Common menu bar links

National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada

The wreck of John and Alex at low water level, Fathom Five National Marine Park
Fathom Five National Marine Park of Canada

The deep and sparkling waters at the mouth of Georgian Bay are home to Fathom Five - Canada's first National Marine Conservation Area.

Learn More

National Marine Conservation Areas, or NMCA for short, are marine areas managed for sustainable use and containing smaller zones of high protection. They include the seabed, the water above it and any species which occur there. They may also take in wetlands, estuaries, islands and other coastal lands.

Learn More about Marine Conservation Area