Application de Parcs Canada : Patrimoine gourmand

Pudding royal

Ce pudding au lait est impressionnant en raison de sa garniture à la meringue.

Pudding royal

Origine : Lieu historique national du Col-Rogers
Région : Ouest (Colombie-Britannique)
Époque : 19e siècle
Plat : Desserts et pâtisseries

Paysage de Glacier House – ligne ferroviaire, montagnes, Glacier House
© Musée Glenbow NA-3740-43 www.glenbow.org

Le pudding royal était servi à Glacier House, un hôtel et une salle à manger du Canadien Pacifique (CP) situé à la base du col Rogers dans les montagnes Rocheuses de la Colombie-Britannique. Les voitures-restaurants étaient trop lourdes pour franchir le col, et, en 1886, le Canadien Pacifique a ouvert une salle à manger au pied du col pour servir ses passagers. Glacier House avait un emplacement spectaculaire près du pied du « Grand glacier » (aujourd’hui le glacier Illecillewaet) et la région a bientôt commencé à attirer des alpinistes provenant de toutes les régions de l’Europe et de l’Amérique du Nord. Le Canadien Pacifique a agrandi ses installations originales pour les transformer en hôtel de luxe et les chefs de Glacier House importaient des ingrédients pour recréer des plats connus des riches Européens et Nord-Américains afin de leur offrir tous les luxes auxquels ils étaient habitués. Ce pouding a été servi avec le repas du midi dans la salle à manger de Glacier House le 27 juillet 1915.

Pudding royal

Ingrédients :

  • 1 chopine | 370 g de chapelure fine
  • 1 pinte | 1 litre de lait
  • 1 tasse | 250 g de sucre
  • ¾ de tasse | 200 g de sucre
  • 4 oeufs, séparés
  • 1 citron, zeste et jus
  • 1 tasse | 250 g de gelée de fruits (peu importe la saveur)
  • Un morceau de beurre de la taille d’un oeuf | 80 g
  • ¾ de tasse | 200 ml de crème ou de crème fouettée pour la garniture, au goût

Instructions :

  • Mélanger la chapelure, le lait, 1 tasse (250 g) de sucre, les jaunes d’oeufs, le beurre et le zeste de citron. Bien battre. Verser le mélange dans un plat de cuisson graissé de 11 pouces x 7 pouces (28 cm x 18 cm) ou dans 6 plats de cuisson individuels. Cuire au four à 400 °F (200 °C) pendant 20 minutes, puis à 375 °F (190 °C) pendant 30 minutes jusqu’à ce que le mélange soit prêt et non aqueux; réduire le deuxième temps de cuisson de 10 minutes si vous utilisez des plats individuels.
  • Fouetter les blancs d’oeufs jusqu’à ce que des pointes fermes se forment. Mélanger les ¾ de tasse de sucre avec le jus de citron et battre le tout avec les blancs d’oeufs.
  • Étendre une couche de gelée sur le pudding cuit, puis étendre les blancs d’oeufs fouettés sur la gelée. Remettre au four et cuire quelques minutes jusqu’à ce que les pointes de meringue soient légèrement dorées. Manger le pudding froid avec de la crème ou de la crème fouettée.

Crédits :

Recette testée par le chef David Fairbanks, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

Inspiré d’une recette qui provient de Our New Cookbook and Household Receipts: Carefully Selected and Indexed, par Sarah Annie Frost, People’s Publishing, Boston, 1883.

Common menu bar links

Parks Canada Heritage Gourmet App

Queen Pudding

This custard-like pudding is impressive with its meringue topping.

Queen Pudding

Origin: Rogers Pass National Historic Site
Region: West (British Columbia)
Period: 19th Century
Course: Desserts and Baked Goods

Historic image of railway line, mountains and Glacier House Historic image of railway line, mountains and Glacier House
© Glenbow Museum NA-3740-43 / www.glenbow.org

Queen Pudding was served at Glacier House, a Canadian Pacific Railroad (CPR) hotel and dining room located at the base of Rogers Pass in the Rocky Mountains of British Columbia. Dining cars were too heavy to pull through the pass, so in 1886 the CPR opened a dining room at its base to serve its passengers. Glacier House was dramatically situated near the foot of the “Great Glacier” (today’s Illecillewaet Glacier), and the area soon attracted mountain climbers from across Europe and North America. The CPR expanded the original accommodations into a luxury hotel, and Glacier House chefs imported ingredients to recreate familiar dishes for wealthy Europeans and North Americans so that visitors could have all the luxuries of home. This pudding was served as part of the luncheon menu in the Glacier House dining room on 27 July 1915.

Queen Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 1 pint | 370 g fine bread crumbs
  • 1 quart | 1 litre milk
  • 1 cup | 250 g sugar
  • 1 teacupful | 200 g of sugar
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 1 lemon, zest and juice
  • 1 cup | 250 g fruit jelly (any flavour)
  • "a piece of butter the size of an egg" | 80 g
  • ¾ cup | 200 ml cream or whipped cream for garnishing, if desired

Directions:

  • Mix bread crumbs, milk, 1 cup sugar, egg yolks, butter and lemon zest. Beat well. Pour into greased 11" x 7" (28cm × 18cm) baking dish or 6 individual baking dishes. Bake at 400°F (200°C) for 20 minutes and then 375°F (190°C) for 30 minutes until done but not watery; reduce second cooking time by 10 minutes if using individual dishes.
  • Whip the egg whites until stiff peaks form. Mix the teacupful of sugar with the lemon juice and then beat into the egg whites.
  • Spread a layer of jelly over the cooked pudding, and then spread the whipped egg whites over the jelly. Return to the oven and bake for a short time until meringue tips are lightly browned. Eat the pudding cold, served with cream or whipped cream.

Credits:

Recipe tested by Chef David Fairbanks, Algonquin College School of Hospitality and Tourism

Adapted from a recipe in the book Our New Cookbook and Household Receipts: Carefully Selected and Indexed, written by Sarah Annie Frost and published by People’s Publishing, Boston, 1883.