Parc national du Canada Ivvavik

Milieu naturel

Climat

L'Arctique est une région marquée par les extrêmes, qu'il s'agisse de la lumière du jour, de la température ou du temps. Avec un mois d'obscurité l'hiver et deux mois de lumière constante l'été, les animaux et les plantes doivent profiter de la courte saison de croissance et pouvoir endurer les longs hivers rigoureux.

En été, la température moyenne à Ivvavik est de 14 °C et l'hiver, de -29 °C. Les précipitations annuelles sont si peu abondantes que l'Arctique est considéré comme un désert.

Les régions côtières sont fortement influencées par les masses d'air maritime. Des conditions subarctiques plus continentales (p. ex. moins de brouillard et de précipitations et de plus grands écarts de température) prédominent dans la région du centre et du sud du parc. Les monts Britanniques constituent un accident de terrain important qui influence le climat régional.

Haut de la page

Les monts Britanniques

Monts Britanniques près du ruisseau Sheep
Monts Britanniques près du ruisseau Sheep.
© Parcs Canada / Karsten Heuer, 29 août 2001

Les monts Britanniques dominent Ivvavik et représentent environ deux tiers de la superficie du parc. Ces monts, ainsi que le chaînon Barn à l'est, la chaîne de Brooks en Alaska à l'ouest et la plaine Old Crow au sud n'ont pas été englacés mais ont formé une vaste masse terrestre libre de glace appelée Béringie.

La région sans glace s'étendait jusqu'en Sibérie de l'est, traversant la mer de Béring par un large pont continental. La Béringie était un refuge où les plantes, la faune et les humains vivaient pendant la dernière période glaciaire il y a 14 000 à 30 0colonisées ans. Les terres adjacentes ont été colonisées au fur et à mesure que le glacier continental a fondu. De nombreux éléments du parc sont représentatifs des paysages non englacés. Les vallées en V, les collines coniques isolées et les promontoires rocheux de talus de bas nommés ostanets sont les plus évidents. La gélifraction, l'érosion éolienne et hydrique et la gravité qui déplace lentement la matière en pente descendante constitue les forces principales qui façonnent le territoire. Les crêtes et les pics des monts Britanniques s'élèvent à une altitude de 860 à 1 680 mètres et sont de plus en plus tourmentés d'est en ouest. Les vallées des rivières Babbage, Firth et Malcolm traversent ces monts du sud-ouest au nord-est. direction. La faune et les humains les empruntent poaur se déplacer depuis des milliers d'années.

Haut de la page

La rivière Firth

Canyon inférieur de la rivière Firth
Canyon inférieur de la rivière Firth.
© Parcs Canada / Karsten Heuer, juin 2002

La rivière Firth constitue un couloir naturel pour une faune riche et diversifiée et pour les visiteurs du parc qui veulent admirer la diversité du paysage arctique. La rivière offre 130 km d'eau navigable du lac Margaret (près de la frontière de l'Alaska) jusqu'à la mer de Beaufort en se dirigeant vers le nord. La rivière Firth coule assez lentement dans la large vallée mais devient plus vive au fur et à mesure que la vallée se rétrécit en s'approchant du ruisseau Joe.

Une fois qu'elle a dépassé le ruisseau Joe, sa pente s'accentue et le pagayeur rencontre de nombreux rapides de Classe II, III et IV. Environ à moitié chemin de l'océan, la rivière Firth pénètre dans un canyon et n'émerge pas avant d'atteindre la plaine côtière. Elle ralentit alors et se divise en petits chenaux entrelacés qui forment un delta à la lagune Nunaluk.

L'aufeis est associé au grand nombre de sources. L'hiver, l'eau de percolation gèle et forme des couches de glace qui ne cessent de s'épaissir. Ce sont de grandes étendues de l'aufeis en amont du lac Margaret ainsi que sur certains des affluents de la Firth, sur le delta et sur d'autres rivières du parc. La glace reste parfois toute l'année.


Haut de la page

La plaine côtière

Plaine côtière
Plaine côtière.
© Parcs Canada / Ian McDonald

La plaine côtière est une bande de terrain plat à ondulé qui s'étend vers le nord des collines Buckland à l'océan Arctique. La largeur de la plaine va de 30 km à l'est à 10 km à l'ouest. Au cours de la dernière période glaciaire, une langue du glacier continental s'étendait vers l'ouest à partir des monts Richardson et s'avançait le long de la plaine environ à mi-chemin entre les rivières Firth et Malcolm. En reculant, le glacier a laissé des tas de dépôts sédimentaires. Certaines de ses collines de débris glaciaires le long des collines Buckland contenaient des blocs de glace de l'ère glaciaire qui ont fondu et se sont affaissés en dépressions appelées kettles. Ces dépressions, souvent remplies d'eau, sont des caractéristiques bien particulières du paysage, tout comme les chenaux d'eau de fonte qui contenaient jadis des eaux de crue glaciaires.

Aujourd'hui, la plaine côtière subit les effets de refroidissement de la mer de Beaufort. La neige et la glace s'installent début octobre et ne fondent pas avant la mi-mai; la mer est encore gelée à ce moment là. Tout l'été, des floes et de la glace à la dérive se trouvent au large et peuvent atteindre la côte en tout temps. La présence constante de la glace rafraîchit l'air, retarde le début de la belle saison et en réduit la durée. La glace crée également des bancs de brouillard qui peut rendre les journées fraîches et humides. Comme sur toutes les côtes de l'Arctique, le vent est un facteur; il est froid, même au milieu de l'été lorsqu'il souffle du nord.

Haut de la page

La mer de Beaufort

Mer de Beaufort à la flèche Nunaluk
Mer de Beaufort à la flèche Nunaluk.
© Parcs Canada / Karsten Heuer, 2002

Tout le nord du Yukon est bordé par la mer de Beaufort, qui fait partie de l'océan Arctique. C'est un océan pris dans la glace pendant au moins huit mois de l'année. Des chenaux libres commencent à se former le long de la côte en avril mais la glace de rive ne se brise et ne dérive pas avant juin ou même juillet. C'est pourquoi l'étude de l'océan Arctique est difficile du point de vue technique et coûteuse. C'est le bassin océanique le moins connu.

La direction des courants du large influe sur la topographie du rivage et sur l'habitat et les habitudes migratoires de la faune. Les levées de galets et les îles, parallèles à la côte, offrent des aires de nidification importantes aux oiseaux de mer. Des limans protégés de l'océan par des flèches littorales, constituent des aires d'alimentation importantes pour les oiseaux et les poissons. Les courants ont un impact sur l'emplacement des chenaux libres dans la glace de rive au printemps. Les phoques et les baleines dépendent de ces chenaux pour se rendre dans des aires d'alimentation, de reproduction et de mise bas.

Les mêmes courants transportent du bois flotté vers l'ouest, de l'embouchure du fleuve Mackenzie et dispersent les billes sur des milliers de kilomètres du littoral. Ce bois procure un habitat essentiel à toute une gamme de petits mammifères et d'oiseaux nicheurs. Par le passé, les humaines dépendaient du bois de grève pour se garder au chaud et s'abriter sur la côte, comme en témoignent les nombreux abris, les huttes au toit de terre et les tombes.


Haut de la page

Géologie

Parcourir la rivière Firth est le moyen idéal d'apprendre à connaître l'histoire géologique de la région, qui est présentée par les couches de roche sédimentaire exposées dans les parois du canyon. Les plus anciennes de ces roches étaient autrefois des sédiments qui se sont lentement déposés dans un bassin océanique il y a 380 à 580 millions d'années. Le littoral du continent nord-américain se trouvait alors à plusieurs centaines de kilomètres au sud et à l'est. Depuis lors, le nord du Yukon a émergé puis a connu une succession de périodes de formation et d'érosion des montagnes.

Il y a quelque 400 millions d'années, d'immenses plaques d'écorce terrestre ont changé la direction de leur déplacement. Dans le monde entier, des chaînes de montagne se sont dressées vers le ciel lorsque les plaques de lithosphère se sont entrechoquées. À Ivvavik, on peut constater cette orogenèse sur les parois du canyon de la rivière Firth sous forme de couches pliées de schiste argileux et de calcaire. Le paysage a été usé depuis par d'innombrables années de vent et de pluie.

Les sédiments, déposés au fond de l'océan ou par des rivières qui traversaient de vastes plaines d'inondation, ont formé des strates horizontales de roche sur les lits déformés. Au fil du temps, ils sont devenus le calcaire, le grès et le schiste argileux qui constituent les fondations du parc. Certains sédiments ont été déposés pendant des périodes où le climat était beaucoup plus chaud qu'aujourd'hui.

Ce sont en partie les fossiles de plantes et d'animaux préservés dans les roches de la région qui racontent cette histoire. Des squelettes d'animaux marins qui n'habitent que des eaux chaudes sont conservés dans le schiste du canyon et on peut trouver des coraux fossilisés dans le calcaire dans la partie sud du parc.

Haut de la page

Pergélisol

Le climat du nord du Yukon est rigoureux même si nous sommes entre deux périodes glaciaires. Les hivers sont longs et froids et les étés, trop courts. La température moyenne sur l'année est si basse que la plus grande partie du sol dans le parc est gelé en permanence.

L'été, le nord du Yukon peut toutefois être étonnamment luxuriant et plein de vie. Toutes les précipitations et la neige fondante restent à la surface. Sans cette eau, certaines plantes et animaux ne survivraient pas. De plus, le chaud soleil estival fait fondre la couche supérieure du sol à diverses profondeurs, permettant le développement de racines.

L'action constante du gel discontinu sur les différents types de sol et sur le substratum produit toute une gamme de caractéristiques particulières au pergélisol : hummocks, tuscos, ventres de boeuf, cercles de pierres, et polygones concaves et convexes. Les lobes de solifluxion, une couche de sol dégelé glissant sur une couche de pergélisol, se déplacent lentement vers l'aval. Les roches souterraines montent à la surface et s'entassent en plaques verticales. Des blocs de glace fossile exposés sur les rives des rivières et sur le littoral fondent en été et causent des glissements de boue et du slumping. Le paysage du nord du Yukon a été façonné autant par les effets plus subtils du sol gelé que par les forces plus impressionnantes de sa géologie.

Haut de la page

Flore

Anémone de Nutall
Anémone de Nutall.
© Parcs Canada / PC-03540

Il existe trois types principaux de végétation dans le parc: toundra arctique, toundra alpine et taïga. La toundra arctique et la toundra alpine sont les plus communes. La taïga établit la transition entre la forêt boréale et la toundra et consiste en peuplements clairs d'épinette rabougrie et de peuplier baumier. Ces arbres poussent jusqu'à 30 km de la mer de Beaufort et se trouvent à l'extrémité nord de leur parcours naturel au Canada.

La profondeur du pergélisol et l'humidité disponible exercent une incidence sur la répartition des plantes dans le nord du Yukon. La durée du jour, la température de l'air et du sol, l'exposition au vent et les conditions d'enneigement ont aussi un impact sur le lieu et le mode de croissance des plantes. Dans vallée de la rivière Firth, les plantes plus délicates qui fleurissent et des peuplements d'arbres rabougris poussent sur les versants des montagnes et les berges des cours d'eau orientés vers le sud car ils sont protégés et reçoivent une abondance d'ensoleillement direct. Le pergélisol est donc plus bas dans le sol. Les vallées des rivières Malcolm et Babbage sont fortement influencées par le temps en mer de Beaufort : brouillard fréquent, température fraîche et vent constant. La végétation caractéristique de ces vallées comprend des graminées, du carex, des herbes et de petits arbustes.

Sur la plaine côtière proche de l'océan, le pergélisol est près de la surface et prévient la croissance d'arbres et d'autres espèces de plantes. Les plus grandes plantes ici sont des saules qui poussent le long du sol. Les zones humides de polygones sont remplies de graminées, de joncs et de carex. Les polygones convexes, le flanc des collines et les crêtes sont couverts de bleuets, d'airelles rouges et de mûres jaunes. Les fleurs de toutes les couleurs tapissent le parc, surtout de fin juin à début juillet. La floraison est retardée à certains endroits par la neige qui reste (p. ex. sur la plaine côtière) ou s'est accumulée (p. ex. le long des berges des cours d'eau ou du côté sous le vent des collines).

Toutes les plantes qui poussent dans l'Arctique ont évolué afin de survivre dans un environnement difficile. Certaines espèces développent une épaisse couche de duvet protecteur contre le froid. D'autres se protègent en poussant en coussinets ou en tapis. Certaines encore dirigent leurs fleurs en forme de coupe vers le soleil afin de concentrer les rayons sur les graines au centre des fleurs. D'autres encore ont des poils foncés qui absorbent la chaleur solaire. La plupart des plantes de l'Arctique sont à pousse basse car les conditions sont plus favorables près du sol. Un grand nombre change de couleur entre la mi-août et la fin août et forme une mosaïque brillante de jaune, d'orange et de rouge dans le paysage.

Haut de la page

Mammifères terrestres

Caribou de la Porcupine
Caribou de la Porcupine.
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch, PC-02739

Le nord du Yukon, avec sa végétation diversifiée, peut assurer la subsistance de toute une gamme d'animaux. De nombreuses espèces de mammifères se déplacent librement entre les zones végétation tandis que d'autres préfèrent des habitats très particuliers.

La harde de caribous de la Porcupine fait sa migration annuelle des vallées boisées du centre-nord du Yukon à son terrain de mise bas sur la côte de la mer de Beaufort. Le boeuf musqué préfère la toundra ouverte de la plaine côtière mais on le retrouve parfois dans les vallées des montagnes. L'ours polaire passe le plus clair de son temps au nord du parc à chasser le phoque parmi les chenaux libres de la banquise au large; il vient toutefois à terre pendant l'année, particulièrement l'hiver. Le grizzli couvre tout le parc. Le renard roux et le renard arctique habitent tous deux à Ivvavik. Le mouflon de Dall se trouve ici à la limite nord de son aire de distribution géographique dans les monts Britanniques. L'orignal se rend parfois dans la plaine côtière mais préfère se nourrir au fond des vallées. Le loup et le carcajou vont là où ils trouvent suffisamment de proies pour assurer leur subsistance. La martre et le porc-épic vivent dans la forêt et s'aventurent aussi au nord que la limite des arbres.

Le sphermophile arctique prospère partout où il peut trouver un sol mou pour creuser son terrier, tout comme d'autres espèces à la tanière souterraine. Il existe six espèces de campagnol dans le parc et deux de lemming. Le campagnol chanteur est le plus vocal. On peut entendre son sifflement strident retentir dans la toundra. Les lemmings, connus principalement pour la nature cyclique de leurs populations, sèment dans la toundra leurs pistes, leurs terriers et leurs caches de foin.

Ivvavik, la Réserve faunique nationale de l'Arctique à l'ouest et le parc national Vuntut au sud protègent ensemble quelque 94 500 kilomètres carrés de territoire qui ne représentent qu'une petite partie de la région circumpolaire. Les espèces comme le caribou des toundras ont besoin de grandes étendues non développées. Elles ne s'arrêtent pas aux limites du parc ou aux frontières internationales. Ivvavik offre toutefois un refuge qui, s'il fait l'objet d'une gestion diligente, pourra assurer la subsistance de populations fauniques saines pendant de nombreuses années

Haut de la page

Poissons

L'ombre de l'Arctique et le Dolly Varden sont les espèces de poisson les plus connues du parc. La principale caractéristique de l'ombre est sa grande nageoire dorsale qui ondule comme une voile. L'ombre se trouve surtout d'insectes, qui abondent dans le nord du Yukon. Les rivières Firth et Babbage abritent des populations saines de Dolly Varden. La plupart sont anadromes : ils se rendent chaque été dans la mer de Beaufort pour se nourrir et reviennent dans les eaux douces des rivières pour frayer et passer l'hiver. Plusieurs des rivières et des ruisseaux du parc renferment des sources souterraines. L'eau douce continue de monter à la surface toute l'année et ces cours d'eau ne gèlent pas jusqu'au fond. C'est ici, dans des trous, que l'ombre et le Dolly Varden peuvent passer l'hiver.

Haut de la page

Oiseaux

Labbe à longue queue
Labbe à longue queue.
© Parcs Canada / Brian Johnston, août 1995

Le parc national Ivvavik est un habitat important pour une foule d'espèces d'oiseaux migratoires et résidents. Dans un monde où le nombre d'oiseaux diminue en raison de la destruction de l'habitat, Ivvavik offre un refuge où les oiseaux peuvent nicher et élever leurs petits. Certains oiseaux migrateurs (phalarope à bec étroit, pluvier doré) viennent d'aussi loin au sud que de la Patagonie au Chili, et certains même de l'Antarctique (sterne arctique). D'autres comme le traquet motteux, la bergeronnette printanière et le gorgebleue à miroir traversent la mer de Béring. Certaines espèces, notamment le harfang des neiges, le lagopède et le sizerin blanchâtre, sont hbaitent le parc toute l'année et ont développé des stratégies pour survivre au froid et au manque de lumière. Les corbeaux et les faucons gerfauts sont si bien acclimatés qu'ils peuvent commencer à nicher dès début avril.

La plupart des oiseaux qui se reproduisent et nichent dans le nord du Yukon ne peuvent pas survivre aux rigueurs de l'hiver. Ils reviennent avec le soleil. Tout un nombre d'entre eux arrivent lorsqu'il y a encore de la neige et ne partent pas avant le premier gel. La saison est courte pour assurer la survie de leur espèce et la toundra est pleine de vie pendant les longs jours d'été.

Les nombreux lacs qui parsèment la plaine côtière, les riches deltas et les limans, ainsi que les passages peu profonds offrent tous aux oiseaux un habitat essentiel, tout comme les vallées des montagnes, les canyons, les zones sèches de la toundra et les versants boisés. En août, la reproduction et la nidification sont terminées et la migration d'automne commence. Les oies des neiges venant de leurs sites de nidification dans les îles de l'Arctique arrivent sur la plaine côtière par milliers début septembre. Elles s'envolent lorsque les étangs commencent à geler et que l'hiver approche à grands pas.

Common menu bar links

Ivvavik National Park of Canada

Natural Environment

Climate

The Arctic is a place of extremes, whether referring to the daylight, the temperatures or the weather. With a month of darkness in the winter and two months of twenty-four hour daylight in the summer, plant and animal life must take advantage of the short growing season, and have the ability to endure the harsh, long winters.

The average summer temperature in Ivvavik is 14°C, and the average temperature in winter is -29°C. The annual precipitation is small enough that the Arctic is actually classified as "desert."

Coastal areas are largely influenced by maritime air masses. More continental subarctic conditions (e.g. less fog, less precipitation, larger fluctuations in temperatures) prevail in the centre and southern areas of the park. The British Mountains constitute a significant topographical feature that influences the regional climate.

To the top

The British Mountains

British Mountains near Sheep Creek
British Mountains near Sheep Creek.
© Parks Canada / Karsten Heuer, August 29, 2001

The British Mountains dominate Ivvavik, accounting for about two-thirds of the park's area. These mountains, along with the Barn Range to the east, the Alaska Brooks Range to the west and the Old Crow Flats to the south, were not glaciated but formed a vast ice-free land mass called Beringia.

The ice-free area extended into eastern Siberia, crossing the Bering Sea via a wide land bridge. Beringia was a refuge where plants, wildlife and people lived during the last glacial period of 30,000 to 14,000 years ago. As the continental ice sheets melted, colonization of the surrounding lands took place. Many features in the park are typical of non-glaciated landscapes. V-shaped valleys, isolated conical hills and sideslope rock outcrops called 'tors' are the most obvious ones. The principal forces shaping the land are frost shattering, wind and water erosion, and the forces of gravity which slowly move material downslope. The ridges and peaks of the British Mountains range from 860 to 1,680 metres above sea level. These mountains increase in ruggedness from east to west. The Babbage, Firth and Malcolm river valleys carve their way through these mountains in a southwest to northeast direction. For thousands of years these valleys have been travel routes for wildlife and humans alike.

To the top

The Firth River

Lower Firth River Canyon
Lower Firth River Canyon.
© Parks Canada / Karsten Heuer, June 2002

The Firth River provides a natural corridor for a rich variety of wildlife, and for park visitors who want to see the diverse arctic landscape. The river offers 130 km of navigable river from Margaret Lake (near the Alaska border), northward to the Beaufort Sea. The flow of the Firth is relatively slow through the initial wide river valley, but increases in force as the valley narrows as it approaches Joe Creek.

Travelling past Joe Creek, the river gradient increases and numerous boulder gardens ranging from Class II and III+ are encountered. About halfway to the ocean the Firth River enters a canyon and does not emerge until it reaches the coastal plain. As the coastal plain is approached, the river slows and braids, forming a delta as it empties into the sea at Nunaluk Lagoon.

Associated with the many springs is 'aufeis'. During the winter, percolating water freezes forming ever-thickening layers of ice. There are extensive sheets of this aufeis upstream of Margaret Lake, as well as on some of the Firth's tributaries, delta, and on other park rivers. This ice can often persist throughout the year.


To the top

The Coastal Plain

Coastal Plain
Coastal Plain.
© Parks Canada / Ian McDonald

The coastal plain is a band of flat to rolling topography extending from the Bucklknd Hills north to the Arctic Ocean. The width of the coastal plain varies from 30 km in the east to 10 km in the west. During the last ice age a tongue of the continental icesheet extended westward from the Richardson Mountains; it advanced along the plain to a point about halfway between the Firth and Malcolm rivers. As the glacier receded it left in its wake piles of sedimentary deposits. Some of these hills of glacial debris scattered along the Buckland Hills harboured chunks of glacial ice which have since melted and collapsed into kettle-like depressions. These depressions, often filled with water, are distinctive features of the landscape, as are the meltwater channels that once contained glacial floodwaters.

Today, the coastal plain is influenced by the cooling effects of the Beaufort Sea. Snow and ice arrive by early October and do not melt until late May, and even then the sea is still frozen. Throughout the summer, ice floes and pack ice sit offshore and can blow in anytime. The ever present ice cools the air, delaying the onset and reducing the length of summer. The ice also creates fog banks which can make days cool and wet. As on all arctic coasts, wind is a factor and is cool even in mid-summer when it blows in from the north.

To the top

The Beaufort Sea

Beaufort Sea at Nunaluk Spit
Beaufort Sea at Nunaluk Spit.
© Parks Canada / Karsten Heuer, 2002

The entire northern Yukon is rimmed by the Beaufort Sea, a section of the Arctic Ocean. This is an ocean that is gripped in ice for at least eight months of the year. Open leads start developing along the coast in April, but the landfast ice does not break up and drift away until June or even July. The frozen nature of the Arctic Ocean makes it technically difficult and expensive to study and it is the least understood of all ocean basins.

The direction of offshore currents affects the shoreline topography as well as the habitats and movement patterns of wildlife. Shingle spits and islands, oriented parallel to the shore, offer important nesting habitat to the sea birds. Brackish lagoons, protected from the open ocean by spits, are important feeding areas for both birds and fish. Ocean currents affect the location of open water leads in the landfast ice each spring. Seals and whales depend on these leads to navigate to areas important for feeding, whelping and calving.

The same currents carry driftwood westward, from the mouth of the Mackenzie River, dispersing logs along thousands of kilometres of coastline. The logs provide essential habitat for a variety of small mammals and nesting birds. In the past, humans depended on driftwood for warmth and shelter while on the coast. The many driftwood shelters, sod roofed huts and grave sites are evidence of this.


To the top

Geology

Travelling the Firth River is an ideal introduction to the region's geological history. The most dramatic story is evident in the layers of sedimentary rocks that are exposed in its canyon walls. The oldest of these rocks were once sediments that were slowly deposited in an ocean basin between 580 and 380 million years ago. At that time, the shoreline of the North American continent lay several hundred kilometres to the south and east. Since then the northern Yukon has emerged, risen and fallen repeatedly in a succession of mountain building and erosion episodes.

About 400 million years ago, massive plates of the Earth's crust changed their patterns of motion. Around the world, mountain ranges soared skywards when crustal plates collided. In Ivvavik, evidence of uplifting is exposed in the canyon walls of the Firth River as intensely folded layers of shale and limestone. The landscape has since been worn down by countless years of wind and rain.

Sediments, deposited either on the ocean bottom or by rivers that traversed broad floodplains, formed horizontal layers of rock on top of the deformed beds. Over time, sediments became the limestone, sandstone and shale that form the foundation of the park. Some sediments were deposited during periods of much warmer climate than today.

This story is told, in part, through the fossilized remains of plants and animals preserved in the region's rocks. Skeletons of marine animals, known only to inhabit warm waters, are preserved in canyon shales. Corals, fossilized in limestone, can be found throughout the southern portions of the park.

To the top

Permafrost

Even though we are between glacial ages at the moment, the climate of the northern Yukon is still a harsh one. Winters are long and cold and summers are all too short. The average temperature over the year is so cold that the majority of ground in the park is permanently frozen.

Despite this, the northern Yukon in summer can be surprisingly lush and teeming with life. Any precipitation that does fall, along with the melting snow, sits on the surface. Water is then available for a range of plants and animals that would not otherwise survive. As well, the warm summer sun is able to melt the upper layer of ground to varying depths, thereby freeing up soil for root development.

The continual freeze-thaw action on the different types of soil and substrates produces a variety of features that are distinctive to permafrost terrain - hummocks, tussocks, frost boils, sorted and non-sorted circles, and high and low centred polygons. Solifluction lobes, a layer of thawed soil sliding on top of a permafrost layer, creep downhill. Subsurface rocks squeeze to the surface, piling up in vertical slabs. Wedges of underground ice, exposed along river banks and shorelines, melt in the summer sun and cause mud slides and ground slumping. The landscape of the northern Yukon has been created as much by the effects of its frozen ground as it has been by the more dramatic forces of its geology.

To the top

Flora

Wild crocus (Anemone patens L.)
Wild crocus ( Anemone patens L. ).
© Parks Canada / PC-03540

There are three main vegetation types in the park: arctic tundra, alpine tundra and taiga. Arctic and alpine tundra are the most common. Taiga is the transition between boreal forest and tundra. It consists of open stands of stunted spruce and balsam poplar. These trees grow to within 30 kilometres of the Beaufort Sea and represent the northernmost extension of their range in Canada.

Depth of permafrost and availability of moisture both affect the distribution of plants in the northern Yukon. Day length, air and soil temperature, exposure to wind, and snow conditions also have an impact on how and where plants grow. In the Firth River valley, the more delicate flowering plants as well as stands of stunted trees grow on south-facing mountain slopes and stream banks. These areas are protected and receive plenty of direct sunlight. As a result, permafrost is lower in the soil. The Malcolm and Babbage river valleys are strongly influenced by Beaufort Sea weather: frequent fog, cool temperatures and steady winds. Typical vegetation of these valleys include tundra grasses, sedges, herbs and low shrubs.

On the coastal plain, with its proximity to the ocean, permafrost is close to the surface and precludes the growth of trees and many other plant species. The tallest plants here are willows that grow along the ground. Polygon wetlands are filled with arctic grasses, rushes and sedges. High-centred polygons, hillsides and ridges are covered with blueberries, cranberries and cloudberries. Wildflowers bloom throughout the park with the peak of colour occurring from late June through early July. Blooming is delayed in places where snow lingers (e.g. on the coastal plain) or has accumulated (e.g. along river banks or on the leeside of hills).

All plants that grow in the Arctic have evolved the means to live in harsh conditions. Some species develop a thick layer of protective fuzz to protect them from the cold. Others find protection by growing in cushions or mats. Some plants angle their cup-shaped flowers to the sun, thereby concentrating the rays onto the seed heads in the flower's centre. Others have dark coloured hairs which absorb more solar heat. Most arctic plants are low growing, finding more suitable conditions closer to the ground. Many of these plants change colour in mid to late August, leaving a brilliant patchwork of yellow, orange and red across the landscape.

To the top

Land Mammals

Porcupine Caribou
Porcupine Caribou.
© Parks Canada / Wayne Lynch, PC-02739

The northern Yukon, with its diverse vegetation, is able to support a wide range of animal life. Many mammal species move freely between vegetation zones while other animals prefer very specific habitats.

The Porcupine caribou herd migrates annually from the forested valleys of north-central Yukon to calving grounds on the Beaufort coast. Muskoxen prefer the open tundra of the coastal plain, but will sometimes wander south into the mountain valleys. Polar bears spend most of their time north of the park hunting for seals amongst the open leads of the offshore pack ice; however, they do come ashore throughout the year, especially during winter. Grizzly bears range over the entire park. Red and arctic fox are both found in Ivvavik. Dall's sheep are at the northern limit of their range here in the British Mountains. Moose occasionally wander onto the coastal plain but prefer to forage in valley bottoms. Wolves and wolverine travel wherever there is enough prey to sustain them. Marten and porcupine are forest dwellers that venture as far north as the treeline.

The arctic ground squirrel thrives wherever it can find soft soil for burrowing. The same holds true for other species that den underground. There are six species of voles in the park and two of lemmings. The singing vole is noteworthy, being the most vocal. Its high-pitched trill can be heard echoing across the tundra. Lemmings, renowned mainly for the cyclical nature of their populations, litter the tundra with their trails, burrows and caches of winter hay.

Ivvavik, together with the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to the west and Vuntut National Park to the south, protects approximately 94,500 square kilometres of land. This area, as large as it seems, is only a small part of the circumpolar region. Species like the barren ground caribou need vast tracts of undeveloped land. Their movements do not stop at park boundary lines or along international borders. Ivvavik does, however, provide a refuge that with careful management, will be able to sustain healthy populations of wildlife for many years to come.

To the top

Fish

Arctic grayling and Dolly Varden char are the best known fish species in the park. The most distinctive feature of grayling is their large dorsal fin that ripples like an unfurled sail. Grayling feed extensively on insects, of which there are an abundance in the northern Yukon. The Firth and Babbage rivers host healthy populations of char. Most char are anadromous: migrating each summer to the Beaufort Sea to feed and then back to the fresh river waters to spawn and overwinter. Underground springs occur on several of the rivers and creeks in the park. At some of these springs fresh water continues to percolate to the surface year-round. As a result of this continual flow these waterbodies do not freeze to the bottom. It is here, in the fish holes, that char and grayling can overwinter.

To the top

Birds

Long-tailed Jaeger
Long-tailed Jaeger.
© Parks Canada / Brian Johnston, August 1995

Ivvavik National Park is important habitat for a wealth of migratory and resident bird species. In a world where bird numbers are declining due to habitat destruction, Ivvavik offers a safe refuge for birds to breed and raise their young. Some migrants (northern phalarope, golden plover) travel from as far south as Patagonia in Chile, and some even from Antarctica (arctic tern). Others, like the Northern wheatear, yellow wagtail and bluethroat migrate from across the Bering Sea. Some species, such as the snowy owl, ptarmigan and hoary redpoll, are year-round residents and have developed strategies to survive the cold and lack of daylight. Ravens and gyrfalcon are so well acclimatized that they can start nesting as early as April.

Most birds that breed and nest in the northern Yukon cannot survive the rigors of winter. As the sun returns to the Arctic, so too do the majority of birds. Many arrive when there is still snow on the ground, and do not leave until after the first frost. It is a short season to ensure the survival of their species, and the tundra fills with life during the long days of summer.

The numerous lakes that dot the coastal plain, the rich deltas and brackish lagoons, and the shallow marine passageway all offer essential avian habitat. So too do the mountain valleys, canyons, tundra uplands and forested slopes. By August, the sounds of breeding and nesting are over and autumn migrations are underway. Snow geese, southbound from arctic island nesting grounds, descend on the coastal plain by the thousands in early September. By the time they leave, the ponds are freezing over and winter is only weeks away.