Planifiez votre visite

Expériences à découvrir dans le Nord canadien

Intéressé à :

Hors des sentiers battus

Vous n'avez pas froid aux yeux? Faites plaisir à l'explorateur en vous! Rendez vous au bout du monde, dans les régions les plus éloignées du Canada. Découvrez les paysages d'une région vaste et sauvage : le Nord canadien. Vous n'aurez jamais rien vu de tel! Imaginez-vous skier au sommet de montagnes inexplorées, pagayer en eau vive ou explorer la toundra sauvage. L'aventure à l'état pur!


Affrontez les rapides © Parcs Canada

Affrontez les rapides

Vous voulez vivre une expérience exaltante dans des paysages spectaculaires? Que diriez-vous d'une aventure hors du commun dans l'Arctique? Osez affronter les eaux fougueuses de la rivière Firth! Vous traverserez des millions d'acres de montagnes, de toundra et de cours d'eau translucide. Venez découvrir un milieu sauvage comme peu d'autres l'ont fait avant vous! Cette excursion vous laissera un souvenir impérissable!
D'autres activités au Parc national Ivvavik


Découverte d'un trésor caché © Parcs Canada

Découverte d'un trésor caché

Découvrez l'esprit du parc national Vuntut en vous plongeant dans un paysage préhistorique antérieur à la dernière époque glaciaire. Dans la chaude lumière dorée du soleil de minuit, voyez la vie surgir de la toundra estivale. Ici poussent des fleurs sauvages et des plantes rares, comme à l'époque de la Béringie.
D'autres activités au Parc national Vuntut


Mystères d'un territoire ancien © D. Haggarty

Mystères d'un territoire ancien

Réveillez-vous au son apaisant de la rivière Nahanni Sud. Observez une femelle orignal et ses petits s'abreuver tranquillement au bord de l'eau et entendez le castor battre sa queue à la surface. Osez affronter les puissants rapides George's Riffle, vaincus par de nombreux pagayeurs chevronnés et admirez les profonds canyons de la rivière Nahanni Sud, auxquels les Dénés attachent une importance toute particulière.
D'autres activités à la Réserve de parc national Nahanni


Au sommet du monde © Parcs Canada

Au sommet du monde

Parcourez un territoire inhabité, que peu d'humains ont exploré. Skiez jusqu'au mont Barbeau, le sommet le plus élevé à l'est des Rocheuses. Repoussez vos limites : découvrez l'île Ward Hunt, là où
la glace marine rencontre le point le plus au nord du continent. De là, partez pour une aventure de 700 kilomètres qui vous mènera directement au pôle Nord, en passant par des crêtes de pression et la calotte polaire.
D'autres activités au Parc national Quttinirpaaq


À la recherche du passage du Nord-Ouest © J.F. Bisaillon

À la recherche du passage du Nord-Ouest

Remontez le cours de l'histoire en franchissant « l'endroit où les gens voyagent ». Découvrez plus de trois millénaires du passé des peuples autochtones et les effets de près de 200 ans de mésaventures et d'explorations européennes. Au gré des randonnées dans la toundra ondulante, des excursions en canot dans les méandres de la rivière Thomsen ou des croisières le long des côtes, imaginez ce qu'ont vécu les hommes qui ont cherché le fameux passage.
D'autres activités au Parc national Aulavik


Des moments uniques

Découvrez les merveilles spectaculaires du Nord! Laissez-vous éblouir par la lumière du soleil de minuit. Voyez un pingo s'élever dans la vaste toundra. Traversez le cercle polaire arctique. Mêlez-vous aux boeufs musqués, dont le long pelage est si particulier. Ces expériences incomparables en région nordique vous laisseront un souvenir impérissable!


Entrez dans le cercle! © C. Kimber

Entrez dans le cercle!

Une journée de randonnée ou un tour en motoneige dans le parc national Auyuittuq, en passant par Pangnirtung, suffisent pour atteindre le cercle polaire arctique! Ici il fait nuit tout l'hiver et il fait jour tout l'été. Franchissez le col d'Akshayuk, un passage naturel de montagnes et de glace et une route plusieurs fois centenaire pour les Inuits. Photographiez l'inukshuk qui sert de balise ou inventez votre propre rituel pour célébrer votre aventure inoubliable.
D'autres activités au Parc national Auyuittuq


L'une des dernières grandes migrations © R. Larsen

L'une des dernières grandes migrations

Éveillez-vous au son exquis des sabots des caribous porté par l'air vivifiant des matins de l'été boréal, et balayez l'horizon du regard pour apercevoir ces bêtes magnifiques qui franchissent par milliers les cols et les vallées. Votre coeur battra la chamade et vous saurez alors que vous êtes l'un des rares privilégiés à pouvoir apprécier ce spectacle sans pareil!
D'autres activités aux Parcs nationaux Vuntut et Ivvavik


Là où le soleil ne se couche jamais © Parcs Canada

Là où le soleil ne se couche jamais

Vous pouvez lire sur le sujet, regarder des photos, l'imaginer, mais rien ne peut vraiment vous préparer au spectacle du soleil de minuit! En canot, en randonnée ou en camping, à trois heures du matin vous sourirez au soleil de la nuit arctique. Réglez l'horloge de votre appareil photo avant de déclencher, sinon qui vous croira?
D'autres activités aux Parcs nationaux du Nord canadien: Auyuittuq | SirmilikQuttinirpaaq | Ukkusiksalik | Aulavik | Ivvavik | Tuktut Nogait | Nahanni


Vous aurez été prévenu © YG / Akinson

Vous aurez été prévenu

Flânez sur les trottoirs en bois de Dawson City. Regardez par les fenêtres des maisons abandonnées. Écoutez des récits sur la misère, la gloire et l'héroïsme du Klondike, et bientôt l'histoire vous envoûtera.
Suivez un interprète costumé qui vous guidera dans cette ville fabuleuse où résonne encore la vive poésie de Robert Service, ou profitez des autres activités et expositions sur l'histoire et le charme de Dawson City.
D'autres activités au Lieu historique national du Complexe-Historique-de-Dawson


La piste Chilkoot © YG

La porte d'entrée du Yukon

Laissez-vous envahir par l'esprit de ceux qui ont eu le courage de survivre aux rigueurs de la nature sauvage du Nord. Suivez la piste Chilkoot, celle-là même qu'ont parcourue les négociants des Premières nations et les prospecteurs dans la ruée vers l'or du Klondike. Profitez des randonnées d'un jour et du camping avec parents et amis près des lacs alpins et dans les prés de la toundra au lac Bennet et à Lindeman.
D'autres activités au Lieu historique national de la Piste-Chilkoot


À couper le souffle

Venez au bout du monde et visitez les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada. Vous y verrez des paysages à couper le souffle : des formations géologiques inusitées; des falaises aux tons ocre, rouge, pourpre et brun; une toundra multicolore et une grande beauté sauvage. La nature offre des tableaux spectaculaires! Ce sont les plus grands parcs nationaux du Canada, et ils n'attendent que vous!


Un monde de sensations © R. Buchanan

Un monde de sensations

Parcourez ce paradis du randonneur avec ses toundras ondulantes et multicolores et ses innombrables sites qui témoignent d'une occupation humaine lointaine. Dans cette région où les heures l'ensoleillement s'étirent sans fin, votre marche vous mènera dans un décor magnifique de canyons et de gorges où tous vos sens seront sollicités. Voilà le monde de Tuktut Nogait, le pays du jeune caribou.
D'autres activités au Parc national Tuktut Nogait


Vous n'en reviendrez pas! © YG/F. Mueller

Vous n'en reviendrez pas!

Si vous mourez d'envie d'explorer la beauté sauvage des grands espaces canadiens, le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane sont tout indiqués. Territoire des Tutchones du Sud pendant des millénaires, ces montagnes, ces lacs, ces rivières et ces forêts vous invite à découvrir leur culture traditionnelle et leur mode de vie. La région offre une gamme d'activités, de la randonnée contemplative en terrain plat aux ventures dans les montagnes sauvages de l'arrière-pays.
D'autres activités au Parc national Kluane


La grande vie dans le Grand Nord © C. McDonald

La grande vie dans le Grand Nord

Debout sur le rivage, dans la brume matinale, observez le bison des bois, le canard, le cygne et l'oie venus se nourrir tout près du nid de la grue blanche d'Amérique, menacée de disparition. Dans l'immensité du delta intérieur d'eau douce Paix-Athabasca, vous serez éblouis par la vitalité sans cesse renouvelée de cette nature boréale, ces paysages à couper le souffle et la culture fascinante des habitants.
D'autres activités au Parc national Wood Buffalo


Un monde de glaciers et de diversité © Parcs Canada

Un monde de glaciers et de diversité

Préparez-vous à découvrir plus de 70 espèces d'oiseaux, 21 espèces de mammifères marins et terrestres et 360 types de plantes. Vous serez émerveillés par cette faune et cette flore impressionnantes dans ce décor grandiose de glaciers et de montagnes! De l'observateur d'oiseaux à l'observateur de baleines, Sirmilik sait satisfaire ceux qui osent s'aventurer dans l'immensité de cette nature sauvage.
D'autres activités au Parc national Sirmilik


Offrez-vous les aurores boréales © L. Naraway

Offrez-vous les aurores boréales

Levez les yeux pour admirer un spectacle hors du commun. Le tourbillon des lumières vert pâle, rouge et pourpre dans l'obscurité naissante du ciel estival vous laissera bouche bée. Que ce soit sur le pont d'un navire de croisière ou à la porte de votre tente, vous serez aux premières loges pour apprécier le plus beau spectacle que le ciel nordique peut offrir.
D'autres activités aux Parcs nationaux du Nord du Canada : Auyuittuq | Ukkusiksalik | Aulavik | Tuktut Nogait | Nahanni | Wood Buffalo

Planning Your Visit

Experiences to discover in Northern Canada

Interested in:

Off the Beaten Path

Satisfy the explorer in you with a journey to the extreme corners of Canada! Discover landscapes of the vast and rugged north few have seen.... Trek to the end of the world. Picture yourself atop the mountains and ski to untouched peaks. Paddle wild waters. Hike untamed tundra. These are serious arctic adventures… not for the faint of heart!

A Raft on the Wild Side © Parks Canada

A Raft on the Wild Side

Looking for a unique thrill in new and spectacular surroundings? How about a remarkable Arctic adventure? Dare to raft the untamed waters of the Firth River! Travel through millions of acres of mountains, tundra and translucent waterways. Experience wildness like few others before you. You can count on it. This is THE wilderness journey of a lifetime!
Other activities in Ivvavik National Park


Yearn for Hidden Treasures © Parks Canada

Yearn for Hidden Treasures

Feel the spirit of Vuntut National Park as you immerse yourself in a prehistoric landscape that predates the last ice age. Stand in the warm golden light of the midnight sun and witness the explosion of life on the summer tundra. Here, arctic wildflowers and rare plants thrive as they did when this land was part of the Beringia Region.
Other activities in Vuntut National Park


Mysteries of an Ancient Land © D. Haggarty

Mysteries of an Ancient Land

Wake to the soothing sounds of the South Nahanni River. Watch a cow moose with her calf calmly drinking the waters. Hear a beaver smack its tail on the glistening surface. Marvel at the deep canyons, profoundly significant to the Dene people. Then tackle the mighty rapids of George's riffle previously conquered by many experienced paddlers. Have courage! The prize awaiting you is one of South Nahanni's stunning canyons.
Other activities in Nahanni National Park Reserve


To the Top of the World © Parks Canada

To the Top of the World

Discover a raw, freshly revealed land few humans have seen. Ski to Barbeau Peak, the highest point east of the Rockies. Push your limits and stand on Ward Hunt Island, the junction between sea ice and the last point of North America. Then trek from there to the North Pole, 700km farther over pressure ridges and the polar ice cap.
Other activities in Quttinirpaaq National Park


In Search of the Northwest Passage © J.F. Bisaillon

In Search of the Northwest Passage

Follow history's path as you move through the "Place People Travel". Discover 3,500 years of arctic peoples' past and the effect of nearly 200 years of European misadventures and explorations. As you hike the rolling tundra, paddle the meandering Thomsen River or watch the distant coast from a cruise ship, imagine the hardships and dramas of the men that sought the fabled passage.
Other activities in Aulavik National Park


Quest for Uniqueness

Discover the spectacular wonders of the northern world! Bask in the midnight light. See a pingo rising up from the flat tundra. Cross the Arctic Circle. Surround yourself by shaggy muskox. These matchless northern experiences will be cherished for a lifetime!


Make it Official © C. Kimber

Make it Official

Just a day hike or snow machine trip in Auyuittuq National Park via Pangnirtung takes you to the Arctic Circle! Here it's 24 hours of winter darkness and 24 hours of summer daylight. Follow Akshayuk Pass, a natural corridor between mountains and ice and a centuries-old Inuit route. Take a photo at the inuksuk marker or invent your own ritual to celebrate your remarkable journey.
Other activities in Auyuittuq National Park


One of the Last Few Great Migrations © R. Larsen

One of the Last Few Great Migrations

Be awakened to a crisp arctic summer morning by the exquisite clicking of distant caribou hooves. Scan the horizon and see thousands of caribou crossing mountains into river valleys. As your heart quickens at these majestic views, you'll know you are one of the privileged few to witness these sights and hear these sounds. It's a memory of a lifetime!
Vuntut and Ivvavik National Parks.
Other activities in Vuntut and Ivvavik National Parks


Never Ending Day Light © Parks Canada

Never Ending Day Light

You can read about it, see pictures of it, image it, but nothing will truly prepare you for the midnight light! Paddle. Hike. Camp. At three o'clock in the morning you'll be smiling as the sun still shines in the arctic night. Don't forget to set the time in the camera and take a picture! Otherwise, who will believe you?
National Parks in Canada's North.
Other activies in National Parks in Canada's North: Auyuittuq | Sirmilik | Quttinirpaaq | Ukkusiksalik | Aulavik | Ivvavik | Tuktut Nogait | Nahanni


Consider Yourself Warned © YG / B. Atkinson

Consider Yourself Warned

Stroll the wooden boardwalks of Dawson City. Gaze into windows of long-abandoned buildings. Hear Klondike stories of hardship, glory and heroism. You'll soon fall under the powerful spell of history. A costumed interpreter will guide you through this fabled town. Enjoy the lively poetry of Robert Service at his hillside Klondike cabin or choose other programs and exhibits portraying the wild history and charm of Dawson City.
Other activities at Dawson Historical Complex National Historic Site


Chilkoot Trail © YG

The Yukon Gateway

Let the spirit of people whose courage helped them survive the rugged northern wilderness inspire you. Visit the Chilkoot Trail, the same trek that tested First Nation traders and gold-hungry dreamers. Hike the trail and share the challenge of those who reached the Klondike. Or, simply enjoy day trips and camping with friends and family among the alpine lakes and tundra meadows at historic Bennett Lake and Lindeman City.
Other activities in Chilkoot Trail National Historic Site


Simply Breathtaking

Come to the end of the earth and visit Canada's northern National Parks and National Historic Sites. The views are simply breathtaking! Unexpected geological formations, cliffs of ochre, red, purple and brown, multicoloured tundra and endless wild beauty. Nature's palette is spectacular! These are the largest national parks in all of Canada and they are waiting for you to discover.


Stun Your Senses © R. Buchanan

Stun Your Senses

Trek through a glorious world of rolling hills and multicoloured tundra where countless sites bear testimony to the land's ancient human history. This is a hikers dream. Endless daylight will urge you forward through the immense landscape. You'll find all your senses stunned by magnificent canyons and gorges. This is the world of Tuktut Nogait, home of the young caribou.
Other activities in Tuktut Nogait National Park


Satisfy Your Northern Cravings © YG/F. Mueller

Satisfy Your Northern Cravings

If you yearn for the wild beauty of an unspoiled Canadian landscape, Kluane National Park and Reserve is for you. Explore mountains, lakes, rivers and forests that have been home to Southern Tutchone people for thousands of years and discover the heart of their traditional culture and way of life. From scenic hiking on gentle trails to backcountry adventures in the mountain wilderness, a variety of activities await you.
Other activities in Kluane National Park


Living Large in the North © C. McDonald

Living Large in the North

Feel a cool mist rising from the water. Stand on the shore and watch wood bison, ducks, swans and geese feed. Nearby, the endangered whooping crane nest. In this impressive expanse of the Peace-Athabasca Delta, the largest freshwater inland delta in northeastern Alberta. You'll experience the renewing force of this remote northern wilderness with its intricate landscapes and fascinating culture.
Other activities in Wood Buffalo National Park


Place of Glaciers. Land of Diversity © Parks Canada

Place of Glaciers. Land of Diversity

Prepare to see more than 70 bird species, 21 species of marine and terrestrial mammals and 360 different types of plants. This impressive range of flora and fauna combined with the magnificent landscapes of glaciers and mountains will astound you! From bird watching to whale watching, Sirmilik is guaranteed to satisfy those who dare to brave its magnificent, rugged wilderness.
Other activities in Sirmilik National Park


Witness the Aurora © L. Naraway

Witness the Aurora

Look up and see a dazzling panorama. Swirling bands of pale green, red and purple dancing across the darkening late summer sky will hold you spellbound. Watch from the bow of an expedition cruise ship or through the door of your tent. Whichever you prefer, find yourself a front row seat to nature's dramatic sky spectacle.
National Parks in Canada's North
Other activies in National Parks in Canada's North: Auyuittuq | Sirmilik | Quttinirpaaq | Ukkusiksalik | Aulavik | Ivvavik | Tuktut Nogait | Nahanni | Wood Buffalo