Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada

This page has been archived.

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Canada’s National Marine Conservation Areas System Plan

Canada's Great Lakes Aquatic Environment


Great Lakes
Map showing Park Canada's 5 Great Lakes marine regions used in the context of its national marine conservation areas program
© Parks Canada, 1996 Lake Ontario Lake Erie Lake Huron Georgian Bay Lake Superior

Though in a strict sense the Great Lakes are not marine, they have been described as "freshwater seas" because of their size — the term 'lake' seems patently absurd when applied to these vast expanses, as anyone who has looked upon them can attest. At 245,000 km² they are also the world's largest freshwater lake system, with some 18% of the planet's supply and display many of the same attributes as true marine environments.

The length of the Canadian Great Lakes shoreline is about 9500 km, including islands. The lakes form a step-like sequence, with Lake Superior being at the highest elevation (183 m above sea level) and Lake Ontario at the lowest (74 m asl). The most dramatic drop (100 m) occurs at Niagara Falls. The whole system drains into the Atlantic Ocean via the St. Lawrence River.

Following the repeated advances and retreats of the glaciers over a million-year period, the present-day shorelines of the Great Lakes have emerged. These are primarily rocky shores or low cliffs and tend to be straight except where more resistant rock have been carved into bays, headlands and islands. Outcrops of the Niagara Escaprment and the Canadian Shield serve as natural dams and effectively separate the lakes from one another.

The Great Lakes do not have true tides, but lake levels do vary as a result of seasonal factors, the weather and the influence of man. Seasonal variations on the order of 0.5 m occur, though fluctuations of up to 2 m have been recorded, notably seiche effects resulting from storms. Thermal stratification is a common feature of the lakes. Ice forms over most of this environment, particularly along the shores, and lasts four to five months.

Scuba divers surfacing near dive boat.
© Parks Canada

Last Updated: 2013-05-10 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Le Plan de réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Le milieu aquatique des Grands Lacs canadiens


Régions marines des Grands Lacs
Carte illustrant les 5 régions marines des Grands Lacs de Parcs Canada servant à son programme des aires marines nationales de conservation
© Parcs Canada, 1996 Lac Ontario Lac Érié Lac Huron Baie Georgienne Lac Supérieur

Bien que les Grands Lacs ne soit pas, à strictement parler, des milieux marins, ils ont été décrits comme des « mers d'eau douce » en raison de leur taille - le terme 'lac' semble plutôt insignifiant lorsqu'on l'applique à ces vastes espaces. D'une superficie de quelque 245 000 km², les Grands Lacs constitue la plus grande superficie d'eau douce en surface au monde, représentant 18 pour cent de la réserve planétaire et ils démontrent plusieurs des attributs d'un milieu marin.

La longueur du littoral canadien des Grands Lacs, y compris les îles, est d'environ 9500 km. Les lacs se suivent en escalier; le lac Supérieur à l'altitude la plus haute (183 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer) et le lac Ontario, la plus basse (74 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer); les chutes du Niagara représentent la dénivellation la plus abrupte (100 m). Tout le réseau se déverse dans l'océan Atlantique par le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Suite aux avances et aux reculs successifs des glaciers pendant près d'un million d'années, le littoral présent des Grands Lacs a émergé. Ce littoral est surtout formé de rivages rocailleux et de falaises peu élevées et tend à être relativement droit sauf là où des affleurements de roches résistantes ont été taillé en un grand nombre de baies, de promontoires et d'îles. Les affleurements rocheux de l'Escarpement du Niagara et du Bouclier canadien forment des barrages naturels qui séparent les lacs les uns des autres.

Les Grands Lacs n'ont pas de véritables marées, mais des facteurs saisonniers et climatiques, et l'influence de l'homme, provoquent des variations saisonnières du niveau de l'eau de l'ordre de 0,5 m, alors qu'à long terme, des fluctuations de jusqu'à 2 m ont été rapportées. Les tempêtes, fréquentes et violentes, y sont pour beaucoup et résultent souvent en des effets de seiche plutôt dramatiques. La stratification thermale est une caractéristique importante des lacs durant l'été. Dans toute la région, particulièrement le long des rives, de la glace se forme et persiste pendant quatre à cinq mois.

Plongeurs autonomes faisant surface près d'un bateau .
© Parcs Canada

Dernière mise à jour : 2013-05-10 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants