Lieu historique national du Canada Alexander-Graham-Bell

Activités

Visite en gants blancs

Sur une longue bande de terre surplombant la baie de Baddeck, familiarisez-vous avec la vie et l’œuvre d’un génie des temps modernes. Rencontrez l’inventeur Alexander Graham Bell par l’entremise de sa plus importante collection de souvenirs, de photos et de maquettes au monde. Admirez une réplique grandeur réelle du célèbre Silver Dart et une maquette de l’hydroptère HD-4. Touchez au bâton de marche et au carnet de notes personnel de Bell au cours d’une surprenante visite en coulisse. Les enfants pourront se déguiser, faire voler des cerfs-volants et profiter d’un pique-nique au bord du lac.


Activités en vedette

Les « Bells of Baddeck »

Les « Bells of Baddeck » : Un drame musical
Au milieu des inventions de Bell et de ses effets personnels, vous entendrez les meilleurs chanteurs du Canada interpréter l'histoire de ce couple célèbre au lieu historique national du Canada Alexander-Graham-Bell, dans la charmante ville de Baddeck en Nouvelle-Écosse. Des chansons qui touchent le coeur, des rythmes entraînants et peut-être même une larme à l'oeil vous attendent!

Visite en gants blancs
Visite en gants blancs
Durant la visite en gants blancs, immiscez-vous dans l’esprit d’Alexander Graham Bell. Familiarisez-vous avec les objets personnels, les maquettes et les inventions d’un génie.
La mesure d'un homme

La mesure d'un homme
Durant cette visite guidée, découvrez les sujets qui suscitent un enthousiasme sans borne chez Alexander Graham Bell. Rencontrez les personnes qui ont influencé ce génie des temps modernes.

Placez-vous dans la photo
Placez-vous dans la photo - Visite guidée pour enfants
Voici une amusante visite guidée costumée où vos enfants revivront une époque lointaine, celle qu’ont connue les pilotes, les inventeurs et les enseignants, d’il y a au moins un siècle.
Faites voler un cerf-volant
Faites voler un cerf-volant !
Décorez le cerf-volant que vous avez créé, puis faites-le voler dans cet espace vaste et dégagé, exactement comme l’a fait Alexander Graham Bell. Vous pourrez même conserver votre création.

 

 

 

Tous les activités

À noter :  Certains programmes pourront être offerts à la demande, mais tous les efforts seront déployés pour accueillir les visiteurs curieux! Veuillez téléphoner à l'avance pour plus d'informations.


Les « Bells of Baddeck »

Les « Bells of Baddeck » : Un drame musical

Des cerf-volants aux vols d'avion, des écoles aux bibliothèques, Alexander Graham et Mabel Bell ont changé le monde. Sourde de naissance, Mabel n'a jamais entendu la sonnerie du téléphone ou le bourdonnement du Silver Dart, mais elle devint l'une des figures les plus influentes auprès des femmes et des enfants, ainsi que dans les domaines des arts et de la science. Après la vie frénétique qu'ils vécurent à la suite de l'invention du téléphone, le couple trouva refuge dans leur demeure donnant sur la baie de Baddeck. Dans ce nouveau drame musical de Lorna MacDonald et du compositeur Dean Burry, Les cloches de Baddeck raconte l'histoire du célèbre inventeur et de sa femme, qui déménagèrent de Washington au Cap-Breton, où ils tombèrent sous le charme des gens, de la musique et de l'héritage gaélique de l'endroit. Au milieu des inventions de Bell et de ses effets personnels, vous entendrez les meilleurs chanteurs du Canada interpréter l'histoire de ce couple célèbre au lieu historique national du Canada Alexander-Graham-Bell, dans la charmante ville de Baddeck en Nouvelle-Écosse. Des chansons qui touchent le coeur, des rythmes entraînants et peut-être même une larme à l'oeil vous attendent!

Du 3 juillet au 2 août 2015

Cliquez ici pour acheter vos billets en ligne (en anglais seulement).

Visitez BellsofBaddeck.com pour en savoir plus (en anglais seulement).

Toutes les représentations sont en anglais, à 19h30
3, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17, 18, 21, 22, 24, 25, 28, 29, 31 juillet ; 1, 2 août


Visit exclusive en Gants Blancs

Visite en gants blancs

Un guide passionné vous accompagnera dans l’intimité de l’illustre génie. Lors de cette exceptionnelle visite en coulisse, vous pourrez tenir dans vos mains des objets personnels et des maquettes d’Alexander Graham Bell. En petit groupe, vous entrerez ensuite dans « Le Salon » (The Parlour) où vous pourrez admirer les objets qui lui étaient familiers : son blouson favori, son bâton de marche et son carnet de notes personnel. Vous suivrez l’évolution de l’histoire d’amour entre « Alec » et Mabel Bell, celle pour qui le téléphone a été inventé. Dans « L’atelier » (The Workshop), découvrez comment Bell savait utiliser les objets du quotidien à des fins peu ordinaires. Regardez en particulier sa veste sous vide (ancêtre du poumon d’acier) et les maquettes de cerfs-volants et d’hydroptères. Dans le laboratoire d’aéronautique, suivez les traces de Bell se préparant au vol à la lumière des hélices, des rotors, des maquettes de papier en forme d’ailes et de divers articles ayant servi à construire le premier avion canadien, le Silver Dart. D’autres sites seront ouverts au public au fil du temps, faisant de chaque visite une expérience unique.

Tous les jours, 30 minutes
7,30 $ par personne
Français : à la demande
Anglais : 10 h 30, 16 h 00


La mesure d'un homme

La mesure d'un homme - Visite guidée

C’est avec une grande curiosité et une sincère compassion qu’Alexander Graham Bell a construit le Silver Dart en collaboration avec l’Aerial Experiment Association (AEA), a travaillé à l’éducation des personnes sourdes et a même fabriqué un poumon d’acier. Partagez l’enthousiasme de l’animateur-guide du patrimoine qui vous présentera l’œuvre de Bell et les personnes qui l’ont influencé. Vous apprendrez que sa mère et son épouse, Mabel (Hubbard) Bell, étaient atteintes de surdité. Vous rencontrerez aussi divers membres influents de l’AEA : Casey Baldwin, J. A. D. McCurdy, Thomas Selfridge et Glenn Curtiss. Vous comprendrez la nature des liens qui unissaient Bell, sa famille et Mabel, l’amour de sa vie. Devant les pièces de collection sur le son et le silence, les inventions, les expérimentations et les répliques grandeur nature du Silver Dart et de l’hydroptère HD-4, vous prendrez la pleine mesure de ce génie et des personnes qui l’ont inspiré.

Tous les jours, 30 minutes
2,40 $ par personne
Français : 15 h 15
Anglais : 11 h 15


Faites voler un cerf-volant!

Faites voler un cerf-volant!

Partagez une des grandes passions de Bell en créant votre propre cerf-volant, en le décorant et en le faisant voler sur place. Vous découvrirez le rôle qu’ont joué les cerfs-volants dans les expériences de vol qu’a réalisées Bell et en apprendrez davantage sur ce gigantesque cerf-volant tétraédrique (tridimensionnel) construit en 1904. Lors de sa lune de miel, Bell a dit à Mabel, son épouse, qu’il rêvait de machines volantes auxquelles étaient attachés des téléphones. Il espérait même mettre au point un cerf-volant assez grand pour transporter un être humain. Vous vous émerveillerez devant votre création alors qu’elle s’élève dans un ciel parsemé de cerfs-volants.

Samedis, 30 minutes
2,40 $ par personne
Français : à la demande
Anglais : 14 h 15


Placez-vous sans la photo

Placez-vous dans la photo - Visite guidée pour enfants

Vos enfants pourront revivre le passé en jouant l’un des rôles des personnes importantes de la vie d’Alexander Graham Bell. Seront-ils lieutenant, pilote, inventeur ou enseignant ? Au cours de cette visite interactive, ils découvriront les incroyables talents qu’avait Bell pour la science. Mais sur quels pas marcher ? Ceux du pionnier de l’aviation canadienne, Douglas McCurdy, qui a piloté le Silver Dart à Baddeck en 1909, ou ceux de la charmante Mabel Bell, l’amour de la vie d’« Alec », qui prônait l’égalité des femmes en science et en éducation ? Cette visite place vos enfants au cœur de l’histoire. Leur découverte de la vie et des réalisations de leur personnage les mettra en contact avec l’histoire de Bell d’une façon unique et personnelle. Alors, qui veut devenir le légendaire Alexander Graham Bell ?

Dimanches, 30 minutes
2,40 $ par personne
Français : à la demande
Anglais : 14 h 15


Silver Dart

Reproduction du Silver Dart

Nous sommes heureux d'annoncer notre toute dernière acquisition : une reproduction grandeur réelle du Silver Dart!

La reproduction grandeur réelle a été construite par l'Aerial Experiment Association 2005 pour commémorer le vol initial en 1909 – le premier vol motorisé et contrôlé d'avion au Canada. Pilotée au-dessus de la baie Baddeck par l'ancien astronaute Bjarni Tryggvason en février 2009, elle survole bien haut au-dessus de la reproduction grandeur réelle de l'hydroptère HD-4 de Bell! Venez la voir vous-même lors de votre prochaine visite au lieu historique national Alexander-Graham-Bell.


Les Xplorateurs de Parcs Canada

Les Xplorateurs de Parcs Canada

Attrape le vent, conçois un cerf-volant comme celui d'Alec, essaie un téléphone à cadran,  visite l'espace de rêverie d'Alec et jette un coup d'œil à la main parlante. De retour à la maison, prépare la boisson préférée d'Alec – Xplore ses idées drôles et fantastiques.

Une excellente façon, pour les enfants de 6 à 11 ans, d'explorer les trésors naturels et culturels du Canada!



Présentations spéciales en vedette

Présentations spéciales en vedette

Des images de notre vaste collection illustrent la réalité historique et les anecdotes de Bell sur des sujets tels que Beinn Bhreagh et Mabel Bell.

Tous les jours, 30 minutes
2,40 $ par personne
Français : à la demande
Anglais : 9 h 15, 15 h 15


Atelier des cerfs-volants tétraédriques

Atelier des cerfs-volants tétraédriques

Construisez et décorez un cerf-volant tétraédrique à quatre cellules, semblables à ceux utilisaient par Bell dans ses expériences de vol. Parfait pour les adolescents et les familles!

Samedis et dimanches, 45 minutes
7,30 $ par cerf-volant
Français : à la demande
Anglais : 15 h 45


« Découvrez »

À ne pas manquer, « Découvrez », un coin où les petits et les grands sont invités à apprendre tout en s'amusant. Participez à des activités concrètes, assemblez des casse-tête, tout en prenant votre temps.

Découvrez le Grand livre, tellement grand qu'il est fixé au mur. Écrit et illustré par des enfants, il raconte la vie et l'œuvre du docteur Bell. Certainement l’un des livres les plus charmants à lire.

Common menu bar links

Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site of Canada

Activities

White Glove Tour

On a sprawling stretch of land overlooking Baddeck Bay on the Bras d’Or Lakes, discover the life and work of a modern day genius. Tour the mind of inventor Alexander Graham Bell though the world’s largest collection of mementos, photos and models. See a full-scale replica of the the famous Silver Dart and a model HD-4 Hydrofoil craft. Hold Bell’s walking stick and personal notebook on an extraordinary behind-the-scenes tour. Kids can play dress-up, fly kites, and enjoy a lakeside picnic.


Featured Activities

The Bells of Baddeck 

The Bells of Baddeck: A Music-Drama
Surrounded by Bell's inventions and personal artifacts you'll hear Canada's finest singing talent perform at the Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site in beautiful Baddeck, Nova Scotia. We'll put a song in your heart, a skip in your step, and a wee tear in the eye!

White Glove Tour 
White Glove Tour
Enjoy a behind-the-scenes discovery on a White Glove Tour where you’ll tour the mind of a genius, with a hands-on exploration of Alexander Graham Bell's personal mementos, models and inventions.
The Measure of a Man 

The Measure of a Man
On a tour guided by knowledgeable, passionate heritage interpreters, discover the boundless interests of Alexander Graham Bell and meet the personal and professional influences who shaped the mind of this modern day genius.

Put Yourself in the Picture – Guided Children’s Dress-up Tour 
Put Yourself in the Picture– Guided Children’s Dress-up Tour
Enjoy a fun dress-up tour for children who will travel back in time a century and more, living as pilots, inventors, and teachers!
Come Fly a Kite 
Come Fly a Kite!
Create and decorate a kite that’s yours to keep. In the wide open space, come decorate and fly a kite as you invent and imagine, just as Alexander Graham Bell did.
 

All Activities

Note: Programs may also be offered on demand - every effort will be made to accommodate curious visitors!  Please call ahead for further information.


The Bells of Baddeck

The Bells of Baddeck: A Music-Drama

From kites and flights to schools and libraries, Alexander Graham and Mabel Bell changed the world. Deaf from childhood, Mabel never heard the ring of the telephone nor the roar of the Silver Dart, but she became one of the century’s most influential advocates for women, children, the arts, and science. Overlooking Baddeck Bay they found repose from the hectic life that followed the invention of the telephone. Here, in a new music-drama by Lorna MacDonald and composer Dean Burry, The Bells of Baddeck tells the story of the great inventor and his wife who came to Cape Breton from Washington and fell in love with the people, music, and Gaelic charm. Surrounded by Bell's inventions and personal artifacts you'll hear Canada's finest singing talent perform at the Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site in beautiful Baddeck, Nova Scotia. We'll put a song in your heart, a skip in your step, and a wee tear in the eye!

July 3 - August 2, 2015

Click here to purchase tickets online.

Visit BellsofBaddeck.com for more information.

All shows in English, at 7:30PM
July 3, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11,14, 15, 17, 18, 21, 22, 24, 25, 28, 29, 31; August 1, 2


White Glove Tour

White Glove Tour

With a passionate guide leading your journey, the White Glove Tour is an intimate, personal glimpse at a public genius. On this unique, behind-the-scenes tour you’ll hold Alexander Graham Bell's personal mementos and models. Together, your small group will enter “The Parlour” and examine Bell’s comfort items: his favourite jacket, walking stick and personal notebook. You’ll follow the love story between "Alec" and Mabel Bell, the woman for whom the telephone was invented. In "The Workshop" see how Bell put everyday items to extraordinary use. Examine his vacuum jacket (forerunner to the iron lung), model kites and hydrofoils. In “The Aeronautics Laboratory” trace Bell's path to flight, examining propellers, rotors, paper wing-shaped models and items used to build Canada’s first airplane, the Silver Dart. As more collection areas are opened, each visit promises a one-of-a-kind discovery.

Daily, 30 minutes
$7.30 per person
English: 10:30 a.m., 4:00 p.m.
French: à la demande


Measure of a Man

The Measure of a Man - Tour

With curiosity and deep compassion, Alexander Graham Bell built the Silver Dart along with the Aerial Experiment Association (AEA), worked in deaf education, and even forged an iron lung. Share the excitement as your heritage guide introduces you to his work and greatest influences along the way. You’ll learn that not only was Bell’s mother deaf, so was the woman who would become his wife, Mabel (Hubbard) Bell. She piloted his HD-4 Hydrofoil watercraft, untroubled by the noisy engines! You’ll also meet influential members of the AEA: Casey Baldwin, J.A.D. McCurdy, Thomas Selfridge and Glenn Curtiss. You’ll get an in-depth sense of Bell’s relationship with his family and Mabel, the love of his life. As you visit exhibits on sound and silence, on inventions and experiments, and see a full-scale replica of the Silver Dart and the HD-4 Hydrofoil, you’ll take the full measure of man through the people who opened his heart and mind to discovery.

Daily, 30 minutes
$2.40 per person
English: 11:15 a.m.
French: 15 h 15


Come Fly a Kite!

Come Fly a Kite!

Take part in one of Bell’s great passions as you create your own kite, decorate it, and fly it on the grounds as part of our exciting kite-making program. You’ll discover the role kites played in Bell's own experiments with flight, and learn about his giant tetrahedral (a three-dimensional kite) built in 1904. On Bell’s honeymoon, he told his wife Mabel that he dreamed of flying machines with telephones attached. He even hoped to develop a kite large enough to carry a man. So come out and marvel at your creation across the sky dotted with kites. It’s a sight to behold.

Saturdays, 30 minutes
$2.40 per person
English: 2:15 p.m.
French: à la demande


Put Yourself in the Picture

Put Yourself in the Picture - Children's Tour

Who would you like to be today? A lieutenant? A pilot? An inventor? A teacher? Kids will love the chance to re-create history as they become featured players in the story of Alexander Graham Bell’s life. Children will transform into character on an interactive tour where they learn Bell’s incredible gifts of science, invention and imagination. So whose adventure will you follow? There’s Canadian aviation pioneer, Douglas McCurdy who flew the Silver Dart at Baddeck in 1909. Or graceful Mabel Bell, the love of “Alec’s” life and an advocate for women’s equality in science and teaching. The tour places kids right in the centre of the story. As they journey through the museum, kids will pick up details of their character's life and accomplishments, connecting them to the Bell story in their own, personal way. So who wants to be world-famous Alexander Graham Bell this time?

Sundays, 30 minutes
$2.40 per person
English:  2:15 p.m.
French: à la demande


Silver Dart

Silver Dart Replica

We are excited to announce our latest acquisition: a full-scale replica of the Silver Dart!
The full-scale replica was built by the Aerial Experiment Association 2005 in commemoration of the original's 1909 flight—the first powered, controlled airplane flight in Canada. The replica was flown by former astronaut Bjarni Tryggvason across Baddeck Bay in February 2009; now it flies high over the full-scale replica of Bell's HD-4 hydrofoil! Come see it for yourself on your next visit to the Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site.


Parks Canada Xplorers

Parks Canada Xplorers

Catch the wind, design a kite like Alec's, try out a rotary dial telephone, check out Alec's no phone zone and talking hand and, when you get home, make a batch of his bubbly brew – Xplore his fun and awesome ideas.

A great way for kids ages 6-11 to explore Canada's natural and historic treasures!



In-Depth Special Presentations 

In-Depth Special Presentations

Photographic images from our extensive collection complement historic fact and Bell anecdotes on subjects such as Beinn Bhreagh - A Place Apart, and Mabel Bell: The Wind Beneath Alexander Graham Bell's Wings.

Daily, 30 minutes
$2.40 per person
English: 9:15 a.m., 3:15 p.m.
French: à la demande


Tetrahedral Kite Workshop

Kite-making

Build and decorate a four-celled tetrahedral kite, similar to those Bell used in his flight experiments.  A great workshop for teens and families!

Saturday and Sunday, 45 minutes
$7.30 per kite
English: 3:45 p.m.
French: à la demande


"Discover"

Don't miss the "Discover" area, where children and families can enjoy hands-on activities, puzzles and more at their leisure.

Look for the "Big Book"—a book so big it's mounted on the wall! Written and illustrated by children, it tells the story of Dr. Bell's life and work and is sure to be one of the most delightful books you'll ever read.