shoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians
By Stéphane Comeault
Newly Renovated Visitor Centre © Parks Canada
On July 1, 2013, after being closed for nearly four years in order to conduct extensive conservation efforts, the Powerhouse at the Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site of Canada was reopened.
Canada Day celebrations were a great success with over 200 locals and tourists exploring the new Visitor Centre and more than 45 people taking advantage of site tours, being offered free of charge for Canada Day.
This is a great example of Parks Canada's mandate in action, protecting and presenting nationally significant examples of our natural and cultural heritage. The Powerhouse is an iconic part of the Sault Ste. Marie Canal. It is the hub of the site, where all the electricity required to power the Canal was generated for nearly 50 years, from 1895 until 1943.
Original Pumps in Powerhouse to drain lock © Parks Canada
Members of the public are once again invited to tour the Powerhouse to see, smell, and touch the past and experience the fascinating history housed in this historically significant cultural resource. Site tours, which are offered daily, include a guided walk through the building allowing visitors to see original power generation equipment from the 1900s, historical photographs of the site, artefacts, and of course, the brand new, completely renovated Visitor Centre, located on the third floor of this magnificent building.
Back to shoreLINES