Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Cemetery of Canada

A national cemetery of Canada, created by Canadians for Canadians…

Legislation (Bill C-17) has been enacted to recognize  Beechwood Cemetery as the national cemetery of Canada.

The legislation was tabled in the House of Commons on March 5th and the same day, an event to mark the tabling took place at Beechwood Cemetery.  On April 23rd, 2009, the legislation received Royal Assent.

The recognition of Beechwood Cemetery as the national cemetery of Canada is an important step towards memorializing the people, great or small, who shaped our history and identity as a country. The Beechwood Cemetery Foundation has accepted to hold in trust for future generations the stories and the histories of Canadian citizens who are interred on its grounds, regardless of their religious beliefs and practices, their cultural background or their social status.

Beechwood Cemetery, John Booth Monument
Beechwood Cemetery, John Booth Monument
© R. Goodspeed

Ottawa, as the nation’s capital, is a place for national celebrations and commemorations. The capital is home to the National War Memorial and the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, the Valiants Memorial, the Monument to Peace and Remembrance, the Monument to Canadian Aid Workers, and the Canadian Tribute to Human Rights.

While Canada has national memorials, military cemeteries and fields of honour, it did not have, until now, a national cemetery that embraces the breadth and diversity of this land’s social, political and cultural diversity.

The National Cemetery Act confers a very special honour upon Beechwood Cemetery, recognizing it as the national cemetery of Canada, created by Canadians for Canadians.

Links

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Cimetière national du Canada

Un cimetière national créé par les Canadiens pour les Canadiens…

Le projet de loi C-17, reconnaissant le Cimetière Beechwood comme le cimetière national du Canada a été déposé à la Chambre des Communes le 5 mars 2009.

Le même jour, une activité pour souligner ce dépôt a eu lieu au Cimetière Beechwood. Le 23 avril 2009, le projet de loi a reçu la sanction royale.

La reconnaissance du cimetière Beechwood comme cimetière national du Canada est une étape importante dans la commémoration des personnes qui ont façonné notre histoire et qui contribuent à l’identité de notre pays. La Fondation du Cimetière Beechwood accepte de détenir en fiducie pour les générations futures les récits et les histoires des citoyens canadiens qui sont inhumés dans ses terres, quels que soient leurs croyances ou leurs pratiques religieuses, leurs antécédents culturels ou leur statut social.

Cimetière Beechwoord, Monument John Booth
Cimetière Beechwood, Monument John Booth
© R. Goodspeed

Ottawa, en tant que capitale nationale, est un lieu de célébration et de commémoration nationale. On y trouve le Mémorial national de guerre du Canada et la Tombe du Soldat inconnu, le Monument aux Valeureux, le Monument à la paix et au souvenir, le Monument commémoratif de l’aide humanitaire et le Monument canadien pour les droits de la personne.

Bien que le Canada possède des monuments commémoratifs nationaux, des cimetières militaires et des champs d’honneur nationaux et locaux, il n’avait  pas, jusqu’à présent, de cimetière national qui embrasse la richesse et la diversité sociale, politique et culturelle de notre pays.

En le reconnaissant comme cimetière national du Canada, la Loi sur le cimetière national du Canada confère au cimetière Beechwood un statut très particulier, celui de cimetière national créé par les Canadiens pour les Canadiens.

Liens