Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada

This page has been archived.

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Canada’s National Marine Conservation Areas System Plan

St. Lawrence Estuary

The Water

East of Quebec City, the St. Lawrence River becomes a 370 km long funnel-shaped tidal estuary, 48 km wide at its mouth. Depths average more than 200 m, with the Laurentian Channel reaching depths in excess of 300 m as it extends down the middle of the estuary. Submarine cliffs dominate the north shore, while wide shallow subtidal platforms are common along the south shore. The Saguenay Fjord is a 104-km long inland extension of the St. Lawrence, 200-300 m deep and with strong tidal currents at its mouth. A fresh water layer overlies a deeper layer that is distinctly marine. Opposite the mouth of the Saguenay River, the estuary floor rises abruptly from 350 m to 25 m, bringing nutrient-rich waters to the surface which are mixed with The Waters of the Saguenay and St. Lawrence rivers, leading to high biological productivity. Tides range from 2.5 m in the east to 5 m in the west and are discernable as far as Montreal. The open water season lasts 7-8 months, open pack ice covering the estuary during the winter, though currents keep the mouth of the Saguenay River open year-round.

The Coast

Canadian Shield rocks form spectacular scenery along the north shore, with bedrock cliffs indented by numerous deep valleys and gorges, as well as the steep-sided Saguenay Fjord where the cliffs reach 450 m in height. A straight low rocky shore, strewn with offshore islands and interspersed with extensive mud flats and salt marshes dominates the south coast.

The Wildlife

Some 65 freshwater, anadromous and marine fish species make up the fish fauna of the region, including Atlantic cod, Greenland halibut, herring, capelin and Atlantic salmon. The diversity of marine life found along the underwater cliffs and shelves of this region make it one of the most interesting diving destinations in Eastern Canada. Some of the greatest densities of nesting common eiders in North America, as well as some of the highest concentrations of black-crowned night herons, great blue herons and double-crested cormorants in Eastern Canada are found here. Important concentrations of migrating snow geese, sea ducks and shorebirds stage in the marsh and mud flat areas while gulls and terns concentrate in the upwelling areas. This is also one of the best whale watching areas in the country - harbour porpoise, minke, fin, humpback and blue whales and harbour and grey seals are common. This is also home to the only southern group of belugas, an endangered population of 500-700 individuals.

Status

This region is represented by the Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park (1138 km²), established in 1998 under the Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park Act. In 1990, the governments of Canada and Quebec signed a federal-provincial agreement providing for the establishment of the marine park at the confluence of the Saguenay River and St. Lawrence Estuary. The agreement stipulates that both levels of government retain their respective jurisdictions over the area and will work towards its protection. Specific, complementary legislation was adopted at the federal and provincial levels to officially establish the park and provide for its management. (For details on the establishment process, see The NMCA Program.)


Last Updated: 2013-05-10 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Le Plan de réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Estuaire du Saint-Laurent

Milieu marin

À l'est de la ville de Québec, le Saint-Laurent est un long estuaire en forme d'entonnoir de 370 km de long et 48 km de large à son embouchure. La profondeur moyenne dépasse les 200 m, mais le chenal Laurentien atteint plus de 300 m de fond en se prolongeant au milieu de l'estuaire. Des tombants abrupts dominent la rive nord, tandis que, sur la rive sud, ce sont plutôt de larges plates-formes infralittorales peu profondes. Le fjord du Saguenay est un prolongement intérieur de l'Estuaire du Saint-Laurent de 104 km de longueur, entre 200 et 300 m de profond et avec de forts courants de marée à son embouchure. Une couche d'eau douce recouvre une couche d'eau profonde qui est nettement de caractère marin. À l'opposé de l'embouchure du Saguenay, le fond de l'estuaire s'élève abruptement, passant de 350 à 25 m, ce qui fait monter les eaux nutritives à la surface. Ces eaux se mêlent aux eaux du Saguenay et du Saint-Laurent, accroissant de beaucoup la productivité biologique. L'amplitude des marées dans l'estuaire, de 2,5 m à l'est, atteint 5 m à l'ouest. On peut même discerner les marées jusqu'à Montréal. La saison des eaux libres dure de sept à huit mois, une banquise fragmentée recouvrant l'estuaire pendant le reste de l'année, mais, en raison des courants, l'embouchure du Saguenay demeure libre de glace.

Profil littoral

Sur la côte nord de la région, le roc du Bouclier canadien forme un paysage spectaculaire; les falaises rocheuses sont entrecoupées de nombreuses vallées et gorges profondes. Le fjord du Saguenay est abrupt; ses falaises peuvent atteindre 450 m de hauteur. Un rivage régulier, bas et rocheux, avec, ici et là, des îles, des grandes battures vaseuses et des marais salés, est la caractéristique dominante de la rive sud.

Flore et faune

Quelque 65 espèces de poissons d'eau salée, de poissons d'eau douce et de poissons anadromes forment l'ichtyofaune de la région, dont la morue franche, le flétan du Groenland, le hareng, le capelan et le saumon de l'Atlantique. La diversité et l'abondance de la vie marine de cette région, tout particulièrement sur les tombants et les terrasses sous-marines, en font l'un des endroits de prédilection pour les plongeurs dans l'est canadien. Certaines des populations les plus denses d'eiders à duvet nicheurs d'Amérique du Nord, ainsi que certaines des plus fortes concentrations nicheuses de bihoreaux à couronne noire, de de grands hérons et de cormorans à aigrettes de l'est canadien se retrouvent ici. La région revêt une importance particulière pour les oies des neiges, les canards de mer et les oiseaux de rivage qui font escale dans les marais et les battures et pour les goélands, les mouettes et les sternes qui se concentrent dans les remontées d'eau profonde à l'embouchure du Saguenay. Ce coin de pays est un des meilleurs endroits au Canada pour l'observation des baleines. Le marsouin commun, le petit rorqual, le rorqual commun, le rorqual à bosse et le rorqual bleu, de même que le phoque commun et le phoque gris sont communément observés. La seule population méridionale de bélugas se trouve dans cette région; elle compte de 500-700 individus et est en danger de disparition.

État actuel de la planification

Cette région est représentée par le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent (1138 km²), créé en 1998 en vertu de la Loi sur le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent. En 1990, les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec ont signé une entente fédérale-provinciale prévoyant l'établissement d'un parc marin au confluent de la riviPre Saguenay et de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent. L'entente précise que chaque ordre de gouvernement conservera sa compétence respective dans la région et en assurera la protection. Des lois spécifiques complémentaires ont été adoptées par les autorités fédérales et provinciales pour établir le parc de façon officiel et déterminer les modalités de sa gestion. (Pour plus de détails sur le processus d'établissement, voir le programme AMNC.)


Dernière mise à jour : 2013-05-10 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants