Parc national du Mont-Riding

Mont Agassiz

What about Mount Agassiz?
© Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada est ravi de lancer une demande de propositions (DDP) pour l’exploitation de la station de ski du mont Agassiz dans le parc national du Mont Riding.

Parcs Canada a entamé le processus de demande de propositions à la suite d’une consultation publique et de l’approbation d’une modification au plan directeur qui permet l’étude de propositions visant le réaménagement de la station de ski alpin dans la région du mont Agassiz, avec la possibilité d’activités récréatives multisaisonnières.

Le 29 août 2013, Parcs Canada a fait l’annonce d’une demande de propositions pour recueillir des soumissions comme première étape afin de rouvrir la station de ski du mont Agassiz dans le parc national du Mont Riding dans l’optique d’une exploitation durable hivernale ou multisaisonnière.

Les installations de ski sont des entreprises très spécialisées dont l’exploitation dépend de nombreux facteurs. La demande de propositions constitue donc une trousse de documentation complète qui vise à transmettre aux promoteurs potentiels tous les renseignements nécessaires pour élaborer une proposition réussie. Les promoteurs peuvent s’inscrire et se procurer la trousse au parc national du Mont Riding. Les promoteurs doivent soumettre leurs propositions au plus tard le 30 mai 2014. L’issue favorable de ce projet sera une exploitation fructueuse et à long terme, tant sur le plan financier qu’opérationnel, qui offre une expérience exceptionnelle pour le visiteur, qui crée des possibilités d’apprentissage uniques et qui protège l’intégrité écologique.

Parcs Canada s’engage, à la suite de ce processus, à collaborer efficacement avec le promoteur choisi pour terminer les travaux requis afin de mener à bien le projet de bail. Le temps nécessaire à l’exécution de ces étapes dépend de la taille et de l’échelle de la proposition, mais devra prendre au moins six mois.

Le mont Agassiz a une longue et riche histoire à titre de destination de ski attrayante. Il a reçu le statut d’aire récréative désignée et correspond à la définition de station de ski dans la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. Actuellement, le mont Agassiz n’exploite pas le potentiel qui lui permettrait de devenir une aire récréative pouvant offrir des expériences exceptionnelles aux visiteurs, créer des possibilités d’apprentissage uniques et protéger l’intégrité écologique de la région.

Quatre-vingt-dix-neuf pourcent du parc national du Mont Riding demeure une zone sauvage protégée.

Parcs Canada reconnaît que les points de vue varient quant à la faisabilité et à la valeur associée à la réouverture du mont Agassiz. Nous sommes déterminés à demeurer à l’écoute, à assurer une collaboration constructive et à nouer des relations durables avec nos partenaires et autres intervenants tout en veillant à ce que Parcs Canada s’acquitte des obligations de son mandat..

Comment en sommes-nous arrivés à l’étape actuelle?

2007

Novembre : Le plan directeur du parc est présenté au Parlement. Le plan énonce ce qui suit : aucun nouveau bail ne sera conclu pour la pratique du ski alpin au sein du parc; un plan de remise en état de la station de ski du Mont Agassiz sera élaboré et mis en œuvre; il faut associer les principales parties intéressées et les Premières nations aux discussions concernant les autres expériences qui pourraient être proposées aux visiteurs dans la partie est du parc, puis établir un plan de secteur et le mettre en œuvre en fonction de la disponibilité des ressources.

Décembre : Les discussions commencent avec les communautés locales et leurs dirigeants, et se poursuivent aujourd’hui encore

Dans le cadre de ces discussions, Parcs Canada reconnaît qu’il existe une gamme de points de vue et d’opinions et prend l’engagement d’écouter, de travailler de façon constructive et d’établir des relations durables avec l’ensemble de ses intervenants et de ses partenaires, y compris les communautés avoisinantes. Au cours des dernières années, on a appuyé fermement – mais non sans réserve – l’idée d’étudier la possibilité d’exploiter une station de ski.

2008 

Septembre-avril (2009) : Des évaluations sur place sont effectuées pour les bâtiments, l’équipement de remontée, les conditions environnementales et la valeur patrimoniale des édifices à la station de ski du Mont Agassiz.

The Advisory Board visited the site this fall. This winter contaminated soil from a leaking fuel tank was removed. Parcs Canada a organisé des visites du lieu pour permettre au public de mieux comprendre la région du Mont Agassiz. La réduction des risques pour la population et l’environnement constitue une priorité.
© Parcs Canada

2009

Juin : Les résultats des évaluations sur place sont présentés à l'occasion de trois réunions communautaires; elles révèlent que les bâtiments sont en mauvais état, que l’équipement de remontée est acceptable et en état de fonctionnement, que la valeur patrimoniale est peu élevée et que des risques environnementaux sont présents et qu’ils doivent être abordés rapidement.
 
Septembre-novembre : Nettoyage du site; on récupère et élimine approximativement 20 tonnes de ferraille, d’ordures et de petits bâtiments abandonnés

2010

Avril-mai : Des discussions qui ont lieu à l’occasion de trois réunions d’échanges communautaires portent principalement sur l’avenir du Mont Agassiz.
 
Octobre : Le Comité consultatif qui doit aider à orienter le développement de la Stratégie de secteur pour l’escarpement du Mont-Riding (Stratégie de secteur) est mis sur pied. Le Comité se rend au Mont Agassiz dans le cadre de sa visite de l’ensemble de la partie est du parc.  

McKinnon Creek L’année 2011 a été une année chargée. Il y a eu d’importants travaux de réation au ponceau du ruisseau McKinnon qui sont maintenant achevés; SE Group, organisme retenu pour élaborer de l’étude de faisabilité, s’est rendu sur les lieux et s’est réuni avec les intervenants; Parcs Canada a organisé une journée portes ouvertes du lieu.
© Parcs Canada

2011

Janvier : Parcs Canada demande à une société d’experts-conseils de préparer une étude de faisabilité pour le Mont Agassiz.

Février : La Stratégie de secteur est lancée publiquement de façon officielle. À ce moment, un site Web est mis en place pour fournir de l’information au public, y compris sur le Mont Agassiz. Un sondage en ligne est également offert pour recueillir les premières idées du public.

Mai : Un contrat est accordé à SE Group pour l’élaboration d’une étude de faisabilité. SE Group se spécialise dans la planification et la conception de stations de ski et de stations de montagne; elle possède également une expérience unique dans l’industrie du ski.

Juin : Le ponceau du ruisseau McKinnon est détruit au Mont Agassiz. Cet événement est principalement attribuable au sol saturé, aux records de précipitations enregistrés durant l’hiver et le printemps précédents et aux fortes pluies observées en mai et en juin. Le ponceau est retiré et le ruisseau est réhabilité au cours de l’été.

Juillet : Parcs Canada, en collaboration avec SE Group, rencontre des intervenants ciblés et organise trois journées portes ouvertes pour sensibiliser le public à l’étude de faisabilité du Mont Agassiz et pour recueillir des idées et des opinions sur l’avenir du site.

Septembre : Parcs Canada organise une journée portes ouvertes à la station de ski du Mont Agassiz pour faire le point sur le site, y compris sur la restauration du ruisseau McKinnon et sur la Stratégie de secteur

2012

Janvier : Parcs Canada amorce une consultation publique sur une proposition de modification du plan directeur du parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding. La modification permettra à Parcs Canada d’étudier des propositions visant le réaménagement de la station de ski du mont Agassiz dans le cadre d’une exploitation durable hivernale ou multisaisonnières.

Janvier : Parcs Canada amorce une consultation publique sur une proposition de modification du plan directeur du parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding. La modification permettra à Parcs Canada d’étudier des propositions visant le réaménagement de la station de ski du mont Agassiz dans le cadre d’une exploitation durable hivernale ou multisaisonnières. Les responsables du parc rencontrent des groupes d’intervenants ciblés le jour de l’annonce pour discuter du Mont Agassiz et de la Stratégie de secteur.

Agassiz © Parcs Canada
Janvier-février : Parcs Canada organise une série de réunions publiques pour présenter une mise à jour sur la proposition de modification du plan directeur du parc, les principaux résultats de l’étude de faisabilité du Mont Agassiz et la Stratégie de secteur. Le public a également accès à un sondage en ligne au sujet de la modification du plan directeur.

Juin: Parcs Canada a annoncé que les modifications proposées pour le plan directeur concernant la station de ski du Mont Agassiz avaient été présentées au Parlement le 15 juin 2012. Cette modification allait permettre l’étude de propositions visant le réaménagement de la station de ski du mont Agassiz, avec la possibilité d’activités récréatives multisaisonnières.

La modification du plan a été préparée après une consultation publique à laquelle ont participé le grand public, des intervenants et des partenaires. Tout au long du processus, il a été déterminé que la modification du plan directeur recevait un grand appui du public.

Parcs Canada commence maintenant le processus qui permettra la considération de propositions visant l'exploitation d’une station de ski, avec une offre d’activités récréatives multisaisonnières.

Qu’est-ce que l’étude de faisabilité du Mont Agassiz? Quels en sont les principaux résultats? Pourquoi Parcs Canada a-t-il modifié le plan directeur?

À la suite de la publication du Plan directeur du parc National du Mont-Riding en 2007, de nouvelles informations ont été apportées par des parties intéressées et des partenaires locaux et régionaux en ce qui concerne le statut et l’avenir du Mont-Agassiz. De nombreuses personnes pensent que la viabilité potentielle d’une nouvelle station de ski est grande, et que ce sujet aurait dû recevoir bien plus de considération au moment de l’élaboration du plan de 2007.

Parcs Canada reconnaît qu’il existe une gamme de points de vue et d’opinions. Parcs Canada a pris l’engagement d’écouter, de travailler de façon constructive et d’établir des relations durables avec l’ensemble de ses intervenants et partenaires, y compris les communautés avoisinantes. Au cours des dernières années, on a appuyé fermement – mais non sans réserve – l’idée d’étudier la possibilité d’exploiter une station de ski.

Les représentants du parc ont pris l’engagement de recueillir des renseignements auprès d’un grand nombre de sources pour aider à déterminer l’avenir du site Agassiz, notamment au moyen d’une étude de faisabilité. L’étude de faisabilité représentait une étape appropriée pour que Parcs Canada, les communautés et les intervenants disposent des renseignements nécessaires sur la viabilité financière éventuelle d’une station de ski, afin de pouvoir évaluer adéquatement les options de gestion pour ce site. Cette étude offre une analyse opérationnelle impartiale des possibilités, des risques et de la viabilité d’une station de ski, avec et sans activités multisaisonnières. Elle comprend une évaluation de l’environnement concurrentiel et économique qui affecterait les activités menées sur le site et en serait affecté.

L’étude de faisabilité a été menée par SE Group, qui se spécialise dans la planification et la conception de stations de ski et de stations de montagne et possède également une expérience unique dans l’industrie du ski. Les consultants ont été sélectionnés dans le cadre d’un processus de concours à l’échelle de l’Amérique du Nord. Ils ont été retenus en raison de leurs qualifications, de leur expérience dans des projets comparables, de leur compréhension de la portée du travail et de leurs références relativement à des travaux antérieurs.

Les consultants ont procédé à une étude du marché secondaire et produit des scénarios opérationnels hypothétiques à partir desquels ils ont fondé leur analyse. En juillet 2011, ils ont effectué une évaluation du site et rencontré un certain nombre d’intervenants et de partenaires, y compris des membres des Premières nations, des communautés et des exploitants de stations de ski.

SE Group a déterminé que la station du ski du Mont Agassiz ne pouvait vraisemblablement être viable sur le plan financier (p. ex., marchés limités, concurrence d’autres stations de ski existantes et coûts en capital et frais d’exploitation élevés). Cependant, certains intervenants croient qu’il existe un intérêt marqué et un appui certain pour la réouverture du site et ils souhaitent avoir la chance d’évaluer les possibilités, les risques et les exigences en vue du développement et de l’exploitation d’une entreprise durable au Mont Agassiz. Par conséquent, Parcs Canada a décidé de modifier le plan directeur du parc à condition que le public démontre son appui à cet égard.

Si vous êtes interressés a soumettre une Demande de Proposition en tant qu'individu ou organisation, veuillez contacter Richard Dupuis, Directeur Interimaire, Unité de Gestion du Mont-Riding, à richard.dupuis@pc.gc.ca ou au (204) 848-7255

Si vous faites partie des médias ou êtes un individu avec des questions générales sur les Demandes de Proposition, veuillez contacter Roger Schroeder, Directeur des Relations Externes, Unité de Gestion du Mont-Riding, à roger.schroeder@pc.gc.ca ou au (204) 848-7251

Related links: Étude de faisabilité du mont Agassiz and Plan directeur modification

Retour à Vous voulez en apprendre davantage sur la stratégie de secteur de l’escarpement du Mont-Riding

Common menu bar links

Riding Mountain National Park

Mount Agassiz

What about Mount Agassiz?
© Parks Canada

Parks Canada Reviewing Proposal to Reopen Mount Agassiz Ski Hill

June 3, 2014

Following the successful conclusion of a Request for Proposal (RFP) process on May 30, Parks Canada today announced that it has received a proposal to reopen Mount Agassiz Ski Area in Riding Mountain National Park. Parks Canada is committed to a timely review of the submitted proposal in accordance with the evaluation process defined in the RFP and will determine within 120 days whether there is a successful proponent.

Parks Canada’s goal is for a successful outcome that will lead to a long-term financially and operationally successful business that delivers exceptional visitor experiences, creates unique educational opportunities, and protects the environment.

A key component of the RFP process is confidentiality to protect the integrity of the process and the interests of the parties that have submitted proposals. As such, Parks Canada will not discuss these matters until the evaluation process is complete.

Quick Facts

  • In 1958, Parks Canada leased approximately 142 hectares to a private operator for the development of a ski area in Riding Mountain National Park. In 1961, Mount Agassiz Ski Area (Mount Agassiz) opened with a few ski runs. The ski hill has not operated since 2000.
  • Ninety-eight percent of Riding Mountain National Park is designated wilderness. Mount Agassiz is an outdoor recreational area and continues to be defined as a commercial ski area in the Canada National Parks Act.
  • Parks Canada is a world leader in conservation and is Canada’s largest provider of natural and cultural tourism products. Parks Canada supports tourism industry initiatives and manages development in order to provide opportunities for visitors to enjoy and understand its national parks, while maintaining the ecological integrity of these special places.
  • On August 29, 2013, Parks Canada initiated a public call for proposals to potentially reopen the downhill ski operation with multi-season recreational uses. The process was open for nine months.

“Mount Agassiz had a long and rich history as an attractive skiing destination and significant local and regional interest has been expressed in reviving skiing at the site. Our Government understands the importance of Mount Agassiz to local communities and has taken steps to allow proposals to come forward.” Robert Sopuck, Member of Parliament for Dauphin-Swan River-Marquette


How Did We Get Here?

2007

November: The Park Management Plan is tabled in Parliament. The plan stated: no new leases will be granted for downhill skiing in the Park; rehabilitation plan for the Mount Agassiz ski hill area will be developed and implemented; and involve key stakeholder groups and First Nations in discussions regarding visitor experiences opportunities on the east side of the park and then develop an area plan and implement it as resources are available.

December: Discussions begin with local communities and their leaders and continue to do so till this present time.

Through these discussions Parks Canada: recognizes that there are a range of views and opinion; and is committed to listening, constructively working with, and building long lasting relationships with all of our stakeholders and partners including surrounding communities. Over the last few years there has been significant support – not full support of course – but significant support for reconsidering the operation of a ski hill.

 

2008

September - April (2009): Field assessments are conducted on the buildings, ski lift equipment, environmental conditions and heritage building status at the Agassiz site.
 
The Advisory Board visited the site this fall. This winter contaminated soil from a leaking fuel tank was removed. Parks Canada has hosted site visits to increase public understanding of the situation. Reducing public and environmental hazards such as contaminated material is a priority
© Parks Canada

  

2009  

June: Field assessment results are shared at three community meetings indicating buildings are in poor condition, lift equipment is in reasonable condition and workable, heritage values are low, and environmental hazards exist and need to be addressed quickly.
 
September-November: Site cleanup occurs with collection and disposal of an estimated 20 tonnes of scrap metal, garbage and small derelict buildings.
 

2010  

April/May: Discussions at three Community Conversations Meetings focus on the future of Mount Agassiz.
 
October: The Advisory Board to help guide the development of the Escarpment of Riding Mountain Area Strategy (area strategy) is formed. The Board visited the Agassiz site as part of its tour of the entire area eastern area of the park.

McKinnon Creek 2011 is a busy year: major remediation work to McKinnon Creek is completed; the SE Group, who is contracted to develop the Mount Agassiz Feasibility Study, visits the site and meets with stakeholders; and Parks Canada hosts a site open house.
© Parks Canada
 

2011

January: Parks Canada seeks consulting firm to develop the Mount Agassiz Feasibility Study.

February: The area strategy is formally launched to the public. At that time a website is opened to provide public information including Mount Agassiz. As well, an online survey is offered to gain the public’s initial ideas.

May: Contract awarded to SE Group to carry out the Feasibility Study. The SE Group specializes in the planning and design of ski areas and mountain resorts, and has unprecedented depth and breadth of experience in the ski industry.

June: McKinnon Creek culvert fails at Mount Agassiz. This is mainly due to saturated soil, record precipitation from the previous winter and spring, including major rainstorms in May and June. Culvert is removed and stream restored over the summer.

July: Parks Canada in conjunction with SE Consultants meets with targeted stakeholders and holds three open houses to build awareness of the Mount Agassiz Feasibility Study, and to gather ideas and opinions on the future of the site.

September: Parks Canada hosts a public open house at the Mount Agassiz site to get an update on the site including the McKinnon Creek restoration and the area strategy.

2012
 
January: Parks Canada initiates public consultation on a proposed amendment to the 2007 Riding Mountain National Park Management Plan. The amendment will allow Parks Canada to consider proposals to potentially reopen Agassiz for a sustainable winter or multi-season operation.

Agassiz © Parks Canada

January – February: Parks Canada hosts a series of meetings to update the public on the proposed park management plan amendment, key finding of the Mount Agassiz Feasibility Study, and the area strategy. The public is also provided with an online survey for the management plan amendment.

June:  Parks Canada announced the management plan amendment related to the Mount Agassiz ski area was tabled in Parliament on June 15, 2012. This amendment enables proposals to be considered for the redevelopment of a ski hill operation at the Mount Agassiz ski area, with the possibility of multi-season recreational uses.

The plan amendment was prepared following public consultation, involving the general public, stakeholders and partners. Through this process it was determined there is strong public support for the Management Plan Amendment.

Parks Canada began to develop the process for enabling proposals to be considered for a ski hill operation, including multi-season recreational activities.

 

2013

On August 29, Parks Canada announced a RFP has been issued to seek potential submissions as the first step to reopen Mount Agassiz Ski Area in Riding Mountain National Park for a sustainable winter or multi-season operation.

Ski area operations are highly sophisticated businesses involving many variables. The RFP is a comprehensive documentation package intended to provide potential proponents with all the information they will need to develop a successful proposal. Proponents can register and obtain the RFP package from Riding Mountain National Park. Proponents must submit their proposals by May 30, 2014. A successful outcome will lead to a long-term financially and operationally successful business operation that delivers exceptional visitor experiences, creates unique educational opportunities, and protects ecological integrity.

Following the RFP process, Parks Canada is committed to work efficiently and collaboratively with the successful proponent to complete the work required to achieve a successful lease. The time required to complete these steps depends on the size and scale of the proposal, and will take at least six months.

Mount Agassiz has a long and rich history as an attractive skiing destination. Mount Agassiz is a designated recreational area and is defined as a commercial ski area within the Canada National Parks Act. Currently, Mount Agassiz is not meeting its potential as a recreational area that provides exceptional visitor experiences, creates educational opportunities and protects the ecological integrity of the area.

Parks Canada recognizes there are diverse views regarding the feasibility and value of redeveloping Mount Agassiz. We are committed to listening, constructively working with, and building long lasting relationships with our stakeholders and partners while ensuring Parks Canada delivers on its mandated obligations.

What is the Mount Agassiz Feasibility Study? What are the Key Results? Why Did Parks Canada Proceed with the Amendment?

After the 2007 Management Plan was released, new information was brought forward surrounding the status and future of Mount Agassiz by local and regional stakeholders, partners, and elected officials. Many people believe that the potential viability of a new ski hill is strong, and that this interest should have received much more consideration during the development of the 2007 plan.

Parks Canada recognizes that there are a range of views and opinion. Parks Canada is committed to listening, constructively working with, and building long lasting relationships with all of our stakeholders and partners including surrounding communities. Over the last few years there has been significant support – not full support of course – but significant support for reconsidering the operation of a ski hill.

Park officials committed to gathering information from a number of sources to aid in a determination on the future of the Agassiz site, including a feasibility study. The feasibility study was an appropriate step to ensure Parks Canada, communities and stakeholders have the necessary information on the potential financial viability of a ski area to adequately evaluate management options for the site. It provides an impartial, business analysis of the opportunities, risks and viability of a ski hill venture both with and without multi-season activity. This includes an assessment of the competitive and economic environment that would affect and be affected by operations at the site.

The feasibility study was completed by the SE Group who specializes in the planning and design of ski areas and mountain resorts, and has internationally recognized depth and breadth of experience in the ski industry. The consultants were selected through a North American-wide competitive process. They were rated for their qualifications, experience in comparable projects, comprehension of the scope of work and references of their past work.

The consultants conducted secondary market research and generated hypothetical operational scenarios upon which to base their analysis. In July 2011, they conducted a site assessment and met with a number of stakeholders and partners including First Nations, communities and ski hill operators.

The Mount Agassiz Feasibility Study determined reopening the ski hill is not likely financially viable (e.g., limited markets, competition from existing ski hills and high capital and operating costs). However, some stakeholders believe there is strong interest and support for reopening the site and they would like the chance to assess the opportunities, risks and requirements to develop and operate a sustainable operation at Agassiz. Thus Parks Canada determined it would amend the park management plan if there is public support.

Individuals or organization interested in submitting an Request for Proposal please contact Richard Dupuis, Acting Superintendent, Riding Mountain Field Unit at richard.dupuis@pc.gc.ca or (204) 848-7255

Media enquiries or individuals who have general questions about the Request for Proposals please contact Roger Schroeder, External Relations Manager, Riding Mountain Field Unit at roger.schroeder@pc.gc.ca or (204) 848-7251

 

Related links: Mount Agassiz Feasibility Study and Management Plan Amendment

 

Back to Want to know more about The Escarpment of Riding Mountain Area Strategy?