Parks Canada Banner
 Franšais Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada

This page has been archived.

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Canada’s National Marine Conservation Areas System Plan

Newfoundland Shelf

The Water

The continental shelf area is narrow, typically less than 50 km wide, but extends out to 200 km in places. The seafloor is uneven, with shallow banks towards the outer edge of the shelf and deep central basins and troughs up to 400 m deep. Islands, reefs, and shoals are common. Winds increase productivity by keeping the water column mixed. The tidal range rarely exceeds 1 m. The region is ice covered for about three months of the year, mostly pack ice. Icebergs are common and are often very close to shore. This is the southernmost extent of Arctic water in the world and many of the species found in the region reflect that Arctic affinity.

The Coast

Uplift, folding, deposition, glaciation and the subsequent drowning of the coast by changes in sea level have resulted in a highly irregular, rugged and bold coastline dominated by bedrock cliffs up to 300 m in height, rock outcrops, pocket beaches and numerous islands, inlets and bays. The coast is predominantly a storm-wave environment and the Atlantic Ocean batters all but the most sheltered areas.

The Wildlife

Important stocks of Atlantic cod, capelin, Atlantic salmon, haddock, redfish, Canadian plaice and Greenland halibut occur here. Overall invertebrate diversity is high and includes such species as lobster, Iceland scallop and snow crab. This region has the greatest concentrations of breeding seabirds in Atlantic Canada – close to six million pairs, over 90% in three main colonies: Witless Bay Islands, Baccalieu Island and Funk Island. Between them, these colonies harbour over 70% of the North American population of Atlantic puffins, 80% and 17% of the western Atlantic populations of common murres and northern gannets, respectively, along with the world's largest and second largest Leach's storm-petrel breeding colonies (over 4 million pairs in all). Funk Island, the most remote of the seabird islands, was once home to tens of thousands of Great Auks, extinct since the early 19th century as a result of overhunting. Millions of gulls, murres, dovekies, fulmars, kittiwakes, common and king eiders and other sea ducks winter offshore while Southern Hemisphere shearwaters spend the summer here. The region sees a great variety of migrating and summering cetaceans, particularly harbour porpoises, Atlantic white-sided dolphins, humpback, fin, right, minke, sei, sperm and killer whales. Local populations of humpback whales are the largest in the world and continue to expand. Hooded and harp seals are common as they migrate to their whelping patch at "The Front" off southern Labrador.

Status

This region is not yet represented in the national marine conservation areas system. The Bonavista-Notre Dame Bays representative marine area was selected as the preferred site for consideration as a possible national marine conservation area in the region, and in 1997, Canada and the provincial government launched a feasibility study for a proposed national marine conservation area in that location. In 1999, the feasibility study was discontinued as there was not sufficient support to proceed. Governments made the decision in response to concerns expressed by the feasibility study advisory committee on behalf of the residents of local communities. Other options for representing this marine region will be investigated in due course. (For details on the establishment process, see The NMCA Program.)


Last Updated: 2013-05-10 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Le Plan de réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Plate-forme de Terre-Neuve

Milieu marin

La plate-forme continentale est étroite, soit moins de 50 km en général, mais elle s'élargit jusqu'à 200 km par endroits. Le fond marin est inégal; il y a des bancs peu profonds vers l'extrémité externe de la plate-forme et, au centre, de profonds bassins et dépressions qui peuvent atteindre jusqu'à 400 m de profondeur. Les îles, les récifs et les hauts-fonds y sont communs. Les vents augmentent la productivité de la région en brassant continuellement la colonne d'eau. L'amplitude des marées dépasse rarement un mètre. La région peut être recouverte de glace jusqu'à trois mois par année, le type de glace dominant étant la banquise. Les icebergs sont fréquents et souvent près de la côte. C'est le point le plus au sud du monde pour les eaux à caractère arctiques et plusieurs espèces dans cette région se distinguent par leurs affinités arctiques.

Profil littoral

Le soulèvement, le plissement, la déposition, la glaciation et l'ennoiement de la côte suite à des changements dans le niveau de la mer ont créé un littoral extrêmement irrégulier, anguleux et abrupt, dominé par des falaises rocheuses s'élevant jusqu'à 300 m de hauteur, par des affleurements rocheux, par des petites plages et par de nombreuses îles, maints bras de mer et de nombreuses baies. L'environnement de la côte est dominé par des vagues de tempêtes et l'Atlantique ne donne du répit qu'aux endroits les mieux abrités.

Flore et faune

Il y a, dans toute la région, d'importants stocks de morue franche, de capelan, de saumon de l'Atlantique, d'aiglefin, de sébaste, de plie canadienne et de flétan du Groenland. On y trouve aussi une grande diversité d'invertébrés, dont le homard, le pétoncle d'Islande et le crabe des neiges. La région englobe les concentrations les plus importantes d'oiseaux de mer nicheurs du Canada atlantique, soit près de 6 millions de couples, dont plus de 90 pour cent sont répartis en trois colonies principales : les îles de la baie Witless, l'île Baccalieu et l'île Funk. Entres elles, ces colonies comptent plus de 70 pour cent de la population nord-américaine de macareux moines, 80 et 17 pour cent des populations de l'Atlantique ouest de marmettes de Troïl et de fous de Bassan, respectivement, ainsi que les deux plus grandes colonies au monde de pétrels cul-blanc (plus de 4 millions de couples en tout). L'île Funk abritait jadis des dizaines de milliers de grands pingouins, qui ont disparu au début du XIXe siècle par suite d'une chasse excessive. Des millions de goélands, de mouettes tridactyles, de marmettes, de mergules nains, de fulmars, d'eiders à duvet, d'eiders à tête grise et autres canards de mer passent l'hiver au large de cette côte, tandis que des puffins de l'hémisphère sud passent l'été ici. La région est fréquentée par une grande variété de cétacés en migration ou en estivage, en particulier des marsouins communs, des dauphins à flancs blancs de l'Atlantique, des rorquals à bosse, des rorquals communs, des baleines noires, des petits rorquals, des rorquals boréaux, des cachalots macrocéphales et des épaulards. Les populations locales de rorquals à bosse sont les plus importantes au monde et elles continuent de croître. Les phoques à capuchon et les phoques du Groenland sont communs, migrant vers leur aire de mise bas sur la glace au « Front », au large du Labrador.

État actuel de la planification

Cette région n'est pas représentée dans le réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation. L'aire marine représentative des baies Bonavista-Notre Dame a été choisie comme candidat privilégié aux fins d'une aire marine nationale de conservation possible dans la région, et en 1997, les gouvernements fédéral et provincial ont lancé une étude d'évaluation de la faisabilité du projet d'aire marine nationale de conservation à cet endroit. En 1999, l'étude de faisabilité a été interrompue étant donné que l'appui reçu était insuffisant pour continuer. Les gouvernements ont pris cette décision suite aux préoccupations exprimées par le comité consultatif de l'étude de faisabilité au nom des résidents de cette région. D'autres options pour représenter cette région marine seront considérées en temps et lieu. (Pour plus de détails sur le processus d'établissement, voir le programme AMNC.)


Dernière mise à jour : 2013-05-10 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants