Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada

This page has been archived.

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Canada’s National Marine Conservation Areas System Plan

National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Program

Who?

Parks Canada is responsible for National Parks and National Historic Sites. It is also charged with setting up a national system of marine protected areas, the National Marine Conservation Areas Program, to represent the full range of marine ecosystems found in Canada's Atlantic, Arctic and Pacific oceans, and the Great Lakes.

Why?

Canada has over 243,000 km of coastline along three oceans and another 9500 km along the Great Lakes - the longest coastline in the world. The vast marine ecosystems off these coasts are varied, productive - and precious. We have a responsibility, both at the national and international levels, to protect examples of this marine heritage for present and future generations.

What?

National Marine Conservation Areas, or NMCA for short, are marine areas managed for sustainable use and containing smaller zones of high protection. They include the seabed, the water column above it and they may also take in wetlands, estuaries, islands and other coastal lands.

NMCAs are protected from such activities as ocean dumping, undersea mining, and oil and gas exploration and development. Traditional fishing activities would be permitted, but managed with the conservation of the ecosystem as the main goal.

NMCAs are established to represent a marine region and to demonstrate how protection and conservation practices can be harmonized with resource use in marine ecosystems. Their management requires the development of partnerships with regional stakeholders, coastal communities, Aboriginal peoples, provincial or territorial governments and other federal departments and agencies.

The NMCA Program is designed to:

  • represent the diversity of Canada's oceanic and Great Lakes environments
  • maintain ecological processes and life support systems
  • provide a model for sustainable use of marine species and ecosystems
  • encourage marine research and ecological monitoring
  • protect depleted, vulnerable, threatened or endangered marine species and their habitats
  • provide for marine interpretation and recreation
  • contribute to a growing worldwide network of marine protected areas

How?

National Marine Conservation Areas are established in a manner set out in the National Marine Conservation Areas Policy and guided by the national system plan, Sea to Sea to Sea. As Parks Canada's goal is to represent each of the 29 marine regions, establishment of new NMCAs is focused on the unrepresented regions.

The steps in the establishment of a new NMCA are as follows:

1. Identifying representative marine areas (candidate sites) takes into consideration:

  • geologic features (such as cliffs, beaches, and islands on the coast; and shoals, basins, troughs and shelves on the seabed)
  • marine features (tides, ice, water masses, currents, salinity, freshwater influences)
  • marine and coastal habitats (wetlands, tidal flats, estuaries, high current areas, protected areas, inshore and offshore areas, shallow and deep water areas)
  • biology (plants, plankton, invertebrates, fish, seabirds and marine mammals)
  • archaeological and historic features

2. Selecting a potential NMCA from the candidate sites identified involves looking at:

  • quality of regional representation
  • relative importance for maintaining biodiversity
  • protecting critical habitats of endangered species
  • exceptional natural and cultural features
  • existing or planned marine protected areas
  • minimizing conflict with resource users
  • threats to the sustainability of marine ecosystems
  • implications of Aboriginal claims and treaties
  • potential for education and enjoyment
  • value for ecological research and monitoring

3. Assessing the feasibility of a NMCA requires the cooperation and support of:

  • other federal departments and provincial or territorial governments
  • local communities, regional stakeholders and Aboriginal peoples

Extensive local consultations are undertaken. Working groups or advisory bodies may be set up to develop and assess proposals. Proposals may also be considered within other appropriate planning processes.

4. Negotiating an agreement

If the feasibility study demonstrates support for the initiative, a federal/provincial or federal/territorial agreement will be negotiated to set out the terms and conditions under which the NMCA will be established and managed.

5. Establishment of a NMCA

NMCAs are established under the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act.

Where?

Currently, there are two operating sites within the NMCA program: Fathom Five National Marine Park in Georgian Bay, Ontario, and Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park in Quebec. The latter was established by special complementary federal and provincial legislation allowing for co-operative management with the Province of Quebec (Saguenay-St. Lawrence Marine Park Act).


Last Updated: 2013-05-10 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Le Plan de réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Le programme des aires marines nationales de conservation

Qui?

Parcs Canada est responsable pour les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux. Cette agence a aussi le mandat de mettre sur pied un système national d'aires marines protégées : le Programme des aires marines nationales de conservation dont le but est de représenter la diversité des milieux marins du Canada dans les océans Atlantique, Arctique et Pacifique, et les Grands Lacs.

Pourquoi?

Le Canada a plus de 243 000 km de côte le long de trois océans, auxquels s'ajoutent 9500 km aux abords des Grands Lacs -- le plus long littoral au monde. Les écosystèmes marins près de ces côtes sont vastes, variés, productifs -- et précieux. Nous avons la responsabilité, sur les plans national et international, de protéger des échantillons de ces milieux marins pour les générations présentes et futures.

Quoi?

Les aires marines nationales de conservation, abrégée AMNC, sont des aires marines gérées en vue de l'utilisation durable, à l'intérieur desquelles se trouvent des zones de haute protection. Elles englobent le fond marin, la colonne d'eau et peuvent aussi comprendre des terres humides, des estuaires, des îles et d'autres terres côtières.

Les AMNC sont protégées de certaines activités, comme le déversement en mer, l'exploitation minière sous-marine, et l'exploration et l'exploitation des hydrocarbures. Les activités de pêche traditionnelle s'y poursuivraient, dans la mesure où leur gestion a pour but principal la conservation des écosystèmes.

Les AMNC sont créées pour représenter les régions marines et démontrer que les mesures de protection et de conservation peuvent s'harmoniser avec l'utilisation des ressources dans les écosystèmes marins. La gestion des AMNC exige l'établissement de partenariats avec les intervenants, les communautés côtières, les peuples autochtones, les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, et les ministères et organismes fédéraux concernés.

Le programme d'AMNC vise différents objectifs :

  • représenter la diversité des milieux océaniques du Canada, et ceux des Grands Lacs
  • assurer le maintien des processus écologiques et des systèmes nécessaires à la vie
  • servir de modèle d'utilisation durable des espèces marines et des écosystèmes marins
  • protéger les espèces marines en déclin, vulnérables, menacées ou en voie de disparition, et leurs habitats
  • servir à l'interprétation et aux loisirs
  • contribuer à l'expansion du réseau mondial d'aires marines protégées

Comment?

Les modalités de la création d'une AMNC sont décrites dans la Politique sur les aires marines nationales de conservation. L'établissement des AMNC est guidé par le plan de réseau national D'un océan à l'autre. Comme le but de Parcs Canada est de représenter chacune des 29 régions marines, la création de nouvelles AMNC est concentrée sur les régions non représentées.

Les étapes pour la création d'une nouvelle AMNC sont les suivantes :

1. L'identification des aires marines représentatives (sites candidats), prend en considération :

  • les caractéristiques géologiques (falaises, plages, îles sur la côte, écueils, bassins, cuvettes, plate-formes dans les fonds marins)
  • les caractéristiques marines (marées, glaces, masses d'eau, courants, salinité, influence des eaux douces)
  • les habitats côtiers et marins (terres humides, estrans, estuaires, zones de forts courants, zones protégées, zones côtière et hauturière, zones peu profonde et profonde)
  • la biologie (végétaux, plancton, invertébrés, poissons, oiseaux de mer et mammifères marins)
  • les éléments archéologiques et historiques

2. Le choix d'une AMNC potentielle parmi les aires candidates implique l'examen des facteurs suivants :

  • qualité de la représentation régionale
  • importance au maintien de la biodiversité
  • la protection des habitats essentiels à la survie des espèces en danger
  • éléments naturels et culturels exceptionnels
  • aires marines protégées existantes ou prévues
  • réduire au minimum les conflits avec les utilisateurs des ressources
  • menaces à la pérennité des écosystèmes marins
  • répercussions des revendications et des traités des Autochtones
  • potentiel d'éducation et d'appréciation
  • valeur pour la recherche et le suivi environnemental

3. L'évaluation de la faisabilité d'une AMNC requiert la collaboration et l'appui :

  • d'autres ministères fédéraux et du gouvernement provincial ou territorial impliqué
  • des collectivités locales, des intervenants régionaux et des Autochtones de la région

De vastes consultations sont entreprises. Des groupes de travail et des organes consultatifs peuvent être formés afin de développer et d'évaluer les projets d'AMNC. Les propositions de création d'AMNC peuvent aussi être considérées au sein d'autres mécanismes de planification.

4. Négociation d'une entente

Si l'étude de faisabilité indique que l'initiative reçoit l'appui nécessaire, une entente fédérale-provinciale ou fédérale-territoriale est négociée pour fixer les modalités de création et de gestion de l'AMNC.

5. Création d'une AMNC

Les AMNC sont créées en vertu de la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

Où?

Présentement, le programme des AMNC comprend deux sites opérationnels : le parc marin national Fathom Five dans la baie Georgienne en Ontario, et le parc marin du Saguenay--Saint-Laurent au Québec. Ce dernier a été établie par le biais de lois spéciales complémentaires fédérale et provinciale permettant la gestion conjointe avec la province de Québec (Loi sur le parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent).


Dernière mise à jour : 2013-05-10 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants