General view
© Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food / Ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire, P. Armstrong.
Address :
Central Experimental Farm National Historic Site, Ottawa, Ontario
Recognition Statute:
Treasury Board Policy on Management of Real Property
Designation Date:
1997-06-05
Dates:
-
1920 to 1920
(Construction)
-
1952 to 1952
(Significant)
Event, Person, Organization:
-
R.C. Wright
(Architect)
-
C.G. Brault
(Architect)
-
Department of Public Works
(Architect)
Custodian:
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
FHBRO Report Reference:
96-136
DFRP Number:
08625 00
Description of Historic Place
The Dairy Technology Annex, also known as Building 57, is located at the Central Experimental Farm National Historic Site of Canada in Ottawa. The building consists of a domestic, two-storey, stucco-clad, hipped-gable roof structure that is connected by an enclosed breezeway to a modern, flat-roofed brick building. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.
Heritage Value
The Dairy Technology Annex is a Recognized Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.
Historical Value
The Dairy Technology Annex illustrates the Government of Canada’s development of the experimental farm system and its role in agricultural research and education. The building is associated with the work of both Dr. Alan Lochhead, Chief of the newly formed Division of Bacteriology and Dairy Research in 1937, and the work of Dr. Cyril Kay Johns, a distinguished bacteriologist and dairy scientist, who became Director of the Dairy Research Institute in 1959. The building also illustrates the role of the farm service in assuring the success of western settlement by determining which crops and breeds had the best chance of survival in the extreme Canadian climate. The 1952 addition typifies the post-Second World War construction boom in response to unprecedented population growth and economic prosperity. The corresponding rapid expansion of the Canadian government necessitated an increase in facilities to accommodate a growing civil service.
Architectural Value
The Dairy Technology Annex is valued for its good aesthetic qualities. The original building is a picturesque interpretation of a farm structure, with its stucco-clad walls, hipped-gable roof and front verandah. The addition is in the International Style and has a red brick façade, horizontal bands of windows and stone accents. The good utilitarian plan of the interior includes offices, workrooms and laboratories. Good craftsmanship is evidenced in the exterior finishes including the stuccoed walls, masonry work and wood millwork.
Environmental Value
The Dairy Technology Annex is compatible with the agricultural character of its experimental farm setting and is a neighbourhood landmark at the farm.
Sources: Kate MacFarlane, Dairy Technology Building (No. 57), Central Experimental Farm, Ottawa, Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office, Building Report, 96-136; Dairy Technology Building, Building #57, Central Experimental Farm, Ottawa, Ontario, Heritage Character Statement, 96-136.
Character-Defining Elements
The character-defining elements of the Dairy Technology Annex should be respected.
Its good aesthetic design, good functional design and good materials and craftsmanship, for example: the complementary two-storey massing of the 1920s building and the 1950s flat-roofed addition; the vernacular features and materials of the 1920s building such as the stucco-clad walls, the wooden verandah, wood windows and the shingled, hipped-gable roof; the features of International Style and the materials of the addition such as the smooth red brick walls with stone masonry accents framing the horizontal bands of window; the utilitarian plan, which consists of offices, workrooms and laboratories and the circulation spine.
The manner in which the Dairy Technology Annex is compatible with the agricultural character of its experimental farm setting and is a neighbourhood landmark, as evidenced by: its overall composition, materials and details, which harmonize with the surrounding Central Experimental Farm buildings; its relationship to the adjacent structures such as the Horticulture Building (Building 55), the Storage Building (Building 56), the Small Dairy Barn and the Main Dairy Barn; its visibility, given its prominent location on the Driveway and its role as a component of the larger farm complex, which makes it familiar to visitors and employees.
Heritage Character Statement
Disclaimer -
The heritage character statement was developed by FHBRO to explain the reasons for the designation of a federal heritage building and what it is about the building that makes it significant (the heritage character). It is a key reference document for anyone involved in planning interventions to federal heritage buildings and is used by FHBRO in their review of interventions.
The original two-storey, stucco-clad Dairy Technology Building (Building No. 57) at the Central Experimental Farm was built in 1920. Plans were prepared in-house by the Department of Public Works (DPW) under Chief Architect R. C. Wright (1860-1927). 'Messrs. Taylor & Lackey' of Ottawa were awarded the construction contract. The large brick addition was constructed in 1952. These plans were also prepared by DPW under Chief Architect C. G. Brault (1886-1954). No contractor has been identified for this work. The current occupant is the Agriculture Canada Research Branch, Food Research Centre. Agriculture Canada is the custodian of the Central Experimental Farm National Historic Site. See FHBRO Building Report 96-136.
Reasons For Designation
The Dairy Technology Building at the Central Experimental Farm has been designated Recognized for its environmental integrity, as well as for its historical and architectural values.
The Dairy Technology Building is on the Driveway, a roadway passing west to east through the Farm. The building is occupied and is on its original site. Its historic relationship with the Horticulture Building (No.55) and the Storage Building (No.56), as well as with the Small Dairy Barn and the Main Dairy Barn south of the Driveway, has been maintained. The Dairy Technology Building's landmark value is as a component of the larger farm complex situated on the Driveway.
The original 1920s building is associated with the work of Dr. Alan Lochhead, who was appointed Dominion Bacteriologist in 1927 and became Chief of the newly formed Division of Bacteriology and Dairy Research in 1937. Similarly, the 1952 portion is associated with Dr. Cyril Kay Johns, a distinguished bacteriologist and dairy scientist, who held the post of Senior Bacteriologist in 1953 and Director of the Dairy Research Institute in 1959.
Canada's experimental farm system was inaugurated on June 2, 1886. The enactment of legislation authorized the establishment of five farms, one of which, the Central
Experimental Farm at Ottawa, was to be the principal station. The Dairy Technology Building illustrates the role of research, which, with education, comprise the major functions of Canada's experimental farm system.
Both the 1920 and 1952 portions of the Dairy Technology Building represent distinct phases in the history of federal government construction. The decade between 1910 and 1920 was one of concentrated growth within the Dominion Experimental Farm Service. Immigration to western Canada rose sharply in the early years of this century. The farm service therefore had a major role to play in assuring the success of western settlement by determining which crops and breeds had the best chance of survival in the extreme Canadian climate. The 1952 addition typifies the post-World War II construction boom. In response to unprecedented population growth and economic prosperity, the rapid expansion of the Canadian government necessitated an increase in facilities to accommodate the growing civil service.
Character Defining Elements
The heritage character of the Dairy Technology Building resides primarily in its role as a component of the farm operation. The overall massing of the structure is irregular and stylistically incongruous. The complex consists of the original 1920s stucco-clad building, the large 1952 brick addition and various smaller additions.
The original 1920s building is vernacular and utilitarian in design. In keeping with the then-popular architectural revival styles, it is a picturesque interpretation of a farm structure, with its stucco-clad walls, hipped-gable roof and front verandah. Despite several small additions and infills, the massing of the original structure can be distinguished: a two-storey front block and a one-storey rear pavilion connected by an enclosed breezeway. The goal of any future work should be to maintain or improve the clarity of the 1920s structure, according to the original design intent. The possibility of reinstating the former long verandah according to its original appearance could be investigated at such time.
Stylistically, the 1952 addition is unrelated to the original structure. Its design is inspired by the International Style, as were many Department of Public Works designs of the early 1950s. Typical features include the red brick walls with accents of natural or artificial stone at the windows and doors. The design emphasizes the fenestration's horizontal banding. The plan is utilitarian: a side entrance and circulation spine on the ground floor lead up to a central, double-loaded corridor on the second floor. Maintaining these simple features will preserve the modern character of the International Style design.
Keeping the building's original exterior finishes consistent with its stylistic precedents would be appropriate. For the original 1920s building, this would entail maintaining the stuccoed walls, shingled roof and wood millwork including the porch. For the later 1952 addition, the red brick walls, stone masonry accents and flat roof should be maintained. By retaining the wood windows and fenestration pattern corresponding to each portion, the distinct character of each would be further enhanced.
The interior consists of a mix of offices, workrooms and laboratories. These uses are consistent with the original design intent. Because of the residential scale, particularly in the original 1920s portion, Agriculture Canada has concluded that the heavy chemistry laboratories are an inappropriate use for the building since specialized containment and mechanical systems are required. The industrial character of the 1952 addition makes its current uses, of pilot plant and standard chemistry laboratory, appropriate functions. Retaining the office, workroom and standard-intensity laboratory functions would be appropriate.
Any changes to the grounds should be carefully considered to ensure that the traditional site relationships between the Horticulture Building and the Storage and the Dairy Technology Buildings are maintained. As well, its visual presence on the Driveway should not be diminished.
For further guidance, please refer to the FHBRO Code of Practice.