Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada

This page has been archived.

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Canada’s National Marine Conservation Areas System Plan

Magdalen Shallows

The Water

The region is a semi-enclosed, shallow sea covering 79,350 km². The shelf is up to 150 km wide, with an irregular bottom characterized by troughs, banks and shoals. Depths average less than 80 m, with the troughs reaching 200 m. The large freshwater input from the St. Lawrence River reaches the region via the Gaspé Current which rounds the Gaspé Peninsula. Combined with the shallow depth, this makes it the warmest oceanic area in Eastern Canada. Completely ice-covered in winter, surface waters reach 16°-20°C in summer, and as high as 25°C in shallow embayments. Yet even then, the temperature just 20-30 m below the surface remains at 0° to 5°C.

The Coast

The coast is indented with headlands and bays, and dominated by low cliffs and gentle slopes. Wide sandy beaches and pocket sand and gravel beaches are plentiful. Erosion by wind, waves and currents is prevalent and has created barrier beaches, barrier islands, spits, coastal dunes, tombolos, cuestas, and sea caves, arches and stacks. Salt marshes, lagoons, estuaries and tidal flats occur locally.

The Wildlife

The relatively warm marine environments found in this region support several species which are either absent or extremely rare north of Massachusetts, including a relict population of oyster. Irish moss, snow crab, lobster and sea scallop are common throughout the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence. Important stocks of Atlantic cod, Canadian plaice, flounder, white hake, sand lance, Atlantic halibut, mackerel, capelin and herring are also widespread. Several important spawning rivers for anadromous species, such as Atlantic salmon, rainbow trout, alewife and American shad, are found in the region. Although the region has less than 2.5% of the breeding seabirds in Eastern Canada, many of the colonies are of national significance. The Bonaventure Island and Bird Rocks colonies support the bulk of the North American population of Northern gannets, more than 25,000 pairs. The region is critical to the endangered piping plover with over 70% of Atlantic Canada's population breeding here. Geese, sea ducks and shorebirds stage in coastal areas during spring and fall. Harp seals and hooded seals whelp on the offshore ice around the Magdalen Islands in early spring. Both species then migrate north, following the retreating ice, with the harp seals swimming more than 3200 km to reach their Arctic summering grounds. Grey seals give birth on the newly formed ice in eastern Northumberland Strait and along western Cape Breton Island. Following the breakup of the ice the greys wander but generally remain in the Maritimes, while harbour seals are common residents of the region. Cetaceans are generally uncommon except along the edges of the region where deeper waters are found.

Status

This region is not yet represented in the national marine conservation areas system. Three representative marine areas have been identified: the Magdalen Islands, Gaspé Bay and Kouchibouguac Bay. Selection of the preferred site for consideration as a possible national marine conservation area is the next step. (For details on the establishment process, see The NMCA Program.)


Last Updated: 2013-05-10 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Le Plan de réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Bancs de la Madeleine

Milieu marin

La région correspond à une mer semi-enclavée peu profonde qui recouvre une superficie de 79 350 km2. La plate-forme continentale atteint jusqu'à 150 km de largeur, présentant une topographie de fond irrégulière, caractérisée par plusieurs dépressions, bancs et hauts-fonds. La profondeur est de moins de 80 m en moyenne, les dépressions atteignant 200 m. Une importante masse d'eau douce provenant de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent est entraînée vers la région par le courant de Gaspé qui contourne la péninsule gaspésienne. En outre, comme l'eau y est peu profonde, cela en fait la région océanique la plus chaude de l'est canadien. Entièrement recouverte de glace l'hiver, l'eau en surface peut atteindre entre 16 °C et 20 °C l'été et même jusqu'à 25 °C dans les baies peu profondes. Cependant, la température de l'eau à 20 ou 30 m de profondeur, demeure entre 0 °C et 5 °C.

Profil littoral

Le littoral est découpé par des promontoires et des baies. Les falaises peu élevées et les pentes douces y prédominent. Les larges plages de sable et les petites plages de sable et de gravier sont abondantes. L'érosion par les vents, les vagues et les courants sont les phénomènes dominants et ceux-ci ont créé des cordons de sable, des îles-barrières, des flèches littorales, des dunes littorales, des tombolos, des cuestas, des grottes littorales, des arches marines et des éperons d'érosion. On trouve çà et là des marais salés, des lagunes, des estuaires et des estrans.

Flore et faune

L'environnement marin relativement chaud de la région favorise la présence de plusieurs espèces qui n'existent pas ou qui sont extrêmement rares au nord du Massachusetts, dont une population relique d'huître. La mousse d'Irlande, le crabe des neiges, le homard, le pétoncle sont courants dans tout le sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent. On y trouve aussi d'importants rassemblements de morue franche, de plie canadienne, de merluche blanche, de lançon, de flétan atlantique, de maquereau, de capelan, et de hareng. Plusieurs cours d'eau servant au frai d'espèces anadromes, telles le saumon atlantique, l'éperlan arc-en-ciel, le gaspareau et l'alose savoureuse, sont également présentes dans la région. Même si la région abrite moins de 2,5 pour cent des oiseaux de mer nicheurs de l'est canadien, bon nombre des colonies revêtent une importance nationale. L'île Bonaventure et les rochers aux Oiseaux près des Îles de la Madeleine abritent la plus grande partie de la population nord-américaine de fous de Bassan, soit plus de 25 000 couples. La région s'avère vitale au pluvier siffleur, en voie de disparition, puisque plus de 70 pour cent de la population du Canada atlantique y niche. Des oies, des canards de mer et des oiseaux de rivage font escale sur la côte au printemps et à l'automne. Des phoques du Groenland et des phoques à capuchon mettent bas au début du printemps sur les glaces au large des îles de la Madeleine. Ces deux espèces de phoques migrent ensuite vers le Nord; ils suivent le retrait des glaces et les phoques du Groenland nagent au-delà de 3200 km avant d'atteindre leur aire d'estivage. Les phoques gris accouchent sur les glaces nouvellement formées à l'est du détroit de Northumberland et le long de la côte ouest de l'île du Cap-Breton. Après la débâcle des glaces, les phoques gris errent çà et là mais, généralement, demeurent dans les Maritimes, alors que les phoques communs résident dans la région. Les cétacés sont généralement peu communs sauf à la périphérie de la région où l'eau devient plus profonde.

État actuel de la planification

Cette région n'est pas encore représentée dans le réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation. Trois aires marines représentatives ont été identifiées : les îles de la Madeleine, la baie de Gaspé et la baie Kouchibouguac. La sélection de l'aire privilégiée pour considération aux fins d'une aire marine nationale de conservation possible est la prochaine étape. (Pour plus de détails sur le processus d'établissement, voir le programme AMNC.)


Dernière mise à jour : 2013-05-10 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants