Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Parks of Canada

Parcs nationaux - Introduction

Rain Forest on Lyell Island
Rain Forest on Lyell Island near Windy Bay, Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve of Canada
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch / 10.105.03.06(11), 1988

National parks are among Canada's - and the world's - natural jewels. They represent the power of Canada's natural environment -- a compelling force -- which has shaped not only the geography of this country, but also the course of its history and the experiences of the people who live and travel here.

National parks are established to protect and present outstanding representative examples of natural landscapes and natural phenomena that occur in Canada's 39 natural regions, as identified in the National Parks System Plan. These wild places, located in every province and territory, range from mountains and plains, to boreal forests and tundra, to lakes and glaciers, and much more. National parks protect the habitats, wildlife and ecosystem diversity representative of - and sometime unique to - the natural regions.

Lake in the Northern Boreal Plains
Lake in the Northern Boreal Plains, Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch / 09.90.03.23(37), 1987

National parks are located on the Atlantic, Pacific and Arctic coasts, across the interior mountains and plains and Great Lakes, reaching as far north and south as Canada goes. They range in size from just under 9 km2 (St Lawrence Islands National Park of Canada) to almost 45,000 km2 (Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada). And they include world-renowned names such as Banff and Jasper, as well as more recently established Ivvavik and Vuntut.

Parks Canada is responsible for both protecting the ecosystems of these magnificent natural areas and managing them for visitors to understand, appreciate, and enjoy in a way that doesn't compromise their integrity.

Understanding and Appreciating

The breathtaking scenery and inspiring natural surroundings in national parks provide the perfect setting for tuning into nature, learning about it, appreciating it, respecting it and pledging to protect it. Each national park is a haven for the human spirit.

Sandy Pond Interpretation Walk
Sandy Pond Interpretation Walk, Terra Nova National Park of Canada
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch / 01.10.04.09(148), 1992

National parks tell the stories of Canada's natural beginnings - mountains forming, lakes emerging, rivers running, forests growing, glaciers moving, grasslands evolving - to anyone who takes the time to listen, to look and to understand. They tell tales of human history too, from traditional Aboriginal activities, to early exploration, to European settlement, to modern use. And they reveal ongoing natural processes - floods enriching, fires renewing, species migrating. They provide opportunities to connect with nature, people and events that define Canada.

Kayaking near St. Charles Island
Kayaking near St. Charles Island, Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada
© Parks Canada / P. St-Jacques / 05.52.09.07(43), 1989

Understanding the importance of Canada's natural heritage to the nation and the world, and developing support for its protection are critical to the long-term health of the system of national parks.

Visitors can paddle down rivers flowing through canyons carved over thousands of years, observe birds as they rest in their travels along traditional migration routes, walk through vibrant young forests transformed by fire. These are unforgettable experiences, made all the more memorable by the learning opportunities Parks Canada offers through interpretative walks, exhibits and activities or in co-operation with the heritage tourism industry.

Protecting

Parks Canada is working to maintain or restore the ecological integrity of national parks. This means keeping ecosystems healthy and whole -- a state where ecosystem biodiversity, structures and functions are unimpaired and likely to persist.

Greenwich Dunes
Greenwich Dunes, Prince Edward Island National Park of Canada
© Parks Canada / J. Pleau / 02.20.03.30(17), 2001

Maintaining or restoring ecological integrity is a challenging task that involves a good understanding of the dynamic nature of ecosystems and the stresses they face. It also requires collaboration among people whose actions influence the ecosystems and their sustainability - from neighbouring landowners and businesses, to local residents, visitors and governments. The above reflect the principles of ecosystem management.

The national parks of Canada are a source of pride for Canadians and an integral part of our identity, they celebrate the beauty and infinite variety of our land.

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Parcs nationaux du Canada

Parcs nationaux - Introduction

Forêt ombrophile de l'Île Lyell
Forêt ombrophile de l'Île Lyell près de la Baie Windy, Réserve du parc national Gwaii Haanas du Canada
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch / 10.105.03.06(11), 1988

Les parcs nationaux comptent parmi les joyaux du Canada, voire du monde entier. Ils représentent toute la puissance du milieu naturel du Canada -- une force irrésistible -- qui a non seulement façonné la géographie de ce pays, mais aussi le cours de son histoire et les expériences des gens qui y vivent et y voyagent.

Les parcs nationaux sont créés pour protéger et mettre en valeur des exemples représentatifs et exceptionnels des paysages et des phénomènes naturels des 39 régions naturelles du Canada, comme l'indique le Plan de réseau des parcs nationaux. Ces endroits sauvages se retrouvent dans toutes les provinces et dans tous les territoires du pays. Ce sont, entre autres, des montagnes et des plaines, des forêts boréales et des toundras, des lacs et des glaciers. Les parcs nationaux protègent les habitats, les espèces sauvages et les écosystèmes variés représentatifs - et parfois spécifiques - des régions naturelles.

ac des Plaines boréales du Nord
Lac des Plaines boréales du Nord, Parc national Wood Buffalo du Canada
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch / 09.90.03.23(37), 1987

On retrouve les parcs nationaux sur la côte de l'Atlantique, du Pacifique ou de l'Arctique, dans les montagnes intérieures, les plaines et les Grands Lacs, dans le Nord comme dans le Sud du Canada. Leur taille varie de moins de 9 km2 (Parc national du Canada Îles-du-Saint-Laurent) à près de 45 000 km2 (Parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo). Le réseau comprend Banff et Jasper, renommés dans le monde entier, ainsi que des parcs plus récemment établis tels Ivvavik et Vuntut.

En plus d'assurer la protection des écosystèmes de ces aires naturelles grandioses, Parcs Canada les gère de façon à permettre aux visiteurs de les comprendre et de les apprécier sans que leur intégrité soit compromise.

Compréhension et appréciation

Les paysages à couper le souffle et le milieu naturel inspirant des parcs nationaux offrent un décor idéal pour communier avec la nature, apprendre à la connaître, l'apprécier, la respecter et s'engager à la protéger. Chaque parc national est un refuge pour l'esprit.

Sentier d'interprétation de Sandy Pond
Sentier d'interprétation de Sandy Pond, Parc national Terra Nova du Canada
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch / 01.10.04.09(148), 1992

À quiconque prend le temps d'écouter, de regarder et de comprendre, les parcs nationaux racontent l'histoire naturelle du Canada depuis ses tout débuts - formation des montagnes, émergence des lacs, lit des cours d'eau, croissance des forêts, mouvance des glaciers, évolution des prairies. Ils racontent également l'histoire humaine du pays, des activités traditionnelles des Autochtones aux utilisations modernes, en passant par les premières explorations et la colonisation par les Européens. De plus, ils révèlent les processus naturels courants : les inondations qui enrichissent le sol, les incendies qui renouvellent la végétation, les espèces en migration. Ils permettent d'entrer en contact avec la nature, les gens et les événements qui définissent le Canada.

Activité récréative de kayac près de Île St-Charles
Activité récréative de kayac près de Île St-Charles, Réserve de parc national de l'Archipel-de-Mingan du Canada
© Parcs Canada / P. St-Jacques / 05.52.09.07(43), 1989

Si nous voulons garder le réseau des parcs nationaux en santé à long terme, nous devons absolument comprendre l'importance du patrimoine naturel du Canada pour nous et pour le monde entier, et assurer sa protection.

Ceux qui visitent les parcs nationaux peuvent descendre des rivières coulant au fond de canyons qui ont mis des milliers d'années à se former, observer les oiseaux tandis qu'ils se reposent pendant leur longue migration, marcher dans une forêt jeune transformée par le feu. Ce sont là des expériences inoubliables, rendues d'autant plus mémorables par les occasions d'apprentissage - randonnées d'interprétation, expositions ou activités - que Parcs Canada offre seul ou en collaboration avec l'industrie touristique.

Protection

Parcs Canada s'efforce de maintenir ou restaurer l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux, c'est-à-dire d'assurer la santé et l'intégralité des écosystèmes. L'intégrité écologique est un état dans lequel la biodiversité, les structures et les fonctions d'un écosystème ne sont pas affectés et ont des chances de continuer d'exister.

Dunes Greenwich
Dunes Greenwich, Parc national de Île-du-Prince-Édouard du Canada
© Parcs Canada / J. Pleau / 02.20.03.30(17), 2001

Le maintien ou la restauration de l'intégrité écologique est une tâche difficile qui s'appuie sur une bonne compréhension de la nature dynamique des écosystèmes et des facteurs de stress qui les affectent. Elle exige également la collaboration de tous ceux dont les actions influent sur les écosystèmes et sur leur durabilité - des propriétaires des terres voisines aux entreprises, en passant par les résidants locaux, les visiteurs et les gouvernements. Tout ceci tient compte des principes de gestion de l'écosystème.

Les parcs nationaux du Canada sont sources de fierté pour les Canadiens et Canadiennes, ils font partie intégrante de notre identité et ils célèbrent la beauté et l'infinie variété de notre pays.