Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Historic Sites of Canada

National Historic Sites - Introduction

National historic sites are places of profound importance to Canada. They bear witness to this nation's defining moments and illustrate its human creativity and cultural traditions. Each national historic site tells its own unique story, part of the greater story of Canada, contributing a sense of time, identity, and place to our understanding of Canada as a whole.

National historic sites, located in all provinces and territories, can be found in almost any setting - from urban and rural locales, to wilderness environments. They may be sacred spaces, battlefields, archaeological sites, buildings or streetscapes. They can range in size from a single structure to linear canals spanning great distances. Many national historic sites are still used today for work and worship, commerce and industry, habitation and leisure.

Canada's family of national historic sites

Canada commemorates persons and events for their national historic significance as well as places. So far, over 1500 places, persons and events have been commemorated by the Government of Canada. And the list keeps growing as Canada's history unfolds.

Together, all these commemorations make up what is known as the system of National Historic Sites of Canada. In each generation the system has evolved with this nation's changing view of itself. Today there is a greater interest in social history reflecting the achievements and experiences of everyday Canadians.

Parks Canada monitors the system through a system plan and now its making special efforts to encourage participation and increase the representation of Aboriginal, women and ethnocultural communities' history.

The national historic sites system covers the entire range of Canadian human history under five broad themes:

  • Peopling the Land
  • Governing Canada
  • Developing Economies
  • Building Social and Community Life
  • Expressing Intellectual and Cultural Life.

Parks Canada supports the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) , the body which advises the Minister of Canadian Heritage on national historic significance. The agency is also responsible for protecting and operating over 140 national historic sites across the country for visitors to understand, appreciate, and enjoy.

Protecting

National historic sites represent thousands of years of human history and hundreds of years of nation building. Yet centuries, and millennia, can take their toll - from erosion and decay, to lack of awareness, to abandonment - on diverse cultural resources that include shell middens, underwater shipwrecks, fort remains, historic buildings, industrial complexes, heritage canals, and more.

An important part of Parks Canada's mandate involves protecting the health and wholeness, or commemorative integrity, of the national historic sites it operates. This means preserving the site's cultural resources, communicating its heritage values and national significance, and kindling the respect of people whose decisions and actions affect the site.

Understanding and appreciating

Each national historic site is a distinct and vibrant symbol of Canadian identity. It is also a centre of learning, a wealth of information, a living history adventure, an experience of what Canada used to be and what it is today. Historic canals, part of the system, link cities and towns to connect visitors with further dynamic aspects of Canadian history.

At all these places, Parks Canada offers activities and learning experiences that stretch the imagination, tug at the heartstrings, and touch the soul. Where else can you

…walk on battlegrounds that changed the course of history
…view original writings of well-loved Canadian authors
…venture to the edge of a bison jump where for thousands of years Aboriginal people hunted
…witness the isolation and desolate conditions immigrants encountered when they came to the country
…travel the passes, trails, and waterways of those who came before
…dress in a period costume, join a class in a historic schoolhouse, sample heritage recipes, ride in a horse-drawn hay wagon, stroll through the moonlight in search of ghosts from the past?

Moving, memorable opportunities such as these, and many more, give visitors a feel for where Canada has come from, where it is today, where it is going in the future.

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada

Lieux historiques nationaux - Introduction

Les lieux historiques nationaux revêtent une grande importance pour le Canada. Ils témoignent des tournants de l'histoire de notre pays en plus d'illustrer la créativité et les traditions culturelles de ses habitants. Chaque lieu historique national relate un chapitre unique de l'histoire du Canada et contribue concrètement, à sa façon, à notre compréhension du Canada.

Toutes les provinces et tous les territoires comptent des lieux historiques nationaux dans les décors les plus variés : en ville, à la campagne ou même en milieu sauvage. Il s'agit tantôt d'espaces sacrés, tantôt de champs de bataille, de sites archéologiques, de bâtiments ou de paysages de rue. Leur taille varie beaucoup, d'une simple structure à de longs canaux linéaires. Bien des lieux historiques nationaux servent encore de nos jours au travail, au culte, au commerce, à l'industrie, à l'habitation ou aux loisirs.

La famille des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada

Le Canada commémore les personnes, les événements et les endroits d'importance historique nationale. Jusqu'ici, le gouvernement du Canada a commémoré plus de 1500 personnes, événements et endroits, et la liste continue de s'allonger à mesure que l'histoire du Canada est mise en relief.

Ensemble, ces commémorations forment le réseau des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada. Ce réseau évolue à chaque génération, suivant les perceptions changeantes que notre pays a de lui-même. Ainsi, on s'intéresse aujourd'hui davantage à l'histoire sociale, qui reflète les réalisations et les expériences des Canadiens et des Canadiennes ordinaires.

Parcs Canada a élaboré un Plan de réseau destiné à surveiller le réseau des lieux historiques nationaux et déploie actuellement des efforts particuliers afin d'encourager la participation des Autochtones, des femmes et des communautés ethnoculturelles, et de mieux représenter leur histoire.

Le réseau des lieux historiques nationaux couvre toutes les facettes de l'histoire humaine du Canada sous cinq grands thèmes :

  • Un territoire à peupler
  • Gouverner le Canada
  • Économies en développement
  • Établir une vie sociale et communautaire
  • Exprimer la vie culturelle et intellectuelle.

Parcs Canada appuie la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) , l'organisme qui conseille la ministre du Patrimoine canadien sur les questions d'importance historique nationale. L'Agence est également chargée de la protection et de l'exploitation de plus de 140 lieux historiques nationaux que les visiteurs peuvent ainsi comprendre et apprécier.

Protection

Les lieux historiques nationaux représentent des milliers d'années dans l'histoire humaine et des centaines d'années dans la vie de notre nation. Cependant, les siècles et les millénaires laissent des traces - de l'érosion et de la dégradation à l'indifférence et à l'abandon - sur les ressources culturelles : tertres de coquillages, épaves sous-marines, ruines de fortifications, bâtiments historiques, ensembles industriels, canaux patrimoniaux et autres.

Un des principaux volets du mandat de Parcs Canada consiste à protéger la santé et l'intégralité, c'est-à-dire l'intégrité commémorative, des lieux historiques nationaux dont il a la charge. Parcs Canada doit donc préserver les ressources culturelles qui s'y trouvent, faire connaître leur valeur patrimoniale et leur importance nationale, et éveiller l'intérêt de ceux dont les décisions et les actions affectent ces lieux.

Compréhension et appréciation

Chaque lieu historique national est un symbole unique et vibrant de l'identité canadienne. Il est aussi un centre d'apprentissage, une mine d'information, une scène de l'histoire vivante, une fenêtre sur ce que le Canada était hier et sur ce qu'il est aujourd'hui. Les canaux historiques, qui font partie du réseau, relient villes et villages et permettent aux visiteurs de faire l'expérience d'autres aspects dynamiques de l'histoire du Canada.

Dans tous ces endroits, Parcs Canada offre des activités et des expériences d'apprentissage qui développent l'imagination et qui touchent à la fois le cœur et l'âme. Où, ailleurs que dans un lieu historique national, pouvons-nous

…arpenter le site d'une bataille qui a changé le cours de l'histoire
…voir les écrits originaux de nos auteurs canadiens favoris
…nous aventurer au bord d'un précipice à bisons où les peuples autochtones ont chassé pendant des milliers d'années
…être le témoin de l'isolement et de l'affliction des immigrants à leur arrivée au pays
…suivre les traces de ceux qui nous ont précédé dans les cols, les pistes et les voies navigables du pays
…revêtir un costume d'époque, suivre des cours dans une salle de classe historique, goûter à des mets d'autrefois, faire un tour dans une charrette à foin tirée par un cheval, se promener au clair de lune à la recherche des esprits du passé?

Ces activités mémorables, qui font appel à nos émotions, et bien d'autres, permettent aux visiteurs de comprendre le Canada d'hier, d'aujourd'hui et de demain.