Parks Canada Banner
 Français Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
 About the Parks Canada Agency National Parks of Canada National Historic Sites of Canada National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada Cultural Heritage
Natural Heritage
Parks Canada Home
Search
Enter a keyword:

National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada

This page has been archived.

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Canada’s National Marine Conservation Areas System Plan

Canada's Atlantic Marine Wildlife


Illustration showing 33 marine species which can be found beneath the waters of Canada's Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic marine wildlife
© Parks Canada / Dorothea Kappler, 1995

Benthic communities are very diverse, with a variety of marine plants, such as seaweeds and kelp, and numerous invertebrate species.

Though more than 500 species of marine fish have been recorded in the Canadian Atlantic, less than 300 species occur regularly. Important populations of groundfish, such as cod, redfish, haddock, pollock, plaice and flounder, and pelagic fish, such as hake, herring, tuna, capelin and salmon, are found in these waters.

Most of the seabird colonies are off Labrador, Newfoundland and the Quebec North Shore, where steep rocky cliffs and islands are found. All of the gannets and the great majority of the razorbills and puffins in North America, as well as most of the eastern NorthsAmerican population of common murres, breed in these areas. Migrating and wintering populations of waterfowl, shorebirds and seabirds concentrate, respectively, in the marsh habitats of the St. Lawrence estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence, the mud flats of the Bay of Fundy and the open ocean off Newfoundland and Nova Scotia.

The total population of marine mammals which makes its way to Canada's East Coast each year far exceeds the human population – some 22 species of whales and dolphins, and six species of seals are attracted to the highly productive feeding grounds.


Last Updated: 2013-05-10 To the top
To the top
Important Notices

Bannière de Parcs Canada
 English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
 À propos de l'Agence Parcs Canada Parcs nationaux du Canada Lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada Patrimoine culturel
Patrimoine naturel
Page d'accueil de Parcs Canada
Recherche
Entrer un mot-clé :

Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Cette page a été archivée.

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Le Plan de réseau des aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

La flore et la faune marines de l'Atlantique canadien


Dessin illustrant 33 espèces marines qu'on peut retrouver dans les eaux de l'océan Atlantique canadien
Flore et faune marines de l'Atlantique
© Parcs Canada / Dorothea Kappler, 1995

Les communautés benthiques sont très diversifiées et l'on y trouve les plantes marines les plus diverses, comme les algues marines et les laminaires, et nombreuses espèces d'invertébrés.

Bien qu'on ait recensé plus de 500 espèces de poissons d'eau salée dans l'Atlantique canadien, moins de 300 espèces y évoluent régulièrement. On trouve dans ces eaux d'importantes populations de poissons de fond, comme la morue, le sébaste, l'aiglefin, la goberge, et les plies, et de poissons pélagiques, comme le merlu, la merluche, le hareng, le thon, le capelan et le saumon.

La plupart des colonies d'oiseaux de mer se retrouvent au Labrador, à Terre-Neuve et sur la Côte-Nord du Québec où les falaises et îles rocheuses sont concentrées. Tous les fous de Bassan et la plupart des petits pingouins et des macareux moines de l'Amérique du Nord, ainsi que la plus grande partie de la population de l'est nord-américain des marmettes de Troïl, nichent dans ces régions. Des populations migratrices et hivernantes d'anatidés se concentrent dans les habitats marécageux de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent et au sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent, tandis que les oiseaux de rivage préfèrent les battures de la baie de Fundy. De grandes concentrations d'oiseaux de mer passent l'hiver en haute mer, au large de Terre-Neuve et de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

La population totale de mammifères marins qui se rendent chaque année près de la côte atlantique du Canada dépasse de beaucoup la population humaine. Quelque 22 espèces de baleines et de dauphins et six espèces de phoques y sont attirées par les aires d'alimentation très riches.


Dernière mise à jour : 2013-05-10 Haut de la page
Haut de la page
Avis importants