Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Parks of Canada

Research in National Parks

Parks Canada requires applied and basic research and monitoring activities to make responsible decisions in its management, planning and operating practices, as well as to broaden scientific understanding. Research activities are encouraged and managed to ensure that commemorative and ecological integrity are maintained.

If you are interested in conducting research in a national park, the on-line Research and Collection Permit System can help you.

Studies in National Parks

National parks act as long-term ecological research sites, serving as ecological benchmarks, for the study of natural environments and their components in a relatively undisturbed state. Park based research is not only of value in assisting park management and interpretation, but contributes to the growing body of scientific knowledge concerning our natural world. Scientific studies in parks are seen as increasingly important because they can help reveal changes occurring in ecosystems as a result of human intervention or nature. Over the last year, a range of studies have been carried out in Canada's national parks.

Here are a some highlights:

  • Park planning - Determination of best ecological boundaries for the establishment and management of Canadian national parks

    Planning is underway for a proposed National Park in the Interlake area of Manitoba. In order to assist in establishing a park with a size and configuration that takes into account a broad range of ecological considerations, a geographic-based analytical approach was used.

    The approach queries ecological databases to achieve:

    • adequate representation of terrestrial and aquatic ecological targets at regional, coarse and local scales - representation in terms of both the occurrence and spatial distribution of biological and physiographic features; and
    • maintenance of ecological and evolutionary processes. This project aims at developing new approaches based on landscape ecology principles to define ecological boundaries for protected areas.
  • Traditional Ecological Knowledge and the management of natural resources: Case studies from northern Canada

    A project aiming at exploring how the commitment of Aboriginal groups, academics, government and non-governmental organizations to using or integrating Traditional Ecological Knowledge (TEK) into the decision-making is affecting resource management was launched in 2002. Through 4-5 case studies, the way aboriginal systems of management and knowledge are shaping the management structures will be documented. The usage of TEK terminology, concepts and procedures in the decision making-process will also be addressed.

  • The Use of Science and Clam Management in Kouchibouguac National Park (NB)

    Research Coastal dunes at Kouchiguac National Park © Parks Canada / Dwyer, M / 04.41.03.01(15), 1970

    Since 1981, the local population around Kouchibouguac National Park of Canada (NB) have been allowed to practice traditional activities such as commercial fishing and soft shelled clam (Mya arenaria) harvesting in the park. Before 1993, no effective management system was in place to ensure the long term viability of the clam population under harvesting pressure. Clam population surveys conducted in 1993, 1994, and 1996 showed an overharvesting of the resource. Following those results, clam harvesting was banned for a two year period from 1997 to 1999, resulting in income loss for local harvesters. A new monitoring program collects data on clam beds during the surveys and also takes into consideration the traditional knowledge of local harvesters. Data are analyzed and mapped with a Geographic Information System (GIS), allowing the representation of clam beds with densities and age-class distribution. For the first time, managers have access to a spatial representation of clam beds. This method allows managers to implement a rotation type of harvesting by predicting, not only the beds ready for harvesting but also the recruitment level of each bed and therefore predict the year it could be open for harvest.

  • Advanced Very High Radiometric Resolution (AVHRR) Monitoring

    In 2001-2002, a project to use large scale satellite images to accomplish three monitoring goals (quantify plant community fragmentation, measure the interval in which ice disappears from large lakes, and identify sites of early vegetation green-up in the largely inaccessible northern parks) was launched. Meeting all of these goals will help us understand the roles of large scale disturbance and global warming on the ecological integrity of the national parks network.

  • Monitoring the population status of Peary caribou (Rangifer tarandus pearyi) on Ellesmere Island: factors affecting the current population level

    Over the past four decades, the Peary caribou (Rangifer tarandus pearyi) populations of the Queen Elizabeth Islands have suffered declines of more than 90%. The most recent drastic declines have been documented for Bathurst Island between 1994 and 1997 and the apparent cause of the decline has been attributed to severe winter and spring weather. An interdisciplinary project was launched in 2001-2002 to document Peary caribou population size and distribution in northern Ellesmere Island based on historical and more current data. The project also aims at identifying critical habitat/areas for Peary caribou using Advanced Very High Radiometric Resolution (AVHRR) satellite images (plant productivity indices). In parallel, the extent of population reduction will be assessed by genetic analysis (population bottlenecks).

  • Ecosystem Management-Coastal British Columbia Paleoecology: Land Sea Interactions

    A new research program was undertaken in 2001 to use paleoecological techniques to develop an understanding of the environmental factors governing ecosystem structure and the interplay among terrestrial, freshwater aquatic, and marine systems since the last continental glaciation. Emphasis is on understanding the structure and function of ecosystems prior to European settlement on the west coast of Canada and how it applies to issues pertaining to ecological integrity, biological conservation, and climate change. Changes in vegetation, aquatic organisms, and salmonid presence are examined using radiometrically dated sediment cores along the west coast of Canada and used as a measure of ecological integrity for Canada's protected areas.

  • Research in Northern National Parks

    The combined area of Canada’s national parks is just over 300,000 square kilometres, approximately the size of Italy. Most of this territory consists of roadless regions north of the 60th parallel and Parks Canada is responsible for monitoring these remote places. Learn more about research in northern national parks.

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Parcs nationaux du Canada

La recherche dans les parcs nationaux

Parcs Canada a besoin d'activités de recherche appliquée et fondamentale et d'activités de surveillance pour prendre des décisions éclairées en matière de gestion, de planification et d'exploitation et pour élargir les connaissances scientifiques. Les activités de recherche sont encouragées et gérées de façon à maintenir l'intégrité commémorative et écologique .

Si vous êtes intéressés à faire une recherche dans un parc national, le Système de demande de permis de recherche et de collecte en ligne vous sera utile.

Études dans les parcs nationaux

Les parcs nationaux sont, depuis longtemps, des lieux de recherche écologique qui servent de repères pour l'étude des milieux naturels et de leurs composantes dans un état relativement intact. La recherche qui se fait dans les parcs ne sert pas uniquement à la gestion des parcs et à l'interprétation, mais elle contribue aussi à enrichir les connaissances scientifiques concernant notre monde naturel. Les études scientifiques dans les parcs sont jugées de plus en plus importantes parce qu'elles peuvent révéler des changements qui se produisent dans les écosystèmes à la suite de l'intervention humaine ou d'un phénomène naturel. L'an dernier, diverses études ont été réalisées dans les parcs nationaux du Canada.

Voici les faits saillants de quelques-unes d'entre elles:

  • Planification des parcs - Détermination des meilleures limites écologiques pour l'établissement et la gestion des parcs nationaux du Canada

    On fait actuellement la planification d'un projet de parc national dans la région de l'interlac manitobain. Pour permettre d'établir un parc ayant une étendue et une forme qui tiennent compte d'un large éventail de considérations écologiques, on a utilisé une approche analytique fondée sur la géographie.

    L'approche consiste à consulter des bases de données écologiques pour :

    • avoir une représentation adéquate des objectifs écologiques terrestres et aquatiques aux échelles régionale, grossière et locale - représentation au chapitre de la présence et de la distribution spatiale des caractéristiques biologiques et physiographiques; et
    • maintenir les processus écologiques et évolutifs. Ce projet vise à développer de nouvelles approches fondées sur les principes de l'écologie du paysage pour définir les limites écologiques des aires protégées.
  • Savoir écologique traditionnel et gestion des ressources naturelles : études de cas dans le Nord du Canada

    Un projet visant à examiner l'incidence sur la gestion des ressources de l'engagement des groupes autochtones, des établissements d'enseignement, des gouvernements et des organisations non gouvernementales à utiliser ou intégrer le savoir écologique traditionnel dans le processus décisionnel a été lancé en 2002. Quatre ou cinq études de cas permettront de documenter la façon dont les systèmes de gestion et le savoir autochtone façonnent les structures de gestion. L'utilisation de la terminologie, des concepts et des procédures du savoir écologique traditionnel dans le processus décisionnel sera également examinée.

  • La science et la gestion des myes au parc national Kouchibouguac (NB.)
    Dunes côtières Dunes côtières au parc national de Kouchibouguac © Parcs Canada / Dwyer, M / 04.41.03.01(15), 1970

    Depuis 1981, la population des environs du parc national Kouchibouguac du Canadapeut s'adonner à des activités traditionnelles comme la pêche commerciale et la cueillette de myes (Mya arenaria) dans le parc. Avant 1993, il n'y avait aucun système de gestion efficace pour assurer la viabilité à long terme de la population de myes faisant l'objet d'une cueillette intensive. Les relevés de population réalisés en 1993, 1994 et 1996 ont révélé une cueillette excessive de la ressource. À la suite de ces résultats, la cueillette des myes a été interdite pendant deux ans, de 1997 à 1999, ce qui a entraîné une perte de revenus pour les cueilleurs locaux. Un nouveau programme de surveillance recueille des données sur les parcs à myes au cours des relevés et tient également compte du savoir traditionnel des cueilleurs locaux. Les données sont analysées et cartographiées à l'aide du système d'information géographique (SIG), ce qui permet de représenter les parcs à myes avec les densités et la répartition des classes d'âge. Les gestionnaires ont ainsi accès pour la première fois à une représentation spatiale des parcs à myes. Cette méthode leur permet de mettre en place un type de cueillette par rotation en sachant d'avance non seulement quels parcs sont prêts pour la cueillette, mais en connaissant également le niveau de recrutement de chaque parc, ce qui permet de prévoir en quelle année il pourra être ouvert à la cueillette.

  • Surveillance par radiomètre perfectionné à très haute résolution (AVHRR)

    En 2001-2002, on a lancé un projet visant à utiliser des images satellite à grande échelle pour atteindre trois buts de surveillance (quantifier la fragmentation des communautés de plantes, mesurer l'intervalle au cours duquel la glace disparaît des grands lacs et identifier les sites de végétation nouvelle dans les parcs du Nord largement inaccessibles). L'atteinte de tous ces buts nous aidera à comprendre les rôles de la perturbation à grande échelle et du réchauffement de la planète sur l'intégrité écologique du réseau des parcs nationaux.

  • Surveillance de l'état de la population de caribous de Peary (Rangifer tarandus pearyi) sur l'île d'Ellesmere : facteurs ayant une incidence sur le niveau actuel de la population

    Au cours des quatre dernières décennies, les populations de caribous de Peary (Rangifer tarandus pearyi) des îles de la Reine?Élisabeth ont connu des déclins supérieurs à 90 p. 100. Les plus draconiens des dernières années ont été enregistrés à l'île Bathurst entre 1994 et 1997, et leur cause apparente serait les hivers et les printemps rigoureux. Un projet interdisciplinaire a été lancé en 2001?2002 pour documenter la taille et la distribution de la population de caribous de Peary dans le nord de l'île d'Ellesmere d'après des données historiques et plus récentes. Le projet vise également à déterminer les habitats/aires vulnérables du caribou de Peary à l'aide d'images satellite par radiomètre perfectionné à très haute résolution (AVHRR) (indices de productivité des plantes). Parallèlement, l'importance de la diminution de la population sera évaluée par une analyse génétique (goulots d'étranglement de la population).

  • Gestion des écosystèmes - Paléoécologie de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique : interactions entre la mer et la terre

    Un nouveau programme de recherche a été entrepris en 2001; il vise à utiliser les techniques paléoécologiques pour mieux comprendre les facteurs environnementaux qui régissent la structure des écosystèmes et l'interaction qui existe entre les systèmes terrestres, d'eau douce et marins depuis la dernière calotte continentale. La recherche vise surtout à comprendre la structure et la fonction des écosystèmes avant l'arrivée des Européens sur la côte ouest du Canada et comment cela s'applique à des problèmes d'intégrité écologique, de conservation biologique et de changement climatique. Les changements que connaît la végétation, les organismes aquatiques et la présence des salmonidés sont examinés au moyen de carottes de sédiments datés par radiomètre le long de la côte ouest du Canada et utilisés comme mesure de l'intégrité écologique des aires protégées du Canada.

  • La recherche dans les parcs nationaux de nord

    La superficie totale des parcs nationaux du Canada est un peu plus de 300 000 kilomètres carrés, soit environ la taille de l’Italie. La majeure partie de ce territoire se trouve dans des régions dépourvues de route au nord du 60e parallèle et Parcs Canada est responsable de la surveillance de ces régions isolées. Apprenez plus sur la recherche dans les parcs nationaux du nord.