Common menu bar links

Parks Mountain Safety Facebook Page Parks Mountain Safety Twitter

About Parks Canada's Mountain National Parks

The Mountain National Parks consist of Banff, Yoho, Kootenay, Jasper, Mount RevelstokeGlacier and Waterton Lakes National Parks which are located in the provinces of Alberta and British Columbia. Banff, Jasper, Yoho, Kootenay and Waterton Lakes are all situated in the Canadian Rockies. Glacier and Mount Revelstoke Parks are in the Selkirks, which are part of a larger group known as the Columbia Mountains. Starting with Banff in 1885, these parks were established to preserve and protect the unique and spectacular mountain wilderness so that the landscapes might be enjoyed unimpaired by future generations.

The mountains of the Mountain National Parks range from gently sloping 2500 metre (8,200- foot) hills to towering rocky peaks with steep, vertical faces. Many of these mountains are massive peaks rising as high as 3747 metres (12,293 feet), which are comprised of complicated, fractured glaciers that are hundreds of metres thick, crevasse-laced icefalls and knife-edge ridges.

About Parks Canada's Mountain National Parks
A Parks Canada Mountain Safety Specialist practices safe glacier travel techniques.
© Parks Canada

Play Safe

Recreating in the Mountain National Parks can be a fascinating, exhilarating and highly rewarding experience. However, due to these mountains’ size, technical terrain, rockfall, avalanche hazard, unpredictable and rapid weather changes, extreme cold and remoteness, every year, visitors are involved in accidents in the Mountain National Parks. Unfortunately, some of those accidents have fatal consequences.

But then, every day of the year, many more visitors, including climbers, mountaineers and backcountry skiers explore Canada’s spectacular Mountain National Parks safely. This website has been designed to share the best information on how you can make your adventure in the Mountain National Parks a safe and enjoyable one.