Lieu historique national du Canada de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay

Énoncé d'intégrité commémorative

(Extrait du plan directeur du lieu historique national du Canada de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay, 2007, Parcs Canada, page 13)

La notion d'intégrité commémorative est un concept utilisé à Parcs Canada pour décrire, planifier et surveiller l'état et l'intégrité des lieux historiques nationaux. Quand on mesure l'intégrité commémorative d'un endroit, on évalue séparément les trois aspects suivants: l'état de ses ressources, l'efficacité avec laquelle est communiquée son importance nationale et les modes de gestion mis en pratique dans le lieu.

Un énoncé d'intégrité commémorative a été préparé pour le lieu historique de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay. Approuvé en 1999, cet énoncé précise l'objectif de commémoration du lieu, décrit ses ressources culturelles, leur attribue une valeur et détermine les messages d'importance historique nationale reliés à sa désignation. L'énoncé fixe également des objectifs à atteindre en matière de protection des ressources culturelles et de diffusion des messages d'importance historique nationale. L'énoncé d'intégrité commémorative est un cadre de référence qui établit l'état souhaitable pour le lieu. La mise en relation de cet état souhaitable avec la situation existante, permet de définir des mesures de gestion spécifiques pour la conservation et la mise en valeur du lieu.

L'objectif de commémoration pour le lieu historique national du Canada de la Bataillede- la-Châteauguay s'énonce ainsi :

Le lieu historique national du Canada de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay commémore l'importance de ce fait d'armes survenu le 26 octobre 1813 et le rôle que les combattants ont joué pour la défense du Canada contre les États-Unis lors de la guerre de 1812-1814.

Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site of Canada

The Commemorative Integrity Statement

(Excerpt of the Commemorative Integrity Statement of Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site of Canada, 2007, Parks Canada, page 13)

Commemorative integrity is a concept used at Parks Canada to describe, plan and monitor the state and integrity of national historic sites. When a site’s commemorative integrity is measured, the following three aspects are evaluated separately: the state of its resources, the effectiveness in which its national importance is conveyed and the management practices used at the site.

A commemorative integrity statement was drafted for the Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site. Approved in 1999, the statement includes the site’s commemorative intent, describes its cultural resources and assigns them a value, and identifies messages relating to its designation as a place of national historic significance. The commemorative integrity statement also sets objectives to be met in terms of the protection of cultural resources and the communication of messages of national historic significance. The commemorative integrity statement is a reference framework that establishes what constitutes the desired state of the site; the difference between the desired state and existing site conditions determines specific management measures aimed at preserving and presenting the site.

The commemorative intent for the Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site of Canada is as follows:

The Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site of Canada commemorates the importance of the feat of arms that took place on October 26, 1813, and the role played by the combatants in defending Canada against the United States during the War of 1812-1814.