Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada

National Marine Conservation Areas - Introduction

Scenic view of Wickaninnish Beach, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve in British Columbia
Scenic view of Wickaninnish Beach, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve in British Columbia
© Parks Canada / A. Cornellier / 10.104.03.18(101), 1988

Canada is truly a maritime nation with a rich marine heritage. We have the longest coastline in the world -- over 243,000 km along three oceans -- plus another 9500 km along the Great Lakes. We also have responsibility for over 5 million km2 of marine waters - the equivalent of about 60% of the country's land mass!

The vast marine ecosystems off these coasts, varied and productive, have played a major role in shaping Canada's history and economy. So it is no wonder that the national marine conservation areas representing this powerful force are an important component of Parks Canada's networks of nationally significant places.

Relative newcomers to Parks Canada's networks, national marine conservation areas divide the country's oceans and Great Lakes into 29 marine regions, each one a distinct combination of physical and biological characteristics . Existing national marine conservation areas include submerged lands, the water above them, and any species found there. They can also take in wetlands, estuaries, islands and other coastal lands.

Parks Canada is responsible for both protecting these ecosystems and managing them for visitors to understand, appreciate, and enjoy in a sustainable manner.

Protecting

Colourful anemone with tentacles extended in a strong Pacific Ocean current
Colourful anemone with tentacles extended in a strong Pacific Ocean current
© Parks Canada / 10.104.10.14(55), 1981

Marine ecosystems are fundamentally different from terrestrial environments. And human use in coastal regions, both on land and in the waters, has always been high. This means the effects of human activity -- from degradation of coastal habitats, to land and water pollution, to over-exploitation of resources - can also be high, and often far-reaching.

Because many human uses continue within their boundaries, national marine conservation areas do not try to protect marine ecosystems in a state essentially unaltered by human activity - the primary goal for national parks. National marine conservation areas focus instead on ecologically sustainable use, which means harmonising conservation practices with human activities. This approach involves working closely with others who use the coastal land and the water, and striving to reach common goals - most importantly a healthy, sustainable ecosystem.

Human uses such as fishing and shipping, for example, are allowed in national marine conservation areas. But they would be limited or even eliminated from zones protecting sensitive features such as nesting areas, spawning beds, whale calving areas and cultural sites. And they would be carefully managed to protect the greater ecosystem. Other activities, namely ocean dumping, undersea mining and oil and gas exploration and development, are not permitted in a national marine conservation area.

Understanding and appreciating

Diver examines a fully extended orange sea pen in the waters off Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve in British Columbia
Diver examines a fully extended orange sea pen in the waters off Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve in British Columbia
© Parks Canada / D. Pagé / 10.105.07.10(05), 1989

Each national marine conservation area is a gateway to nature, adventure, learning and discovery, offering visitors the opportunity to connect with a major marine environment, both above and below the surface (or both onshore and offshore), including

  • geological features
  • water in its various forms
  • marine and coastal habitats
  • a wide diversity of wildlife,
  • archaeological and historic features.

Visitors can hike along coastlines shaped over millennia, observe powerful tides and currents, watch sea birds dive and soar over traditional nesting sites, explore the captivating world of a tidal pool, kayak through scenic island archipelagos, dive through waters teeming with unique marine life, discover intriguing underwater archaeological sites, and more.

Enhanced by Parks Canada's visitor programs and activities, the opportunities to learn about these unique marine environments, and to develop a deeper understanding for the threats they face and the natural values they support, are many, varied, and unforgettable.

Two orcas (or killer whales) travelling in Queen Charlotte Strait off Vancouver Island, British Columbia
Two orcas (or killer whales) travelling in Queen Charlotte Strait off Vancouver Island, British Columbia
© Parks Canada / F. Mercier/ 10.104.10.03(05), 1992

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada

Aires marines nationales de conservation - Introduction

Vue pittoresque de Wickaninnish Beach, réserve de parc national Pacific Rim en Colombie-Britannique
Vue pittoresque de Wickaninnish Beach, réserve de parc national Pacific Rim en Colombie-Britannique
© Parcs Canada / A. Cornellier / 10.104.03.18(101), 1988

Le Canada est un véritable pays maritime avec un riche patrimoine marin. Il a le plus long littoral au monde - plus de 243 000 km en bordure de trois océans - sans compter les 9 500 km de rivage autour des Grands Lacs. Le Canada est également responsable de plus de 5 millions de km2 de surface marine - l'équivalent d'environ 60 % de la masse continentale du pays!

Les vastes écosystèmes marins au large de ces côtes, fort variés et productifs, ont joué un rôle important dans l'histoire et l'économie du Canada. Il ne faut donc pas se surprendre que les aires marines nationales de conservation qui représentent cette force puissante soient un volet important des réseaux d'endroits d'importance nationale de Parcs Canada.

Relativement nouvelles dans les réseaux de Parcs Canada, les aires marines nationales de conservation divisent les océans du pays et les Grands Lacs en 29 régions marines, chacune étant un regroupement distinct de caractéristiques physiques et biologiques . Les aires existantes comprennent les terres submergées, l'eau qui les recouvre et les espèces qui y habitent. Elles peuvent également comprendre les terres humides, les estuaires, les îles et d'autres terres côtières.

Parcs Canada doit protéger ces écosystèmes et les gérer afin de permettre aux visiteurs de les comprendre, de les apprécier et d'en jouir de façon durable.

Protection

Anémone très colorée, tentacules étendues dans un courant fort du Pacifique
Anémone très colorée, tentacules étendues dans un courant fort du Pacifique
© Parcs Canada / 10.104.10.14(55), 1981

Les écosystèmes marins sont fondamentalement différents des milieux terrestres. L'activité humaine dans les régions côtières, tant sur terre que sur l'eau, a toujours été importante, ce qui fait que ses répercussions - dégradation des habitats côtiers, pollution du sol et de l'eau, surexploitation des ressources - peuvent aussi être élevées et sont souvent lourdes de conséquence.

Comme une bonne partie de l'activité humaine se déroule à l'intérieur des aires marines nationales de conservation, ces dernières ne cherchent pas à conserver intacts les écosystèmes marins, qui est le but premier des parcs nationaux. Les aires marines nationales de conservation visant plutôt l'utilisation durable sur le plan écologique, ce qui se traduit par l'harmonisation des pratiques de conservation avec les activités humaines. Cette approche exige une collaboration étroite avec les utilisateurs des régions côtières et des plans d'eau, et la poursuite de buts communs - un écosystème sain et durable d'abord et avant tout.

Les activités humaines comme la pêche et la navigation sont autorisées dans les aires marines nationales de conservation. Mais elles peuvent être limitées ou même interdites dans des zones qui protègent des éléments fragiles comme les aires de nidification, les frayères, les aires de mise bas des baleines et les sites culturels. Les AMNC seront aussi soigneusement gérées pour protéger le grand écosystème. D'autres activités, notamment le rejet en mer, l'exploitation minière sous-marine, l'exploration et l'exploitation gazières et pétrolières, sont interdites dans une aire marine nationale de conservation.

Compréhension et appréciation

Un plongeur examine une plume de mer orange bien ouverte dans les eaux au large de la réserve de parc national Gwaii Haanas en Colombie-Britannique
Un plongeur examine une plume de mer orange bien ouverte dans les eaux au large de la réserve de parc national Gwaii Haanas en Colombie-Britannique
© Parcs Canada / D. Pagé / 10.105.07.10(05), 1989

Chaque aire marine nationale de conservation s'ouvre sur la nature, l'aventure, l'apprentissage et la découverte, révélant aux visiteurs un important milieu marin, tant au-dessus qu'au-dessous de la surface (ou tant le long des côtes qu'au large), notamment :

  • des caractéristiques géologiques,
  • l'eau sous diverses formes,
  • des habitats marins et côtiers,
  • une faune diversifiée,
  • des caractéristiques archéologiques et historiques.

Les visiteurs peuvent arpenter le littoral façonné pendant des millénaires, observer les fortes marées et les courants puissants, voir des oiseaux marins plonger et planer au-dessus des sites de nidification traditionnels, explorer le monde captivant d'une cuvette de marée, faire du kayak au milieu d'îles pittoresques, faire de la plongée dans des eaux qui fourmillent d'une vie marine unique, découvrir des sites archéologiques subaquatiques mystérieux, pour ne citer que quelques exemples.

Grâce aux programmes et aux activités que Parcs Canada offre aux visiteurs, les possibilités de découvrir ces milieux marins uniques et de mieux comprendre les menaces qui les guettent et les valeurs naturelles qu'ils renferment sont innombrables, variées et inoubliables.

Deux épaulards se promenant dans le détroit Reine-Charlotte au large de l'île de Vancouver en Colombie Britannique
Deux épaulards se promenant dans le détroit Reine-Charlotte au large de l'île de Vancouver en Colombie Britannique
© Parcs Canada / F. Mercier/ 10.104.10.03(05), 1992