Parc national du Canada Auyuittuq

Comment vous y rendre

Les saisons de l'Arctique
Un mot sur le temps et l'endroit

Jusqu'à Iqaluit (Nunavut)

Iqaluit est la plaque tournante du trafic aérien au Nunavut. Les sociétés First Air Ltd. et Canadian North offrent des vols directs depuis Montréal, Ottawa et Yellowknife.

D'Iqaluit à Pangnirtung ou à Qikiqtarjuaq

First Air Ltd. et Canadian North offrent des vols réguliers et des vols nolisés. Air Nunavut et Unaalik Aviation offre des vols nolisés uniquement.

Jusqu'au parc national Auyuittuq

Vous pouvez entrer dans le parc soit par le fjord Pangnirtung (à partir de Pangnirtung), soit par le fjord Pangnirtung Nord (à partir de Qikiqtarjuaq, dans l'île Broughton). L'accès se fait par voie terrestre lorsque les fjords sont gelés (snowmachine, dogteam, or skis) et par bateau lorsque la glace est fondue. Le parc est inaccessible pendant la prise des glaces et la débâcle. Les dates approximatives qui suivent vous donneront une idée des périodes pendant lesquelles vous pouvez vous rendre dans le parc. Renseignez vous à l'avance au poste des gardes de Pangnirtung (ph.867-473-2500) pour connaître le scénario le plus probable pour l'année en cours.

Les saisons de l'Arctique

Parc national du Canada Auyuittuq © Christian Kimber

Mars, avril et début mai (printemps)

À cette époque, les fjords sont gelés, ce qui permet aux visiteurs de gagner la limite du parc depuis Pangnirtung ou Qikiqtarjuaq par snow machine, dog team, or skis. Nous recommandons fortement aux skieurs qui entreprennent une excursion à partir de Qikiqtarjuaq de retenir les services d'un pourvoyeur jusqu'aux limites du parc afin de réduire les risques d'affrontement avec un ours polaire.

Juin et juillet (débâcle)

La débâcle survient habituellement vers la fin de juin à Pangnirtung et au milieu de juillet à Qikiqtarjuaq. Pendant cette période, les fjords sont inaccessibles aux motoneiges, aux attelages de chiens et aux bateaux.

Fin de juillet, août et septembre (été)

Les fjords sont habituellement libres de glace. Pendant cette période, il est possible de se rendre en bateau jusqu'au fond des fjords. Contact the park office in Pangnirtung (ph.867-473-2500) for a list of operators who provide transportation and/or guiding services.

D'octobre à février (hiver)

Il n'est pas recommandé de se rendre dans le parc national Auyuittuq pendant cette période. Au début de l'hiver, les températures froides, l'obscurité presque constante et les difficultés d'accès rendent les déplacements désagréables, dangereux et, bien souvent, carrément impossibles.

Ces indications sont très approximatives, et elles varient d'année en année. Si vous arrivez entre juin et septembre, vous devez être prêt à affronter les conditions du moment.

Les glaces, les vents, la marée et les conditions météorologiques peuvent contrecarrer vos projets.

  • Les déplacements par bateau ne sont possibles que lorsque le fjord est libre de glace, normalement de la mi juillet à la mi octobre.
  • Les vents sont parfois très localisés. Le fond du fjord peut être calme alors que des vents puissants soufflent sur Pangnirtung. En pareil cas, les pourvoyeurs ne prendront pas la mer.
  • En raison des grandes marées enregistrées dans la région de Pangnirtung, les bateaux ne peuvent arriver à Pangnirtung ou en partir que dans les deux heures précédant ou suivant la marée haute. There are two high tides every 24 hours.
  • Pendant la débâcle, il est impossible d'accéder au parc par bateau ou par motoneige. Si vous comptez vous y rendre durant cette période, téléphonez pour vous informer de l'état des glaces. Vous pouvez aussi consulter la page du Service canadien des glaces du site web d'Environnement Canada.
  • En période de débâcle (mid-to-late June), il est possible de parcourir à pied les 30 km qui séparent Pangnirtung du parc.
  • La débâcle survient plus tard à Qikiqtarjuaq (de la mi juillet au début d'août). Il est alors impossible de se rendre à pied de Qikiqtarjuaq jusqu'au point de départ du sentier, au fond du fjord Pangnirtung Nord.

Un mot sur le temps et l'endroit

Pendant des millénaires, les ancêtres des Inuits ont parcouru ce territoire. Ils savaient que, pour survivre, ils devaient se plier aux volontés de la nature et des éléments. Si le vent soufflait et que la température chutait, ils s'arrêtaient pour trouver refuge et poursuivaient leur route uniquement lorsque le temps redevenait clément. Encore aujourd'hui, les voyageurs inuits se laissent régir par le temps, les saisons et la nature.

La vie est dure en Arctique. Les voyageurs s'apercevront peut-être que leurs itinéraires entrent en conflit avec le rythme imposé par le vent, le froid et la tempête. Dans le Nord, il faut faire preuve de sagesse et, comme les Inuits, s'adapter aux caprices de la nature.

Les voyageurs prévoiront donc du temps dans leur itinéraire pour le cas où ils devraient se réfugier dans leur tente pendant des jours dans l'attente d'une accalmie. Ils disposeront de provisions supplémentaires et auront de la patience en réserve. Ils prévoiront quelques journées de plus pour le cas où une tempête ou une mauvaise visibilité les empêcherait de faire une correspondance. Ils sauront que le temps est imprévisible dans l'Arctique, et ils prendront même plaisir à laisser la nature, plutôt que les aiguilles d'une montre, établir leur horaire.

Si vous avez un horaire rigide, vous courez le risque de garder de cette excursion exceptionnelle le souvenir d'une série de frustrations. Mais, si vous arrivez prêt à accepter l'Arctique tel qu'il est, il vous ouvrira son cœur.

Common menu bar links

Auyuittuq National Park of Canada

How to Get There

Arctic seasons and your trip
A Note About Time & Place

To Iqaluit, Nunavut

Iqaluit is the hub for air traffic in Nunavut. First Air Ltd. and Canadian North fly direct to Iqaluit from Montreal, Ottawa, and Yellowknife.

To Pangnirtung or Qikiqtarjuaq from Iqaluit

First Air Ltd. and Canadian North offer scheduled flights and charters to both communities from Iqaluit. Air Nunavut and Unaalik Aviation offer charters only.

To Auyuittuq National Park

Auyuittuq National Park is located on Baffin Island, Nunavut. Access to Auyuittuq is either from Pangnirtung, located 28 km south of the park boundary along Pangnirtung Fiord, or from Qikiqtarjuaq, located on Broughton Island, 34 km northeast of the park boundary along North Pangnirtung Fiord. Local operators will take you to the park from these communities by either boat or snowmachine, depending on the season. Contact the park office in Pangnirtung (ph.867-473-2500) for a list of operators who provide transportation and/or guiding services.

Arctic seasons and your trip

Auyuittuq National Park of Canada © Christian Kimber

Auyuittuq is accessed either by Pangnirtung Fiord (from Pangnirtung) or North Pangnirtung Fiord (from Qikiqtarjuaq on Broughton Island). Access is by oversnow travel (snowmachine, dogteam, or skis) when the fiords are frozen, or by boat when the ice has melted. During break-up and freeze-up the park is inaccessible. Following are approximate dates when the park is accessible. Please check in advance with the park office in Pangnirtung (ph. 867-473-2500) for this year's situation.

March/April/early May (spring)

At this time the fiords are frozen, making it possible to travel from either Pangnirtung or Qikiqtarjuaq to the park boundary by oversnow means (snow machine, dog team, or skis) to start your trip. We strongly recommend that skiers beginning in Qikiqtarjuaq travel with an outfitter to the park boundary to reduce their risk of encountering polar bears.

June/July (break-up)

Break-up usually occurs near the end of June in Pangnirtung, and by the middle of July in Qikiqtarjuaq. During this time oversnow or boat travel is not possible on the fiords.

Late July, August, September (summer)

The fiords are normally ice-free. At this time it is possible to travel by boat to the head of the fiords. Contact the park office in Pangnirtung (ph. 867-473-2500) for a list of operators who provide transportation and/or guiding services.

October - February (winter)

Travel to Auyuittuq National Park is not advisable at this time. Cold temperatures, near-constant darkness and access difficulties in early winter make winter travel unpleasant, dangerous and, often, impossible.

The above are approximate dates for travel, but they will vary from year to year. If you arrive between June and September you must be prepared for whatever conditions you find.

Ice, wind, tide and weather conditions may also affect your access plans.

  • Boat travel is only possible when the fiord is ice-free, normally between July and early October.
  • Wind can be very localised. The head of the fiord can be calm while high winds are blowing at Pangnirtung. Under these circumstances, outfitters will not go out in boats.
  • Due to the large tides experienced in the Pangnirtung region, boats can only arrive and depart from Pangnirtung within two hours either side of high tide. There are two high tides every 24 hours.
  • During ice break up, you cannot travel to the park by boat or snowmachine. If your plans include travel to the park around these times, please phone to check ice conditions. Or, check the Canadian Ice Service page of the Environment Canada website. 
  • It may be possible to hike the 30 km from Pangnirtung to the park at break-up (mid-to-late June).
  • Break up is later in Qikiqtarjuaq (mid-July to early August). You cannot hike from Qikiqtarjuaq to the trailhead at North Pangnirtung Fiord during this time.

A Note About Time & Place

For thousands of years the ancestors of the Inuit traveled in this place. They knew that their survival depended on their obedience to the dictates of the land and its weather. If the wind blew and the temperature plummeted, they stopped and found shelter, continuing when the land became kinder again. Inuit travelers to this day let the weather, the seasons, and the rhythms of the land set their travel schedules.

This is a harsh land. Travelers may find that their personal itineraries are in conflict with the schedule dictated by wind, cold, and storms. Wise northern travelers will learn from Inuit and adjust their travel to the natural rhythms of the land they are visiting.

These travelers will leave time in their itineraries in case they need to sit for days in a tent waiting for winds to abate. They will have extra food, and reserves of patience. They will plan an extra day or three in their trips in case storms and poor visibility prevent connecting aircraft from flying. They understand the unpredictable nature of Arctic weather, and even revel in the chance to let nature set their schedule instead of a clock.

Most of all, wise northern travelers take the unparalleled opportunity to experience the life of a small northern community. They consider the extra time they have allowed for their northern adventure to be not only a safety buffer, but an essential and exciting part of their northern experience.

If you come north with an inflexible schedule, you run the risk of remembering your once-in-a-lifetime trip only for its frustrations. But come prepared to accept the Arctic on its own terms, and it will open its heart to you.