Parc national du Canada des Monts-Torngat

Gestion du parc

Mot de bienvenue

Fjord Saglek Fjord Saglek
© Parcs Canada / Heiko Wittenborn

Au nom de notre personnel, je souhaite la bienvenue aux visiteurs du 42e et tout dernieré parc national du Canada.

L'établissement de ce parc est le fruit de la collaboration avec les Inuits, considérés comme partenaires à part entière du projet. Parcs Canada reconnaît leur rapport historique et culturel particulier avec le territoire, et lui rend hommage. Leur savoir-faire sera intégré à tous les aspects de la gestion du parc. De fait, la cogestion y jouera un rôle déterminant car nous y voyions une réalisation commune.

Parc national des Monts-Torngat est un endroit bien particulier. J'espère que votre visite vous aidera à découvrir sa riche histoire culturelle et son magnifique patrimoine naturel.

Judy Rowell, directrice

Établissement du parc national des Monts-Torngat

Inuit dans la baie Ramah Inuit dans la baie Ramah
© Parcs Canada / Heiko Wittenborn

Le tout dernier parc national du Canada

Le parc national des Monts-Torngat est le 42e parc national créé au Canada. D'après le Plan du réseau des parcs nationaux de Parcs Canada, le parc est représentative de la région naturelle 24 du pays - les montagnes du Labrador du Nord.

Élaboré au début des années 1970, le Plan du réseau devait fournir les grands axes d'une approche systématique permettant de désigner et d'établir de nouveaux parcs nationaux. Pour créer ce plan, les scientifiques ont divisé le pays en 39 régions naturelles distinctes en fonction du paysage et de la végétation.

L'objectif recherché était de créer au moins un parc national dans chacune des régions naturelles pour assurer la protection d'un échantillon de chaque région pour le bien des générations actuelles et futures. Parcs Canada poursuit ses efforts en vue de créer au moins un parc naturel dans chacune de ces 39 régions. Il existe à ce jour 42 parcs représentant 29 régions.

Contexte de l'établissement du parc

Vue des hauteurs du fjord Nachvak Vue des hauteurs du fjord Nachvak
© Parcs Canada / Heiko Wittenborn

L'établissement officiel de la réserve de parc national des Monts-Torngat remonte au 1er décembre 2005, date de l'adoption de la loi en vertu de laquelle a pris effet l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuits du Labrador. La réserve de parc national est devenu le parc national des Monts-Torngat quand l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuits du Nunavik 2007 est entré en effet juridique le 10 juillet, 2008.

Cette magnifique aire de nature sauvage sera donc protégée dans l'avenir pour le bien de tous les Canadiens - et ce, en grande partie, grâce à la vision et à la générosité des Inuits du Labrador et du Nunavik. La transformation des monts Torngat en 42e parc national du Canada est l'aboutissement d'une longue démarche qui s'est s'échelonnée sur cinq décennies.

Les recherches visant l'établissement éventuel d'un parc dans le Labrador du Nord ont débuté en 1969, donnant lieu, peu de temps après, à la désignation d'une aire potentielle de parc. Dans la foulée, l'Association des Inuits du Labrador a fait part de son intention de présenter des revendications territoriales au gouvernement du Canada à une date ultérieure. Comme ses membres préféraient intégrer toute discussion sur l'établissement du parc aux négociations relatives à leurs revendications, le projet a été suspendu.

L'Association a fait part de ses revendications territoriales en 1977, et le Canada a accepté d'entreprendre des négociations l'année suivante. Le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a convenu d'y participer en 1980, et la phase intensive des négociations a débuté en 1984.

Signature de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuits du Labrador Signature de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuits du Labrador
© Gouvernement Nunatsiavut

Vers 1990, de nouveaux faits importants ont ouvert la porte à la reprise des discussions sur l'établissement d'un parc national dans les monts Torngat. Premièrement, les relations de Parcs Canada avec les peuples autochtones avaient pris au fil des ans une nouvelle tournure positive, ce qui a incité l'Association des Inuits du Labrador à réexaminer les avantages liés à la création d'un parc national qui protègerait les droits et les intérêts des Inuits tout en assurant l'intégrité écologique de la région. Deuxièmement, les revendications territoriales de l'Association faisaient l'objet de négociations actives, ce qui lui a permis d'aborder dans la foulée la question de l'établissement du parc. Troisièmement, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé son nouveau Plan vert, qui donnait l'impulsion pour l'achèvement du réseau de parcs nationaux à l'horizon 2000. En 1992, Parcs Canada, l'Association des Inuits du Labrador et le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ont annoncé qu'ils entreprendraient une étude conjointe dans le but de déterminer la faisabilité d'un parc national dans les monts Torngat du Nord du Labrador.

En 2005, le Canada et l'Association des Inuits du Labrador ont conclu l'Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits du Labrador de la réserve de parc national du Canada des Monts-Torngat. Cette entente ainsi que l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuits du Labrador et le protocole d'entente prévoyant une réserve de parc national du Canada et un parc national du Canada dans les monts Torngat ont été signés en janvier 2005.

Signé par l'Association des Inuits du Labrador et par les gouvernements du Canada et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador le 22 janvier 2005, l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuits du Labrador est entré en vigueur le 1er décembre 2005.

Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuits du Labrador

L ' Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuits du Labrador est un accord global qui constitue le règlement définitif sur les droits ancestraux des Inuits du Labrador au Canada. Il s'agit d'un traité moderne - le premier accord sur des revendications territoriales globales dans le Canada atlantique - qui accorde aux Inuits du Labrador des terres, des ressources et des droits à l'autonomie gouvernementale clairement définis. Le vaste territoire d'autonomie gouvernementale ainsi créé aux termes de cet accord dans le Labrador du Nord s'appelle le Nunatsiavut.

Le règlement des revendications territoriales de l'Association des Inuits du Labrador favorisera l'autonomie ainsi que le développement économique, social, culturel et politique des Inuits du Labrador. Le jour où ils ont signé le règlement sur les revendications territoriales, l'Association et les gouvernements fédéral et provincial ont aussi signé deux autres documents qui ouvrent la voie à l'établissement du parc, soit le protocole d'entente sur la création d'une réserve de parc national sur le territoire des Monts Torngatet l'Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits du Labrador de la réserve de parc national du Canada des Monts-Torngat.

Le protocole d'entente énonce les conditions auxquelles le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador accepte de transférer au gouvernement fédéral l'administration et le contrôle des terres réservées en vue de l'établissement du parc. L'Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages officialise les relations en cours entre Parcs Canada et les Inuits du Labrador.

L'Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages garantit que la réserve de parc national mettra en valeur les liens uniques des Inuits du Labrador avec leur territoire et ses écosystèmes et comporte des clauses en vertu desquelles les Inuits seront autorisés à poursuivre leurs activités traditionnelles, comme l'utilisation du territoire et des ressources. Elle définit également les grands axes de la cogestion de la réserve de parc.

De réserve à parc

Inuits visitant les maisons de leur enfance à Nachvak Inuits visitant les maisons de leur enfance à Nachvak
© Parcs Canada / Heiko Wittenborn

La réserve de parc national s'apparente de près au parc national. Tous deux fonctionnent de la même manière dans la mesure où la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada s'applique à l'intérieur de leurs limites. La différence tient au fait que la réserve demeure assujettie aux revendications territoriales en instance d'un groupe d'Autochtones.

Tant les Inuits du Labrador que ceux du Nunavik (du Nord du Québec) utilisent depuis toujours les terres et les eaux des monts Torngat. Ceux du Nunavik ont entrepris des revendications visant le Labrador du Nord qui n'ont été acceptées aux fins de négociations par le Canada qu'en 1993. Du fait de leur exclusion des consultations relatives au parc, les Inuits du Nunavik, représentés par la Société Makivik, se sont opposés au projet d'établissement du parc devant la Cour fédérale du Canada en 1997.

Leur opposition a été entendue par la Cour fédérale qui, en 1998, a ordonné que le Canada avait le devoir de consulter la Société Makivik avant de procéder à l'établissement d'une réserve de parc national dans le Labrador Nord et que cette dernière conserverait le statut de réserve jusqu'à la conclusion d'un accord sur les revendications territoriales avec la Société Makivik.

En 2005, la Société Makivik et l'Association des Inuits du Labrador ont signé l'entente liée au territoire corevendiqué par les Inuits du Nunavik et les Inuits du Labrador, qui fait état de l'engagement mutuel des deux parties à partager équitablement les ressources, les avantages et la gestion de la réserve de parc national des Monts-Torngat.

La signature de cette entente a permis à Parcs Canada et à la Société Makivik d'amorcer les négociations qui ont mené à la signature de l'Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits du Nunavik du parc national du Canada des Monts-Torngat le 1er décembre 2006.

Dès l'entrée en vigueur de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuits du Nunavik, le 10 juillet, 2008, la réserve de parc national des Monts-Torngat est devenu le parc national des Monts-Torngat.

La cogestion : un aspect déterminant

Inuit montrant des sentiers traditionnels Inuit montrant des sentiers traditionnels
© Parcs Canada / Heiko Wittenborn

L'histoire de la création de ce parc national permet de dégager des leçons sur l'importance du travail avec les Inuits comme partenaires à part entière ainsi que sur le respect et la confiance mutuels.

L'un des aspects les plus importants des ententes sur les répercussions et les avantages conclues avec les Inuits du Labrador et ceux du Nunavik est l'engagement selon lequel le parc national sera établi, exploité et géré dans le cadre d'un régime de cogestion faisant des Inuits des partenaires à part entière.

Le projet prévoit la création d'un conseil d'administration concerté de sept membres qui sera chargé de conseiller le ministre fédéral de l'Environnement sur toutes les questions se rapportant à la gestion du parc. Parcs Canada, la Société Makivik et le gouvernement Nunatsiavut désigneront respectivement deux membres et nommeront conjointement un administrateur indépendant. La reconnaissance et la mise en valeur du savoir-faire inuit et des liens historiques et culturels particuliers qui unissent les Inuits à leur territoire font déjà partie du témoignage vivant qu'est ce parc national.

Guide inuit. Guide inuit.
© Parcs Canada / Sheldon Stone

Pour mémoire

« (…) pour que les relations entre les groupes autochtones, les sociétés et les gouvernements aboutissent à des résultats concrets, elles doivent être sincères et constructives. Il faut leur consacrer le temps nécessaire. Inutile de bousculer les programmes ou d'imposer un ordre du jour. Ce parc sera un témoignage durable pour tous les Canadiens et témoignera… d'une relation fondée sur le respect mutuel, sur la volonté d'écouter et sur la patience. »
William Andersen III, président, Association des Inuits du Labrador.
Discours-programme de la conférence intitulée « Redefining Relationships: Learning from a Decade of Land Claims Implementation Conference », Ottawa, le 13 novembre 2003.

« Le parc nous aidera à protéger notre territoire et à conserver notre mémoire et notre histoire. Je veux retourner sur notre terre. Peut-être pourrai-je y retourner nos légendes et notre histoire et les faire connaître aux visiteurs. »
John Jararuse, Inuk de Saglek, Labrador.

« La réserve de parc national des Monts-Torngat est le présent qu'offrent les Inuits aux Canadiens. »
Toby Andersen, négociateur en chef, Association des Inuits du Labrador.
Allocution prononcée devant le Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du développement du Grand Nord, Ottawa, le 9 juin 2005.

« Je reconnais la photo de la page couverture de votre bulletin. C'est là que je suis né. Beaucoup d'entre nous y sont enterrés. Je ne pourrai jamais y retourner, mais c'est là qu'est resté mon cœur. »
Résidant inuit de Kangiqsualuijjuaq, Nunavik (Québec), lors d'une réunion publique avec des représentants de Parcs Canada, le 8 octobre 1996

« Un endroit d'une beauté austère, fait de côtes sauvages et de pics déchiquetés surgissant d'une mer glaciale, de fjords mystiques, de douces vallées fluviales, de chutes tumultueuses et d'icebergs. Un endroit où les ours polaires errent sur les côtes et où le caribou continue de parcourir le territoire des Inuits comme il le fait depuis des milliers d'années. Un endroit qui abrite des centaines de sites archéologiques témoignant de ce patrimoine extraordinaire. Comment s'étonner que les Inuits appellent le Labrador "Nunatsiavut - Notre terre magnifique" ? »
L'honorable Stéphane Dion, à l'occasion de la signature de l'accord sur l'établissement du parc.

Recherche et surveillance dans le parc national des Monts-Torngat

Plan directeur

Nota : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF .

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe.

Torngat Mountains National Park of Canada

Park Management

Superintendent’s Welcome

Saglek Fjord
Saglek Fjord
© Parks Canada / Heiko Wittenborn

On behalf of our staff, I extend a warm welcome to visitors to Canada’s 42nd, and newest national park.

The story of the establishment of this park is a story of working with Inuit as equal partners. Parks Canada recognizes and honours their special historical and cultural relationship with the land. Inuit knowledge will be incorporated in all aspects of park management. In fact, co-operative management is a defining feature of our park, and one that we view as a shared accomplishment.

Torngat Mountains National Park is a special place. I hope your visit will help you discover its rich cultural history and magnificent natural heritage.

Judy Rowell, Superintendent

Establishment of Torngat Mountains National Park

Inuit in Ramah Bay
Inuit in Ramah Bay
© Parks Canada / Heiko
Wittenborn

Canada’s Newest National Park

The Torngat Mountains National Park is the 42nd national park to be established in Canada. According to Parks Canada’s National Parks System Plan, the park is representative of Canada’s natural region 24 – the Northern Labrador Mountains.

The system plan was devised in the early 1970s to provide a framework for a systematic approach to identifying and establishing new national parks. To create the plan, scientists divided the country into 39 distinct natural regions based on landscape and vegetation.

The goal of the plan is to create at least one national park in each natural region, ensuring that a representative sample of each region is given protection for now and for future generations. Parks Canada continues to work towards ensuring that all 39 regions will eventually contain at least one national park. Currently, there are 42 parks, representing 29 regions.

The Context for Park Establishment

View from above Nachvak Fjord
View from above Nachvak Fjord
© Parks Canada / Heiko Wittenborn

The Torngat Mountains National Park Reserve was formally established when the legislation giving effect to the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement was enacted on December 1, 2005. The national park reserve became the Torngat Mountains National Park when the Nunavik Inuit Land Claims Agreement came into legal effect on July 10, 2008.

This magnificent wilderness area will be protected into the future for the benefit of all Canadians - in large measure due to the vision and generosity of both the Labrador and Nunavik Inuit. The creation of Torngat Mountains as Canada’s 42nd national park is the culmination of a long park establishment process – one that touches on five decades.

Research to identify a possible national park in northern Labrador began in 1969. While identification of a potential park area came early, the Labrador Inuit Association (LIA) indicated that it intended to file a land claim with the Government of Canada at a future date. It therefore preferred that any discussions about park establishment be included as part of the land claim negotiation process and plans to pursue a national park in this area went on hold

The land claim was filed by the LIA in 1977 and accepted by Canada for negotiation the following year. The Government of Newfoundland and Labrador agreed to participate in 1980, with active negotiation getting underway in 1984.

Signing the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement
Signing the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement
© Nunatsiavut Government

By 1990, some key developments opened the door for discussions to resume on the possibility of a national park in the Torngat Mountains. First, Parks Canada’s relationship with aboriginal people had evolved over the years into a new and positive one. This prompted LIA to reconsider the value of creating a national park to protect Inuit rights and interests while at the same time protecting the ecological integrity of the area. Second, the LIA land claim was under active negotiation. This allowed LIA to address park establishment issues in this context. Third, the federal government announced its new Green Plan that provided impetus for completing the national park system by 2000. In 1992, Parks Canada, the LIA, and the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, announced a joint study to assess the feasibility of a national park in the Torngat Mountains of Northern Labrador.

In 2005, Canada and the Labrador Inuit Association concluded the Labrador Inuit Park Impacts and Benefits Agreement for the Torngat Mountains National Park Reserve of Canada . This agreement along with the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement and the Memorandum of Agreement for a National Park Reserve of Canada and a National Park of Canada in the Torngat Mountains were signed in January 2005.

The Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement was signed by the Labrador Inuit Association (LIA), and the governments of Canada, and Newfoundland and Labrador on January 22, 2005 and came into effect on December 1, 2005.

More about the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement

The Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement is a comprehensive agreement that constitutes a final settlement of the Aboriginal rights of the Labrador Inuit in Canada. It is a modern treaty – the first comprehensive land claims agreement in Atlantic Canada – that provides the Labrador Inuit with clearly defined land, resources and self-government rights. The vast area of self-government that has been created in northern Labrador as a result of the agreement is called Nunatsiavut.

Settlement of the LIA’s land claim will contribute to the self-sufficiency and the economic, social, cultural and political development of the Labrador Inuit. On the same day the LIA and the federal and provincial governments signed the land claims agreement, they also signed two other documents that set the stage for the establishment of the park, namely, the Memorandum of Agreement for a National Park Reserve in the Torngat Mountains and the Park Impacts and Benefits Agreement (PIBA).

The Memorandum sets out the terms and conditions by which the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador agreed to transfer to Canada the administration and control of lands set aside for the park. The PIBA formalizes the ongoing relationship between Parks Canada and the Labrador Inuit.

The PIBA ensures that the national park reserve will highlight Labrador Inuit’s unique relationship with the land and ecosystems, and includes provisions that allow Inuit to continue traditional activities such as land and resource uses. It also establishes a framework for the co-operative management of the park reserve.

From a Reserve to a Park

Inuit visiting their childhood homes in Nachvak
Inuit visiting their childhood homes in Nachvak
© Parks Canada / Heiko Wittenborn

A national park reserve is quite like a national park. Both operate in the same way in that the Canada National Parks Act applies within their boundaries. The difference is that a reserve remains subject to an outstanding land claim by a group of Aboriginal people.

Both Labrador Inuit and Nunavik Inuit (from northern Quebec) have traditionally used the lands and waters of the Torngat Mountains. The Nunavik Inuit filed a claim to northern Labrador that was accepted for negotiation, by Canada only, in 1993. Because they had been excluded from park consultations, the Nunavik Inuit, represented by Makivik Corporation, launched a challenge to the park establishment process in the Federal Court of Canada in 1997.

This challenge was heard in Federal Court. In 1998, the court ordered that Canada had a duty to consult with Makivik Corporation prior to establishing a national park reserve in northern Labrador and that it would remain a reserve until resolution of a land claims agreement with Makivik.

In 2005, Makivik Corporation and the Labrador Inuit Association signed the Agreement Relating to the Nunavik Inuit/Labrador Inuit Overlap Area which sets out the mutual commitment of both parties to share equally in the resources, benefits and management of the Torngat Mountains National Park Reserve.

Signing of this Overlap Agreement allowed negotiations to commence between Parks Canada and Makivik Corportion for the Nunavik Inuit Park Impacts and Benefits Agreement for the Torngat Mountains National Park of Canada which was signed on December 1, 2006.

Upon the coming into effect of the Nunavik Inuit Land Claims Agreement on July 10 2008, the Torngat Mountains National Park Reserve became Torngat Mountains National Park.

Co-operative Management: A Defining Feature

Inuit point out traditional walking routes
Inuit point out traditional walking routes
© Parks Canada / Heiko Wittenborn

The story of the creation of this national park includes lessons learned about the importance of working with Inuit as equal partners, and about achieving mutual respect and trust.

One of the most important details in the Park Impact and Benefit Agreements (PIBA) with the Labrador Inuit and Nunavik Inuit is the commitment that the national park will be established, operated and managed through a co-operative management regime that recognizes Inuit as partners.

There will be a seven-member co-operative management board established to advise the federal Minister of Environment on all matter related to park management . Parks Canada, Makivik Corporation and the Nunatsiavut Government will each appoint two members and there will be an independent chair jointly appointed by all three parties. Recognizing and honouring Inuit knowledge and the special historical and cultural relationship between Inuit and the land, is already a part of the living legacy of this national park.

Inuit guide
Inuit guide
© Parks Canada / Sheldon Stone

For the Record

“… for relationships between Aboriginal groups, corporate interests and governments to work, they have to be real and meaningful. They have to be allowed to develop over time. Agendas cannot be rushed, and no one agenda must dominate others. This park will be a lasting legacy for Canadians. And it is a testament to ... a relationship based on mutual respect, willingness to listen, and patience.”
William Andersen III, President, Labrador Inuit Association.
Keynote Address to Redefining Relationships: Learning from a Decade of Land Claims Implementation Conference , Ottawa. November 13, 2003.

“The park will help us protect our land and our memories and our stories. I want to go back to my homeland. Maybe I can go back and help tell our stories to the visitors.”
John Jararuse, Inuk from Saglek, Labrador.

“The Torngat Mountains National Park Reserve is the Inuit gift to the people of Canada."
Toby Andersen, Chief Negotiator, Labrador Inuit Association.
Address to the Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development , Ottawa. June 9, 2005.

“I recognize the photograph on the cover of your newsletter. I was born there. Many have died there. I will never be able to go back there, but that is where my dreams are.”
Nunavik Inuit Resident of Kangiqsualuijjuaq, Quebec, at a public meeting with Parks Canada, October 8, 1996

This place of rugged beauty, sweeping wild coastlines and jagged peaks rising sharply from frigid seas. Encompassing mystic fjords, gentle river valleys, precipitous river falls and icebergs. With polar bears roaming the coast and caribou ranging through the homeland of the Inuit, just as it has been for thousands of years. Hundreds of archaeological sites stand witness to that extraordinary heritage. It is no wonder that the Inuit call Labrador, ‘Nunatsiavut - Our Beautiful Land .”
The Honourable Stephane Dion, at the signing of the park establishment agreement.

Research and Monitoring in Torngat Mountains National Park

Management Plan

Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe .