This Week in History

Ernest MacMillan: Canada's Musical Knight

For the Week of Monday, August 13, 2018.

On August 18, 1893, conductor and composer Ernest MacMillan was born in a suburb of Toronto to Alexander and Wilhelmina MacMillan.

Ernest Macmillan in 1946
© Library Archives Canada

His father, a Presbyterian minister, encouraged Ernest to learn to play the organ, a central part of any Sunday service. He displayed remarkable talent that impressed his teachers. When he was just 10 years old, Ernest first performed at Toronto’s Massey Hall. In 1905 his father took a sabbatical in Scotland, where Ernest studied music at the University of Edinburgh. By the sixth month of classes, the 14-year-old passed a very difficult exam, which many more senior students fail, earning the Associateship of the Royal College of Organists.

MacMillan was attending the Wagner Festival in Bayreuth, Germany, when the First World War began. He was arrested by German forces and imprisoned as an enemy alien at the Ruhleben internment camp, near Berlin, until 1918. While in prison, he composed England: An Ode in 1918, which he used towards his doctorate at Oxford University that same year.

MacMillan’s Toronto Symphony Orchestra with the Conservatory Choir and the Beethoven Choral Symphony at Massey Hall in 1933
© Library Archives Canada

Returning to Toronto in 1919, MacMillan served as organist and choirmaster at the Timothy Eaton Memorial Church until 1925. Two years later, he became dean of the Faculty of Music at the University of Toronto. A great musical talent, he was a natural successor to conductor Luigi von Kunits, who led the Toronto Symphony Orchestra until his death in 1931. The first performance conducted by MacMillan began with the funeral march movement from Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3, as a tribute to Kunits.

MacMillan served as conductor of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra for 25 years and worked to generate financial support for Massey Hall, which helped save the building from demolition during the Great Depression. The hall reopened in 1933 and thereafter served as the usual venue for the Toronto Symphony Orchestra until the opening of Roy Thomson Hall in 1982.

In 1935, King George V awarded MacMillan with a knighthood. By the time of his retirement in 1951, he had significantly increased the number of annual Toronto Symphony Orchestra performances and had attracted many renowned international musicians to the city.

Ernest MacMillan is a designated national historic person and Massey Hall is a national historic site.

Parks Canada launched This Week In History 20 years ago! Check out @ParksCanada and visit Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada website.

Date Modified:

Cette semaine en histoire

Ernest MacMillan : chevalier musicien au Canada

Pour la semaine du lundi le 13 août 2018.

Le 18 août 1893, Ernest MacMillan, futur chef d’orchestre et compositeur, vient au monde en banlieue de Toronto. Il est le fils d’Alexander et de Wilhelmina MacMillan.

Ernest Macmillan en 1946
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Alexander, qui est ministre presbytérien, encourage le jeune Ernest à apprendre à toucher l’orgue, instrument essentiel à toute messe dominicale. Ses professeurs sont impressionnés par ses talents remarquables. Dès l’âge de 10 ans, Ernest se produit pour la première fois sur la scène du Massey Hall à Toronto. En 1905, son père prend une année sabbatique en Écosse, où Ernest étudie la musique à l’Université d’Édimbourg. Six mois après la rentrée scolaire, l’adolescent de 14 ans réussit un examen très difficile qu’échouent beaucoup d’étudiants de cycle supérieur. Il se voit alors décerner un diplôme pour le niveau d’associé par le Collège royal canadien des organistes.

MacMillan assiste au Festival Wagner de Bayreuth, en Allemagne, lorsque la Première Guerre mondiale éclate. Il est arrêté par les soldats allemands et détenu en tant que sujet d’un pays ennemi au camp de Ruhleben, près de Berlin, où il demeure jusqu’en 1918. Pendant qu’il est emprisonné, il compose « England: An Ode » en 1918, et la présente à l’Université d’Oxford pour obtenir son doctorat.

Orchestre symphonique de Toronto avec MacMillan, la chorale du conservatoire et la chorale de la symphonie de Beethoven, au Massey Hall en 1933
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

En 1919, MacMillan regagne Toronto et assume les fonctions d’organiste et de chef de chœur à l’église Timothy Eaton Memorial, jusqu’en 1925. Deux ans plus tard, il devient doyen de la Faculté de musique de l’Université de Toronto. Doté d’un immense talent, il succède naturellement à Luigi von Kunits, chef de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, à sa mort en 1931. En hommage à Kunits, MacMillan dirige sa première prestation avec le mouvement de la marche funèbre tiré de la Symphonie n° 3 de Beethoven.

MacMillan dirige l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto durant 25 ans et se consacre à obtenir un soutien financier pour la salle Massey Hall, ce qui sauve le théâtre de la démolition pendant la Dépression. Le Massey Hall rouvre en 1933 et devient la principale salle d’attache de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto jusqu’à l’ouverture du Roy Thomson Hall, en 1982.

En 1935, le roi Georges V confère à MacMillan le titre de chevalier. Lorsqu’il prend sa retraite en 1951, il a considérablement augmenté le nombre de prestations données par l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, et a attiré plusieurs musiciens de renommée internationale dans la métropole.

Ernest MacMillan a le statut de personne d’importance historique nationale et le Massey Hall est un lieu historique national.

Parcs Canada a lancé Cette semaine en histoire il y a vingt ans! Consultez notre fil Twitter @ParcsCanada et visitez la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Date de modification :