Berceau des parcs nationaux du Canada : Lieu historique national Cave and Basin

Le legs des sources thermales 

Découverte | Compréhension et protection | Sources thermales


Lake Louise, Parc national Banff
Source: Banff Lake Louise Tourism/Paul Zizka

McCabe et les frères McCardell écrivirent au gouvernement pour revendiquer la propriété des sources thermales. Cependant, l’État, en quête de sources de revenus pour financer le chemin de fer, comprit bien vite que ces eaux médicinales pourraient attirer des touristes.

Les différends au sujet du titre de propriété des sources thermales dégénérèrent en bataille juridique. Le gouvernement mit fin au conflit en 1885, en créant une réserve de 26 km2 pour protéger les sources thermales. Le décret en conseil en interdisait la vente, la colonisation ou l’occupation illégale.

Le 23 juin 1887, la réserve fut agrandie pour englober un territoire de 665 km2 en vertu de l’Acte concernant le Parc canadien des Montagnes Rocheuses et fut officiellement appelée parc national des Montagnes Rocheuses – le premier parc national du Canada. Cette loi classait les aires naturelles parmi les grandes richesses de ce pays et reconnaissait que les parcs appartenaient au peuple canadien.

Cette première aire protégée devint le parc national Banff en vertu de la Loi des parcs nationaux de 1930. Outre ce parc porte-étendard, le Canada possède maintenant 43 parcs nationaux, 167 lieux historiques nationaux, 4 parcs marins et 1 parc national urbain. Il s’agit du plus grand réseau d’aires protégées de la planète. Parcs Canada joue le rôle de guide et d’intendant de ces trésors naturels et culturels, qui s’étendent d’un océan à l’autre.

Common menu bar links

Birthplace of Canada's national parks: Cave and Basin National Historic Site

Banff’s Legacy

Discovery | Understanding and ProtectingThermal Waters 


Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Photo credit: Banff Lake Louise Tourism/Paul Zizka

The McCardell brothers and McCabe wrote to the government, laying claim to the hot springs. However, the government, needing to generate revenue to finance the railroad, also saw the potential these medicinal waters had for attracting tourists.

Arguments over the ownership of the springs escalated into a legal battle, and the government solved the dispute by creating the 26 km2 Hot Springs Reserve in 1885. The Order in Council dictated the springs were “reserved from sale or settlement or squatting….”

On June 23, 1887, the Hot Springs Reserve was expanded to encompass 665 km2 under the Rocky Mountains Park Act and officially became Rocky Mountains National Park – the first national park in Canada. This Act acknowledged that natural areas should be included amongst the country’s sources of wealth and that the parks should belong to the people of Canada.

This first national park eventually became Banff National Park through the National Parks Act of 1930. In addition to this flagship park, we now have 43 national parks, 167 historic sites, 4 marine parks and 1 national urban park in Canada and the largest system of protected places in the world. Parks Canada has acted as the steward and guide to these natural and cultural treasures, which stretch from sea to sea to sea.