Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

Kingston Mills

Visite à pied Kingston Mills : Voyage dans le passé

Illustrations par Dorothea Larsen

563, chemin Kingston Mills
Kingston (Ontario)

Bienvenue au poste d’éclusage de Kingston Mills. Les croquis présentés pendant la visite illustrent la façon dont le poste d’éclusage a évolué au fil du temps. Vous constaterez de nombreuses différences, autant dans le paysage que dans les bâtiments. Amusez-vous bien!

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau fait partie d’un réseau national de parcs et de lieux historiques gérés par Parcs Canada. La voie navigable est formée d’un ensemble de lacs magnifiques, de rivières et de canaux artificiels reliant Kingston, à l’extrémité est du lac Ontario, à Ottawa, capitale du Canada. Il représente l’une des grandes réalisations techniques du XIXe siècle et, fait inouï, il est demeuré en exploitation depuis 1832. Le Canal-Rideau s’est ajouté aux quinze sites du patrimoine mondial du Canada désignés par l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO).

Construit de 1826 à 1832 sous la supervision du lieutenantcolonel John By des Royal Engineers, le canal, d’une longueur de 202 km, offre à l’époque une voie d’approvision ne ment sûre et facile à défendre entre Montréal et Kingston, et représente une solution de rechange au fleuve Saint-Laurent dans les années difficiles qui suivent la guerre de 1812. Premier canal au monde conçu spécifiquement pour les bateaux à vapeur, il est l’un des exemples les plus éloquents à l’échelle mondiale d’un réseau de plans d’eau successifs.

Le canal connaît trois grandes périodes dans son histoire. La période militaire, qui débute par la conception et la construction du canal, dure quelques décennies et se termine par sa transformation en voie navigable commerciale. Des vapeurs et des barges à destination de l’Angleterre, du New Jersey et de Montréal y transportent bois, potasse, feldspath, mica, minerai de fer et phosphate. L’avènement du chemin de fer, une forme de transport plus rapide, entraîne un ralentissement important des activités commerciales sur le canal. Les années 1880 marquent le début de la période récréative, qui voit de nombreux vapeurs d’excursion, comme les Rideau King et Queen, transporter voyageurs et touristes le long de la voie navigable pittoresque. Le canal demeure encore aujourd’hui une attraction récréative de calibre internationale, tant pour les visiteurs terrestres que pour ceux qui viennent par bateau.

Kingston Mills, l’un des 24 postes d’éclusage du canal Rideau, est un bel exemple de chef d’oeuvre d’ingénierie et d’histoire militaire. Chacune des quatre écluses de calcaire a une élévation de 3,6 m et est manoeuvrée à la main au moyen de trois dispositifs différents d’ouverture et de fermeture. Le seul autre poste d’éclusage équipé de dispositifs à poutrelle forcée, à poutrelle pivotante courbe et à chaîne sans fin est celui d’Ottawa. Le coût de construction du poste d’éclusage de Kingston Mills (60 000 £) est le plus élevé après celui des postes d’éclusage de Jones Falls et d’Ottawa.

Avant la construction du canal Rideau à Kingston Mills, la rivière Cataraqui coulait lentement dans les basses terres marécageuses et franchissait une dénivellation de cinq mètres en glissant sur un substrat de granit dans une gorge rocheuse profonde, qui constitue l’endroit idéal où implanter des moulins à grains et à bois.

Les moulins à grains et à bois conçus par Robert Clark, de New York, sont bâtis en 1783-1784 par le gouvernement britannique, et la région est alors surnommée « King’s Mill » (le moulin du roi). Tous les résidents sont tenus en vertu de la loi d’apporter leurs produits agricoles à ces moulins, qui servent à l’ensemble du district, d’Elizabethtown (Brockville) à la baie de Quinte, un vaste secteur que décrit ainsi un officier : « Puisqu’aucune route n’était ouverte, ils devaient se frayer un chemin dans les bois du mieux qu’ils pouvaient. Heureusement, il y avait peu de neige au sol et les rivières étaient gelées. Après une absence de 14 jours, les hommes revenaient, mais ne rapportaient pas grand-chose : leurs chevaux et eux-mêmes avaient consommé la majeure partie de leur chargement pendant le périple. Les colons ici n’habitent pas si loin d’un moulin, pourtant certains d’entre eux devaient parcourir une distance de dix à vingt milles; et, avant l’ouverture des routes, ils devaient transporter leur grain à dos d’homme sur toute cette distance. »

Jon Clark, fils de Robert Clark, se rappelle qu’à l’époque le moulin a été fabriqué à partir « de billots ou de bois grossièrement équarris ». Au fil des ans, différents moulins disparaissent pour diverses raisons : incendie, abandon, dégâts d’eau et épuisement des ressources. La crue printanière de 1905 finit par avoir raison du dernier moulin à grains encore en place. Par ailleurs, la centrale hydro - électrique est demeurée en activité depuis sa création en 1914. La centrale initiale produisait un courant électrique continu, qui, en 1924, a été transformé en courant alternatif capable de générer 2 400 hp.

Kingston Mills après 1856
Kingston Mills, après-1856
© Parcs Canada

Le croquis de l’après-1856 illustre le moulin (1) en aval des écluses dans le chenal original de la rivière Cataraqui. Son apparence est très différente de celle des années 1830. Un long pont de bois (2) relie le blockhaus (3) au village de Kingston Mills vers l’est. Le pont a été remplacé par un barrage de ciment et un déversoir, créant un nouveau bassin qui cache la maçonnerie en pierres du barrage original (4) et du déversoir (5). Le barrage et le déversoir servent à contrôler les niveaux d’eau du lac Colonel By et l’approvisionnement en eau des turbines de la centrale hydroélectrique.

Kingston Mills 1855
Kingston Mills, 1855
© Parcs Canada

Le croquis de 1855 représente une passerelle (1) qui enjambe une baie du lac Colonel By. Cette passerelle mène à la résidence (2) de Robert Drummond, entrepreneur, dans laquelle a vécu le maître-éclusier après la construction des écluses. Parmi les autres bâtiments, il y a le blockhaus (3); le quartier général (4) de la section de la rivière Cataraqui érigé en 1831 à l’endroit où s’élève actuellement la maison Anglin; ainsi que le bureau du lieutenant Brisco, une école, des ateliers, et des bâtiments-dortoirs (5).

Pendant la période comprise entre la construction du canal et 1855, de nombreux bâtiments changent de vocation. En 1855, on entreprend la construction du pont à poutre triangulée (6) de la Compagnie du Grand Tronc, qui devait relier pour la première fois Montréal à Toronto. En 1929, la Compagnie des Chemins de fer nationaux bâtit le pont de chemin de fer à trois travées fixes et y aménage deux voies. Les deux culées du pont et le pilier contigu aux écluses combinées, qui composent un pont érigé en 1890, sont revêtus de pierres.

Kingston Mills 1832
Kingston Mills, 1832
© Parcs Canada

La peinture réalisée en 1832 par William Clegg, responsable de la paie, présente une vue d’ensemble du poste d’éclusage. Les moulins (1) ne sont pas représentés au même endroit que sur le croquis de 1856. À l’ouest du blockhaus (2) se trouve un pont basculant à deux volées (3) doté de deux travées levantes identiques formant un arc au centre de l’écluse. Le mécanisme élévateur est constitué de deux paires de bras pivotants à contrepoids reliés aux volées par des chaînes. Ce pont est d’abord remplacé par un pont tournant de type Kingpost, semblable à celui situé en amont, à Lower Brewers, puis par un pont tournant moderne en acier. La taille du bassin tournant (4) est particulièrement impressionnante.

Aujourd’hui, le bassin est beaucoup moins imposant qu’à l’origine. Dans les années 1830 et 1840, il sert de point de transbordement des marchandises et des matériaux en raison de la grande barre de sable appelée « Shallows » située en aval de Kingston Mills, qui empêche certains bateaux de poursuivre leur trajet en toute sécurité. Sur le versant nord du bassin (5) se trouve le bâtiment principal de la section de la rivière Cataraqui du canal. Il est démoli en 1904 pour faire place à une résidence de maîtreéclusier qui renferme aussi un bureau de poste jusqu’en 1946. De nos jours, c’est un centre d’orientation et d’interprétation du Canal-Rideau.

Bureau de Cataraqui
Le bâtiment principal de la section de la rivière Cataraqui du canal, 1832-1904.
© Parcs Canada

Le canal Rideau est l’un des plus beaux exemples à l’échelle mondiale d’un réseau de plans d’eau successifs. Pendant la création du canal, une série de digues et de barrages sont aménagés afin d’élever les niveaux d’eau de 1,5 m pour accueillir les vapeurs. Kingston Mills se targue aujourd’hui de posséder le plus long tronçon de digues et de barrages combinés. La digue de l’ouest, qui s’étend sur 805 m, sert de lien entre l’axe Frontenac (un prolongement du Bouclier canadien) et la plaine de calcaire de Napanee, qui recèle un marais et une carrière abandonnée. Au sud, l’affleurement de granite de l’axe Frontenac représente l’un des obstacles les plus importants pendant la construction du canal Rideau. La poudre noire utilisée pour dynamiter ces rochers très résistants cause de nombreuses pertes de vie et blessures le long de la voie navigable.

La malaria est un autre problème chronique auquel les travailleurs doivent faire face pendant la construction du canal. À l’été de 1828, le capitaine Savage écrit : « À Kingston Mills, le lieutenant Briscoe, Royal Engineers, le surveillant adjoint, l'entrepreneur, son commis, le contremaître et presque tous leurs hommes (une centaine) ont été frappés. Le commis et douze hommes sont morts, le lieutenant Briscoe est toujours extrêmement malade (il a la fièvre des lacs) ».

Le Canal-Rideau compte quatre blockhaus. L’architecture du blockhaus de Kingston Mills est celle que l’on retrouve partout en Amérique du Nord. Le bâtiment de 7,3 m2 possède des murs de 1 m d’épaisseur conçus pour résister à des tirs au canon de petit calibre et est coiffé d’un toit en fer-blanc de forme pyramidale pouvant supporter le feu et la neige des hivers canadiens. L’étage supérieur, inspiré des fortifications médiévales, fait saillie par rapport au rez-dechaussée, et est percé de mâchicoulis (de petites ouvertures qui permettaient aux occupants de faire feu sur l’ennemi). Les meurtrières pratiquées dans les murs de bois équarri sont longues et étroites, mais évasées vers l’extérieur pour offrir aux défenseurs un angle de tir plus large. Après sa construction en 1832, des soldats de l’armée régulière britannique et des miliciens y logent continuellement de juillet 1838 à janvier 1841 en raison des tensions accrues avec les Américains et des querelles internes causées par la rébellion du Haut-Canada. Le bâtiment peut alors accueillir jusqu’à 20 hommes en garnison. Aujourd’hui, le blockhaus a retrouvé son état d’origine et est meublé à la façon des années 1830.

À un certain moment, un manoeuvre et sa famille occupent chaque étage du blockhaus. Les autres travailleurs vivent, pendant la saison de la navigation, dans une structure de bois construite en 1881 portant le nom de « lodge » (abri). Ce bâtiment d’un étage et demi, situé près du blockhaus, faisait 5,5 m sur 4 m. Chaque étage ne comportait qu’une seule pièce. L’ « abri » a été démoli en 1972.

Le bureau d’écluse actuel, autrefois un entrepôt, est l’un des derniers bâtiments de service encore debout à Kingston Mills. De nombreux autres bâtiments sont disparus au fil des ans, notamment des granges, des écuries, des locaux de chantier, des bâtiments ferroviaires et probablement une forge située dans les environs du bureau d’écluse.

Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Kingston Mills

Kingston Mills Walking Tour: A Walk into the Past

Illustrations by Dorothea Larsen

563 Kingston Mills Road
Kingston, Ontario 

Welcome to Kingston Mills Lockstation. The sketches included in this walking tour show how the station has evolved over the years. You will notice many differences, such as the landscape and buildings. Enjoy your visit.

The Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada is part of a national system of parks and historic sites managed by Parks Canada. The waterway is a chain of beautiful lakes, rivers and canal cuts joining Kingston, at the head of Lake Ontario, to Ottawa, Canada’s capital. It is one of the greatest engineering feats of the 19th century and incredibly, has enjoyed continuous operation since its completion in 1832. The Rideau Canal joins 15 other World Heritage Sites located in Canada, designated by the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

The Rideau Canal was constructed between 1826 and 1832, under the supervision of Lieutenant Colonel John By of the Royal Engineers. The 202 km waterway provided a secure defensible supply route from Montreal to Kingston, an alternative to the St. Lawrence River in the uneasy years following the War of 1812. As the first canal in the world specifically designed for steam-powered vessels, it is one of the best examples in the world of a slackwater canal system.

The canal has gone through three stages in its history. The military defence period began with the conception and construction of the canal. A slow military decline over the next couple of decades resulted in the canal becoming a commercial waterway. Timber, potash, feldspar, mica, iron ore and phosphate were shipped along the waters of the Rideau by steamers and barges travelling on to destinations such as England, New Jersey and Montreal. With the advent of railroads, which were quicker, the canal’s commerce was seriously reduced. The 1880s heralded the recreational period, with numerous excursion steamers, such as the Rideau King and Queen, ferrying loads of travellers and sightseers along the length of the picturesque waterway.

Today, the canal continues to be an international recreational attraction, experienced both by water and by land.

Kingston Mills, one of 24 lockstations on the Rideau Canal is a prime example of engineering mastery and military history. Each of the four limestone locks has a lift of 3.6 metres and they utilize all three manual methods of opening and closing the lock gates. The only other lockstation to exhibit the push bar, swing bar and endless chain mechanisms is Ottawa Locks. The cost of construction, 60,000 £, was only surpassed by Jones Falls and Ottawa lockstations.

Before construction of the Rideau Canal at Kingston Mills, the Cataraqui River wound through low-lying marsh, then fell 5 metres over a granite ledge into a deep rocky gorge, making this location an ideal site for a saw and grist mill complex.

Saw and grist mills built by Robert Clark, a Jessop Ranger from New York, were erected in 1783-84 by the British government. The area became known as King’s Mill. All residents were required by law to bring their produce to these mills, which served the entire district from Elizabethtown (Brockville) to the Bay of Quinte, a very large area described by one officer: “No road being opened, they had to cut their way through the woods in the best manner they could. But there was little snow on the ground, and the rivers were frozen over. After a fortnight’s (14 days) absence the men returned, having affected their object, but without much benefit: for they and the horses, during their absence, had consumed the greater part of their loads. None of the settlers here are so far from a mill, yet some of them are from ten to twenty miles; and, till the roads were opened, they had to carry the grain all that distance on their backs.”

Robert Clark’s son, John, recalled the mill was constructed out of “log or roughly squared timbers.” Over the years, various grist and saw mills suffered a variety of fates, such as fire, abandonment, water damage and resource depletement. The last grist mill on site was damaged in 1905 by the spring freshet and afterwards crumbled away. Today, the water power generation plant continues to provide electricity, as it has done since its creation in 1914.

The original water power plant supplied DC power. In 1924, AC power was introduced, graded to generate 2,400 hp.

Kingston Mills post-1856
Kingston Mills, post 1856
© Parks Canada

The post 1856 sketch shows the mill (1) below the locks in the original Cataraqui River channel. Its appearance is much different than the 1830s mill illustrated. A long wooden bridge (2) leads east away from the blockhouse (3) towards the village of Kingston Mills. The wooden bridge was replaced by a cement dam and weir, creating a new basin that hides the stonework of the original dam (4) and the waste weir (5). The dam and waste weir are used to control water levels of Colonel By Lake and the supply of water to the hydro generation plant’s turbines.

Kingston Mills 1855
Kingston Mills, post 1855
© Parks Canada

The 1855 sketch features a footbridge (1) crossing a bay on Colonel By Lake leading to Robert Drummond’s, the contractor’s residence (2) in which the lockmaster lived after the locks were completed. Other structures include: the blockhouse (3); the Cataraqui Section Headquarters building (4) erected in 1831 where the Anglin House now stands; and the office of Lt. Brisco, a schoolhouse, workshops, and bunkhouses (5).

Many of the buildings’ functions changed between the canal’s completion and 1855. In 1855, construction of the Grand Trunk Railway Wood Truss Bridge (6) was underway. It would connect Montreal to Toronto for the first time. The double track, fixed three-span railway bridge was built in 1929 by the Canadian National Railroad. The two abutments of the bridge and the pier adjacent to the combined locks are dressed stone and are part of an 1890 bridge.

Kingston Mills 1832
Kingston Mills, 1832
© Parks Canada

The 1832 painting by paymaster William Clegg shows the complete lockstation. The mills (1) are shown in a different location than the 1856 sketch. To the west of the blockhouse (2) is a drawbridge (3). It was a balanced, double-leafed drawbridge with two identical lift spans forming an arch over the centre of the lock. Two pairs of pivoting balanced arms were chained to the two leaves to provide lift. It was first replaced with a King Post Swing Bridge, similar to the bridge located upstream at Lower Brewers. Later, a modern steel swing bridge was constructed. Most notable is the size of the turning basin (4).

Today, the basin is considerably smaller than originally constructed. The basin was a transfer point for goods and materials during the 1830s and 1840s because of a large sandbar below Kingston Mills that was referred to as the “Shallows”. This sandbar prevented some ships from passing safely along on their journey. On the northern edge of the basin (5) was the head office building for the Cataraqui section of the canal. It was removed in 1904 to build a lockmaster’s residence that also contained a post office at the same time until 1946. Today, it is an interpretative and orientation centre for the Rideau Canal.

Cataraqui Office
The head office building for the Cataraqui section of the canal, 1832-1904.
© Parks Canada

The Rideau Canal is one of the world’s finest examples of slackwater construction. During the creation of the canal, a series of dams and embankments were built to raise the water levels 1.5 metres for safe steamboat navigation. Kingston Mills boasts the longest stretch of combined embankments and dams. The western embankment stretches 805 metres, acting as an interface between the Frontenac Axis (an extension of the Canadian Shield) and the Napanee limestone plain, that included a marsh and abandoned quarry site. To the south, the granite outcrops of the Frontenac Axis were one of the greatest obstacles in the construction of the Rideau Canal. The use of black powder to remove this extremely hard rock resulted in numerous deaths and injuries throughout the waterway.

Malaria was another chronic problem during the creation of the canal. In the summer of 1828, Captain Savage wrote: “At Kingston Mills, Lieut. Briscoe Roy Engr, the Asst. Overseer, the Contractor, his Clerk, Foreman, and nearly the whole of his men [about 100] have been attacked, the Clerk and 12 men have died, Lieut. Briscoe still continues extremely ill, with the lake fever.”

The blockhouse is one of four constructed on the Rideau Canal. Its architecture is a typical design utilized throughout British North America. The 7.3 metre square building has 1 metre thick walls designed to withstand small canon fire and a pyramidal tin sheathed roof to endure fire and Canadian winter snow. The upper level overhang, derived from mediaeval fortifications, allowed for machicolated defence (holes cut in the overhang permitting downward fire on the enemy). The loopholes cut in each hewn square timber wall were long and narrow but tapered within, allowing the defender a greater angle of fire. After its completion in 1832, the building was garrisoned continuously by British regulars and militia from July 1838 to January 1841 because of increased tensions with the Americans and interior strife caused by the Upper Canada Rebellions. This building could garrison up to 20 men. Today, the blockhouse is restored to its original condition and is furnished as it might have been in the 1830s.

At one point, a labourer and his family occupied each storey of the blockhouse. The other men spent the navigation season in an 1881 constructed wooden structure referred to as the “lodge”. This one and a half storey frame building, located close to the blockhouse, was 5.5 metres by 4 metres. Each level of the building consisted of a single room. The “lodge” was demolished in 1972.

The present-day lock office, once a storehouse, is one of the last survivors of a group of service buildings at Kingston Mills. Many other buildings disappeared over the years, including storage barns, stables, shanties, railway buildings and possibly a blacksmith shop located in the vicinity of the lock office.